What could possibly be more fantastic than zipping through the streets of Rome on a vintage Fiat or Vespa? After all, you’ve seen it done in many a Hollywood film, and it looks so easy. As you might expect, however, the reality is a little different ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 18 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Susan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My husband and I have been blessed to have traveled the world and to have seen some amazing things and meet some great people. This driving tour of Rome and our time with our guide, Paolo, was truly one of the most unique and memorable experiences of our travels. To drive around the amazing city of Rome in a vintage Fiat made us feel like we had traveled back in time for our own little Roman Holiday. There was definitely a nostalgic and cool feel to the whole experience. Even though we had been to Rome in the past, we saw Rome from a whole new perspective.

Paolo was an awesome guide. Extremely knowledgeable about the city and its history, and a genuinely nice guy with some amazing stories of his sojourns around the world. A true world traveler. He took us to parts of Rome that tourists perhaps would not know about, and he took us to a local cafe for some cappuccinos. We really enjoyed meeting him.

We highly recommend this tour. It's truly a unique way to experience Rome. On our next visit, we plan to do the Vespa tour of Rome.

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

quinbargen

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Life affirming! The best thing we did in Rome! I recommend any one who goes to Rome to do this and, in particular, any one who is 'tired of life' to do this! We had many apologies if we spell wrong Valerio and Jacopo with the superb Dearoma company.They really knew their stuff, all the extra little bits the guide books don't mention. I was quite nervous but Jacopo was so lovely and calm and relaxed that I quickly sat back and enjoyed it! Two things were very important to us - they took requests to go to where we wanted, and they took us to their own local cafe and we saw their friends. Making that connection with real local people makes all the difference. Very well done boys!!

Doing what: Rome by Vintage Vespa - Classic Rome Tour

Patsylou25

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our Vespa ride around Rome, was the highlight of our visit there. Our companion riders Valerio and Michele were exceptional in their consideration and care. As older girls we appreciated the extra effort they made in order for us to enjoy the thrills of Roman traffic! We have visited Rome on other occasions and they were able to take us to places that we had not visited before and were very well versed on the history and events of the city. We would highly recommend this adventure to anyone of any age. Enjoy!!

Doing what: Rome by Vintage Vespa - Classic Rome Tour

Kim United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Absolutely wonderful tour! Our guides met us right outside of our hotel, they were both natives of Rome, very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the history of all the sites we saw. Though they were young guys, they had both been giving tours and driving Vespas for years and were sure to point out great places to eat and experience local culture. At the start of the tour they asked what we wanted to see most, but since we were interested in an overview of the city we let them choose where to go. In addition to the main attractions like the Colosseum they brought us to many other places, off the beaten path, that we definitely wouldn't have seen on our own including two incredible overlooks to get sweeping views of the city. Part of the tour also includes a stop at a local bakery/cafe for coffee and sweets, the guides were incredibly personable and really made us feel like we were there with friends. I would recommend this tour to anyone looking for an adventure and a way to see a lot of Rome in a short amount of time and learn some history along the way!

Doing what: Rome by Vintage Vespa - Classic Rome Tour

James C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Daniele was a fantastic tour guide Fantastic time!

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

Stephen H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Simply the best Tour and most fun you will have in Rome. This was brilliant.

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

gail h

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

This was so much fun. The driver was great and the other tour members were great. We had a great time.

Doing what: FIAT 500 Vintage Tour and the 7 Hidden Gems of Rome

Gale H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Loved the tour - I took my 15 year old grandson - he thought it was cool
More then I expected
Daniel, our guide, was very knowledgable about his city
Saw places I would have never seen on my own

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

Douglas A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent. The two local tour guides were friendly, knowledgeable and great fun. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome by Vintage Vespa - Classic Rome Tour

michelle.antelmi

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour! Excellent tour guide! Great Experience!

Doing what: Rome by Vintage Vespa - Classic Rome Tour

Christopher M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Probably the best way to go about touring the city. Its like having a private chauffeur and tour guide in one. It is a must to do this while in Rome.

Doing what: Rome by Vintage Vespa - Classic Rome Tour

Rocky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour was the highlight of my trip to Rome. The cars are well taken care of and you learn so much more than the regular sights and sounds of the city.. I would highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

Jennifer K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Went on this tour with my 16 year old daughter. She loved the car and the tour.Would recommend this tour to others. Guide was knowledgeable and the car is cute.

Doing what: FIAT 500 Vintage Tour and the 7 Hidden Gems of Rome

Toni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Most amazing Italian experience! The owner of the shop is THE nicest man! THE best way to get around Rome! The roads seem scary and crowded but the shop owner gives you all of the information you need to stay safe and confident on the street! I will 100 return!

Doing what: Rome Vespa Rental - 24 hour rental

robyn m

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

One of the best things we have ever done on our travels. Georgio our guide was amazing. We would never have gone to some of the places he took us to. Highly recommend driving through rome

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

Chappgm

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fabulous tour! We loved our tour guide, Alexander. He was very knowledgeable about the history of Rome. He took us to places we weren't able to walk to. One our best days in Rome!

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

Hippoplatypus Singapore

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The tour brought us to many pretty attractions around Rome. Overall the drive was easy and fun, with our guide, Alivse constantly reminding us our cars were 'superstars' as well! My husband and I really enjoyed the tour. Definitely recommend to try if you love the lovely cars!

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

Mrs A J J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Brilliant! What a great time we had all thanks to Georgo our tour guide. We were his only guests but this did not curb his enthusiasm, we were treated like special guests. The car was amazing, this little tiny old quaint car with a push back sunroof, wind down windows and only one wing mirror. My husband was driving thank goodness as he made lots of Roman friends who beeped their horns at him and made hand gestures! But this added to the fun! Georgo was patient and made sure we did not get lost, he took us to places we would never have seen if we had not done the tour, we went up tiny cobbled streets which turned the car into a bit of a bone shaker! The best bit for me was the keyhole This is amazing and I could not stop looking through it! On our travels we met up with another convoy of 4 and it was like meeting long lost pals! One of the cars had 4 persons in, they looked a bit squashed but very happy! Georgo is lovely, he took us for coffee to a fab place buried under a hill! If you wnat to see bits of the real Rome, do this, you will not be disappointed I promise, I did not want the day to end I was having so much fun! Thank you Georgo and his boss who we met when we returned to the garage, they were both so welcoming.

Doing what: Rome Vintage Fiat 500 Self-Drive Tour by Convoy

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message