• USD ($)
  • English
Take a break from Rome's big-city bustle to discover the fascinating history of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. A visit to the haunting ruins of Pompeii takes you back to the fateful day in 79 AD when neighboring Mt Vesuvius erupted, covering the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 201 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Totally worth the money! This was our splurge tour while we were in Rome for 5 days. Pompeii was amazing and so cool to see. Could have spent the day there but the time there was really good. We had a great tour guide when we got there. The Amalfi Coast drive and stops were a once in a life time experience. I was moved emotionally by the incredible beauty of this part of the world. We travel a ton and good several Viators tours for our big trip each year for tha past 5 years and have always been so impressed. The only things that were not perfect is that we had a driver on his first day doing this tour and did not say much at all. He was quiet the whole way. Honestly, along the Amalfi Coast drive you really don't need any commentary but it would have been nice to hear some fun facts while driving. Especially the 3 hour drive back. It is a very long day 13 hours but well worth it! We were picked up at 6:45 am and dropped off at 8:30pm. Don't let the long day get in the way of the amazing experience! I would also recommend that your don't go to the restaraunt the guide takes you to in position. Busy tourist trap and the food was average. Find your own place on the beach and get away from the crowds. Much more enjoyable. Do your self a favor and treat yourself to this amazing tour.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I really enjoyed my day trip to Pompeii from Rome! The guides were very friendly and helpful, the food at the restaurant was delicious, and our tour guide in Pompeii was extremely knowledgeable and hilarious. However, you do not get to spend much time in any one spot, so be prepared to walk quickly! We were constantly being corralled by our guides because we needed to move on to the next destination. Overall, it was a great experience!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Absolute highlight of my holiday! Not only were we in a incredible surrounding but we had the most fantastic tour guide Enzo (excuse the spelling) who shared all his brilliant knowledge about Pompeii in a fabulously entertaining dialogue all throughout the tour of the city. It made the tour one hundred times more fascinating to understand what it was you were looking at, along with all the hilarious tidbits thrown in. Sarah our group leader was wonderful in arranging the day for the group. She too made the tour extra special by sharing intriguing facts about the areas we were driving from, through and to - an added delight as our bus journey was near 3 hours long. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone wanting a fun and fantastically informative day around this area, with the bonus of seeing some breathtaking scenery and history of course! Would not hesitate to sign up for more trips run by Dark Rome Tours/City Wonders, worth very cent! Thank you!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Lisa
USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Thinking about this tour? TAKE IT. It was seriously the highlight of my last trip to Italy. The magic of the Amalfi coast is worth every second of the drive from Rome, and we spent just the right amount of time in Pompeii to learn the highlights of this fascinating city. It was a perfect day, from early morning until the sun began to set in Amalfi . . . Positano is a dream town, the coastal scenery is absolutely breathtaking, Chez Black (the restaurant where we ate lunch) was remarkable - and I still have a huge crush on our charming waiter. ;) The icing on the cake was our driver, Max, who took good care of us throughout the tour. He stopped at picturesque spots for photo ops, kept us entertained during the day with fun facts about the area and witty jokes, and handled the Mama Mia road with the greatest of ease (though I may have closed my eyes a few times). I'll be honest, I was reluctant at first because of the drive from Rome - but the day flew by, and it made me fall in love with Italy even more. This tour is worth every dime and every minute of travel time - I promise you won't regret it. I am already planning my return trip.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This Pompeii day trip is operated by Dark Rome. Because the trip was in early November, the trip included a stop at the museum in Naples rather than going up Mt Vesuvius. Initially, we were disappointed because we wanted to go up the mountain. However, the visit to the museum was a highlight since we were able to see a phenomenal collection of antiquities from Pompeii. The tour of Pompeii itself was terrific. Our local guide Georgio was top notch - very knowledgeable and personable. We were fortunate to visit on a beautiful mild sunny day and the crowds were small. Pompeii exceeded my expectations, and our Dark Rome Guide Sarah was great. I would highly recommend. If I go back to Pompeii I would take this tour again!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The drive down to Pompeii was excellent our two guides were witty and knowledgeable. The bus was clean and modern and stopped halfway for a comfort break. At Pompeii the special guide there was also humorous and knew his stuff and made us feel that we were a special party. Although my wife and I had visited before our two grandsons (ages 16 and 13) were spellbound and it was great to see it again through their eyes.
Lunch at the Pizza restaurant was basic but good and just enough to give us energy for the next part, the ascent of Vesuvius.
My wife and I had also done this ascent, thirty years ago, and now both aged over 70 we were a little more apprehensive about our capabilities. The guides gave everyone some encouragement and said that the first 500m were the most strenuous, which we found to be true. But trusting in their advice we found the rest of the walk very easy and completed it to the top. Spectacular views greeted us their and a sense of achievement. It was also a great pleasure to see that our grandsons really enjoyed the whole experience.
On the bus trip back to Rome our guides let us have some quiet which we appreciated as we had so much information already given to us over the long day.
We arrived back on time so that we able to freshen up before dinner when reminisced over the wonderful trip that we had made.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Excellent, excellent day. The driver/guide Salvatore was absolutely fabulous. Patient, polite and professional. His commentary was excellent - history, local industries, geography, climate etc. Hector, the guide at Pompeii was outstanding - enjoyed the time at Pompeii so much I took a shuttle from Rome back there two days later to experience it again. Recommend this trip to all. PS - stunning coastline.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The day trip to Pompeii was great and the tour guides Sara and Giovanna were fantastic, engaging and very informative. We had to make a call to Peugeot Leasing and Sara allowed us to use her phone, as we had only got into Rome the day before and had not had the opportunity to organise mobile phones. I would thoroughly recommend this tour. Tricia, Mark, Liam and Sophie. Adelaide South Australia

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellently organized small group trip. We chose it to avoid spending time in Naples, in order to have more time in Pompeii and it was exactly what we wanted. Inger was an efficient tour leader and did not annoy with waffle. We chose to have a local guide who was really excellent, very professional and experienced, and we had enough time for some time on our own before meeting the bus back. The tour was not to blame for the horrific traffic jam on the outskirts of Rome on the way home, and the bus driver cleverly found another route into the city. A long day but very worthwhile.

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A very long day, but our guides Joanna, and I think Angellina were just so friendly, in formative on the long road trip. The kids found the climb to top of volcano easy...but the climb for us older parents quite a task, but not to be missed. The family loved Pompeii and if ever in Rome again, I would take the Pompeii trip again as there was such a lot to see and take in. The other guide at Pompeii, sorry, forgot her name, told of the past passionately. It was great to be a part of Joanna's family, even if just for the day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour. This is a long day but worth it. Debated doing the train on our own but glad we did the tour as it was more direct. Buses comfortable. Tour guides knowledgeable. Vesuvius is a hike but worth the view on a clear day. Pompeii is beyond words. Personally I could have spent an entire day there it is so fascinating. But alas this is a day-trip from Rome as advertised and can only stay so long. I would reccomend this trip to anyone. It delivers what is advertised and the tour company is professional, well-organized, and accomodating. Enjoy!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Pompeii and MT Vesuvio was a fantastic experience we booked on line before we left with Dark Rome tours
worth every dollar we spent the tour guides were great very pleasant and no there stuff especially on the tour through Pompeii, first of all the bus trip to Pompeii is excellent the country side is great, then when you get to Pompeii its amazeing you have to see it then the bus take you up to a live Volcano if your fit you can do it in 20 min to the top if your a little bit older and not so fit you can go as far as you want the views of Pompeii below are awesome excellent day tour thank you to guides they were awesome

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The bus ride out to Mt. Vesuvilus with all the information given by Gia and Sara was terrific. Their knowledge and upbeat presentation kept most people on the ride awake and listening to their stories about the upcoming sights and history of the area. The climb to the top of the volcano was awesome as was the tour and guide of Pompeii. I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants to explore the outer regions of Rome and to see and hear from all guides, the unbelievable sights and history of the beginning orgins of our world. Great guides, if possible you want Sara and Gia. I have to give a heartfelt thank you to Gia as well. I left my camera on the bus and she found it after all had left. I called the tour office and to my surprise someone was still there at 7:30 pm. They located Gia at dinner near a Metro line that I could access. She waited there for me with my camera and I was so glad to get those pictures back from the day trip, Thank YOU so much. If you are ever in Montana near Glacier National Park, a tour is there for you.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Excellent day trip from Rome. The Dark Rome guides were very knowledgeable and shared interesting stories during the bus rides. The local guide was also fantastic. I really like the use of headphones that it seems most tours have these days, no crowding around the guide straining to hear. Pompeii itself was great, and with the guide showing you things you'd miss on your own, and providing explanations, it made the experience. Would liked to have had maybe an hour to wander around (we got 15 minutes), but it was a long day as it was. The bus ride made it very relaxing and worry free.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message