Take a break from Rome's big-city bustle to discover the fascinating history of Pompeii and Mt. Vesuvius. A visit to the haunting ruins of Pompeii takes you back to the fateful day in 79 AD when neighboring Mt Vesuvius erupted, covering the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 229 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Everything went smoothly on this tour, even the weather played along giving us a clear view after our climb to the top of Vesuvius. Our tour guides Daniel and Ettore were very entertaining and informative making the long bus trip pass quickly. With the new parking shemozzle on the Vesuvius access road, making this trip on our own would have been confusing, frustrating and difficult whereas our trusty guides had us out of the gridlocked bus and on up the path in no time. Ettore's colourful commentary on the situation was a hilarious highlight of the day rivalled only by his dissertation on early Roman toilet habits.

Although we'd spent the previous week on the Amalfi coast we made the decision to do Pompeii from Rome as taking public transport from where we were staying involved both bus and train travel and deciphering timetables and connections etc. We're so glad we did as the day trip was an efficient and excellent use of time and we otherwise wouldn't have climbed Vesuvius and visited Pompeii on the same day thus missing one or the other.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We originally booked the Pompeii tour with a walk up Mount Vesuvius. The meeting point was clear on the email and was a central point in Rome. The coach we were on was clean and air conditioned with good leg room. We were looked after by the excellent guides Massimo, the Italian Stallion and Sarah, the Irish Brainbox. Both of them worked fantastically hard all day to keep us happy and interested, Massimo with his local knowledge and stylized comedy and Sarah with her vast Ancient History knowledge including humorous stories about the Gods and Saints which we particularly liked. Sadly on the trip we could not climb the volcano because of the weather but luckily our guides had a backup plan of the Museum in Naples which linked in perfectly with the tour of Pompeii. During the actual tour of Pompeii we were shown around be a local guide who was thoughtful enough to take us to a quiet spot, away from the bustling tourists, which was one of the most phenomenal views of the trip. On the way home Massimo and Sarah were just as useful. They recommended us a number of places to visit of the remainder of our trip, each of which we went to, each of which were fantastic. They basically shaped the rest of our holiday and for that I will be truly grateful. I could not recommend booking a tour with Massimo and Sarah enough, they really did make our day!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The 3 day Italy Trip was an excellent value. Sorrento and Capri were so beautiful and Pompeii was very interesting. The stop in Naples was unnecessary as we simply passed by points of interest. Our guide of Pompeii was very knowledgeable. Sacha was an excellent guide and made our time in Capri extra special. Although we weren't able to see the Blue Grotto, due to weather, we did buy tickets for the chair lift in Anacapri and the views were amazing. Two negatives were that the tour company tried to switch our hotels which was very upsetting and stressful. When I booked with Viator I already had reservations in one of the top hotels in Sorrento. I only decided to switch to the Viator trip because you assured me that I would be placed in one of the hotels listed in the description of the trip. I did a lot of research on the hotels and felt comfortable giving up my reservation for one of the hotels offered with the 3 Day Trip. Then when I called the day before out tour left to confirm the hotel placement,the tour company told me that I was being placed in a different hotel and that there was nothing that they could do. Luckily after much discussion, they placed me in the original hotel that was listed, however, this situation was unacceptable and stressful in the middle of our vacation. I must say that the Hotel Capidomonte was absolutely wonderful. The service, meals and views from our rooms were first class. The only other problem, which should be addressed, is that the tour guide (forgot her name) that transitioned us from Pompeii to Sorrento recommended a private tour of Amalfi and said that she would be available by phone to help us make arrangements. We did call her and never received a return phone call. (We weren't the only ones with this experience.) Luckily, our hotel recommended a driver and we had a wonderful day. I should also mention that the guide from Sorrento back to Rome (also forgot her name) was excellent-so interested in each guest.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a fabulous day trip from Rome. The guides were fabulous - very, very knowledgable and also very funny. Although the day was a little overcast we still had an enjoyable hike to the summit of Mt Vesuvius. However the highlight of the day was Pompeii! We could have stayed there the whole day looking around the place. Our guide at Pompeii was also very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. Great value for money and highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great day trip from Rome to Pompeii/Mount Vesuvius. We were staying within walking distance of the Piazza di Popolo where we met our guide Anna and boarded the bus. The ride went quickly with Anna dn Ettore giving great background on the area and the sites wew were about to enjoy. A half-way break in Cassino was welcome. The tour of Pompeii was one of the best parts of our Italy trip, though a little rushed and quite crowded. I would have enjoyed another hour or so to explore the ruins. After a delicious pizza lunch, we headed over to the volcano. The hike to the top was well worth it. An awesome view of the Bay of Naples. The ride home was quick. All in all a freat day trip. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Day trip to Vesuvius is a long day from Rome but well worth it. Our Tour Guides Louise and Massimo were fantastic, they gave us time to chill in the morning until we stopped for coffee then on the second part of the bus journey they took us through background to what we were going to see and also the areas we were travelling through. They were both very informative and very funny. Our first stop was Mount Vesuvius, this is a good trek up to the top but worth it. Then we went for dinner which was quickly served and we had good options of pizza and drinks to choose from, and the guides were good to point out that extra drinks here were expensive. then we went a short drive to Pompeii, on this tour we had a local guide as well as Louise, his name was Willie and he was sooo funny, one of the most entertaining tour guides we have ever had, he kept a smile on our face all the way round, however still giving us a very good insight into the story of Pompeii.

I would highly recommend this tour, the guides were fantastic, they made the day very enjoyable.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

What a fabulous day trip we had touring the Amalfi Coast from Rome. The whole tour was well organised and provided some time for personal browsing in Amalfi and Positano. Pompeii was well worth the visit, such an incredible hidden city. It was a long day but worth every minute.

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

David W
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Amalfi coastline is spectacular and well worth the trip! The roads are not for the faint hearted, as the roads are bordered by sheer cliffs into the sea!
Pompeii lived up to out expectations! Amazing! I was surprised that the coast of entry to Pompeii was not included in the cost of the trip.
The trip is a long day but well worth it. Our driver recommended an excellent restaurant in Rome after the trip that was the most amazing buffet!

Doing what: Pompeii and Amalfi Coast Small Group Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

My husband and i went on the Pompeii Day Trip from Rome in June 2014. We had the most amazing time. The group was easy to meet in Piazza del Popolo and the air conditioned tour bus was not parked far away (no bathroom on the bus). It is about a 3 hour drive to Mt. Vesuvius where we started our tour with a hike to the top - takes about 25 minutes - pretty steep incline but absolutely doable - i would recommend wearing sneakers though as the trail is a lot of tiny crushed pebbles - can be slippery. You do stop about 1.5 hours into the trip for a bathroom break where you can also buy food. Our tour guide, Massimo, was amazing. He talked to us on the way to Mt. Vesuvious about lots of fun facts, stories, and myths about Rome and Pompeii - really interesting and animated story teller - made the bus ride go fast. Pompeii is only a 25min drive from Mt. Vesuvius. You get lunch first (really good personal pizzas) and then tour the city ruins - pretty amazing stuff. Tour guides in Pompeii vary in how good they are, but that is outside of Viator's control as they do not provide the tour guides in the city of Pompeii. Overall we had a great day trip to Pompeii and would definitely recommend the trip to others - request Massimo as your tour guide if possible :)

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Lovely trip - Pompeii tour was very informative and we had time to shop and have a coffee afterwards - (the best place to purchase Limoncello Liquor). Lunch was outside in a lovely restaurant with local food. The motel in Sorrento was beautiful and the restaurant we dined alone with full range on the menu and overlooking the bay - a stunning view. In Capri we took the boat into the Blue Grotto, went up the hill on the chairlift to see the amazing views. We had the last day to ourselves to wander around Sorrento or take a local bus down to the Amalfi Coast. On our return to Rome we were supposed to have a Motel drop-off, however we were left stranded with all our bags, some 3-5 km from our motel and were told it was just 100 meters walk around the corner. This spoiled up to that day a very good trip.

Doing what: 3-Day Italy Trip: Naples, Pompeii, Sorrento and Capri

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was an amazing trip. It takes the entire day but is totally worth your time. The bus you take is comfortable/air conditioned. Climbing Mt. Vesuvius was incredible. It's about a 40 minute walk to the top with amazing views of the Bay of Naples. The guided tour of Pompeii was also incredible. This was one of my favorite tours that we did while staying in Rome. Our guides, Geo and Daniel, were very knowledgeable and enthusiastic. Highly recommend it!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The tour was great. Bus was comfortable, guides were good, pizza was good as well (was skeptical, but turned out better than planned). I didn't want to do shopping for souveniers, but I know others did, and the only place we really had time to do that was at a pit stop in Casino. The place had everything but just felt a bit too touristy. Pompeii and Vesuvios was a great experience, but doing a day trip was a lot of travelling for the amount of experience you get. In hindsight, I would have sacrificed a night or two in Rome and stayed in Naples.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Weather was lovely 79 degrees trip down to Pompeii was nice there was people from USA, Canada and Australia on the coach

When we got to Pompeii there was 12 of us who decided to have a guide he got very nice funny gentlemen who told us all about Pompeii took us all over the site.

I would recommended getting a guide as Pompeii is so large we spoke to people. Who didn't have guide they wished they had done.

Pompeii it self is very interesting there is lots to see drawing still on the walls, and how the people lived in them days., it's like going back in time.

I enjoy my visit to Rome and pompei

Doing what: Rome to Pompeii Shuttle Bus & Independent Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The trip is a long day but well worth your time…..our bus actually broke down outside of Rome and we had to wait on the side of the highway 2 hours to get a new bus…..the 2 young ladies who were our tour guides worked very hard, kept us informed and was apologetic….the group in the bus spent our time getting to know each other and no one got upset…..we rolled with it…even with the two hour delay the tour time at Mt. Vesuvius and Pompeii was not shortened….Pompeii stayed open late for our group to see the entire site. FYI: if you are a tall person the bus, all though a coach bus and brand new, has very little leg room.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

Best guides we have ever had. Robert and Anna were exceptional guides with lots of knowledge and a pleasant way of passing on the information. The guides at Pompeii were outstanding. This was a last minute decision to take this one day trip from Rome and we are very glad we did.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message