Pasta, wine, cheese, salami, olive oil – these are the tastes of Italy. The country’s famous food regions have given their names to some of the world’s most popular food and wine – from Montepulciano wines to Parmigiano cheese. Tuscany and Umbria ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1422 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Amir B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Best tour I have ever experienced throughout my extensive travel. Offered much more than food experience and a very pleasant tour guide. Highly recommend but skip breakfast that day, you will be eating...a lot.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Brad M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fun tour, very worthwhile! Best to do at the beginning of your stay in Rome if you've never been there before. There's a lot of great food, and the history fits in so naturally and logically with the food. All three neighborhoods are fascinating and easy to walk around, and if you're staying awhile you'll probably return to some places on this tour like I did. Also, at the starting time I found out that four other people had signed up for it, and when none of them showed up I assumed that Valeria would need to cancel it - but she was happy to conduct the tour with just me. Thanks Valeria!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Olivia R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

The tour was fantastic. I learned more about different food and it was a very enjoyable experience.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Joan R Walker W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a wonderful time and had the best ever tour guide Dominico who had so much local knowledge. He was so entertaining and such good company and made everyone feel so relaxed like spending the day with a good friend.
The food was wonderful and don and #39;t have breakfast first! Not to be missed!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

cbdoremus

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tours was amazing. The tour guide Sarah was excellent. The food was all delicious. Would absolutely recommend to anyone!! We did the morning tour, absolutely want to go back and do the evening tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Marla H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

It wasn't quite what we expected we ended up at a different winery due to availability. But it was worth it! We ended up being provided an extravagant lunch in their kitchen. The winery was tiny they had found WWII and ancient artifacts in the vinyards. We bought wine and olive oil to bring back.

Doing what: Taste of Castelli Romani: Day Trip Including Santa Benedetta Winery from Rome

Don H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was everything we had hoped for, and then some. Chef Marinella Gatta and her sous chef Francesco were very down to earth and attentive in imparting their expert knowledge of the craft and tradition of the Cucina Romana. We headed out of Rome to a small working village with an ancient quarter. On the way to a restored rustic villa in this ancient quarter we grabbed a coffee amidst gathering ingredients from a vegetable stand, a butcher, and a small market with a delicatessen. We then settled into our quaint villa's cozy kitchen for a day of preparing a 6-course meal. Our appetizers were six different types of bruschetta and sliced aged Romano cheese with black peppercorns accompanied by a very well matched regional white wine Vermentino di Sardegna Doc. Then we made 3 different fresh pastas from scratch with different ingredients: ravioli, fettuccine and gnocchi. We also prepared veal for saltimbocca with prosciutto and sage and a scratch sauce. The ravioli were stuffed with a mild regional ricotta with spinach and lemon zest, and in a sauce of similar ingredients. The fettuccine was in a made from scratch with fresh tomatoes sauce and rendered pork cheek. The gnocchi was in a sauce made with sausage and veronica romanesco, with pecorino romano cheese. White wine accompanied the meal through to the ravioli, then we went to a regional red blend Sangiovese-Merlot from Puglia. Dessert was a kicked up use of fresh pears, cinnamon and panettone baked and topped off with fresh whipped cream and cocoa accents. We cannot recommend this excursion enough. All this and door-to-door service. We were picked up and dropped off at our hotel. This was having an expert visiting chef in a friends well-equipped kitchen on a laid back weekend day. Very, very nice!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Roman Countryside

Krisczaplicki

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We were very pleased with the tour. The four hours went so fast. Bethany was a very informative guide. it helped that she was from WI, as we were! . The previous reviews were correct...DO NOT EAT BEFORE...even thought you get what seems like small amounts of Good Italian food....you are full at the end! I loved going to the cemetery and seeing famous people graves. Our only bad part was the weather. Damp,drizzly and cool.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Mickey K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Lovely day spent talking about food and learning about the Roman perspective

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

John C G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We had a great guide and this was the best of the food walking tours we've done ANYwhere. I can't recommend it highly enough. We ate well and saw a part of the city that most tourists don't get to see.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

TaraB

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

My husband and I loved this tour! It was wonderful learning about and trying all the different types of food, as well as exploring the Testaccio neighborhood. I feel like without this tour we wouldn't have had the chance to get of the typical tourist path in Rome. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Josefina B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Sarah, the local tour guide, was very informative of the local cuisine. The tour not only consist of food, but also History of the neighborhood we were in. Very easy walk, Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Barry E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. It was excellent value for money. The food we tried was amazing and we learnt a lot about Italian cuisine.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Chris S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

If you do one thing to help you understand Rome and Romans better do this tour. Run by Emma who is supremely professional, knowledgeable and friendly it is a delight. This isn't one of those tours that has you drooling from the descriptions of wonderful food that you get to look at and not eat - OH NO! There are more than enough tastings as you go through the tour, everything was absolutely superb - fantastic quality and plenty of it. We certainly didn't need lunch after this tour. With a few cultural stops thrown in as well for good value this was the highlight of our Rome visit - and if you think what else is on offer in Rome that's high praise indeed. You simply have to make time for this tour and do it at the beginning of your stay so you can take advantage of all the insider tips you'll know by the end. Brilliant!!!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Zach G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Gigi was fantastic!!! Superbly knowledgeable and friendly, she really made the wonderful stops all along the way shine. The food was, of course, also to die for. A truly authentic and enlightening experience in Rome!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Sharon S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Had a great tour with Sarah, enjoyed learning about Testaccio! Good food, wine, and historical facts!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Debra S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Exceeded expectations by a mile! Chef Vittoria customized the menu to my tastes and we cooked and ate excellent food. Not to mention the trip to the markets and Chef's tips and observations along the way. Without reservation, I would recommend this experience to anyone who loves food! Ten stars!!

Doing what: Small-Group Cooking Lesson in Rome

Patricia M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We had a wonderful guide Fredericka she was very knowledgeable and helpful. She made sure everyone who had different food requirements that they were all met. It was a very historic view of Rome with great food thrown in. We have done other food tours and this was a nice pace and the food outstanding. Make sure you don't eat before the tour though or you won't be able to fit everything in.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Susan C S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was excellent. We really enjoyed the small group experience. The guide was very knowledgeable and the food was wonderful. We especially loved the fried artichokes in the Jewish Ghetto.

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

kizzy e

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

we had a great time and enjoyed seeing an area of rome with so much history and tasting the authentic food offered.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

jmowyang United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Amazing experience. Our guide was a true Roman with great insights and shared amazing foods with us throughout the tour. We were definitely stuffed by the end. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Robert K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL! Sara, our guide, was personable, helpful, intelligent and caring!!
The itinerary was terrific!! We have been recommending your walking food tours to all our friends, ever since we got home. Thanks so much!! Ellen and Bob Korval

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lisa O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

SO MUCH FUN! Gigi was a delight, and she radiated such joy and love for this little gem of a neighborhood in Rome. If the Ancient Rome tours are like seeing a world suspended in time, this tour gives you a and #34;taste and #34; of what Rome is today. You and #39;ll be stuffed with amazing food so don and #39;t eat before!

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

Lynn N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We all enjoyed this tour. Walking,food and history...what's not to like? Our guide was fun,informative and took good care of us. Our group is still talking about this tour.

Doing what: Rome Food Walking Tour

L W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This food tour was exceptionally good. Georgia was amazing sharing her wealth of knowledge with us. We would highly recommend this tour as it was a highlight of our trip to Italy. Thank you to Georgia Louise and Tim

Doing what: Small-Group Rome Food Walking Tour: Trastevere, Campo de' Fiori and Jewish Ghetto

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message