A family trip to Italy is the sort of thing you hope your kids will remember for the rest of their lives. More than just the great pizza or gelato, however, you hope they'll understand some of the significance of what they're seeing so that they can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 299 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Maria G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My two boys 9 and 7 years old totally LOVED their gladiator class! The 2 hours flew like the wind: the trainer was very knowledgeable and really lived his part he showed us around the museum and took the boys through their paces they finished exhausted but 100 happy. A most enjoyable experience for the whole family, excellent value for money and the stuff memories are made of. Not to be missed! We have actually repeated :-

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Joanne S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We all enjoyed the tour and the kids loved Paolo, Highly recommended.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Brett W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This was the highlight of our son's 8th Birthday on our last day in Rome. We had a great time. Young and older can enjoy the fun and challenge of the Gladiator School. Awesome.Thank you again, the Walker family.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Sabrina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

A terrific way for the kids to understand a piece of Roman history and get out some of their wiggles after a day of sightseeing.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Anthony & Petra M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

The kids 8 and 11 really enjoyed this activity and had loads of fun. Definitely something that we can recommend to others.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Leah B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

My son loved this experience, definitely the highlight of his trip to Rome. Beware, the location is out-of-the-way but taxi drivers know it well. However, it appeared deserted when we arrived yes, 5 minutes later than start time as the group had proceeded to the Museum and training area. There were not signs to indicate where to go so we had to wait around until we could reach someone by phone to direct us where to go. Everything went more than smoothly from there, and our Gladiator Trainer was fantastic with the kids. I would just recommend that the school put a sign to indicate where to go when class is in session. Overall, fantastic experience.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

What an incredible experience! The kids loved the museum and training. Our gladiator was fabulous with them! I definitely recommend this to anyone traveling to the area!!!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Louise R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The class was a real hit with my son. He really enjoyed learning about the gladiators and their armor. He especially enjoyed the interactive part of drills and practice matches. Our instructor was informative, playful and patient. It was two hours well spent. I will say that our cab driver dropped us at the end of the block and the area appeared a bit dodgy. However once we found the school, the fun never ended. He is still talking about it. I would highly recommend this for all kids 8 and up.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Jennifer B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Martha did a great job! We would recommend this to any family!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

John M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We booked the Gladiator school after good friends recommended it to us. It was our third day in Rome and was by far and away our 6 year old son's favorite part of the trip. Paolo our trainer was amazing with the kids in our group giving them just enough history along with the training that they really wanted. If you have kids 5 they will love this.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Christopher D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was so much fun for our whole family. We learned a lot and even got to try on gladiator gear. Then we were instructed in the art of being a gladiator. Finally, we were put to the test. We will remember this always.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Natalie R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was totally awesome. The kids and adults loved it. Cannot recommend this school highly enough. We took my 4 year old with his big brothers and they welcomed him and made him feel included as well great idea and well run

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Gregory C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Jon was an excellent guide. He was engaging and extremely knowledgeable. The tour could have been too creepy in parts if not for his enthusiasm and facts. Good job!
I have already told my family to take this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Angelina L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Awesome tour. We did this tour as a family of 4 as our son really wanted to attend but not on his own. Our gladiator was Emanuel Tiny-mind you there was nothing tiny about him he was fantastic and we enjoyed his knowledge and history of the roman era. I cannot speak highly enough of Tiny he made this tour very memorable. In fact a highlight of our time in Rome ...... Thank-you Tiny and I'm sure I was your best mama Gladiator you have ever trained !!!!!!!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Kimberly W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This could have been silly or cheesy, but it was great. The place is really neat, outside the wall and down a dirt road. Roosters crowing, very authentic. They don't push merchandise but give good historical info too. Our kids LOVED it ages 6-11 and were sweaty and got a good workout too with the obstacle course, fighting drills and matches. It was one of the most fun things we did in Rome and I wouldn't miss it if I had kids. My daughter was a great warrior and surprised our gladiator with her ferocity as she took down boy after bigger boy! All in all, an excellent experience!!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

CJ W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Without a doubt a great day out for the whole family. We were fortunate to have a session to ourselves and found the pre fighting information session was exceptionally interesting, especially for the adults. Our son had been looking forward to this for months and wasn't disappointed. He had a great time attacking both Marcus and myself. Many thanks to Marcus for making the tour memorable for our son. Thoroughly recommended.

Chris W
New Zealand

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Tamara F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We all loved this tour, Serena was a fantastic guide who taught us all a thing or two about Ancient Rome. The kids say this was their favourite part of Italy!

Doing what: Rome Tour with Kids: Interactive Ancient Rome Tour

LaVerne M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Tremendous experience the kids will remember forever! A highlight of our trip! Super gladiator!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Ashleigh_Varley

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, fun, and friendly. This tour is geared toward primary school aged kids, and they do a great job.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Meghal P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour was fantastic! My son Amar is 8 years old and he was captivated by the guide who told a whole story of Rome and made it very engaging for the kids and parents also. there were lots of little activities along the way and a little quiz leaflet to discuss in the evening with the children. There were so many facts that my son remembered and was able to talk about. This tour was the highlight of our stay in Rome. each child was also given a small gift. The guide we had was amazing with the children, very patient also and was able to deal with children of all ages and involve them in conversation about Rome. Well done to her! She made the tour unforgettable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Cynthia D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Serena was great with the kids. She was a wealth of information for the kids as well as the adults. She was very thoughtful and brought with her a Rome book with pictures of what ancient Rome would have looked like, very useful when describing what the environment would have looked like - to both children and adults. Well worth the expense.

Doing what: Rome Tour with Kids: Interactive Ancient Rome Tour

Tim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Two months on from our walking tour of Rome at night and we are still remembering tidbits of information as the experience was great. Rome is a beautiful and see city at night and this tour well worth doing especially with older kids. It is also a great way to find your feet in this amazing city.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

Tim L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This was a highlight of our holiday trip to Rome, located outside the city (c 20€ taxi ride - just give them the address and they will find it!) - excellent fun, tired the kids and grown up out! Get them to book a taxi back to the city is easiest and quickest way home!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Ben N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you want your kids to see the colosseum, this is the tour to do. Our 5 year Old was only mildly bored at times, our 7 year old was fully engaged. Enthusiastic and high energy guide tried really hard. It was a tour for children which the adults went to too, rather than children being dragged around with a bunch of adults Take your own ear phones, our 5 year old had a hard time, they were too big for her ears, she also struggled with the accent. She was probably a little bit too young. Highly recommend this as a great way for children to experience history which adults also enjoy.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Dilip K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour overall. Rebecca was just great - loved her personal touch by taking time to remember everyone's names. We had sufficient time to visit the three sites. Lots of information provided at each location. Kids loved it. This tour should not be missed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message