Michelangelo is considered one of Tuscany’s most famous sons, but many of the masterpieces for which is he is best known are not found in Tuscany. In fact, Michelangelo spent much of his life in what is now the Italian capital of Rome, and you can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 111 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Shannon was our tour guide and she did an awesome job on the tour. She is an art history major which added a lot of valuable insights to the tour. She presented things in a way that provided a lot of information without being boring or too technical. Her insights into Michelangelo's painting of the Sistine Chapel and the anecdotes about his dealings with the Pope at that time were humorous and enlightening. The tour was very comprehensive and I really felt I got to see everything and did not feel rushed. The small group size is really great too since it allows for better interaction with the guide and allows you to move along easier. The headsets are a great way to ensure you get to hear everything the guide says even if you want to linger a moment longer for that last photo op or appreciative view of something before moving on. I would highly recommend this tour and really appreciated Shannon's knowledge and presentation that made it enjoyable and informative.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was excellent and our tour guide, Rosella, was very, very good. I really did not know my Vatican history very well and learned a lot from this tour. Her description of the Sistine Chapel was very educational and she included a lot of little anecdotes about the personalities of Michelangelo and the Vatican personnel of that time period that were both amusing and interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide, Emanuella, was a lovely and very knowledgeable girl who was very passionate about her art (especially Michelangelo!) Easily noticeable among the throng of tour guides by holding a large daffodil instead of the usual flag on a stick, Emanuella made the tour an absolute pleasure.

The 'greeters' on the steps, were also really on the ball and made sure all the people o the tour where allocate the correct guide with ease.

We would highly recommend the experience.

Thanks for a great day!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Looking in museums and at pictures can be boring - but not on this tour. Guide was excellent - kept it all interesting and explained the background to the art and artists - the contrasts in work and characters of Michelangelo and Raphael - all explained simply and clearly - and enthusiastically - brilliant!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

A comprehensive and interesting tour. Tour guide David had an easy and efficient manner, but kept us all moving along in a very crowded environment. He provided interesting insights and his overview (beforehand) of Michelangelo's work and the Sistine Chapel were most valuable. St Peter's Basilica was awesome in its scope and quite overwhelming in size.
We were late arriving for our 09:00 tour and we were (fortunately) accommodated on a 10:00 tour. Be warned that if you are relying on the Metro underground to get to the tour, it is very, very crowded in peak hour (we had to wait for a second train) and you need to allow about 15 min for the walk from the station to reach the meeting point. Check your Viator instructions carefully to locate the meeting point which, once found, works very well.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

We visited Rome two weeks ago (April 2014) and had a very enjoyable experience with our guide through Viator. I'm sorry that I can't remember her name, but she was just fantastic. This is a three hour tour. I was impressed with this organization right off the bat. Their meeting place was easy to find and the guides were all easy to identify. They quickly assemble our group of 20 and the other 20 went with another guide. At first, I was a little concerned about the size of the group, but with the headsets that are provided, I never felt lost in the shuffle.
Vatican City is very crowded. It's just the way it is. But if you are fortunate enough to have a superior guide like we had, you won't "feel" the crowd. She kept us moving and gave us a few rest periods, too - where we would sit and listen to her and kind of take in the whole experience.
Our guide was not only well versed on the Vatican City, it's history and the the art, but she was passionate about the subject. She was open to all kinds of questions.
I really appreciated that she took so much time to review the Sistine Chapel before we entered the space.By having such a comprehensive overview, I was truly able to appreciate the "Story" and the efforts of Michelangelo. Know ahead of time that there is no talking or photography in the Sistine Chapel.
I also appreciated that she was respectful of our time and our experience. Quite often (everywhere in Italy), you'll find rude tourists who talk too loud and aren't mindful of the space that they are in. Our guide had no reservations about asking people outside of our group to please keep their voices down.
I would highly recommend Viator and their guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Dario was great. He was very knowledgable. He knew what to look for when viewing the Michelangelo paintings.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

My mother and I had the most wonderful tour. Sabrina was extremely professional and competent. She was most attentive to all our needs and very well-organised preparing us for every step of the journey making sure we had all the information we needed well in advance of a particular part of the museum.Her commentary was enlightening and entertaining and I have come away with a real insight into the renaissance world of Rafael and Michelangelo and their Papal bosses. Highly recommended!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Francis did excellent job to give us deep knowledge to Michelangelo's work and life. Her enthusiam and knowledge benefited us tremendously. Thank you so much for such wonderful tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This tour is absolutely essential if you don't want to join a line of around 30,000 people waiting to get into the Vatican. Our provider was EnjoyRome, and our tour guide, Marzia, was the BEST! Very knowledgeable and full of interesting bits of history (like the "Mongolian Last Supper" tapestry). Before we even walked in to the Sistine Chapel, she provided a 15-minute talk on Michelangelo and his travails and pointed out items we wouldn't have known about. If you've never seen St Peter's, the Sistine, and the Vatican museum, book this tour and ask for Marzia!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

5 stars especially for our guide David, I read a review of him and I thought it was exagerated.. but it was not.. this guy is amazing.. some much knowledge, so much passion about art, Michelangelo and Rome..
amazing tour with all the questions you can ask

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Laura, our guide, was absolutely fantastic. Very knowledgeable and made our experience all that better. I thoroughly would recommend this tour to anyone with a love of Michelangelo as the tme spent in the Sistine Chapel was priceless. It was nice to be ushered into areas that the general public do not see and to know that you are somewhat "special". Five stars plus!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Having seen the incredible queues outside the entrance of the Vatican Museum, we decided to try Viator for the first time. Out tour began promptly at the said time and we were led right through the entrance by our guide Analisa. She seemed to have a good comprehensive knowledge of the Vatican and its history and the artists' works, especially Michelangelo and Raffael. On the day of our tour it was particularly busy, however the tour was very interesting and informative. Overall, we were very happy with the tour. We would not have been able to see the Vatican Museum without Viator as we had a very limited time in Rome. I would definitely use them again.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was the hi-lite of our Italian vacation! To have the guided tour of the Sistine Chapel, the guide allowed to speak to us and us to ask questions of her description of the chapel and of the history and anecdotes of Michelangelo's work was simply awesome and well worth the expense.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour is great if you are a historian, a practicing Christian or just someone who loves paintings and architecture - or any combination of the bunch. You get the entire Vatican experience - from the Museum gates with Michelangelo and Raphael guarding atop the gate - to St. Peters Basilica to thousands of works of art, to the Pope's apartment which is now open... to St. Peters square. You will want more even after an exhausting journey through this tiniest of countries. A quick note to those who are reading this 2 or 3 months before traveling to Rome - look into the Necropolis tour that is only available straight through the Vatican itself. Not only would you get to the see the tombs of the popes but the place that was discovered only a few years ago to be the last resting place of St. Peter - the first Pope - himself. I am kicking myself now but I am glad I got to do this spectacular tour. And yes- you do skip the line - which is great

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message