Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 119 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our guide was fantastic - very informative, especially regarding Michelangelo!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Outstanding guide - very knowledgable about Michelangelo and Rafael and the art history and told a compelling story not only on the art history but also the associated politics and societal context of the works in the Vatican museums. And the née avoided all the lines...

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour we'll run tour director Darius was excellent in his description of Vatican Museum, even if you did not enjoy art you lived it by the time he finished describing each painting each fresco, you felt like you could just see Michelangelo, and Raphael were there describing. Helped that Darius was good to look at also. Meeting point well described and easy to find give this tour 10points

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Lisa was very knowledgable and we were fascinated with her stories about Michelangelo, Raphael and the various Popes. We would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Unbelievable! Guide was amazing- very knowledgeable and interesting. Tour allowed us to actually sit against the wall in the Sistine Chapel and gaze at Michelangelo's masterpiece. A must do tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Shannon was our tour guide and she did an awesome job on the tour. She is an art history major which added a lot of valuable insights to the tour. She presented things in a way that provided a lot of information without being boring or too technical. Her insights into Michelangelo's painting of the Sistine Chapel and the anecdotes about his dealings with the Pope at that time were humorous and enlightening. The tour was very comprehensive and I really felt I got to see everything and did not feel rushed. The small group size is really great too since it allows for better interaction with the guide and allows you to move along easier. The headsets are a great way to ensure you get to hear everything the guide says even if you want to linger a moment longer for that last photo op or appreciative view of something before moving on. I would highly recommend this tour and really appreciated Shannon's knowledge and presentation that made it enjoyable and informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent and our tour guide, Rosella, was very, very good. I really did not know my Vatican history very well and learned a lot from this tour. Her description of the Sistine Chapel was very educational and she included a lot of little anecdotes about the personalities of Michelangelo and the Vatican personnel of that time period that were both amusing and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Emanuella, was a lovely and very knowledgeable girl who was very passionate about her art (especially Michelangelo!) Easily noticeable among the throng of tour guides by holding a large daffodil instead of the usual flag on a stick, Emanuella made the tour an absolute pleasure.

The 'greeters' on the steps, were also really on the ball and made sure all the people o the tour where allocate the correct guide with ease.

We would highly recommend the experience.

Thanks for a great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Looking in museums and at pictures can be boring - but not on this tour. Guide was excellent - kept it all interesting and explained the background to the art and artists - the contrasts in work and characters of Michelangelo and Raphael - all explained simply and clearly - and enthusiastically - brilliant!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A comprehensive and interesting tour. Tour guide David had an easy and efficient manner, but kept us all moving along in a very crowded environment. He provided interesting insights and his overview (beforehand) of Michelangelo's work and the Sistine Chapel were most valuable. St Peter's Basilica was awesome in its scope and quite overwhelming in size.
We were late arriving for our 09:00 tour and we were (fortunately) accommodated on a 10:00 tour. Be warned that if you are relying on the Metro underground to get to the tour, it is very, very crowded in peak hour (we had to wait for a second train) and you need to allow about 15 min for the walk from the station to reach the meeting point. Check your Viator instructions carefully to locate the meeting point which, once found, works very well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We visited Rome two weeks ago (April 2014) and had a very enjoyable experience with our guide through Viator. I'm sorry that I can't remember her name, but she was just fantastic. This is a three hour tour. I was impressed with this organization right off the bat. Their meeting place was easy to find and the guides were all easy to identify. They quickly assemble our group of 20 and the other 20 went with another guide. At first, I was a little concerned about the size of the group, but with the headsets that are provided, I never felt lost in the shuffle.
Vatican City is very crowded. It's just the way it is. But if you are fortunate enough to have a superior guide like we had, you won't "feel" the crowd. She kept us moving and gave us a few rest periods, too - where we would sit and listen to her and kind of take in the whole experience.
Our guide was not only well versed on the Vatican City, it's history and the the art, but she was passionate about the subject. She was open to all kinds of questions.
I really appreciated that she took so much time to review the Sistine Chapel before we entered the space.By having such a comprehensive overview, I was truly able to appreciate the "Story" and the efforts of Michelangelo. Know ahead of time that there is no talking or photography in the Sistine Chapel.
I also appreciated that she was respectful of our time and our experience. Quite often (everywhere in Italy), you'll find rude tourists who talk too loud and aren't mindful of the space that they are in. Our guide had no reservations about asking people outside of our group to please keep their voices down.
I would highly recommend Viator and their guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Dario was great. He was very knowledgable. He knew what to look for when viewing the Michelangelo paintings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My mother and I had the most wonderful tour. Sabrina was extremely professional and competent. She was most attentive to all our needs and very well-organised preparing us for every step of the journey making sure we had all the information we needed well in advance of a particular part of the museum.Her commentary was enlightening and entertaining and I have come away with a real insight into the renaissance world of Rafael and Michelangelo and their Papal bosses. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Francis did excellent job to give us deep knowledge to Michelangelo's work and life. Her enthusiam and knowledge benefited us tremendously. Thank you so much for such wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour is absolutely essential if you don't want to join a line of around 30,000 people waiting to get into the Vatican. Our provider was EnjoyRome, and our tour guide, Marzia, was the BEST! Very knowledgeable and full of interesting bits of history (like the "Mongolian Last Supper" tapestry). Before we even walked in to the Sistine Chapel, she provided a 15-minute talk on Michelangelo and his travails and pointed out items we wouldn't have known about. If you've never seen St Peter's, the Sistine, and the Vatican museum, book this tour and ask for Marzia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message