With millions of tourists descending on Rome each year, the world’s most famous ancient city gets so overwhelmed with crowds in high season that many visitors find themselves skipping the busiest sights or simply running out of time. Rome’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2578 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Evelyn L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour guide was Lindy. She was really good. Very informative and gave us time to see everything. Was so glad we p aid for skip the line as it was well worth it when we saw the queues outside

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Timothy R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Guide was an archeology student - very knowledgeable and personable. Definitely worth the money to skip the line and the geek in me loved the insight from our student/ guide. Included the Roman Forum. Don't skip it! Afterwards, take the time to tour the palace ruins at the top of Palatine Hill. So glad we did this.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Anne C USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Well worth it. We were lucky in that we were there when it wasn't very crowded. Still really happy that we didn't have to wait in line. Security went quickly too. Our guide was good and knowledgeable. If one is visiting ANY of the Rome sites in high season, you've got to do skip the line tours.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

koha Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide Shannon was fantastic and this was a great well paced tour from beginning to end with ample time to do your own exploration of the Basilica at the end of the guided tour. We were a group of 6 aged from 16 to 75 and the tour pace and commentary worked for us all. There was minimal waiting and the pace of walking and commentary was comfortable. Shannon was really informative and passionate about all aspects of the tour. Really enjoyed the tour and would do another tour with Shannon. The Vatican was sensational as was the Sistine chapel and the Basilica. You could spend an incredible amount of time wandering around but the tour kept you on track with a reasonable pace. There is a fair amount of walking but its pretty flat walking, mainly inside with a few flights of stairs, but not too many. There is a couple of security checkpoints along the way so best to travel light. Skipping the line is perfect as even in early January there were lines first thing and apparently you can wait for hours to gain regular entry so the Skip the line option is great to maximize your time.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Janet S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I have been to Rome before, but this year the crowd at St Peter's was huge, without our guide and the Skip the Line, we would probably not had time to see much of anything. Be advised, due to the arrival of the current Pope, people are visiting Rome in huge numbers. Take the tour with Viator and actually see what you come to see when you visit Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

David S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The tour was wonderful! Our guide shared a vast amount of information with excitement, visuals, and a smile. Well worth the money to skip the lines and learn historical information!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Susan J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

The Vatican area was very, very crowded and we were very grateful that we had the Skip the Line tour. We were in a group of about 20 people with a guide who was very knowledgeable about every thing that we saw. Seeing all of the treasures and the amazing art work was wonderful and being able to learn some of the background was helpful. The time we spent in the Sistine Chapel had to be quiet but it was very, very crowded in there. Our guide spent time at the end of the tour guiding people to good restaurants and other things to see. It was money well spent.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

andyagar

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Excellent tour, with a knowledgeable guide. The skip the line part, was with the cost of the tour, especially having seen the queues in which people waited 2-3 hours to gain access.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

TERRENCE L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Great tour and worth the money just to skip the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

rod

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

How could you go to Rome and not take this tour? You definitely want to 'Skip the Line' for these venues. Very good guide and a pleasure to be with.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

sdio7

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

perfect guide,highly recommended to skip the lines.Vatican museum is on of the best places to visti in rome

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Michele S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Skip the Line tour is the only way to go in the very crowded Vatican. Still overwhelming due to amount of items to see and the large crowds of people in the museums and Vatican even in a small group tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

David X

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Tour guide was local and informative. Best part was we got to skip the line.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Katherine K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide Alessandro was great! His passion and knowledge of Roman history and facts was wonderful. We really enjoyed the group and happy to skip the lines and hear about the real Gladiators!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

jmowyang United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

My husband and I loved the Skip The Line, what a great perk. Knowledgeable local tour guide with a passion for Rome and shared memorable, fun facts. She even brought her own before-and-after visual book to show the group. Tip: be ready to walk on uneven surfaces and steps. Overall great experience.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

jmowyang United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Beautiful experience, extremely knowledgeable guide and was great at answering questions. A little confusing finding the initial check-in office, but overall I recommend this tour. Remember that the entry fee is not included, so be ready to provide payment when you check in. Skip The Line was great.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

Stacie A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This tour was awesome, we literally walked past the skip the line lines and went in first thing in the morning. No large crowds, a very informative guide, and great organization. I would highly recommend spending a little extra for this tour and avoiding the enormous crowds!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Matthew B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour with a very knowledgable tour guide. We went in October, which had smaller crowds, and this was still well worth the investment to skip the lines

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Colin W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonderful experience guide first class the money to skip the line was well worth the money a great day out

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Graeme D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We went for a morning tour 10:30 based on other reviews as it gets very busy. We were glad we did this as by 9:15 the queue was already round the side of the building but with skip the line we went straight in with the tour. The tour was absolutely fabulous and I'd got as far as to say that this is the best guided tour I have ever been on. This may of course depend on the individual guide but ours was fantastic and first rate! Our guide took as through at a sensible pace and was engaging, informative and entertaining, and took time to explain the history of what we were about to see. We really enjoyed this, thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Melissa B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great tour! Our guide was very knowledgeable, and guided us through all the art at a pace that was perfect, given all there was to see. If you want to see the Vatican but don't want to spend 5 hours to do it, this is the tour for you. Also, the skip the line was no joke. We went on a Wednesday when the Pope was actually speaking in the square, so by the time we were leaving there was a line that wrapped around the square. Looked like people would be waiting hours to get into the museum and Basillica.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Arthur G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Oct 23, 2015 we toured the Colosseum and is was great. Excellent guides - inside and outside the colosseum, although if you don't know anything except hollywood's version any guide can be excellent, but our guides were very enlightening. This was definitely worth the cost and skip the line is the way to go.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Half-Day Walking Tour

Arthur G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was a full day at the Vatican on Oct 24, 2015. We had an excellent guide although she occassionaly got stuck in a room as she explain it - her passion of the items was evident. The skip the line is helpful, although everyone got the skip and cause a mass of people - but it was the Vatican and on a Saturday

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Lori G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgable and very friendly. In addition, it was a nice bonus to skip the lines and spend the extra time admiring the sights. This was our favorite tour in Rome and I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Small-Group Tour including Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica

Debra d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

the experience with the skip the line was worth every cent our tour guide was a great chap and my Mum and I learnt alot with this tour a huge highlight

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message