With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2371 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

what a brilliant tour - so interesting and we did skip the lines! Would highly recommend this

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Very good tour, with skip the line to the Sistine chapel and Basilica of San Peter!
The guide Francesca was very good!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was one of the best tours i have ever done. We had Maurizia as our tour guide and she was absolutely excellent. Knew really her subject really well and was very helpful and provided great commentary This tour is an absolute must!! Great to skip the lines as well

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the skip the line it was 3 hours long and being shown around and given deeper insight into this area was excellent. Would definately recommend this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Buying skip the line tickets was definitely the best thing to do. There was no way I could have queued for over 2 hours in the heat. The tour guide that we had was an American named Sev I think he was absolutely brilliant, extremely passionate, funny and very entertaining. He made the tour extra special and we had a great day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

When we saw the line ups waiting to get into the Vatican we were so happy to skip the line. Our guide Ella was wonderful and extremely knowledgable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The lines were huge and it was hot so it was a great idea to skip the lines and the guide was very enthusiastic and careful to keep us in the shade as much as possible.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Seeing the Colosseum as part of a Skip the Line tour is a huge time saver and overall great experience. Alessandro did a GREAT job. Enormously knowledgeable and passionate, he was an amazing guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful time on this tour. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and experienced. We also saw everything that we wanted to see--and did get to skip the lines which was well worth it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful tour of the Vatican and skip the line is a must. Our tour guide Shannon was very knowledgeable and friendly making our tour interesting and enjoyable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

LANCE
Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well done tour but the Skip the Line is the true winner here..Seeing a line that went on forever and in the blazing sun and then SKIPPING it made it immediately worthwhile!! Skipping the line must have gained us an extra 2hrs that we would otherwise have lost..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour!! Skip the line at the colosseum is a must. The line up to get in was 1.5hrs long at 10am. Our guide was an archeologist that previously worked on the colosseum grounds. She was very knowledgable and extremely enthusiastic!! The old city old Rome was unexpected and interesting. I would recommend this tour for sure..

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had an excellent guide who was very knowledgeable about the site and explained the history and architecture of it in an exciting and dramatic way. Gigi would provide jokes and make the site interesting- even to non-history lovers. Also, it is great to skip the line and have everything organized for you.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Rome in August is simply hell in terms of tourist attractions and the lines that lead into them. My father and I were extremely happy to have booked this skip the line tour particularly after seeing the Vatican Museum/Sistine Chapel line and the massive St. Peter's line that stretched around the whole square.

In terms of the tour itself, I myself am a tour guide who has been known to by quite judge-y of other guides in the past, but our guide Max was great. His knowledge was exceptional and the way he expressed it was entertaining. He also possessed that typical tour guide humour, so expect a couple of cheesy jokes!

My father and I had a great time on the tour and I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to skip the ridiculous lines and/or who would like to know more about what they are looking at.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums and Sistine Chapel Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We did skip the line and Shannon (?) was an amazing guide. Her knowledge is incredible!!
I highly recommend this tour,especially with Shannon!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The Vatican tour with Viator was amazing! Paola not sure of spelling - but she was outstanding!! She was THE BEST tour guide we had the entire time we were in Europe. She was very informative and made the tour fun - even though we were roasting!!! There was so much to see and so much history. if you get a chance to take this tour DO NOT MISS IT! And most definitely go with Viator and skip the line. There were people outside the Vatican at 8am and already had a 2 hour wait in the hot sun. It was extremely hot and humid and there is no air conditioning so be prepared - bring water!!! Also make sure you dress appropriately as you will be required to have shoulders and knees covered to enter the Sistine Chapel - I wish everyone could have Paola as their tour guide. We just loved her. Thank you Paola - we will always have special memories thanks to you!!! we were the group with mom, daughters and granddaughter - we spent a little extra time with you in the snack room - you're the best!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The trip was worth the money. Skip the line is a necessary thing if you have limited time in Rome. The tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Definitely recommend a Skip the Line tour of the Vatican. The queue for the Vatican would have taken 2 plus hours otherwise. Our guide Davis was brilliant, full of enthusiasm, knowledge and wit. He made the tour extremely enjoyable. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour with Dorianna. Got much more of a feel for the Vatican City after her explanations which we would have completely missed without the tour. As we visited in August it was, to say the least, super crowded but the skip the line tickets were a blessing and our guide managed to squeeze in and find us relatively quieter spaces to appreciate it all.

Very wheelchair friendly but remember to cover your shoulders and knees as St. Peters Basilica will refuse you entrance if you dont- its not negotiable! You can, however, buy scarves before you begin the tour and use them to cover up.

Would highly recommend this tour to anyone wishing to visit the Vatican City.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We had a wonderful guide who was able to tell us about the history in a creative way. We were able to skip the lines. The tour was paced well and our guide hit all the shady spots during the hot month of August. Bring a water bottle and there are fountains to refill them.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour! Our guide Sev was very informative and knowledgable and the information was interspersed with some good humour. Would recommend the skip the line tour, well worth the cost!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was wonderful to skip the lines. The tour guide was very knowledgeable. We had a great time admiring the beautiful art.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A thoroughly enjoyable day with a friendly, experienced and knowledgeable guide. As this was our first trip to Rome, we wanted to get the most out of our time. Having read the Viator reviews and been given good feedback from other travellers, so we thought we would try them ourselves rather than go it alone. What a great decision that was. The skip the line tour saved us over 4 hours of waiting in the 32 degree sun to get into the Colosseum. Once inside, our guide provided us with an insight into the history of the Colosseum along with many other stories about how and why it was built. It was fantastic to say the least and our 12 year old daughter learnt so much so did we. We then walked over to the Roman Forum and surrounding areas where we spent another hour or so learning about this landmark site. I would highly recommend this tour and Viator to anyone travelling to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

5/5 excellent! best thing to do is skip the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is very a time saver, as it is skip the line and get the best of Vatican, The tour guide provided lots of information and details, and I liked a lot that they have a passion for what they are doing. They provide much more information not just what you can read in a guide book. Strongly Recommend. Good English speaking guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message