Take a break from Rome's big-city bustle to discover the fascinating history of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. A visit to the haunting ruins of Pompeii takes you back to the fateful day in 79 AD when neighboring Mt Vesuvius erupted, covering the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 271 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, picked us up from hotel on time, friendly tour guide, as advised we stopped from breakfast and went to the coast and Pompeii. Great day out as you see the coast and embark on a road trip you would probably not normally do if staying in Rome as its a long journey!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Pompeii tour was amazing!! Definitely worth doing. If you are a Pompeii lover you should consider staying over night there so you can do a longer tour of Pompeii because there is so much to see. Otherwise the day trip from Rome covered a lot! The ride down had beautiful scenic views and our tour guide was so energetic and taught us about the history along the way they also let us nap considering you leave so early. The halfway point you stop at on the way there and back gets a lot of visits from buses so if you have to use the restroom go first because you may not have time if you buy food first so you may want to bring a little snack for the ride. I thought the souvenirs were better outside of Pompeii then at Mount Vesuvius if you're looking to buy anything. After Pompeii we had a fabulous lunch and then headed to Vesuvius. The hike wasn't as long as I expected but was still a good exercise which you will need after eating a whole pizza pie yourself! because the grade was so steep. Definitely a trip you need to wear good shoes on. There is basically no bathroom at Mount Vesuvius so keep that in mind when you are leaving lunch at the restaurant. On the way back our tour guide also went around and helped people book more tours in Rome that they still had open and gave you a discount too which was awesome. Overall a great experience!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We, my wife and I, started this trip with a little trepidation. Had just come to Rome the day before. But the fear was totally unfounded. Our guides took very good care of us. Pompeii is amazing, so is Capri and the Blue Grotto. The hotel in Sorrento was good too. Though in the morning it looked like the Blue Grotto might not materialize we got to see it in the afternoon. Our holiday in Italy started with a bang!

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Brilliant experience!! Was debating whether to do such a long trip during a short break to Rome 5days however the 3 hour coach ride there and back was completely worth it! Was I tired at the end of the day..sure but the culture and experience was well worth it! Guides were fantastic, made the journey seem a lot shorter than it was, Roberts stories about old rome/Pompeii were brilliant. The lady guide was fantastic as well sorry forgotten name. Highly recommend climbing Vesuvius! Knackering but views were insane!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very big day but it was fabulous, loved the Amalfi Coast, our driver was excellent and our trip to Pompeii was incredible, our guide was amazing, so much knowledge. It is an early start and didn't get back to Rome until 8.45 pm but we had a great day.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It is a long day but well worth it. The bus ride stops for a break so you can go to the bathroom and get a snack. The walk up Vesuvius is not for the faint of heart. It is a steady incline they say 20, but it sure seems steeper. There is not much of a level rest area in throughout the trek. Still worth it for the view of the crater and the surrounding sights including Naples. The bus ride up and down is harrowing in and of itself. The lunch is hearty. Each person got a whole pizza and salad and drink. We had a gluten free member and the restaurant was accommodating. After a nice lunch there was a quick bus ride to Pompeii. The guide was wonderful. Gave us a lot of great information with flare and comedy when needed. Everyone received a headset which worked outstanding. We walked for about 75 minutes. Really the highlight of the trip. We were all exhausted and we stopped on the way back from Rome at the stop area we did on the way up. We spent some extra time here for purchase of souvenirs and drinks. It did take about 13 hours for the entire trip. Cannot say anything bad. The local guides on the bus gave us tips about some places to eat and visit in Rome. Fantastic, but exhausting day. Would definitely recommend this tour if you have Pompeii and Vesuvius on your list of attractions to see while in Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Long day - but so worth the effort.
An Early star, and a late finish but our tour guides made the day with their commentary and knowledge.
We learnt all sorts of historical information, as well as the history of pizza making, good restaurants in Rome and how to tell a good gelataria!
And then there was the locations, My Vesuvius was shrouded in clouds / fog, and it was still great to visit, then Pompeii was excellent, our daughter had studied all of this in school and it brought it all to life or her
Could not recommend this trip more

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Everything about this tour was amazing. It is a long day but if you want a high-quality tour, this is the one to do. Stephanie and Anna were our City Wonders tour guides and we honestly used their tips on traveling Rome and Italy for the rest of the trip - they went above and beyond to describe where to eat, what neighborhoods to check out, where to find good leather, how to avoid tourist traps, etc. and as stated before, we used these tips for the rest of our week in Italy.
And regarding our tour, Stephanie and Anna did a great job at prepping us on what to expect for the day. The drive from Rome to Pompeii is a little long but there are comfort stops along the way for restrooms and coffee/snacks. The pizza lunch is delicious and worth the wait.
Enrico was our actual tour guide of Pompeii and he was potentially the most enjoyable guide we had throughout our entire trip. He was knowledgable, funny dry sense of humor, and was able to answer all our questions.
The trip up Vesuvius was not too challenging - and the views of Naples from the top are breathtaking.
Overall, this is a high-quality tour that goes above and beyond when it comes to the information and experience they provide. Highly recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I bought this trip for my friend for Christmas to allow her to fulfil a lifelong ambition of seeing Pompeii and Mount Vesuvius. We had high hopes and we weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to have Melanie as our guide and she made the day really special. The locations of Mount Vesuvius and Pompeii were amazing in their own right, the views back from Vesuvius over Naples a particular highlight of mine. Melanie however kept us entertained with facts, figures and humour on the 3 hour journey down from Rome and back again. We were looked after from start to finish and it was a joy to be a part of the tour. I can't recommend this highly enough. Melanie, if you read this, we took your advice and visited La Carbonara in Monti on our last night after booking! and had the best meal of the trip. :- thank you for the tip. Liz and Jen

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Overall the trip was wonderful. We were picked up at our hotel in Rome early morning and took the drive to the bay of Naples to get out stretch! Then on to Pompeii. The tour did include a beautiful lunch, however, it would have served everyone better to do the tour of Pompeii prior to the lunch as it was It was raining and hailing the entire afternoon. It was hard to walk around and keep up with our tour guide in the rain. She was going way to fast to keep up with and the rain was so bad you had to hop from stone to stone in some areas to get through it. They also left us hanging in the rain, after the tour, for over an hour waiting for the Carini tour bus to pick us up. That was very unorganized! The next few days were AMAZING!!! The hotel, which was an upgrade and well worth the small fee through Viator, included 2 breakfast's and 2 dinners. We stayed at the Grand Hotel Royal in Sorrento. It was GEORGOUS. We had a private balcany with an incredible view. The dinners were 5 courses with great service. Many pictures to share. The next day we went to Capri and AnaCapri via boat. That was beautiful as well. I would suggest taking the chair lift in Anacapri, however, beware if you are afraid of heights! I had no idea how high it was until I was already on it. The only way back down is to go all the way to the top and ride the lift back down.. You can see from the pictures what I mean.. They included a beautiful lunch here as well. We met some very interesting people and had plenty of free time at the end of they day to shop! The 3rd day we had the morning to explore on our own. We took a city bus to Positano. The bus dropped of off at the top instead of the town at the bottom. Nothing at the top except a few coffee shops and it was pretty cold. But the views were amazing. More pics of that. The bus ride back to Rome was not so great due to all the Easter traffic, instead of 3 hours, it was 6, but we made it back! This was a trip I would highly reccommend!!!

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

This was an amazing experience, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in seeing ancient ruins! I was travelling alone for this trip.

Stephanie and Melanie were my tour guides, and they were able to keep us all entertained for the 3 hour trip to Pompeii and the 3 hour trip back to Rome. Don't worry though, they do split the journey in half, so you get a break every 1hr and 30min! Stephanie and Melanie gave interesting facts about Rome, Naples, Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius, so there was never a dull moment inside the bus.

Because I booked during winter, Mt Vesuvius was closed. You do however get to visit the Archeological Museum of Naples, and they have a large collection of artefacts from the Pompeii excavation. It was a great museum, albeit confusing in its layout. Be warned, nothing is translated into English! But the artefacts themselves are pretty self-explanatory. Some of the more interesting parts of the exhibition were closed due to it being a Sunday (the Secret Chamber, and some of the more well known frescoes), but it was still an enjoyable time. You do get to wonder on your own in the museum, so you can take your time looking at various things.

Lunch is a traditional Naples pizza, which is absolutely delicious. You also get a complimentary beverage and salad to go with your meal.

The tour of Pompeii was fantastic as well. You get shown around the most interesting and well preserved parts of the city by a local and knowledgeable tour guide (I think to explore the whole city yourself would require a whole day). You also get to see some of the plaster casts of victims of the eruption of Mt Vesuvius, the most memorable being the one of the dog.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone! It was very well organised and the tour guides were especially accommodating and understanding! Thank you very much Stephanie and Melanie for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The tour is amaizing. I highly recommend to visit Pompeii via Viator which offers good services and you needn't to worry about the traffic as it is all organised by aviator and a full day trip Rome/Pompeii is exactly what business people are looking forward to during their tight traveling schedule.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

EXCELLENT DAY TRIP AND SIGHTSEEING FROM ROME TO NAPLES AND POMPEII. VERY KNOWLEDGABLE TOUR GUIDES. COULD HAVE DONE WITHOUT THE STOP AT THE CORAL SHOP.

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I really enjoyed this trip. It was a tight squeeze getting 8 (plus the driver) in the van but it was much better than trying to drive myself. I sat in the front middle seat and the driver did an excellent job on the really winding roads along the Amalfi coast. I always felt safe. We stopped for refreshments about halfway and also stopped along the way for pictures. Amalfi was beautiful and the 1 hour that we spent there was enough time for me since it's not a very big place. I really loved Positano and wished we could have spent more time there but I knew on a day trip like this it would be a quick trip. The driver led us to a restaurant that was very good and the service was pretty fast. It sat right on the water and it wasn't cheap but how many times in my life will I get to Positano? It was worth it. This allowed some time for shopping and picture taking after lunch. Now I want to talk about the tour of Pompeii. I can't say enough about how good this tour was. We met up with the guide there and he was fabulous! He said his father and granfather had done tours before him. He was funny and knowledgable. Pompeii is amazing. There's much more there to see than I thought. There are more ruins left than in Ancient Rome and it's easier to see the how they lived. I was really surprised at how much I enjoyed this. I would recommend this tour anytime. It's a long day and I was dropped off at my hotel at about 9:30 PM but it was worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Terrific trip. This is the only trip that I could find from Rome which returns the same day. They pick you up in an 8 passenger minivan at 7 am at your hotel or B and B and return you to the same location by 10 pm. Pompeii was terrific and the guide was excellent. They only stop for 2 hours in Pompeii but we felt it was enough. Pompeii is very large and their are one day "Pompeii only" day tours from Rome if you want even more time in Pompeii. There are also overnight and 2 day tours to the Amalfi Coast but this is the only tour that come back to Rome the same day. It stops in Amalfi and Portofino, both beautiful located on the mountainside high above the ocean, but stopping at two towns was more than more than enough. It's a long but perfect day and we did not feel the time we spent in Pompeii and the two coast towns were just the right amount of time. I recommend this tour VERY highly. Expensive, but worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was unequivocably the highlight of my trip to Rome. First of all, it is worth the $$ just to be picked up at the hotel when the day starts so early and ends so late. Our group of 7 was pleasant, and the van was not plush but adequate and comfortable. The guide for the day (Monia? Not sure how to spell her name) was fantastic, friendly, and helpful. The driver, Max, was great driver and a funny guy. The scenery was beautiful, and we stopped frequently for short pit stops and camera opportunities. The lunch in Positano was actually the best food I had all week, better than any we had in Rome (I ordered the local specialties of Caprese salad and linguine pesto). If you have any health or mobility issues, be warned that we walked down a lot of steps to get to lunch on seaside in Positano, so it was a bit of a climb back up to the top again. If you can't do that, there are places at the top where you could eat and then meet up afterward. We had time to look around and do a bit of shopping after lunch. But it wasn't enough. if I ever go back, I'd spend 1-2 days in Rome and the rest in Positano and surrounding area.
In Pompeii, we had a local guide (Guitano) who was a third -generation tour guide there. He claimed to know more about Pompeii than his own home, and I believe him. I thought I knew a lot about Pompeii, but he was amazing, and I learned so much from this trip. The surprising thing was how much he taught us about daily life in Ancient Rome in general, not just Pompeii, since he drew many parallels between Pompeii and Rome. He also made many comparisons between Pompeii and Roman Empire vs the modern world, which were very insightful and thought-provoking. In short, even if you've read the books and seen the museum displays, there is no substitute for the real thing, and a local guide is imperative. I came away with a whole new appreciation for what daily life and culture was like in Pompeii and Ancient Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was fantastic and Syriana? was a great tour guide. The older chap that walked us around Pompeii was also fabulous and very interesting to listen to. There was just an ideal level of walking and we weren't too stuffed by the end. What an amazing place and we are so glad we finished our trip to Rome with a bang. I would like to also say that making this booking from our apartment in Rome two days before the trip was very simple. The booking process and meeting info that comes via email was very easy and ofcourse the e vouchers cause who has a printer on holidays?. all good from here. thanks ruth and robert from Melbourne

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Favourite day of my holiday. This trip was amazing! Meeting point was easy to find, and the bus journey was comfortable. Gia our guide was very entertaining and gave us plenty of tips for Pompeii and Rome. We upgraded to a 2 hour guided tour and are so glad we did. we underestimated just how big Pompeii is so it allowed us to see all the "must see's" and also gave us plenty of time to explore on our own after.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The trip is not cheap, especially for a family of 4, and so expectations wereset high. Other reviews have, in my opinion, been fairly accurate. The trip itself is a no brainer - 2 world class sites although I would have been disappointed if poor weather had forced a cancellation of Vesuvius in favour of an extended visit to Pompeii (not a bad plan B but Vesuvius is after all 50% of the rationale for the trip), albeit of course no reflection of the operators. I have seen some criticism of the restaurant used for the lunchtime stop however I have no criticism. They are catering for coach loads and so it is a little fast-foodish however the quality of the Pizza (a fast-food!) was very high so no complaints from us. Daniel and Mel (our guides) were superb and incredibly knowledgeable, not just about the destination, but all things Rome. Both knew the right balance between sharing knowledge and useful info (especially as a means of making a long coach trip pass quickly) and letting us sleep! The comfort break stop at Cassino (same place on the way there and on the way back) was also pleasant especially for those partial to caffeine and, on the way back, a limoncello taster, albeit the proprietors would be well advised to keep the toilets cleaner than they were. According to the ladies these had deteriorated materially during the course of the day. In terms of logistics and organisation - both first class and would definitely use the company again.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a much better trip than I imagined. It is a long day, but you get to experience Naples Pizza, walk up Mt. Vesuvius, and tour around Pompeii. Sarah and Robert were a great tag team. Robert provided extensive geologic background and the history of the surrounding area, while Sarah provided us with some very interesting and funny details about the food. It was an outstanding trip, and I could not have learned as much traveling on my own. Thank you, thank you. A side note: there are a few trips advertised for Pompeii, but it is worth paying the extra to eat lunch in Naples and walk up the mountian. Also, maybe you want to wear some sturdy shoes for the mountain. . Truly amazing! A must see if you are going to Rome for a few days.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message