A family trip to Italy is the sort of thing you hope your kids will remember for the rest of their lives. More than just the great pizza or gelato, however, you hope they'll understand some of the significance of what they're seeing so that they can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 262 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

John was amazing!! Our kids 11 and 14 loved this tour. He funny and energetic. Don't miss this one!

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

If you have kids under the age of 12, I highly recommend this. It was the highlight of my 9 yr old's whole trip to Rome. The instructor's were great and spoke passable English but the kids didn't seem to mind. They did a great lesson about gladiator and Roman history before they took the kids out to the sand pit to train them to be gladiators. They did get to spar with each other and with the parents which was the highlight. Even my 14 yr old enjoyed the sparring part and fought her younger sister. They had a different training area for younger kids and then another one for older kids and adults.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Our guide, Michael from So. Cal. was great, as was his companion tour guide Rebecca. Not your typical tour, in that you see a side of Rome that is generally not part of the usual recommended Rome sites. Very informative and interesting. I went to Rome about 30 years ago, and was given an insider's tour by a professor at the American University there, and had seen the Basilica of San Clemente and was glad to be able to share that experience with my kids. I only hope that this tour doesn't become a victim of its own popularity by becoming too tourist-y because it was a great experience. Thanks Mike from Tustin!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Exellent tour for my 9 years old son and us. Great experiance and activity for family with children.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My whole family loved this tour. Very interesting and different from the traditional tour. Tour guides were fun and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very informative and fun. Great activity for kids and fun for adults to watch or even participate. Well worth the time and money. Note that it is about a 20 minute cab ride from city center.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A fantastic tour. The lovely guide amanda was very knowledgeable in her specialist field of roman history. She spoke beautifully and clearly and really engaged our three kids aged 10,14 and 16. A really great way to understand the history and architecture when it's cooler and less crowded. It did run until after 11. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is highly recommended for everyone. We went as a family of five and four of us did the training after a very interesting tour of the museum. It was very rustic, but well worth the cost for the learning and experience. Do it!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

AMAZING AND OUTSTANDING. The first 45 minutes is in the museum where the history of the gladiators is reviewed. the instructor was very personable and interacted with the kids very well. the lesson that followed we did private lesson with another family was enjoyable and entertaining and everyone involved both spectators and participants had an incredible time. HIGHLY RECOMMEND TO BOTH ADULTS AND CHILDREN!!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We have two boys ages 14 and 11. They really enjoyed gladiator school. The first hour was very informative. Kids and adults all enjoyed learning the techniques of a gladiator. Our instructor Pablo was knowledgeable, kind and funny. This was an excellent break from the museums and churches.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour for ages 5-12. Tour guide was great, and engaged with all kids. One kid was super smart and dominated conversation, and the tour guide handled it well overall. I learned a lot from the kids questions as well. It was a really hot day, so the Roman Forum was a bit dull/hot for the average kid mine, but once we got to the collisium, all kids were alive and engaged. Kids had interactive games to play with the tour guide. Good for kids!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My kids son 13, daughter 11 LOVED this activity in Rome. We took a break from the traditional touring and participated in Gladiator School. The history was discussed and then the kids became gladiators and history came alive in the hands on activity. I will warn you...there is physical activity here...running, push-ups, etc. The instructor of the class plays a character...one who is teaching slaves or prisoners to fight, and our instructor stayed in character until the end. At first, the harshness made my daughter nervous, but by the end...she, and our son, will tell you it was one of the activities they will always remember about our family trip to Europe.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I forked out a lot of money for a personalized tour in the Vatican for my 2 kids 3 and 6 and my husband and myself. I wish I decided to do a Viatour family tour for the Vatican as well. The family colosseum tour was fantastic! The guide Flotina was engaging, energetic and kept it very kid friendly, for kids of all ages. It was definitely worth the money for this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did this tour several years ago, and it was just awesome. When we booked this time, we thought it would be hard to beat that first experience, but it definitely did. Just an awesome experience for my son and our family. Best activity of our vacation!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My hubby and I were the only people booked into a class that morning so we had a teacher to ourselves. First stop was the museum. Were very interested in Ancient Rome so for us it was terrific to see the weapons and helmets used by the gladiators and to learn about the features of each type but young kids may be bored by that bit.
The practical class in the sand arena was great fun. Having been trained in both attack and defense moves by our trainer we had a bout which I of course let my husband win. We were then awarded our freedom with Roman citizenship complete with certificate.
After the class we were taken to the soldiers camp where some rookies were being sworn in as legionaries for life so a crowd had gathered to see the ceremony and there was much Aveing and people were dressed in costumes befitting their role senators, centurions, legionaries, noblewomen, prostitutes and criminals with signs around their necks displaying their crime including a dog. Such a fun experience with enthusiastic people dedicated to preserving their history.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my 12 yr old son on this. We both had a wonderful time and learned so much! I would recommend this to everyone kids and adults!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great family fun. We had a blast. Kids had fun but I think the adults had even more fun! Take a taxi as its a bit in the middle of nowhere. Also, be ready for a bit of a work out.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My 9 year old kids loved it! Both my son and daughter loved the gymnastics/obstacle course/sword play aspects of it, and my husband and I enjoyed learning about the Roman soldiers' gear and weapons and how they were used. Terrific experience.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Kids loved it, ages 11 and 8. Even the adults had a great time. Our tour guide even got us involved....great time, highly recommended.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. good for kids, parents and grandparents. Our guide, Chiara was very considerate of the younger kids in the tour and of those who were too small to use the head sets - she took these kids with her to the front of the group, ensuring that they could hear and keep up.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent for kids, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant tour...kids thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide was engaging and informative..maybe a little slow to start but then improved. The breaks in between for games were a very good idea...
I would recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our kids thoroughly enjoyed it! Our your guide was fantastic and kept the children engaged.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message