• USD ($)
  • English
Take a break from Rome's big-city bustle to discover the fascinating history of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. A visit to the haunting ruins of Pompeii takes you back to the fateful day in 79 AD when neighboring Mt Vesuvius erupted, covering the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 217 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

David W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Amalfi coastline is spectacular and well worth the trip! The roads are not for the faint hearted, as the roads are bordered by sheer cliffs into the sea!
Pompeii lived up to out expectations! Amazing! I was surprised that the coast of entry to Pompeii was not included in the cost of the trip.
The trip is a long day but well worth it. Our driver recommended an excellent restaurant in Rome after the trip that was the most amazing buffet!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip - Pompeii tour was very informative and we had time to shop and have a coffee afterwards - (the best place to purchase Limoncello Liquor). Lunch was outside in a lovely restaurant with local food. The motel in Sorrento was beautiful and the restaurant we dined alone with full range on the menu and overlooking the bay - a stunning view. In Capri we took the boat into the Blue Grotto, went up the hill on the chairlift to see the amazing views. We had the last day to ourselves to wander around Sorrento or take a local bus down to the Amalfi Coast. On our return to Rome we were supposed to have a Motel drop-off, however we were left stranded with all our bags, some 3-5 km from our motel and were told it was just 100 meters walk around the corner. This spoiled up to that day a very good trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an amazing trip. It takes the entire day but is totally worth your time. The bus you take is comfortable/air conditioned. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was incredible. It's about a 40 minute walk to the top with amazing views of the Bay of Naples. The guided tour of Pompeii was also incredible. This was one of my favorite tours that we did while staying in Rome. Our guides, Geo and Daniel, were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great. Bus was comfortable, guides were good, pizza was good as well (was skeptical, but turned out better than planned). I didn't want to do shopping for souveniers, but I know others did, and the only place we really had time to do that was at a pit stop in Casino. The place had everything but just felt a bit too touristy. Pompeii and Vesuvios was a great experience, but doing a day trip was a lot of travelling for the amount of experience you get. In hindsight, I would have sacrificed a night or two in Rome and stayed in Naples.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Weather was lovely 79 degrees trip down to Pompeii was nice there was people from USA, Canada and Australia on the coach

When we got to Pompeii there was 12 of us who decided to have a guide he got very nice funny gentlemen who told us all about Pompeii took us all over the site.

I would recommended getting a guide as Pompeii is so large we spoke to people. Who didn't have guide they wished they had done.

Pompeii it self is very interesting there is lots to see drawing still on the walls, and how the people lived in them days., it's like going back in time.

I enjoy my visit to Rome and pompei

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip is a long day but well worth your time…..our bus actually broke down outside of Rome and we had to wait on the side of the highway 2 hours to get a new bus…..the 2 young ladies who were our tour guides worked very hard, kept us informed and was apologetic….the group in the bus spent our time getting to know each other and no one got upset…..we rolled with it…even with the two hour delay the tour time at Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii was not shortened….Pompeii stayed open late for our group to see the entire site. FYI: if you are a tall person the bus, all though a coach bus and brand new, has very little leg room.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Best guides we have ever had. Robert and Anna were exceptional guides with lots of knowledge and a pleasant way of passing on the information. The guides at Pompeii were outstanding. This was a last minute decision to take this one day trip from Rome and we are very glad we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Our trip to Pompeii and Amalfi Coast was amazing. It was the highlight of our visit to Rome. Max, our driver, was a wonderful driver and a total gentleman with a great sense of humour, thank you Max for a wonderful day. We would highly recommend this trip, although a little expensive it was worth it.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Totally worth the money! This was our splurge tour while we were in Rome for 5 days. Pompeii was amazing and so cool to see. Could have spent the day there but the time there was really good. We had a great tour guide when we got there. The Amalfi Coast drive and stops were a once in a life time experience. I was moved emotionally by the incredible beauty of this part of the world. We travel a ton and good several Viators tours for our big trip each year for tha past 5 years and have always been so impressed. The only things that were not perfect is that we had a driver on his first day doing this tour and did not say much at all. He was quiet the whole way. Honestly, along the Amalfi Coast drive you really don't need any commentary but it would have been nice to hear some fun facts while driving. Especially the 3 hour drive back. It is a very long day 13 hours but well worth it! We were picked up at 6:45 am and dropped off at 8:30pm. Don't let the long day get in the way of the amazing experience! I would also recommend that your don't go to the restaraunt the guide takes you to in position. Busy tourist trap and the food was average. Find your own place on the beach and get away from the crowds. Much more enjoyable. Do your self a favor and treat yourself to this amazing tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I really enjoyed my day trip to Pompeii from Rome! The guides were very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was delicious, and our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and hilarious. However, you do not get to spend much time in any one spot, so be prepared to walk quickly! We were constantly being corralled by our guides because we needed to move on to the next destination. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolute highlight of my holiday! Not only were we in a incredible surrounding but we had the most fantastic tour guide Enzo (excuse the spelling) who shared all his brilliant knowledge about Pompeii in a fabulously entertaining dialogue all throughout the tour of the city. It made the tour one hundred times more fascinating to understand what it was you were looking at, along with all the hilarious tidbits thrown in. Sarah our group leader was wonderful in arranging the day for the group. She too made the tour extra special by sharing intriguing facts about the areas we were driving from, through and to - an added delight as our bus journey was near 3 hours long. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting a fun and fantastically informative day around this area, with the bonus of seeing some breathtaking scenery and history of course! Would not hesitate to sign up for more trips run by Dark Rome Tours/City Wonders, worth very cent! Thank you!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lisa
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Thinking about this tour? TAKE IT. It was seriously the highlight of my last trip to Italy. The magic of the Amalfi coast is worth every second of the drive from Rome, and we spent just the right amount of time in Pompeii to learn the highlights of this fascinating city. It was a perfect day, from early morning until the sun began to set in Amalfi . . . Positano is a dream town, the coastal scenery is absolutely breathtaking, Chez Black (the restaurant where we ate lunch) was remarkable - and I still have a huge crush on our charming waiter. ;) The icing on the cake was our driver, Max, who took good care of us throughout the tour. He stopped at picturesque spots for photo ops, kept us entertained during the day with fun facts about the area and witty jokes, and handled the Mama Mia road with the greatest of ease (though I may have closed my eyes a few times). I'll be honest, I was reluctant at first because of the drive from Rome - but the day flew by, and it made me fall in love with Italy even more. This tour is worth every dime and every minute of travel time - I promise you won't regret it. I am already planning my return trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message