From Sorrento on the Amalfi Coast, north to Venice in the Veneto and Pisa on the coast of Tuscany – you can take in all this and more on multi-day excursions from the heart of Italy, Rome. To see the best of Italy, from top to bottom, you’ll need ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 206 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Danielle v
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an amazing experience!! We loved every minute of our time on this trip!

Pompeii was fascinating and although it was very hot, we still enjoyed ourselves. Our tour guide was fabulous and very informative!

Sorrento is simply stunning and next time we visit I think we will spend a week there. The weather was perfect, our hotel was superb - We stayed at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte and there is so much to do and see! The shopping is incredible!!!

Capri and Ana Capri were also gorgeous, lots of lovely shops, the chairlift is worth doing and luckily we got to see the Blue Grotto! Our guide for the Capri day trip was Sascha, he was just wonderful and had a great sense of humour and was very informative!

I thoroughly recommend this trip is you have limited time and want to experience a small portion of the Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 day Italy Trip was an excellent value. Sorrento and Capri were so beautiful and Pompeii was very interesting. The stop in Naples was unnecessary as we simply passed by points of interest. Our guide of Pompeii was very knowledgeable. Sacha was an excellent guide and made our time in Capri extra special. Although we weren't able to see the Blue Grotto, due to weather, we did buy tickets for the chair lift in Anacapri and the views were amazing. Two negatives were that the tour company tried to switch our hotels which was very upsetting and stressful. When I booked with Viator I already had reservations in one of the top hotels in Sorrento. I only decided to switch to the Viator trip because you assured me that I would be placed in one of the hotels listed in the description of the trip. I did a lot of research on the hotels and felt comfortable giving up my reservation for one of the hotels offered with the 3 Day Trip. Then when I called the day before out tour left to confirm the hotel placement,the tour company told me that I was being placed in a different hotel and that there was nothing that they could do. Luckily after much discussion, they placed me in the original hotel that was listed, however, this situation was unacceptable and stressful in the middle of our vacation. I must say that the Hotel Capidomonte was absolutely wonderful. The service, meals and views from our rooms were first class. The only other problem, which should be addressed, is that the tour guide (forgot her name) that transitioned us from Pompeii to Sorrento recommended a private tour of Amalfi and said that she would be available by phone to help us make arrangements. We did call her and never received a return phone call. (We weren't the only ones with this experience.) Luckily, our hotel recommended a driver and we had a wonderful day. I should also mention that the guide from Sorrento back to Rome (also forgot her name) was excellent-so interested in each guest.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of the best tours we ever had. Mario, the tour director made it even more enjoyable with his helpful nature, witty comments, jokes and songs. The tour was very informative and enjoyable. Keep about 200 euros cash in hand per person if you want to avail of all the optional tours/visits. Florence Museum tour was an eye opener for us with its vast collection of paintings. Venice was unforgettable. At St. Marks square they have live orchestra which is spell bounding. Wish Viator had arranged the first evening dinner in Venice in a restaurant near the orchestra ! It would have been an unforgettable experience. Similarly, on second day in Venice, they should provide lunch instead of dinner, and keep the entire afternoon (after lunch) free for shopping and personal visits. That way there would be no compulsion of rushing back for dinner from wherever you are. Overall, a very well organised tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This 3-day Italy trip was one of three tours we booked through Viator for our recent visit to Italy in June 2014. What a great experience! The tour was professionally organized and timely. The hotel we stayed at in Sorrento was like heaven on earth. We couldn't believe the view from our room; it was definitely worth more than the money paid for the entire tour. I highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fascinating and FULL of history. There was not quite enough time to linger in Pompeii to dream of days long ago but this was a MUST, MUST, MUST see attraction. The trip to the Island of Capri was breathtaking and so worth the trip. The Grotto trip was a very long 2 hour nauseating wait in a rolling sea for our turn to enter the cave. The sight was well worth seeing in the end. The people were very friendly and spoke English well. Our guide was very knowledgeable indeed.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was spectacular. Only a short time in Naples and I'm sure there was more to see than we did. It seemd like we only stopped there to drop off the people on the day trip. Pompeii was amazing. Our guide was a bit heavy handed and wasn't that lively, lacked a sense of humour. The guide for Capri was wonderful, funny and full of knowledge. Capri was beautiful, not long enough there. The hotel in Sorrento was first class. Would have been nice to have the choice of whether to hav evening meal at the hotel on one of the nights as it would have been nice to experience Sorrento. Through the coach agent she arranged for a group of us to visit Positano the next morning. anothwe Wow experience. Trip well worth the money and could be extended another day.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip - Pompeii tour was very informative and we had time to shop and have a coffee afterwards - (the best place to purchase Limoncello Liquor). Lunch was outside in a lovely restaurant with local food. The motel in Sorrento was beautiful and the restaurant we dined alone with full range on the menu and overlooking the bay - a stunning view. In Capri we took the boat into the Blue Grotto, went up the hill on the chairlift to see the amazing views. We had the last day to ourselves to wander around Sorrento or take a local bus down to the Amalfi Coast. On our return to Rome we were supposed to have a Motel drop-off, however we were left stranded with all our bags, some 3-5 km from our motel and were told it was just 100 meters walk around the corner. This spoiled up to that day a very good trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Well what a brilliant trip, amazing value.
High points: Mirjiam (if a bit eccentric) and Hector(so caring) tour guides.Pompeii was great to see if a little rushed. Sorrento Michelangelo hotel was outstanding and the room was massive!Take a bus trip to the Almafi coast on the local bus, you will not be disappointed. Chair lift on Capri is a must, grotto was interesting if a little short lived.Lowish points: Dissapointed by Naples(could not see the point of going) and cheesy Coral workshop(DVD show and shop) at Pompeii. All transfers worked smoothly, apart from last one back to our hotel, the driver got lost several times and dumped us far from our hotel-but don't be put off he was obviously having a bad day! They are amazing-David and Ruth- Suffolk- UK.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had the best time! Our guide Clara was exceptional and very helpful and friendly. Luigi our driver was lovely and very friendly also. We loved every place that we went and especially loved the singer during our optional gondola ride in Venice. We would highly recommend the tour. We also met some wonderful people which made the 5 days even more special. We have used Viator a lot and have never been disappointed. Well done and thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Expected a list of Questions. Happy w/bus and certainly the driver-excellent (must be good since he's from Naples.) Really lucked out w/folks on tour, altho only about 17 out of 45 speaking or understanding English. Connected w/4 particularly--shared much vino, etc. Hotels were satisfactory--Del Fino best.(glad we were on mainland). Very impressed w/Giovanni in Florence--could tell he truly loves the magnificent ART. Liked Bologna much and surprised it's not talked up more. So glad the night tour was available before we explored Venice in daylight--way more impressive that way.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

it is simply breath taking. Visited a lot of beautiful places that no way I could have seen so much by my own in only five days.Was well organized, tour guide was very informative, worth every penny. Also there were couple of nice optional tours like going to Pisa in the afternoon, and Venice walking tour by night. Keep some cash handy if you are planning to do these additional tours as well. Accommodation and food was very good as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our 5-day Italy tour was amazing! I enjoyed every minute! We got to see so many citites and sites within such a limited amount of time. It was perfect!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I love it! Carrani is one of the oldest travel company in Rome and it showed on the way they organized the tour. The tour leaders are very efficient. The tour guides are knowledgeable and they have a good way of communication with guests. I was "assigned" a room with superb view in Sorrento. And the dinner in the hotel's restaurant was so good. Heard from guests staying in other hotels that their restaurants were perfect, too. And the weather was good the day I was in Capri so we were able to visit Blue Grotto. OMG! My tips: If you have time, take the 3 days tour. You will have 1 more night in Sorrento to explore the small city and enjoy your hotel.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The quick tour of Naples was not so impressive. It would have been nice, rather, to visit the museum where all the art and artifacts from Pompeii are on display. The first day lunch was OK, but the food wasn't all that great. However, the stay at the Ambasciatori hotel in Sorrento was outstanding. Both guides, Fabbiano and Sasha were great, as were all the Viator personnel. The visit to Capri was fun, but the Grotta Azzurra, though interesting, wasn't an essential part of the visit--it's a bit overrated. Overall, a really fun trip. We're glad we took it.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour for this experience was led by Carrani Tours and they did an excellent job! We left Rome and went to Napoli, stopping along the way for a coffee break (if you've never been to a coffee shop in European rush hour, you are in for a surprise!) Once in Napoli, you take a short tour of the historic sites near the port. It only lasts about 30 minutes. If you are looking for more time specifically in Napoli, this is NOT the tour for you - that is the only time you will spend there, and you really do not go very far since you are basically just around the port area. After this brief stop in Naples, you board the buses to Pompeii. Pompeii is incredible, and the tour guide that we had in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and witty - learned an incredible amount of history from him. You will like Pompeii! You will have lunch there, and the meal is good. From Pompeii, you leave to go to Sorrento. Sorrento was in fact my favorite of all of the stops that we had - it is absolutely breathtaking and not completely covered up in tourists. The hotel we had in Sorrento was beautiful with incredible views of the sea. We went out into the little town to do some shopping (lots of shopping, and not all tourist shops, either) and we were having such a good time that we didn't in fact even go back to the hotel for our dinner. We chose instead to eat at a restaurant recommended to us by a local, Antica Trattoria. it was a foodie paradise! I highly recommend it if you decide to eat in the town. It is a little pricey, but it is delicious and artistic food in a great atmosphere. In the morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel (great views of the sea from the terrace, too) and boarded to go to the water taxi to Capri. Capri has beautiful views, but it is also VERY touristy. Lunch was good. Blue grotto - we saw it, but if you do not get to see it, do not lament this - buy some pictures (it's beautiful, but the effort to see it is overrated). Great trip to see much in 2 days

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message