Witness the Papal Audience at Vatican City and hear the Pope's weekly message to the faithful. There's no better way to experience the wonder and magnificence of Vatican City. General audiences with His Holiness are usually held every ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 95 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Eillen L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The guide was very helpful, in finding a very close sit next to the pope. She knew all about history of Rome and the churches and explain and show us pictures in her tablet, when she was explaining us. I learned a lot from her explanations.My respect for the knowledge she has.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Luv2TravlAmy United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Wow! It was so exciting to see the Pope and our guide, Florinia, got us SUPER close! I was within 10 feet of Pope Francis! This was a once in a lifetime experience and should not be missed if you are in Rome on a Wednesday.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

justcurious85

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Although this event is free to the public every Wednesday, since it was our first time in Rome - we would have been lost without our guide.

Tiffany was our guide, who grew up in Indiana USA and recently moved to Italy 10 years ago. Needless to say, her English was very well spoken.

Due to the popular event to see the Pope, we had to arrive 3-4 hours early to secure seats. As we waited Tiffany was able to give us brief but detailed history of Rome 101. My favorite is when she used a Ninja Turtle reference, So then the Pope called all the Ninja Turtles to help him with the arts.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Sharon N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great guide who provided a lot of history and background information on the Vatican and Rome while we were waiting. Aldo got us a good vantage point to see the Pope.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Suzanne D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our guide, Louisa, was very informative and knowledgeable about the papal audience. She maneuvered us quickly to prime seats. Pope Francis drove right by us!! Just being there would have been amazing, but to see the Holy Father up close made the event very special. A must do for any traveler to Rome!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Deborah D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a definite good move! There is no cost to attend the Pope's weekly blessing, however trying to get a seat with thousands of people in attendance is very difficult. The best way to go is to book this type of tour. Our guide, Francesca, was fabulous! She got us seats that were literally right next to the road that the Pope uses to enter the plaza. While waiting for the blessing to start, she gave us so much information on the history of the Vatican and made this once in a lifetime event so easy and comfortable. A definite must when visiting Rome.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

hibs911

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

At first we were not sure we would get our monies worth since we could have gotten in for free. However the things we learned from our guide was very informative and the with her guidance we were seated within 5 feet of were the Pope passed. If you are going to Rome and you want to see the Pope this is well worth the few extra dollars it will cost you.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Jon M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Booking the tour was the only way to guaranty us a seat for the Pope's Wed audience. This audience occurred while many tourists still in Rome during Easter season, so it was a very large audience in St Peter's Square. Guide got us excellent seats to get photo's of the Pope as he rode around the masses in the Square in his Pope-mobile. Guide gave us lots of interesting Papal history while we waited for the Pope to arrive. Was one of the highlights of our trip to Rome this year.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Lorri M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was one of our best tours in Rome. Just getting to be in such close proximity to Pope Francis was amazing. A very emotional experience witnessing the thousands of people traveling from all over the world to see the Pope and to be a part of the excitement. Spiritual and Magical!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Todd L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our guide gave us hints on where to stand in order to get the best view of the Pope. I got a couple of great pictures when he came by in the Popemobile. Unfortunately the weather wasn't the best - we sat out for hours in the rain - but even with that, I still had a great time and this was one of the highlights of my trip to Rome.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Julie F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

It was an amazing experience and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Rome. Our tour guide Flamino was so lovely and funny. She got us great seats and kept us entertained whilst waiting for the pope to arrive.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Malc

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our guide made getting into the seating area very easy and made sure we sat in just the right place to see the Pope pass us twice. My wife was delighted to see the Pope at only 3 metres away. Our guide made sure the wait between taking our seats and the audience commencing was filled with interesting information about the Pope and the Vatican. I'd highly recommend this as an experience not to be missed by anyone visiting Rome.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

robrlyons

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The tour was fantastic. Our guide was extremely knowledgable. There is obviously a wait for the Pope and our guide did a terrific job of making the time pass quickly and was a wealth of knowledge. We used Viator for other tours while in Rome also which were of the same high quality.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Michael D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This exceeded our expectations by miles -- yes we had to gather about two hours before the event was scheduled to start but...we got into section 1...the tour guide kept us entertained with a history of Rome and the Vatican... we ended up only feet away from the Pope in his Pope-mobile...we could see both live and the video displays perfectly...we could hear everything clearly...the exit was very quick and orderly -- just perfect. Thank you VIATOR!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Kaishairv

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was by far the highlight of my trip to Rome and it is without a doubt due to City Wonders Tour Guide, Tiffany, from Indiana! She was absolutely amazing! She got my group seats in the second row on the left side of the audience and close to the aisle which gave us a clear, close up view of the Pope three times. First, when he entered the square near the guard station in the Pope Mobile, then when he rode past the front of the audience, and then a third time when he rode past the left side of the audience prior to beginning his address. We were clearly placed in the ideal location. Prior to the Pope coming out we had to wait approximately an hour and a half and that is when Tiffany's friendly, charismatic personality shone along with her unbelievable knowledge of Ancient History, Christianity, and Catholicism. I felt as if I learned more from her in an hour and a half than I learned in my semester long college course. I was actually slightly disappointed that she had to stop her presentation for the Pipe to come out. Of course, I got over it the moment I saw the Pope. I would highly recommend this tour and if possible, be sure to request Tiffany from Indiana!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

John L USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

For the faithful and religious this is a must see if you are in Rome on Wednesday. Check the web to see if the Pope is in town during your visit and if the tour times match your availability. I read some reviews complaining about the price, seats, and initial part of the experience. Yes, the tickets are free, you can get them on your own but it is a process and requires a lot of pre planning and some running around the day before, Tuesday. The price was well worth the saved efforts as we were on tours the Tuesday needed to get the tickets, and dealing with the church embassies to request the tickets in the first place. Yes, if you can get tickets on your own, and get in line at 6:30am exactly you will be able to get better seats and if you know the route of the Pope Mobile through St Peter's Square you can get there too, again this requires a lot of hassle and time to do which we didn't have time for. Our guide was very informative, funny, and helpful. She got us good seats with a decent view and I was able to get a frame filling picture of the Pope Francis from his Pope Mobile and a 200mm lens. In the summer this will be a very very hot visit. In October it was still hot but not too bad. Security check was not too bad but you MUST go to the bathroom prior to getting inside as the line inside are too long and far from the seats, it took my wife 35 min to go and get back and she almost missed the beginning. I was happy with the tour as I was able to plan the rest of our Rome tours into this without worrying about getting into lines or on waiting lists at the American Catholic church site on Tuesday and avoiding the mad dash for seats when the square is opened. It is general admission and there are no seat reservations for anyone, except the area for married couples.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Anthony C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

SUPER WORTH IT!!! Teresa our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly, she gave us a very complete explanation and history on St. Peter's square and its construction. She also added great recommendations on other places to visit around Rome.
Teresa was key for us to be at the right spot! We got to see the Pope very close twice!!! Definitely a once in a lifetime experience.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

ChrisJ

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the best way to see Pope Francis! The guide was very knowledgable and answered all of our questions while also giving us inside information about the Vatican and Rome.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Maggie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a great way to see the Pope. Violetta was extremely knowledgable on the history of Rome and it's influence on the papacy. I would definitely recommend getting your tickets for the papal audience in this fashion. Great experience!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

rbladek3 USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Rome. Our guide got us seating in a location where the Pope pasted with in a few feet of us. I got three great pictures and almost touched his hand.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Dave H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We had a memorable morning at St. Peter's and Michaela did a great job helping our group find seats that were near the railing (where the Pope goes by in the Popemobile). After we were seated and were waiting for the audience to begin Michaela shared a lot of good information about the history of the papacy and Rome (everyone on the tour has a headset so hearing the tour guide isn't a problem). We would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Wade B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was one of the most memorable times we had while visiting Rome. Our tour guide was able to get us front row seating right where the pope mobile was passing!! Amazing....

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Emily L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I highly recommend this tour! Tiffany was an outstanding guide- I can't believe how the time flew while she was sharing the history of the Vatican City and Rome/Italy more broadly. We ended up being so close to the Pope, and it was really a once in a lifetime experience. Without the tour, we would have been totally lost, and the time would have dragged on unbelievably. Thank you Tiffany!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

JP L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This tour was AWESOME. The highlight of our time in Rome. The meeting point was easy to find and our tour guide immediately made us feel welcome. She knew exactly where we should sit and kept us fully entertained with the history of the Vatican, facts and stories. A wonderful guide!! The Pope came right next to us, it was incredible. I would absolute recommend this tour!!!!

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Lisa M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I was thrilled with the organisation that Viatour provided ! We got there for 7:30 am , our group was very easy to locate , they had made the demand and picked up the tickets for us , all this was perfect .Our guide was very nice BUT I have to say her English could have been better and she did say she was going to stay with us till the Pope arrived , and she didn't .
It is WELL worth the money . We had very good seats, but it was lacking maybe in information during the wait for Pope Francis' arrival . I would however return to Rome and most definitely book this organisation for the Papal audience again .

Doing what: Papal Audience Tickets and Presentation

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message