A family trip to Italy is the sort of thing you hope your kids will remember for the rest of their lives. More than just the great pizza or gelato, however, you hope they'll understand some of the significance of what they're seeing so that they can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great time! This came recommended by a private tour guide we have used a couple of times in Rome. Booked kids ages 14, 12 and 8, the Saturday of Easter Weekend. Turned out it was just the three of them signed up. Paolo was fluent in English and really engaged the kids and us parents on the museum tour. We all learned something. Then came the training! Fun watching the kids. Again, Paolo was great with them. A nice break for the family from the museums and the walking. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic experience! This is not a cheesy gimmick as many would suspect. The museum had many replicas and artifacts that were thoroughly explained by our guide. Our gladiator was very knowledgeable, skillful, and took the experience seriously giving my kids a wonderful experience. This was truly one of the highlights of our time in Italy.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Gladiator School was one of the great highlights of our trip to Rome. Our 9 year old son and 13 year old daughter did the school, and both loved it. We all enjoyed the discussion of Roman history and weapons with our leader, a centurion who is a carabinieri for his day job. He was very good with the kids,and with the adults. He had us all laughing with his drill sergeant approach to my son, and did a great job of explaining everything and keeping it very interesting. The kids loved learning the tactics of actual sword fighting, and had a wonderful time fighting each other with the padded swords. It made the rest of the trip even more enjoyable for the kids.

We cabbed to the school. There's a coffee bar about 250 yards down the road past the school where you can get cappuccino and food if you get to the school early. The school also called us a cab when we were done at it was there within a few minutes.

All in all, a great experience which i strongly recommend.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best event in Rome for wannabe gladiators. Family with three boys under 10 years.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My kids say this was the best tour ever. They we 60 feet under ground and got to see so many artifacts. They learned about how and why the crypts and catacombs existed. They never thought they would get to see somethings like they were able to see. Rebecca was GREAT.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very unique experience full of interesting stories that you won't hear anywhere else. Loved our guide, John! He was knowledgeable about his subject, encouraged questions and was just all around helpful with directions and recommendations. Even my kids agreed that this was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommended for families. Great introduction to Rome for kids, animated and interesting. I did it straight away on the first day and it gave children taste for what they would like to see and do.

Doing what: Time Elevator Rome 3-D Movie and Simulated Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sooo cool! Sure the small museum is a bit simple and could need some signs in English, but it was made with passion and love for the history. It kept the kids well engaged. It was not only about the Gladiator games, but also about the Roman war tactics, which was very interesting to hear. After the museum tour it was time to do the training. Don´t bring your prettiest clothes for this, it´s hard work, and a lot of fun!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My kids ages 10, 8, 5 loved this. They thought it was the BEST part of our trip. They still talk about it today.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My 9 and 11 year olds loved this, and so did I (44) and my husband (45). Paolo was a great guide and instructor, and gave a good history which kept the kids interested. But of course the gladiator training was the best part. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Although this tour is a bit pricey, my 2 children ages 6 and 7 loved it! It's all they have been talking about! The instructor, although Gladiator strict (in a good way..), kept them engaged and entertained the entire time. Beware of the taxi's taking you there... Find the route first or ask the company to give directions. We had a taxi driver take us all over. I had the route on my phone and saw him deviate pretty quickly. When I challenged him, he tried to make the 4 of us (young kids included) get out on a busy street. I called the instructor, put him on speaker phone and he got after the taxi driver. We ended up being 20 min late thanks to the taxi driver but the gladiator instructor more than made up for the lost time.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My kids were slightly spooked out, but amazed at this tour. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Kids had a real good time and guide was very friendly. Awesome tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very fun to do. We took our three kids 11 9 and 8 as the very first thing to do in rome. It was a great idea as they understood the sites we visited during our stay.

Doing what: Time Elevator Rome 3-D Movie and Simulated Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The tour was amazing and very appropriate for children! Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining and she kept the kids very engaged! They kept asking questions and interacting with her! My son stated that it was the best tour ever!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message