From Sorrento on the Amalfi Coast, north to Venice in the Veneto and Pisa on the coast of Tuscany – you can take in all this and more on multi-day excursions from the heart of Italy, Rome. To see the best of Italy, from top to bottom, you’ll need ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 252 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent tour, amazing how much you manage to see in 5 days.
Nicole our tour guide was amazing, very helpful and informative.
Worth booking onto all the additional tours academy in Florence, Pisa, Venice at night and gondola ride for a total of 130 euros per person. Very good value for money overall.
Hotels all lovely, worth paying upgrade in Venice for better location on the islands. Food very good given included in price and Nicole was excellent at recommending places for lunches etc. very accommodating with allergies and dietary requirements if mentioned in advance.
Worth noting, not for the faint hearted, early starts before 7am every day, lots of walking including up hill at a reasonable pace especially tough in a heatwave!!. We're in our 20s and found it hard enough at 40 degrees!!!
Overall an amazing tour and would highly recommend!!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

I highly recommend this tour. We called when we arrived in Rome from our hotel room to confirm. When we confirmed, they gave us a pickup time. We waited in the lobby with our luggage the day we got picked up. We were picked up in a small van and then taken to the area where we were to take the bus. On the way to Naples, they stop halfway so that you can buy a snack and use the bathroom. Once in Naples, you get to get out for a bit to take pictures. After Naples we ate lunch at a hotel next to the ruins. Pompeii was amazing!! I recommend you bring an umbrella and sunblock as there isn't much shade. After Pompeii, they drive us to our hotel. We paid extra to stay in the superior hotel. We got to stay in Grand Hotel Ambasciatori. If you stay there, make sure to take the elevator down to the water. On the next day, we took a boat ride to Capri. I was a bit bummed that we didn't get to go into the grotto due to high tides. We were told that the Blue Grotto is only open 30 of the whole year. We did get to take a boat ride next to the grotto. One thing I recommend doing is taking the chair lift. The views are amazing!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The first day of the tour was worrying - bus guide was unfriendly and rude. Lunch was average. The guide for Pompeii was amazing. Once we arrived at the hotel, we didn't regret the tour! It was an amazing hotel and breakfast and dinner had an amazing view. If you want to relax, do this tour!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Although very fast paced, I got to see everything in a few days. The hotel in Sorrento was breathtaking. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I booked this on the Internet and had no idea if it would be decent or not it just accommodated our 6 day time frame perfectly. i highly recommend itt( upgrade the Rome hotel) I I booked a few excursions with them. Genny (tour contact in Rome)alwayavailable. My absolute favorite was the Amalfi Coast

Doing what: 6-Day Rome and Southern Italy Tour Including Naples, Pompeii and Amalfi Coast

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I enjoyed this tour very much. The transportation logistics worked smoothly. Our group was a manageable size. We were booked at a really nice hotel. Six meals were included in the tour price. The tour guides were knowledgeable. The highlights were the trip to Pompeii and Capri. The only disappointing part was skipping the walking tour of Naples. We were supposed to see the blue grotto but it was closed for the day because of the thunderstorm in the early mornig. Our guide arranged for us to take a speed boat to the mouth of the blue grotto. That was cool.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

fabulous tour. we loved our leader mauritzio. vittorio was good at Pompeii. sasha great at Capri.. hotel ambasciatori was gorgeous at sorrento and the Capri day trip very enjoyable. The best trip in a month of touring.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Mirijam was fantastic. The hotels were nice, the food could have been better. Overall the trip is very worth it. So much learning from guides and knowledge passed along. 8 citie in 5 days is fast paced, but you really feel like you get your moneys worth.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing, really good guides
Sad that the Blue Grotto was closed but enjoyed every moment. Only wish we had one more day. Hotel Capedimonti was wonderful.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A 5-star trip in a 3-day experience!
Hotels: We stayed in a great hotel with a view of all of Sorrento, one of the nicest hotels we have stayed in ever. Easy to walk around Sorrento but you will not want to leave your hotel if you have that nice a view.
Guides: Claudia and Ornello were our main guides they were very accommodating and helpful. We felt pampered! All the guides were good, even the Pompeii and Capri guides.
Experience: We went in April the week before Easter and saw the Black Procession, which was a unique experience. The Blue Grotto was a once-in-a-lifetime experience and we went on a cloudy day. The tour of Pompeii was very cool and informative. Naples wasnt much to see but we were only there for an hour. Take the public transportation to Amalfi, it is worth a day trip in the afternoon. It would be nice if they helped you organize that more but it was worth doing for the afternoon on our own. Overall, we saw all the highlights in just 3 days and felt like we had ample free time to explore on our own.
Food: The food was DELICIOUS. Best food I have had in Italy.
We have done other Viators in Italy but THIS IS THE BEST ONE. We did the 5 day tour but the three day tour is better as you are treated like royalty seeing the most beautiful parts of Italy.
Tour is run through a local tour company. They pass you on from one local guide to the other but as long as you stick close and ask questions when you are confused you will be fine.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

John P
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour!!! Our tour director, Clara, was full of energy and kept us smiling for the whole 5 days. I was fortunate to have a good group of people of the tour and there was a good atmosphere. There were a number of nationalities I was the only European but everyone made an effort to talk to each other. Clara said in high season there is a bus each for English and Spanish languages There was a decent mix of age groups too, 60 50, 30 25.

We spent just enough time in each place I thought, with two hour stop offs in Assisi, Siena, Bologna and Padua, and you could go explore yourself. I'm not that interested in churches but the cities were all nice, and I thought Assisi was particularly impressive. Florence and Venice speak for themselves.

The hotels were good, no complaints, but I'm happy with a good bed, breakfast and no noise. I stayed in the Mediterreneano and Carlton, and I think the Carlton was a bit nicer. It was also good being in Venice, but wasn't ideal being split from the rest of the group.

The meals were well planned and were good, not great, but good. The lunch in Florence was the best in my opinion, simple but good flavours.

Clara showed us where to go when in the 4 stop offs and gave us a night tour in Venice. There are some extras you can pay for, a tour in each of Florence and Venice with a guide which I took, and were very good. I got to see the David and San Marco's Basilica. There was the obligatory stop off at somewhere you can spend some money the Murano Glass was most popular - jewellery for the ladies!!!. I didn't take the bus trip to Pisa from Florence or the gondola ride in Venice. had already been in Pisa but a couple of hours there is all you need so it's a good option

I had a great time, met good people and saw some amazing places.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall the trip was wonderful. We were picked up at our hotel in Rome early morning and took the drive to the bay of Naples to get out stretch! Then on to Pompeii. The tour did include a beautiful lunch, however, it would have served everyone better to do the tour of Pompeii prior to the lunch as it was It was raining and hailing the entire afternoon. It was hard to walk around and keep up with our tour guide in the rain. She was going way to fast to keep up with and the rain was so bad you had to hop from stone to stone in some areas to get through it. They also left us hanging in the rain, after the tour, for over an hour waiting for the Carini tour bus to pick us up. That was very unorganized! The next few days were AMAZING!!! The hotel, which was an upgrade and well worth the small fee through Viator, included 2 breakfast's and 2 dinners. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento. It was GEORGOUS. We had a private balcany with an incredible view. The dinners were 5 courses with great service. Many pictures to share. The next day we went to Capri and AnaCapri via boat. That was beautiful as well. I would suggest taking the chair lift in Anacapri, however, beware if you are afraid of heights! I had no idea how high it was until I was already on it. The only way back down is to go all the way to the top and ride the lift back down.. You can see from the pictures what I mean.. They included a beautiful lunch here as well. We met some very interesting people and had plenty of free time at the end of they day to shop! The 3rd day we had the morning to explore on our own. We took a city bus to Positano. The bus dropped of off at the top instead of the town at the bottom. Nothing at the top except a few coffee shops and it was pretty cold. But the views were amazing. More pics of that. The bus ride back to Rome was not so great due to all the Easter traffic, instead of 3 hours, it was 6, but we made it back! This was a trip I would highly reccommend!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

A fabulous three day trip, to summarise a highlight is almost impossible but Pompeii was up there, the Island of Capri and the Blue Grotto was also high on the list, then a free day to tour the Amalfi Coast. We stayed at the Michelangelo hotel in Sorrento. This is a fabulous hotel but the night we stayed here the power kept failing all night and every time the power came back n again it switched TV on which of course would wake us up, No mention of this at check-out, not even a hint of an apology anyway, it did not detract from a wonderful three days with outstanding guides.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Italy is beutiful. The five day fantasia tour was extremely organized and awesome. Ten stars to the tour guide Clara!!!! Her commitment and talent is probably the best memory We will have from the experience. So organized, yet flexible!! Her enthusiasm and joy was contagious!!!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This 2 day trip was perfect. The tours were very well organized and and coordinated. The tour guides spoke excellent English, food was good, the Hotel Michelangelo where we stayed in Sorrento was nice and centrally located, and each of the stops we made were worthwhile. Pompeii was amazing. . . to realize how advanced the Romans where almost 2000 years ago. The Sorrento Coast is absolutely lovely with breathtaking views, and the same goes for Capri. We were delighted to have been able to enter the Blue Grotto in December and take a chair lift to the top of a mountain peak in Capri to look out over the entire area. All in all we had a wonderful time, and would definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Wonderful! Had three amazing days on this tour. Loved every second!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

this tours was fantástic !!!!! They pick up from your hotel. It was at time. Bus was fine . We started in Naples. Nice City, but at this time almost All historic places are under maintenance , so we did not see too Much. Always check befo re traveling to get updated information. After Naples we Went to Pompeii where we got da splendid lunch , befo re visit the ruins. Pompeii was awsome, the guide was very helpful with the history and landmarks in the city.(tip : get water before start the tour. It is a long Walking). The hotel in Sorrento was fantástic. The view of the vesuvio and Naples was fantástic ( hotel capodemonte)diner and breakfas Great. Next day we went to Capri and Ana capri. Beautiful island. Best views around there. The best of the tour, our guide Satcha was just AWESOME. He was very involved with all activities, the blue groto tours was just because him did everything to got it for us. That day capri was visited for 3 cruises, thousands of people, but he got it. . This tour shows the best of the Amalfi coast. I recomend with out Doubt it. This área is better with a tour. I travel most of the time in my own, but is easier in this way. The price paíd for the tour is fair, you get all acomodations, transfer, ready to enjoy it.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful time. We'd been waiting many years to see Pompeii and can now tick it off our bucket list. The tour guide was very knowledgeable, had a sense of humour and made our day very worthwhile. We took the hotel upgrade in Sorrento and had a fabulous experience. Our room and the food seemed 5 star. The view beyond gorgeous.
Due to choppy seas we didn't see the Blue Grotto in Capri. The island was over crowded and unless you want to spend your time shopping, I would recommend giving Capri a pass. Our guide there was wonderful in every possible way.
My daughter was feeling very ill on the bus ride back to Rome and the bus driver and our guide were both warm and compassionate and made the drive as good as possible.
We would definitely use Viator Tours the next time we are in Italy.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour took me to the best of Northern Italy and it was a wonderful experience. They also offer optional tours in Florence and Venice (from your own pocket, but to me they are not expensive). The guide was good and the 5 day trip was very relaxing. The hotel could be better, very small room and bathroom (even they are 4 stars hotels) and the meals and breakfasts could be better. Overall, I will give 4 1/2 stars for this tour. If you visit Italy for the first time, this will be a very good tour!

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

Danielle v
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

What an amazing experience!! We loved every minute of our time on this trip!

Pompeii was fascinating and although it was very hot, we still enjoyed ourselves. Our tour guide was fabulous and very informative!

Sorrento is simply stunning and next time we visit I think we will spend a week there. The weather was perfect, our hotel was superb - We stayed at The Grand Hotel Capodimonte and there is so much to do and see! The shopping is incredible!!!

Capri and Ana Capri were also gorgeous, lots of lovely shops, the chairlift is worth doing and luckily we got to see the Blue Grotto! Our guide for the Capri day trip was Sascha, he was just wonderful and had a great sense of humour and was very informative!

I thoroughly recommend this trip is you have limited time and want to experience a small portion of the Amalfi Coast.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 day Italy Trip was an excellent value. Sorrento and Capri were so beautiful and Pompeii was very interesting. The stop in Naples was unnecessary as we simply passed by points of interest. Our guide of Pompeii was very knowledgeable. Sacha was an excellent guide and made our time in Capri extra special. Although we weren't able to see the Blue Grotto, due to weather, we did buy tickets for the chair lift in Anacapri and the views were amazing. Two negatives were that the tour company tried to switch our hotels which was very upsetting and stressful. When I booked with Viator I already had reservations in one of the top hotels in Sorrento. I only decided to switch to the Viator trip because you assured me that I would be placed in one of the hotels listed in the description of the trip. I did a lot of research on the hotels and felt comfortable giving up my reservation for one of the hotels offered with the 3 Day Trip. Then when I called the day before out tour left to confirm the hotel placement,the tour company told me that I was being placed in a different hotel and that there was nothing that they could do. Luckily after much discussion, they placed me in the original hotel that was listed, however, this situation was unacceptable and stressful in the middle of our vacation. I must say that the Hotel Capidomonte was absolutely wonderful. The service, meals and views from our rooms were first class. The only other problem, which should be addressed, is that the tour guide (forgot her name) that transitioned us from Pompeii to Sorrento recommended a private tour of Amalfi and said that she would be available by phone to help us make arrangements. We did call her and never received a return phone call. (We weren't the only ones with this experience.) Luckily, our hotel recommended a driver and we had a wonderful day. I should also mention that the guide from Sorrento back to Rome (also forgot her name) was excellent-so interested in each guest.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

One of the best tours we ever had. Mario, the tour director made it even more enjoyable with his helpful nature, witty comments, jokes and songs. The tour was very informative and enjoyable. Keep about 200 euros cash in hand per person if you want to avail of all the optional tours/visits. Florence Museum tour was an eye opener for us with its vast collection of paintings. Venice was unforgettable. At St. Marks square they have live orchestra which is spell bounding. Wish Viator had arranged the first evening dinner in Venice in a restaurant near the orchestra ! It would have been an unforgettable experience. Similarly, on second day in Venice, they should provide lunch instead of dinner, and keep the entire afternoon (after lunch) free for shopping and personal visits. That way there would be no compulsion of rushing back for dinner from wherever you are. Overall, a very well organised tour.

Doing what: 5-Day Best of Italy Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This 3-day Italy trip was one of three tours we booked through Viator for our recent visit to Italy in June 2014. What a great experience! The tour was professionally organized and timely. The hotel we stayed at in Sorrento was like heaven on earth. We couldn't believe the view from our room; it was definitely worth more than the money paid for the entire tour. I highly recommend Viator.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This tour was fascinating and FULL of history. There was not quite enough time to linger in Pompeii to dream of days long ago but this was a MUST, MUST, MUST see attraction. The trip to the Island of Capri was breathtaking and so worth the trip. The Grotto trip was a very long 2 hour nauseating wait in a rolling sea for our turn to enter the cave. The sight was well worth seeing in the end. The people were very friendly and spoke English well. Our guide was very knowledgeable indeed.

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was spectacular. Only a short time in Naples and I'm sure there was more to see than we did. It seemd like we only stopped there to drop off the people on the day trip. Pompeii was amazing. Our guide was a bit heavy handed and wasn't that lively, lacked a sense of humour. The guide for Capri was wonderful, funny and full of knowledge. Capri was beautiful, not long enough there. The hotel in Sorrento was first class. Would have been nice to have the choice of whether to hav evening meal at the hotel on one of the nights as it would have been nice to experience Sorrento. Through the coach agent she arranged for a group of us to visit Positano the next morning. anothwe Wow experience. Trip well worth the money and could be extended another day.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message