Hoover Dam (also known as Boulder Dam) is one of the largest in America. It was built between 1931 and 1936 across Black Canyon and above the mighty Colorado River. It's a national historical landmark with remarkable views of the Colorado River, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 250 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour is amaizing. I highly recommend to visit Pompeii via Viator which offers good services and you needn't to worry about the traffic as it is all organised by aviator and a full day trip Rome/Pompeii is exactly what business people are looking forward to during their tight traveling schedule.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

EXCELLENT DAY TRIP AND SIGHTSEEING FROM ROME TO NAPLES AND POMPEII. VERY KNOWLEDGABLE TOUR GUIDES. COULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT THE STOP AT THE CORAL SHOP.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this trip. It was a tight squeeze getting 8 (plus the driver) in the van but it was much better than trying to drive myself. I sat in the front middle seat and the driver did an excellent job on the really winding roads along the Amalfi coast. I always felt safe. We stopped for refreshments about halfway and also stopped along the way for pictures. Amalfi was beautiful and the 1 hour that we spent there was enough time for me since it's not a very big place. I really loved Positano and wished we could have spent more time there but I knew on a day trip like this it would be a quick trip. The driver led us to a restaurant that was very good and the service was pretty fast. It sat right on the water and it wasn't cheap but how many times in my life will I get to Positano? It was worth it. This allowed some time for shopping and picture taking after lunch. Now I want to talk about the tour of Pompeii. I can't say enough about how good this tour was. We met up with the guide there and he was fabulous! He said his father and granfather had done tours before him. He was funny and knowledgable. Pompeii is amazing. There's much more there to see than I thought. There are more ruins left than in Ancient Rome and it's easier to see the how they lived. I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this. I would recommend this tour anytime. It's a long day and I was dropped off at my hotel at about 9:30 PM but it was worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific trip. This is the only trip that I could find from Rome which returns the same day. They pick you up in an 8 passenger minivan at 7 am at your hotel or B and B and return you to the same location by 10 pm. Pompeii was terrific and the guide was excellent. They only stop for 2 hours in Pompeii but we felt it was enough. Pompeii is very large and their are one day "Pompeii only" day tours from Rome if you want even more time in Pompeii. There are also overnight and 2 day tours to the Amalfi Coast but this is the only tour that come back to Rome the same day. It stops in Amalfi and Portofino, both beautiful located on the mountainside high above the ocean, but stopping at two towns was more than more than enough. It's a long but perfect day and we did not feel the time we spent in Pompeii and the two coast towns were just the right amount of time. I recommend this tour VERY highly. Expensive, but worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unequivocably the highlight of my trip to Rome. First of all, it is worth the $$ just to be picked up at the hotel when the day starts so early and ends so late. Our group of 7 was pleasant, and the van was not plush but adequate and comfortable. The guide for the day (Monia? Not sure how to spell her name) was fantastic, friendly, and helpful. The driver, Max, was great driver and a funny guy. The scenery was beautiful, and we stopped frequently for short pit stops and camera opportunities. The lunch in Positano was actually the best food I had all week, better than any we had in Rome (I ordered the local specialties of Caprese salad and linguine pesto). If you have any health or mobility issues, be warned that we walked down a lot of steps to get to lunch on seaside in Positano, so it was a bit of a climb back up to the top again. If you can't do that, there are places at the top where you could eat and then meet up afterward. We had time to look around and do a bit of shopping after lunch. But it wasn't enough. if I ever go back, I'd spend 1-2 days in Rome and the rest in Positano and surrounding area.
In Pompeii, we had a local guide (Guitano) who was a third -generation tour guide there. He claimed to know more about Pompeii than his own home, and I believe him. I thought I knew a lot about Pompeii, but he was amazing, and I learned so much from this trip. The surprising thing was how much he taught us about daily life in Ancient Rome in general, not just Pompeii, since he drew many parallels between Pompeii and Rome. He also made many comparisons between Pompeii and Roman Empire vs the modern world, which were very insightful and thought-provoking. In short, even if you've read the books and seen the museum displays, there is no substitute for the real thing, and a local guide is imperative. I came away with a whole new appreciation for what daily life and culture was like in Pompeii and Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic and Syriana? was a great tour guide. The older chap that walked us around Pompeii was also fabulous and very interesting to listen to. There was just an ideal level of walking and we weren't too stuffed by the end. What an amazing place and we are so glad we finished our trip to Rome with a bang. I would like to also say that making this booking from our apartment in Rome two days before the trip was very simple. The booking process and meeting info that comes via email was very easy and ofcourse the e vouchers cause who has a printer on holidays?. all good from here. thanks ruth and robert from Melbourne

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Favourite day of my holiday. This trip was amazing! Meeting point was easy to find, and the bus journey was comfortable. Gia our guide was very entertaining and gave us plenty of tips for Pompeii and Rome. We upgraded to a 2 hour guided tour and are so glad we did. we underestimated just how big Pompeii is so it allowed us to see all the "must see's" and also gave us plenty of time to explore on our own after.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is not cheap, especially for a family of 4, and so expectations wereset high. Other reviews have, in my opinion, been fairly accurate. The trip itself is a no brainer - 2 world class sites although I would have been disappointed if poor weather had forced a cancellation of Vesuvius in favour of an extended visit to Pompeii (not a bad plan B but Vesuvius is after all 50% of the rationale for the trip), albeit of course no reflection of the operators. I have seen some criticism of the restaurant used for the lunchtime stop however I have no criticism. They are catering for coach loads and so it is a little fast-foodish however the quality of the Pizza (a fast-food!) was very high so no complaints from us. Daniel and Mel (our guides) were superb and incredibly knowledgeable, not just about the destination, but all things Rome. Both knew the right balance between sharing knowledge and useful info (especially as a means of making a long coach trip pass quickly) and letting us sleep! The comfort break stop at Cassino (same place on the way there and on the way back) was also pleasant especially for those partial to caffeine and, on the way back, a limoncello taster, albeit the proprietors would be well advised to keep the toilets cleaner than they were. According to the ladies these had deteriorated materially during the course of the day. In terms of logistics and organisation - both first class and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a much better trip than I imagined. It is a long day, but you get to experience Naples Pizza, walk up Mt. Vesuvius, and tour around Pompeii. Sarah and Robert were a great tag team. Robert provided extensive geologic background and the history of the surrounding area, while Sarah provided us with some very interesting and funny details about the food. It was an outstanding trip, and I could not have learned as much traveling on my own. Thank you, thank you. A side note: there are a few trips advertised for Pompeii, but it is worth paying the extra to eat lunch in Naples and walk up the mountian. Also, maybe you want to wear some sturdy shoes for the mountain. . Truly amazing! A must see if you are going to Rome for a few days.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 day Italy Trip was an excellent value. Sorrento and Capri were so beautiful and Pompeii was very interesting. The stop in Naples was unnecessary as we simply passed by points of interest. Our guide of Pompeii was very knowledgeable. Sacha was an excellent guide and made our time in Capri extra special. Although we weren't able to see the Blue Grotto, due to weather, we did buy tickets for the chair lift in Anacapri and the views were amazing. Two negatives were that the tour company tried to switch our hotels which was very upsetting and stressful. When I booked with Viator I already had reservations in one of the top hotels in Sorrento. I only decided to switch to the Viator trip because you assured me that I would be placed in one of the hotels listed in the description of the trip. I did a lot of research on the hotels and felt comfortable giving up my reservation for one of the hotels offered with the 3 Day Trip. Then when I called the day before out tour left to confirm the hotel placement,the tour company told me that I was being placed in a different hotel and that there was nothing that they could do. Luckily after much discussion, they placed me in the original hotel that was listed, however, this situation was unacceptable and stressful in the middle of our vacation. I must say that the Hotel Capidomonte was absolutely wonderful. The service, meals and views from our rooms were first class. The only other problem, which should be addressed, is that the tour guide (forgot her name) that transitioned us from Pompeii to Sorrento recommended a private tour of Amalfi and said that she would be available by phone to help us make arrangements. We did call her and never received a return phone call. (We weren't the only ones with this experience.) Luckily, our hotel recommended a driver and we had a wonderful day. I should also mention that the guide from Sorrento back to Rome (also forgot her name) was excellent-so interested in each guest.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message