• USD ($)
  • English
Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 102 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My mother and I had the most wonderful tour. Sabrina was extremely professional and competent. She was most attentive to all our needs and very well-organised preparing us for every step of the journey making sure we had all the information we needed well in advance of a particular part of the museum.Her commentary was enlightening and entertaining and I have come away with a real insight into the renaissance world of Rafael and Michelangelo and their Papal bosses. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Francis did excellent job to give us deep knowledge to Michelangelo's work and life. Her enthusiam and knowledge benefited us tremendously. Thank you so much for such wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour is absolutely essential if you don't want to join a line of around 30,000 people waiting to get into the Vatican. Our provider was EnjoyRome, and our tour guide, Marzia, was the BEST! Very knowledgeable and full of interesting bits of history (like the "Mongolian Last Supper" tapestry). Before we even walked in to the Sistine Chapel, she provided a 15-minute talk on Michelangelo and his travails and pointed out items we wouldn't have known about. If you've never seen St Peter's, the Sistine, and the Vatican museum, book this tour and ask for Marzia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

5 stars especially for our guide David, I read a review of him and I thought it was exagerated.. but it was not.. this guy is amazing.. some much knowledge, so much passion about art, Michelangelo and Rome..
amazing tour with all the questions you can ask

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Laura, our guide, was absolutely fantastic. Very knowledgeable and made our experience all that better. I thoroughly would recommend this tour to anyone with a love of Michelangelo as the tme spent in the Sistine Chapel was priceless. It was nice to be ushered into areas that the general public do not see and to know that you are somewhat "special". Five stars plus!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Having seen the incredible queues outside the entrance of the Vatican Museum, we decided to try Viator for the first time. Out tour began promptly at the said time and we were led right through the entrance by our guide Analisa. She seemed to have a good comprehensive knowledge of the Vatican and its history and the artists' works, especially Michelangelo and Raffael. On the day of our tour it was particularly busy, however the tour was very interesting and informative. Overall, we were very happy with the tour. We would not have been able to see the Vatican Museum without Viator as we had a very limited time in Rome. I would definitely use them again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was the hi-lite of our Italian vacation! To have the guided tour of the Sistine Chapel, the guide allowed to speak to us and us to ask questions of her description of the chapel and of the history and anecdotes of Michelangelo's work was simply awesome and well worth the expense.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour is great if you are a historian, a practicing Christian or just someone who loves paintings and architecture - or any combination of the bunch. You get the entire Vatican experience - from the Museum gates with Michelangelo and Raphael guarding atop the gate - to St. Peters Basilica to thousands of works of art, to the Pope's apartment which is now open... to St. Peters square. You will want more even after an exhausting journey through this tiniest of countries. A quick note to those who are reading this 2 or 3 months before traveling to Rome - look into the Necropolis tour that is only available straight through the Vatican itself. Not only would you get to the see the tombs of the popes but the place that was discovered only a few years ago to be the last resting place of St. Peter - the first Pope - himself. I am kicking myself now but I am glad I got to do this spectacular tour. And yes- you do skip the line - which is great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was fabulous! Francesca is very knowledgeable and offered really great information. We learned so much on this tour, particularly with regard to Michelangelo's role in the Sistine Chapel. She could answer any question the group posed. She is also quite amusing. This tour added so much depth to our tour of Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Rachel was an excellent guide as well! Again, I had previously done a similar tour at the Vatican Museums and I learned new things and I especially enjoyed the detailed electronic display of Michelangelo's work before we entered the Sistine Chapel.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

SO WORTH the $$ to skip the 5 hour wait in line!!! Our Tour guide, David was CLASS A- #1. He not only had a civil engineering degree, but also Art and architecture. He was knowledgeable, professional and really enthusiastic about this tour and his lessons. he had incredible passion. He wove great stories about Michelangelo, Bernini, Raphael, all the Popes and yet kept the depth there without any boredom. One comment for this company: You should not penalize any tour guides when people vacate the tour. We lost some people in the Sistine chapel and it is such a shame they are penalized. Charge their card for the headsets! the instructions were clear that we were supposed to gather again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

This was a fabulous tour, with our very knowledgeable and personable guide, Igur. When my sisters and I arrived at the meeting place for the tour, we were amazed at how long the line was for people trying to get into the Vatican. When Viator says Skip the Line, they mean it. Although there were thousand of people there, our group of 20 people was able to enter without any lengthy wait and begin our guided tour. (We did have to go through security similar to that at an airport, however.) Igur took us through all the rooms of the Vatican Museums and explained so much about all the artwork, statues, wall hangings, etc. Before we entered the Sistine Chapel he gave us a history lesson, with photographs, of how Michelangelo came to paint the ceiling. We learned so much on this tour, and saw everything there was to see. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone who really wants to know about the things that they will be seeing in the museums, and especially since you won't have to wait on a line for hours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This is an expensive tour so expectations were high. No disappointment though, well worth it. Our tour guide, Tiffany, was very knowledgable, very clear and encouraged questions from the group of nine people which she answered readily throughout. The Caravaggio painting, which I was keen to see, was not part of the tour due to time constraints, but as we got started quickly, Tiffany included it in the tour, giving an excellent overview of the painting and artist as well. An great bonus. The areas covered in this tour are not normally accessible and it was a pleasure and privilege to be able to see these artistic treasures and hear about them. Bramante's staircase and the views from it across the city of Rome - fantastic. The obvious highlight was the Sistine Chapel after the crowds had left. Tiffany provided an overview of the progress of Michelangelo's masterpiece, including interesting anecdotes, over the four and a half years he spent completing it. Wonderful. A once-in-a-lifetime treat.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Pauline was our guide and was very knowledgeable about the Vatican, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's basilica. Skipping the line is a tremendous advantage as the number of people for this area is very large and at 10am there were already hundreds of people in line for tickets. Without an experienced guide you would miss so much of the history and would have little appreciation of what you are seeing. In our opinion this is the only way to see and appreciate this venue. Well worth the money. The only area we were a little disappointed in was the Sistine Chapel where the guards kept the crowds moving and it was difficult to spend time and enjoy the ceiling and the wonderful work of Michelangelo. Pauline however was able to give us information prior to entering the Sistine Chapel to help us enjoy this wonderful piece of art.
We had a 6 month old baby with us and Pauline was very accommodating about pointing out the elevators and ensuring my daughter in law was not left behind. For those bringing a baby it is very crowded, hot and not stroller friendly. A baby carrier is required.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This tour was well worth the money. Our excellent guide took our small group through the Vatican Museum, a large part of which was having access to areas not available to the public. Of course the Sisteen Chapel to ourselves was the highlight. I remember Michelangelo's masterpiece, NOT the crowds that would otherwise have to go along with it. Perhaps a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message