With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2410 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lrturner80

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was an excellent tour. Our guide was an art historian and could give us excellent commentary as we visited the Vatican museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's. We are glad that we purchased the skip the line tour as it allowed us to do another tour in the afternoon.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Milton S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We loved our tour. Our tour guide, Chiara, was very information and explained much as we went along. She also prepped us for the Sistine Chapel, which was a big highlight for us. Because of the many tourists present, we felt that the tour was important and helped to focus on what was important on our first visit to the Vatican. Although some in our tour chose not to visit the Raphael Rooms, we would advise people to go to these--they were fantastic and available for up close perusal. Kudos to our tour guide for making our first visit so memorable and informative! And, yes, although we had to line up to get our tickets with Skip the Line, we know we saved a lot of time waiting to get in.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mmswan

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A great general tour if you want to fit the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St. Peter's into a half day. I don't know why anyone would ever wait in line for tickets or do a self guided tour. It was definitely worth the money to do a guided tour and skip the lines. Our guide was fantastic and very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Chris D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our tour guide was extremely knowledgable and quite friendly. This tour is worth it if just to skip the line, which already looked massive as we entered before the Vatican even opened. St. Peter and #39;s Basilica was just phenomenal and surpassed all expectations. Be sure to go inside!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Rebecca U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fab tour! Our guide was really knowledgeable and added some fun and humour to the tour! Skip the line was well worth it!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rebecca U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Skip the line was definitely needed, even at 830 in the morning the queues were crazy!! Busy tour but our guide did really well keeping everyone together and informed. Very knowledgeable lady!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Jeremy T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This was my first trip to Vatican/Rome. The tour was an excellent experience with a fantastic guide, covering all the major sites/points that I was hoping to see at the Vatican. Being able to skip the line was huge I can't fathom making it through the tour if we had to wait in line for an extended period. I highly recommend booking this tour if you're going to the Vatican. Just FYI to set your expectations, you should mentally prepare yourself to spend several hours wading through the most densely packed swarm of human beings on Planet Earth. Wear comfortable walking shoes, dress as light as you can while conforming to the dress code and eat breakfast/caffeinate before the tour. The tour is absolutely worth doing to partake in the incredible experience the Vatican offers, but just don't go in expecting a relaxed time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Renata P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Tour was great! Our tour guide was such a lovely lady:-) thank you very much for the tips afterwards;D as well. To anyone, who thinks and #39;hmmm.. I and #39;m not sure and #39; it and #39;s well worth booking tour cos you skip the lines, and massive queues! Plus you gain such a knowledge about Vatican. It and #39;s amazing! Ciao!Renata

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

mary j

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Must do skip the line tour if you are wanting to tour the Vatican museum.
Tour guide was exceptional.

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Karen W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The ancient Rome tour offered us an opportunity to not only skip the line, but also learn more about the specific history of the buildings. The tour was well paced and maneuvered our group through the crowds with ease. Excellent guide!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Qin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is the best tour thru our 12 days trip. The tour guy was excellent. He was the best one compare with our other tours. We went to every placed as we expected, he stayed with us every hours and mins, even went with us to the top of Hill. It was a fun trip and we learned a lot from him. Skip the line is also the best opion with this tour. I want to recommend Viator, the vendor they used is called citywonders, very organized the company with quality tour guys.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Sandy G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Excellent and knowledgeable tour guide, Alexandra. She told great stories, gave us time to look around, kept it very interesting. It's better to go on the tour than to do it yourself for two reasons - 1 the skip the line is worth every penny of this tour, but 2 seeing these sights is amazing, but hearing the stories behind the sites makes the tour priceless. The amazing guides are just icing on the cake.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Jennifer W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour and guide were great! Although we wished we would have seen more parts of the Colosseum it and #39;s our own fault for booking our tour the day before. The guide was very easy to understand and had a lot of knowledge about the places we visited. Getting a guided tour with skip the line is a must!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

rasbury1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was exactly as described. Maura, our guide, was knowledgeable, well organized and did an excellent job of giving us so much information in an interesting way.
The 'Skip the Line' is a MUST for both of these tours. There are so many people that it would be impossible to navigate the entry lines without this added feature.
Great tour!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

rasbury1

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Our guide Doriana did an excellent job of negotiating the mass of people on this tour. Unfortunately the Vatican allows 50,000 visitors a day, so it took all of Doriana's skills to keep us together and to maneuver us through the crowds. We were grateful for the headphones as it would have been impossible to hear her without them. She was very well informed and had a great way of sharing the Vatican's history. The 'Skip the Line' option was a must, since there were so many people. We would have been waiting to enter for at least a couple of hours otherwise.
The Vatican is a must see when in Rome and this tour was an excellent way to get the most out of this visit.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Marc A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This is not a tour. It's skip the line and that is what I signed up for.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Borghese Gallery Tickets

Rocky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well organised and great guide Rosanna. Huge queues so Skip The Line definitely the way to go.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

Dorothy J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did not take the tour, just bought skip the line tickets. Our representative met us right on time at the spot indicated and brought us in to The Vatican museums as promised. We would definitely recommend Viator to anyone.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Janice N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highlight of our time in Rome. We entered in a different entrance than people who did not buy skip the line tickets or guided tour which was easily 4 hour wait on this particular Saturday. Our guide Rachel was extremely knowledgeable, enthusiastic and funny. Loved that she gave information, interesting stories/facts, things to look for before entering certain areas which made us appreciate what we were seeing even more. Also made the experience less overwhelming as there is so much to see. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Charles W A M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Fabulous tour! Well worth the expense of 'Skip the Line'. Our guide Barbara was amazing and so informative. Her enthusiasm for her work was evident and she made sure that everyone on the tour was able to see, hear and enjoy the remarkable history of her city!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Rhon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The line to get into the Vatican without the skip the line is unbelievable. Get this ticket!

Doing what: Early Access Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour with St Peter’s and Sistine Chapel

Dannielle F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We did the skip the line tour and thank god we did, we arrived early and lines were already snaking down the road and around the corner and off into the distance - this was early May - would not attempt this in summer. The Vatican museum was very very crowded even before the summer onslaught. The skip the line was brilliant highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Lee B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Met up with the City wonders tours at the side of the Colloseo metro stop. Despite lots of tours meeting up, we were quickly sorted out a group of around 20 US, UK and Aus, provided with headphones and transmitters to enable commentary from our English speaking guide Francesca. First we walked around the Roman Forum, plenty of interesting information provided, the commentary never became boring, keeping our two teenagers engaged. Francesca was knowledgeable about her subject and rightly proud of Rome and it's treasures. Then on to the awesome Colloseum, waited in a small queue to clear security, but got inside pretty quickly. We then had a short toilet break of around 15 minutes while we waited for the Colloseum guide Barbara, Francesca stayed with the tour, must be a Colloseum thing the headsets provided here were not as good, more like a walkie talkie and initially harder to hear the guide. Started out on the arena floor, it was awe inspiring to stand there and look up at the size of the place. Then we descended down into the lower level of the structure, very interesting to see 'behind the scenes' of how the show would be set and staged. This included a reconstruction of a lifting device used to move animals / gladiators into the arena. After this we ascended a lot of steps lift provided some of the way for those who needed it to the fourth tier, this provided superb views of both the Colloseum and much of Rome. The radios worked much better here and the information given was interesting. We were given plenty of time for photos and to ask questions. The tour ended there, we descended to the ground floor where we took our leave of Francesca, we were able to stay inside the Colloseum for as long as we wanted, before making our way out. The tour is long, it lasted around 3.5 hours and it gets hot, but I would recommend it as the 'skip the lines' and the information provided by our guide definitely enhanced the experience.

Doing what: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Tour: Underground Chambers, Arena and Upper Tier

DFur United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Skip the line feature worked very well, especially on a busy day. Many tours were going on at the same time and we found ourselves running into each other since many of the desired talking locations were filled. At the end of the tour we were able to explore more and enjoyed walking to up to the dome - great view for the extra cost.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums with St Peter’s, Sistine Chapel and Small-Group Upgrade

Susan L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We didn't have a tour just skip the line and this worked great, we didn't have to queue at all.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message