Take a break from Rome's big-city bustle to discover the fascinating history of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. A visit to the haunting ruins of Pompeii takes you back to the fateful day in 79 AD when neighboring Mt Vesuvius erupted, covering the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

John P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The day trip tour to Pompeii was well organized and comfortable. Luca and Manuel were great guides. Alberto was a fantastic driver. The local guide at Pompeii, Enzo, was incredible! There was enough time at the comfort stops and information shared by the guides about Rome during our return was of value.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Donna Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was an amazing trip. The guides provided useful information to make the trip more meaningful. From the rim of Mt Vesuvius we could look down into the crater and looking out we saw the spectacular view of the Bay of Naples and its city. After a nice lunch we preceeded to walk the city streets of Pompeii and imagine what life was like before 79AD when the city was destroyed by the eruption of the volcano. This was a full day including the bus ride from Rome and back. There was a break midway for a stretch and perhaps a cup of coffee/expresso. It was a very special day we shared with our two grandsons who enjoyed it as much as we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Denis John W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We had a wonderful day visiting Naples and Pompeii. Trip was very enjoyable and made so interesting by Sylvia our guide from Rome to Pompeii and then by the gentleman who joined us sorry forgot his name and then took us around Pompeii. This is only a brief visit to Pompeii but gives you a good insight into the ancient ruins and was so absorbing . I really wanted it to go on longer, We had lunch included and that was so lovely and on our way to Naples we stopped off at a cameo making factory which was very interesting as we watched a lady making a cameo. All in all a wonderful trip that I would recommend to anyone . Thanks Viator

Doing what: Naples and Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

James Blake W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

While I am usually reluctant to book and take tours when traveling abroad, I was impressed with our tour guide, Luca, and I really enjoyed exploring the Naples National Archaeological Museum and Pompeii. It's a long and full day trip from Rome, but it's completely worth it!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michelle Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Both our tour guide and Pompeii guide were very knowledgeable and interesting. The day was very well planned and ran smoothly. We enjoyed seeing the Archaeological Museum before visiting the site as it helped us imagine the city as it once would have been. We recommend this trip for anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

kah t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I was on a work trip in Milan and decided to skip town to Rome. I was lucky enough to get on a tour guided by Roberto which I read many positive feedback on. He has kept the trip light i.e. not all boring stuffs, but he talked us through the history of Pompeii on our bus ride there..and kept us entertain throughout. It will always be a trip I highly spoke about besides being there in Pompeii myself but also guided by a great tour guide. It was well worth the 12-13 hours of the day. I am pretty sure you will not know how time passes so quickly on this trip!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Douglas K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were picked up at our hotel in a van and taken to the bus at the meeting point. Bus ride to Naples etc was excellant driver and guide very good. Naples was just a twenty minute stop at the harbour which by all accounts about Naples was just right ! Not a nice place according to guides and Romans.
Pompeii was excellant - the ruins are well worth the trip and with the guide Marco were even better. Easily could spend another full day there - another trip perhaps.
Our hotel in Sorrento was fantastic Imperial Tramontano. Well beyond our expectations. Room and meals were top drawer. Very classy place. Day trip to Capri again excellent - with the guide every detail and highlight was looked after for us. Great day.
Return to Rome was right on time with our pick up and drop off at our hotel in Rome.
Thanks for three outstanding days.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

colesy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

What a Great day out. Trip was well organised from start to finish. Coach was comfortable and our tour guide Stephanie was absolutely fantastic. Full day was filled with interesting facts about Rome, the route we travelled and Pompeii itself. The journey could have been a bit long and boring had it not been for the Tour guides and their interesting in-depth knowledge. Pompeii was amazing, there was much more to it than i had thought and i would highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Alexandra B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We were on a 3 day trip to Rome and decided to take a day trip to Pompeii and Mt Vesuvius. The early morning start was worth it as we experienced the right amount of time in both places. Our tour guide was both information and very funny and also very helpful.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Paul G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Wow, the opportunity to climb Mt Vesuvius and look into the crater was not to be missed, although quite a long trip from Rome. Pompeii was just as I expected, only bigger, much bigger. Could have done a whole day at Pompeii easily as there is so much to see. The guide was first class and very helpful.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Gail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This was a fantastic day! Had the best guide in the world -- Massimo ruined our tours for the rest of our two week trip!!!! No one could compare to him!!!!!! He was full of all kinds of interesting information about Rome. He was funny and engaging!! That is one wonderful tour guide that you have there. We enjoyed the climb up Mt. Vesuvius and of course the trip to Pompeii. Our guide Alexandra was also very good.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

keith1955

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

What a Fantastic day out. Rob and Becky were absolutely BRILLIANT, and really knew their stuff. We have never learnt so much in such a short time. What a great History lesson. The Restaurant where we had lunch was great, and the food far exceeded our expectations.
Lots of tips and advice was given to us about every day life in Rome, and proved to be very usefull during our stay in Rome.
The coach journey was very comfortable, and the rest breaks were well timed. It was also good that our driver had Ice Cold bottles of water on the coach at 1 each, which saved buying it at silly prices from the places we visited.
The tour around Pompeii, was very informative and well planned.
The trip up Mount Vesuvius was to say the least, a VERY interesting coach drive, and the walk to the top was hard work for us at 60 yrs old , but well worth it when you get there. Fantastic views from 4,300 feet up a volcano, above the clouds.
The journey back to Rome was full of more history and very useful tips about where to go, and what to see in Rome, including some good restaurants and Gellato shops.
My wife and I can't praise this duo enough for making it a great day, and we highly recommend it.
Thank You Becky and Rob for a GREAT day out.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Michael C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Antonella and Robert were our wonderful guides. Robert was so passionate about sharing his knowledge of Rome, the region and Vesuvius that he was addictive and has a fun way of sharing his knowledge. Antonella was very helpful, kind and informative and between them they made a great team and I would certainly hope to be in their company again if I get the chance to return. The trip was well organised and worth paying for the ticket. Pompeii was fascinating and our guide on site was very up on her subject also with lots of information and stories. Climbing that last stretch of Vesuvius, almost vertically lol, and becoming one of Roberts Vessies was exhilarating and a major achievement. It certainly worked off the traditional pizza lunch that was also part of the trip. The coach ride up and down the volcano is just as exciting and the views are magnificent. If I am fortunate enough to return to Rome or the region, I would not hesitate booking this day trip again. It's a long day from Rome ...... 7.30am to around 8pm ....... but well worth it and you get a couple of bathroom breaks at a very nice coffee/souvenir shop below Monte Cassino. The total travel time is around 6 hours, but definitely on the return journey you are grateful for the time to get a nap. You will need it. Great day and, again, Antonella and Robert were outstanding guides.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Emme W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great day trip!!! It's a long day but there is decent time to rest on the comfortable bus ride back to Rome. Andy was one of our tour guides and having him there made all the difference! He's entertaining, very personable, and shares a lot of valuable information along the way. This tour is well organized and my friends and I really enjoyed the hike and Pompeii!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Kelly D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Although it was a long day, we found this trip to be one of our favorites in the 2 weeks in Italy! Our coach bus was comfortable, the guides extremely knowledgable, but most importantly they were kind and extremely helpful. Pompeii is more than I expected and the hike to the crater of Mt. Vesuvius was a bucket-list kind of activity. Be ready to do quite a bit of walking, but there was plenty of time to rest on the return trip to Rome.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Victoria W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guides and the bus driver were fantastic! We took this day trip from Rome to Pompeii and got to do a walking tour of the city, eat a pizza lunch near Naples, and then head up Mt. Vesuvius. Wear comfortable shoes, bring sunscreen, and stay hydrated. Other than that, be prepared to learn a bunch and see a completely different region of Italy!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Jason A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was the best guided tour we had on our trip to the UK and to Rome. Even though it was a three hour ride to Pompeii, the drivers were very entertaining and informative that the ride did not seem that long at all. They explained a lot of stuff about Rome, Italy, Romans, Pompeii, Vesuvius, and the eruption. The amount of time at each place was perfect and we did not feel rushed at all. I would highly recommend doing this on your first full day in Rome as we learned so much about what else to see in Rome that we never considered before. We unfortunately did the tour on our last full day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Matthew E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

My wife and I took the day trip to Pompeii from Rome and really enjoyed our time. The hike up Mt. Vesuvius was invigorating and had gorgeous views! Pompeii was fascinating and the tour guides were full of great information including recommendations on where to eat back in Rome!. It was well worth the time and money.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Janetscheid

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent day trip by bus from Rome to Pompeii, including a vigorous hike up to the crater of Mt Vesuvius. Our guide spoke perfect English and shared many stories and much information on trip both to and from Pompeii. She was also personally very helpful providing me with train information and protocol for our next day's journey. The guide who showed us around Pompeii was excellent, pointing out many interesting facts that we would have missed had we toured on our own. One could spend days exploring Pompeii, but he made the visit both efficient and thorough.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Tom E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a great day. The guides had the day perfectly organized. They were easy to understand and very knowledgeable. They gave us time to be quiet on the bus and rest. We stopped halfway about 1.5 hours into the drive at Casino for a snack and potty break both coming and going back to Rome. We were happy to be able to leave a bag with extra shoes on the bus instead of having to carry everything all day. Lunch was good but we were happy the restaurant let my husband chose spaghetti instead of pizza. They actually seemed happy about that as their ovens must have been overwhelmed with pizzas. I think that should be offered-three choices: two kinds of pizza or spaghetti. We liked the salads too. The climb to Mount Vesuvius was not too bad even in the heat with the breeze off the water. The guides were right that you need about 30 minutes to get down the Mount too. It's slippery on loose gravel coming down so you have to be slow and steady about it. Pompeii was wonderful. They have a local guide who takes you through Pompeii and the other guide stays along as well. It was very interesting and full of many facts. We went to five cities in three countries and this was definitely one of our favorite days. Definitely worth the bus ride. We wished the bus had wifi as our bus did on a day trip in London.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Joseph H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience. Would do again. Get the guided option. Our English speaking guide was knowledgeable and personable. Patricia our tour escort was punctual, precise and professional. She was always smiling on a very hot day. If you want a positive stress free trip to Pompeii from Rome this is it.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

Sacha S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We left Rome and went to Napoli, stopping along the way for a coffee break (if you've never been to a coffee shop in European rush hour, you are in for a surprise!) Once in Napoli, you take a short tour of the historic sites near the port. It only lasts about 30 minutes. If you are looking for more time specifically in Napoli, this is NOT the tour for you - that is the only time you will spend there, and you really do not go very far since you are basically just around the port area. After this brief stop in Naples, you board the buses to Pompeii. Pompeii is incredible, and the tour guide that we had in Pompeii was so knowledgeable and witty - learned an incredible amount of history from him. You will like Pompeii! You will have lunch there, and the meal is good. From Pompeii, you leave to go to Sorrento. Sorrento was in fact my favorite of all of the stops that we had - it is absolutely breathtaking and not completely covered up in tourists. The hotel we had in Sorrento was beautiful with incredible views of the sea. We went out into the little town to do some shopping (lots of shopping, and not all tourist shops, either) and we were having such a good time that we didn't in fact even go back to the hotel for our dinner. We chose instead to eat at a restaurant recommended to us by a local, Antica Trattoria. it was a foodie paradise! I highly recommend it if you decide to eat in the town. It is a little pricey, but it is delicious and artistic food in a great atmosphere. In the morning, we ate breakfast at the hotel (great views of the sea from the terrace, too) and boarded to go to the water taxi to Capri. Capri has beautiful views, but it is also VERY touristy. Lunch was good. Blue grotto - we saw it, but if you do not get to see it, do not lament this - buy some pictures (it's beautiful, but the effort to see it is overrated). Great trip to see much in 2 days

Doing what: 2-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

Gail P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was fantastic, one of the absolute highlights of my trip!! We departed on time from our meeting point in Rome in a comfortable bus. Our guide, Andy, was FABULOUS and kept us entertained with stories during the 3-hour drive down to Vesuvius and back. On the way down, we stopped at a very nice cafe with clean bathrooms for a bathroom break and optional coffee and croissants RECOMMENDED. Andy pointed out various sights along the way and told us stories of the volcanic eruption, the Appian Way, Spartacus' Revolt, and other stories relating to landmarks that we passed. We then had a very winding drive up most of Mount Vesuvius, followed by a 40 minute hike up Vesuvius to see the crater. Next, a delicious pizza lunch in Naples, after which we drove to Pompeii where an Italian guide took over and gave us a 2-hour walking tour of the remains with intriguing commentary, creating vivid scenes in our minds about how life used to be in 79 A.D. Make sure you see the erotic frescoes. Finally, we hopped back on our bus for the 3-hour drive home, with another rest stop at the same plush cafe. We heard plenty more historical stories on the way back, so all the driving didn't seem burdensome in any way. This tour was the final icing on the cake of my 10 days in Italy, a real treat not to be missed!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Rachel A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great tour, picked us up from hotel on time, friendly tour guide, as advised we stopped from breakfast and went to the coast and Pompeii. Great day out as you see the coast and embark on a road trip you would probably not normally do if staying in Rome as its a long journey!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

nikasoleil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Pompeii tour was amazing!! Definitely worth doing. If you are a Pompeii lover you should consider staying over night there so you can do a longer tour of Pompeii because there is so much to see. Otherwise the day trip from Rome covered a lot! The ride down had beautiful scenic views and our tour guide was so energetic and taught us about the history along the way they also let us nap considering you leave so early. The halfway point you stop at on the way there and back gets a lot of visits from buses so if you have to use the restroom go first because you may not have time if you buy food first so you may want to bring a little snack for the ride. I thought the souvenirs were better outside of Pompeii then at Mount Vesuvius if you're looking to buy anything. After Pompeii we had a fabulous lunch and then headed to Vesuvius. The hike wasn't as long as I expected but was still a good exercise which you will need after eating a whole pizza pie yourself! because the grade was so steep. Definitely a trip you need to wear good shoes on. There is basically no bathroom at Mount Vesuvius so keep that in mind when you are leaving lunch at the restaurant. On the way back our tour guide also went around and helped people book more tours in Rome that they still had open and gave you a discount too which was awesome. Overall a great experience!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message