After touring thousands of years of sights by day, sit back and relax to experience Rome's magic by night. Floodlit monuments like the Trevi Fountain and Colosseum are a spectacular sight, and an early-evening visit makes the ideal pre-dinner tour.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 332 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Although we booked our night tour for the Monday evening after arriving on the Sunday the thought behind this was so get a feel for Rome at the beginning of our holiday however we received a tex advising the trip was cancelled and we could attend the next one which was on the Thursday evening. This did work out well as if we had done this tour early we would not have explored Rome as much as we did independently. Again the guide was second to known and know there history Clare was our guide and due to it being a small group head phones were not required. I would highly recommend booking through Viator

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was phenomenal. The guide was great and provided us with helpful hints for getting around Rome and some fun anecdotes. Rome is beautiful at night and this was a great way to start my stay there!

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Wish I could rate Kiara our tour guide 10 stars. She was absolutely great! Rome was very hot during the time we went early July so booking a night tour was the best thing we could have done. Very interesting and informative.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Marcello gave us a fabulous tour. Dinner was excellent, and the hotel pickup/dropoff made this super-convenient for our first night in Rome.

Doing what: Panoramic Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The rooftop dinner was one of the most enjoyable we had while in Rome. The food was incredible, the ambiance and atmosphere of the restaurant was elegant and beautiful., complete with live piano music. The Colosseum speaks for itself. It is magnificent. Seeing it at night was an incredible experience. We were the only ones there. The eerie feeling of the underground dungeons and passages with private tour was quite a privilege. It was an incredible evening.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our tour guide was amazing! She's an archaeologist and gave the most detailed tour of the city- this was our first night in Rome and was an amazing way to start our trip. Rome is stunning at night- ending the tour in front of the Colosseum as the sun set was breath taking. I absolutely recommend it.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our guide was great! Very knowledgably and fun. We took this tour the first night we were in Rome and it was a great way to get acquainted with the city. Highly recommend this tour! The evening was beautiful and the tour is done at a very leisure pace and the crowds were minimal.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is one thing you MUST do when in Rome! Fabulous, fantastic, amazing, I could keep going on. Although our night didn't get off to the best start as our guide Stefano's bike broke down. As there were five girls and only 4 bikes it meant one would miss out but one of my friends got the great idea of breaking up the tour so we each got half the time although I managed to get the whole 3 hours. We were taken to some of the places we'd already been but we were also taken to places that only the locals would know and told things that aren't in any guide book. It truly is the best and most exciting way to see Rome a place that comes to life at night like no other city on earth. Stefano, Gianni, Gigie, Leo and Gigi are great fun especially Leo who is quite cheeky and earned the nick name of 'Bad Boy'. They made our last night in Italy the most memorable of our month long trip. To all the guys on behalf of all us girls I would like to say a big THANK YOU.

Doing what: Rome Vespa Tour: City Highlights by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We really enjoyed the dinner on the rooftop, our tour guides and colosseum night tour. The food / wine at the restaurant was amazing. The view was spectacular overlooking ancient Rome and watching the sunset as we ate such a yummy meal. I really enjoyed the desert which I chose terra misu . Our tour at the Colosseum was everything and more than I expected. It was great mssing the crowds and to be able to see everything in such detail without being rushed. Our tour guide was very knowledgable and you could see the passion she had wanting to ensure we didn't miss anything. Thanks for an amazing experience. We loved it !

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We loved this tour. We did it our first night in Rome and it helped us find our way around the city. It was a great introduction to Rome. Ending at the Colosseum with it lit up was a perfect way to spend our first night in such a historical city. I would definitely recommend if you are interested in being introduced to the sights and learning more of the history behind them.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wow!!! Well worth the money spent on this tour just to be in the Colosseum at night when it was closed to the public. My husband and I were amazed that we were there at sunset and there was only our small tour of 30 people inside!! Our pictures are amazing, there are no people in them, no crowds! The Ancient Rome tour was great as well, but we will never forget the feeling of being inside the Colosseum essentially alone! AMAZING!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wonderful tour, incredibly beautiful at night. Our tour guide was incredibly knowledgeable about all the sight on the tour. We highly recommend this be on your list of events when you visit Rome.

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

If you do one thing in Rome, do this! It was amazing! Francesca, our tour guide was so knowledgable and was in fact one of the archealogists who unearthed the last partially remaining statue in coliseum. With few people in the coliseum and at that time of night it's perfect for a visit. No crowds :)

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

There was a group of 4 of us that booked this tour. I could not be happier with the entire experience. We had a tour guide that was knowledgeable and was right to the point with her delivery. She was a gem for sure. After the incredible dinner we then went for our night tour of the coliseum. We actually had the lead archaeologist on the restoration project as our guide. Everybody that plans a trip to Rome should book this tour. Amazing does not do it justice.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Exclusive Rome Rooftop Dinner and Colosseum Night Tour Including Underground Chambers

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I very rarely write a negative review but this was a disappointing tour maybe because of what our perception of the lights of Rome would look like. We were picked up and then dropped at the tour office downtown to wait for the tour bus. Our Guide came along and took charge of us, he did a good job throughout the night and gave a good explanation of all areas we visited. We went to dinner which was sufficient if not great and then we did the Rome by night. This is where perception came in, we were expecting that the buildings would be lit by lights in an artistic way which showed up their best features and maybe there would have been a coloured light or two WRONG- the buildings were poorly lit if at all and nothing I would call a coloured light. A couple left early because they were disappointed and the rest of us continued. We then went to the night-club area of Rome where we walked through dimly lit dingy few streets, this area may have been useful for young ones who wanted to stay for a few drinks but to the majority of people was not of any great interest. We heard a fair few unencouraging comments about the tour whilst we were travelling around. I would suggest that the description of this tour more clearly sets out what will be seen at night, as it seemed no more spectacular at night then what we saw during the day.

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Tracey S
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great Fantastic. Do this tour. See Rome at night.

Doing what: Rome Night Segway Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see Rome! I was in Rome for business and had a free night. I work in the study abroad industry and have been to Rome on numerous occasions with various school/ tour groups. I wanted something different that would give me some insight about the Rome I already thought I knew.
Elena, our guide, was extremely knowledgable. I absolutely loved it and I now know a few things about Rome during the dark ages that I didn't before - fascinating.
If you want something different and perhaps want to do something before a typical Italian dinner (9p) on a Friday night, I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

A great way to see Rome at night and learn some of the darker history of the city. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and friendly.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Felix did an excellent job showing us Rome at night. He was interesting and entertaining (and being cute didn't hurt either!). I had seen all the sights he showed us during the day but had wanted the night view and it didn't disappoint. There was something magical about it. The tour was easy to book online from my hotel and Felix as at the meeting place in a timely manner. I'd recommend it - and book with you again.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic wonderful guide an American in Rome who was funny and very enlightening. Really enjoyed the tour well worth while and showed Rome at Night in a different light. The only down side was the small meal in the resturant...... not good at all dissapointing should just give a drink as it would still have been worthwhile.

Doing what: Illuminated Rome Night Tour with Aperitivo

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I have been to the Vatican Museum several time in the past; however, the evening tour was everything promised and more. To see the Courtyard of the Pine cone and the dome of the Cathedral lit up at night was breathtaking. The rooms were not as crowded, especially the Sistine Chapel. Our guide was very knowledgeable and steered us to areas that were not crowded, yet were filled with incredible art and sculpture. During the two hour tour and "free time" I had more than enough time to see some of the rooms I have been unable to visit in the past. I would recommend this tour to any visitor to Rome.

Doing what: Friday Night Vatican Museums Tour Including Sistine Chapel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a really great time on our Night tour of the Colosseum and Ancient Rome tour. The tour guide was very well versed in the history and was able to answer all group questions, and we were surprised by the amount of sights that were included in this tour. Be sure to wear good walking shoes as it's 3.5 hours or so on foot! We both really enjoyed our almost private tour of the ground floor of the Colosseum as only one tour group at a time is allowed in the area, so it was only our group that was during our time allotment. Thank you for creating a magical experience for us!

Doing what: Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

One of the best tours we took in Rome! Rome at night was absolutely beautiful, and we wouldn't have missed this opportunity for anything! Best to take this tour right after you arrive in Rome, as we did. It sets the perspective for the rest of your trip!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome tour! Seeing rome at night is amazing i highly recommended anybody to do this.

Doing what: Rome by Night Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We had a wonderful time! It was our first night in Rome and this tour provided a great overview! The dinner was delicious and we met some fun new friends. The sights were awesome and the mixture of walking and bus ride was just right. Highly recommend. P.S. Our guide, Ariana, was so nice and knowledgeable!

Doing what: Rome by Night Tour Including Dinner

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message