From Sorrento on the Amalfi Coast, north to Venice in the Veneto and Pisa on the coast of Tuscany – you can take in all this and more on multi-day excursions from the heart of Italy, Rome. To see the best of Italy, from top to bottom, you’ll need ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 232 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour!!! Our tour director, Clara, was full of energy and kept us smiling for the whole 5 days. I was fortunate to have a good group of people of the tour and there was a good atmosphere. There were a number of nationalities I was the only European but everyone made an effort to talk to each other. Clara said in high season there is a bus each for English and Spanish languages There was a decent mix of age groups too, 60 50, 30 25.

We spent just enough time in each place I thought, with two hour stop offs in Assisi, Siena, Bologna and Padua, and you could go explore yourself. I'm not that interested in churches but the cities were all nice, and I thought Assisi was particularly impressive. Florence and Venice speak for themselves.

The hotels were good, no complaints, but I'm happy with a good bed, breakfast and no noise. I stayed in the Mediterreneano and Carlton, and I think the Carlton was a bit nicer. It was also good being in Venice, but wasn't ideal being split from the rest of the group.

The meals were well planned and were good, not great, but good. The lunch in Florence was the best in my opinion, simple but good flavours.

Clara showed us where to go when in the 4 stop offs and gave us a night tour in Venice. There are some extras you can pay for, a tour in each of Florence and Venice with a guide which I took, and were very good. I got to see the David and San Marco's Basilica. There was the obligatory stop off at somewhere you can spend some money the Murano Glass was most popular - jewellery for the ladies!!!. I didn't take the bus trip to Pisa from Florence or the gondola ride in Venice. had already been in Pisa but a couple of hours there is all you need so it's a good option

I had a great time, met good people and saw some amazing places.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall the trip was wonderful. We were picked up at our hotel in Rome early morning and took the drive to the bay of Naples to get out stretch! Then on to Pompeii. The tour did include a beautiful lunch, however, it would have served everyone better to do the tour of Pompeii prior to the lunch as it was It was raining and hailing the entire afternoon. It was hard to walk around and keep up with our tour guide in the rain. She was going way to fast to keep up with and the rain was so bad you had to hop from stone to stone in some areas to get through it. They also left us hanging in the rain, after the tour, for over an hour waiting for the Carini tour bus to pick us up. That was very unorganized! The next few days were AMAZING!!! The hotel, which was an upgrade and well worth the small fee through Viator, included 2 breakfast's and 2 dinners. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento. It was GEORGOUS. We had a private balcany with an incredible view. The dinners were 5 courses with great service. Many pictures to share. The next day we went to Capri and AnaCapri via boat. That was beautiful as well. I would suggest taking the chair lift in Anacapri, however, beware if you are afraid of heights! I had no idea how high it was until I was already on it. The only way back down is to go all the way to the top and ride the lift back down.. You can see from the pictures what I mean.. They included a beautiful lunch here as well. We met some very interesting people and had plenty of free time at the end of they day to shop! The 3rd day we had the morning to explore on our own. We took a city bus to Positano. The bus dropped of off at the top instead of the town at the bottom. Nothing at the top except a few coffee shops and it was pretty cold. But the views were amazing. More pics of that. The bus ride back to Rome was not so great due to all the Easter traffic, instead of 3 hours, it was 6, but we made it back! This was a trip I would highly reccommend!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous three day trip, to summarise a highlight is almost impossible but Pompeii was up there, the Island of Capri and the Blue Grotto was also high on the list, then a free day to tour the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at the Michelangelo hotel in Sorrento. This is a fabulous hotel but the night we stayed here the power kept failing all night and every time the power came back n again it switched TV on which of course would wake us up, No mention of this at check-out, not even a hint of an apology anyway, it did not detract from a wonderful three days with outstanding guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Italy is beutiful. The five day fantasia tour was extremely organized and awesome. Ten stars to the tour guide Clara!!!! Her commitment and talent is probably the best memory We will have from the experience. So organized, yet flexible!! Her enthusiasm and joy was contagious!!!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This 2 day trip was perfect. The tours were very well organized and and coordinated. The tour guides spoke excellent English, food was good, the Hotel Michelangelo where we stayed in Sorrento was nice and centrally located, and each of the stops we made were worthwhile. Pompeii was amazing. . . to realize how advanced the Romans where almost 2000 years ago. The Sorrento Coast is absolutely lovely with breathtaking views, and the same goes for Capri. We were delighted to have been able to enter the Blue Grotto in December and take a chair lift to the top of a mountain peak in Capri to look out over the entire area. All in all we had a wonderful time, and would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful! Had three amazing days on this tour. Loved every second!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

this tours was fantástic !!!!! They pick up from your hotel. It was at time. Bus was fine . We started in Naples. Nice City, but at this time almost All historic places are under maintenance , so we did not see too Much. Always check befo re traveling to get updated information. After Naples we Went to Pompeii where we got da splendid lunch , befo re visit the ruins. Pompeii was awsome, the guide was very helpful with the history and landmarks in the city.(tip : get water before start the tour. It is a long Walking). The hotel in Sorrento was fantástic. The view of the vesuvio and Naples was fantástic ( hotel capodemonte)diner and breakfas Great. Next day we went to Capri and Ana capri. Beautiful island. Best views around there. The best of the tour, our guide Satcha was just AWESOME. He was very involved with all activities, the blue groto tours was just because him did everything to got it for us. That day capri was visited for 3 cruises, thousands of people, but he got it. . This tour shows the best of the Amalfi coast. I recomend with out Doubt it. This área is better with a tour. I travel most of the time in my own, but is easier in this way. The price paíd for the tour is fair, you get all acomodations, transfer, ready to enjoy it.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful time. We'd been waiting many years to see Pompeii and can now tick it off our bucket list. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, had a sense of humour and made our day very worthwhile. We took the hotel upgrade in Sorrento and had a fabulous experience. Our room and the food seemed 5 star. The view beyond gorgeous.
Due to choppy seas we didn't see the Blue Grotto in Capri. The island was over crowded and unless you want to spend your time shopping, I would recommend giving Capri a pass. Our guide there was wonderful in every possible way.
My daughter was feeling very ill on the bus ride back to Rome and the bus driver and our guide were both warm and compassionate and made the drive as good as possible.
We would definitely use Viator Tours the next time we are in Italy.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour took me to the best of Northern Italy and it was a wonderful experience. They also offer optional tours in Florence and Venice (from your own pocket, but to me they are not expensive). The guide was good and the 5 day trip was very relaxing. The hotel could be better, very small room and bathroom (even they are 4 stars hotels) and the meals and breakfasts could be better. Overall, I will give 4 1/2 stars for this tour. If you visit Italy for the first time, this will be a very good tour!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

Danielle v
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an amazing experience!! We loved every minute of our time on this trip!

Pompeii was fascinating and although it was very hot, we still enjoyed ourselves. Our tour guide was fabulous and very informative!

Sorrento is simply stunning and next time we visit I think we will spend a week there. The weather was perfect, our hotel was superb - We stayed at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte and there is so much to do and see! The shopping is incredible!!!

Capri and Ana Capri were also gorgeous, lots of lovely shops, the chairlift is worth doing and luckily we got to see the Blue Grotto! Our guide for the Capri day trip was Sascha, he was just wonderful and had a great sense of humour and was very informative!

I thoroughly recommend this trip is you have limited time and want to experience a small portion of the Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 day Italy Trip was an excellent value. Sorrento and Capri were so beautiful and Pompeii was very interesting. The stop in Naples was unnecessary as we simply passed by points of interest. Our guide of Pompeii was very knowledgeable. Sacha was an excellent guide and made our time in Capri extra special. Although we weren't able to see the Blue Grotto, due to weather, we did buy tickets for the chair lift in Anacapri and the views were amazing. Two negatives were that the tour company tried to switch our hotels which was very upsetting and stressful. When I booked with Viator I already had reservations in one of the top hotels in Sorrento. I only decided to switch to the Viator trip because you assured me that I would be placed in one of the hotels listed in the description of the trip. I did a lot of research on the hotels and felt comfortable giving up my reservation for one of the hotels offered with the 3 Day Trip. Then when I called the day before out tour left to confirm the hotel placement,the tour company told me that I was being placed in a different hotel and that there was nothing that they could do. Luckily after much discussion, they placed me in the original hotel that was listed, however, this situation was unacceptable and stressful in the middle of our vacation. I must say that the Hotel Capidomonte was absolutely wonderful. The service, meals and views from our rooms were first class. The only other problem, which should be addressed, is that the tour guide (forgot her name) that transitioned us from Pompeii to Sorrento recommended a private tour of Amalfi and said that she would be available by phone to help us make arrangements. We did call her and never received a return phone call. (We weren't the only ones with this experience.) Luckily, our hotel recommended a driver and we had a wonderful day. I should also mention that the guide from Sorrento back to Rome (also forgot her name) was excellent-so interested in each guest.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of the best tours we ever had. Mario, the tour director made it even more enjoyable with his helpful nature, witty comments, jokes and songs. The tour was very informative and enjoyable. Keep about 200 euros cash in hand per person if you want to avail of all the optional tours/visits. Florence Museum tour was an eye opener for us with its vast collection of paintings. Venice was unforgettable. At St. Marks square they have live orchestra which is spell bounding. Wish Viator had arranged the first evening dinner in Venice in a restaurant near the orchestra ! It would have been an unforgettable experience. Similarly, on second day in Venice, they should provide lunch instead of dinner, and keep the entire afternoon (after lunch) free for shopping and personal visits. That way there would be no compulsion of rushing back for dinner from wherever you are. Overall, a very well organised tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This 3-day Italy trip was one of three tours we booked through Viator for our recent visit to Italy in June 2014. What a great experience! The tour was professionally organized and timely. The hotel we stayed at in Sorrento was like heaven on earth. We couldn't believe the view from our room; it was definitely worth more than the money paid for the entire tour. I highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fascinating and FULL of history. There was not quite enough time to linger in Pompeii to dream of days long ago but this was a MUST, MUST, MUST see attraction. The trip to the Island of Capri was breathtaking and so worth the trip. The Grotto trip was a very long 2 hour nauseating wait in a rolling sea for our turn to enter the cave. The sight was well worth seeing in the end. The people were very friendly and spoke English well. Our guide was very knowledgeable indeed.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was spectacular. Only a short time in Naples and I'm sure there was more to see than we did. It seemd like we only stopped there to drop off the people on the day trip. Pompeii was amazing. Our guide was a bit heavy handed and wasn't that lively, lacked a sense of humour. The guide for Capri was wonderful, funny and full of knowledge. Capri was beautiful, not long enough there. The hotel in Sorrento was first class. Would have been nice to have the choice of whether to hav evening meal at the hotel on one of the nights as it would have been nice to experience Sorrento. Through the coach agent she arranged for a group of us to visit Positano the next morning. anothwe Wow experience. Trip well worth the money and could be extended another day.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip - Pompeii tour was very informative and we had time to shop and have a coffee afterwards - (the best place to purchase Limoncello Liquor). Lunch was outside in a lovely restaurant with local food. The motel in Sorrento was beautiful and the restaurant we dined alone with full range on the menu and overlooking the bay - a stunning view. In Capri we took the boat into the Blue Grotto, went up the hill on the chairlift to see the amazing views. We had the last day to ourselves to wander around Sorrento or take a local bus down to the Amalfi Coast. On our return to Rome we were supposed to have a Motel drop-off, however we were left stranded with all our bags, some 3-5 km from our motel and were told it was just 100 meters walk around the corner. This spoiled up to that day a very good trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Well what a brilliant trip, amazing value.
High points: Mirjiam (if a bit eccentric) and Hector(so caring) tour guides.Pompeii was great to see if a little rushed. Sorrento Michelangelo hotel was outstanding and the room was massive!Take a bus trip to the Almafi coast on the local bus, you will not be disappointed. Chair lift on Capri is a must, grotto was interesting if a little short lived.Lowish points: Dissapointed by Naples(could not see the point of going) and cheesy Coral workshop(DVD show and shop) at Pompeii. All transfers worked smoothly, apart from last one back to our hotel, the driver got lost several times and dumped us far from our hotel-but don't be put off he was obviously having a bad day! They are amazing-David and Ruth- Suffolk- UK.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We had the best time! Our guide Clara was exceptional and very helpful and friendly. Luigi our driver was lovely and very friendly also. We loved every place that we went and especially loved the singer during our optional gondola ride in Venice. We would highly recommend the tour. We also met some wonderful people which made the 5 days even more special. We have used Viator a lot and have never been disappointed. Well done and thank you.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Expected a list of Questions. Happy w/bus and certainly the driver-excellent (must be good since he's from Naples.) Really lucked out w/folks on tour, altho only about 17 out of 45 speaking or understanding English. Connected w/4 particularly--shared much vino, etc. Hotels were satisfactory--Del Fino best.(glad we were on mainland). Very impressed w/Giovanni in Florence--could tell he truly loves the magnificent ART. Liked Bologna much and surprised it's not talked up more. So glad the night tour was available before we explored Venice in daylight--way more impressive that way.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

it is simply breath taking. Visited a lot of beautiful places that no way I could have seen so much by my own in only five days.Was well organized, tour guide was very informative, worth every penny. Also there were couple of nice optional tours like going to Pisa in the afternoon, and Venice walking tour by night. Keep some cash handy if you are planning to do these additional tours as well. Accommodation and food was very good as well.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our 5-day Italy tour was amazing! I enjoyed every minute! We got to see so many citites and sites within such a limited amount of time. It was perfect!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

I love it! Carrani is one of the oldest travel company in Rome and it showed on the way they organized the tour. The tour leaders are very efficient. The tour guides are knowledgeable and they have a good way of communication with guests. I was "assigned" a room with superb view in Sorrento. And the dinner in the hotel's restaurant was so good. Heard from guests staying in other hotels that their restaurants were perfect, too. And the weather was good the day I was in Capri so we were able to visit Blue Grotto. OMG! My tips: If you have time, take the 3 days tour. You will have 1 more night in Sorrento to explore the small city and enjoy your hotel.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The quick tour of Naples was not so impressive. It would have been nice, rather, to visit the museum where all the art and artifacts from Pompeii are on display. The first day lunch was OK, but the food wasn't all that great. However, the stay at the Ambasciatori hotel in Sorrento was outstanding. Both guides, Fabbiano and Sasha were great, as were all the Viator personnel. The visit to Capri was fun, but the Grotta Azzurra, though interesting, wasn't an essential part of the visit--it's a bit overrated. Overall, a really fun trip. We're glad we took it.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2013

Our tour for this experience was led by Carrani Tours and they did an excellent job! We left Rome and went to Napoli, stopping along the way for a coffee break (if you've never been to a coffee shop in European rush hour, you are in for a surprise!) Once in Napoli, you take a short tour of the historic sites near the port. It only lasts about 30 minutes. If you are looking for more time specifically in Napoli, this is NOT the tour for you - that is the only time you will spend there, and you really do not go very far since you are basically just around the port area. After this brief stop in Naples, you board the buses to Pompeii. Pompeii is incredible, and the tour guide that we had in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and witty - learned an incredible amount of history from him. You will like Pompeii! You will have lunch there, and the meal is good. From Pompeii, you leave to go to Sorrento. Sorrento was in fact my favorite of all of the stops that we had - it is absolutely breathtaking and not completely covered up in tourists. The hotel we had in Sorrento was beautiful with incredible views of the sea. We went out into the little town to do some shopping (lots of shopping, and not all tourist shops, either) and we were having such a good time that we didn't in fact even go back to the hotel for our dinner. We chose instead to eat at a restaurant recommended to us by a local, Antica Trattoria. it was a foodie paradise! I highly recommend it if you decide to eat in the town. It is a little pricey, but it is delicious and artistic food in a great atmosphere. In the morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel (great views of the sea from the terrace, too) and boarded to go to the water taxi to Capri. Capri has beautiful views, but it is also VERY touristy. Lunch was good. Blue grotto - we saw it, but if you do not get to see it, do not lament this - buy some pictures (it's beautiful, but the effort to see it is overrated). Great trip to see much in 2 days

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

This trip was fantastic.! We visited so many cities and did so much that it felt like our vacation was 10 days long. The hotels throughout the tour were good as was the food they provided. If you take this trip be sure to set aside some money for the side trips that are offered during the 5 days. They are so worth it. We took the Venice by night tour and the half day trip to Pisa. Both trips were unforgettable. We have family in Italy and this tour allowed us an entire morning of free time in Bologna which we spent with our cousins whom we hadn't seen in 30 years. We had our son ,who is special needs , with us on this vacation and he did great the entire time. Even with all the walking.Our tour guide Clara was awesome. Very knowledgable and kind. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message