A family trip to Italy is the sort of thing you hope your kids will remember for the rest of their lives. More than just the great pizza or gelato, however, you hope they'll understand some of the significance of what they're seeing so that they can ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 243 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very good tour for ages 5-12. Tour guide was great, and engaged with all kids. One kid was super smart and dominated conversation, and the tour guide handled it well overall. I learned a lot from the kids questions as well. It was a really hot day, so the Roman Forum was a bit dull/hot for the average kid mine, but once we got to the collisium, all kids were alive and engaged. Kids had interactive games to play with the tour guide. Good for kids!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

My kids son 13, daughter 11 LOVED this activity in Rome. We took a break from the traditional touring and participated in Gladiator School. The history was discussed and then the kids became gladiators and history came alive in the hands on activity. I will warn you...there is physical activity here...running, push-ups, etc. The instructor of the class plays a character...one who is teaching slaves or prisoners to fight, and our instructor stayed in character until the end. At first, the harshness made my daughter nervous, but by the end...she, and our son, will tell you it was one of the activities they will always remember about our family trip to Europe.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I forked out a lot of money for a personalized tour in the Vatican for my 2 kids 3 and 6 and my husband and myself. I wish I decided to do a Viatour family tour for the Vatican as well. The family colosseum tour was fantastic! The guide Flotina was engaging, energetic and kept it very kid friendly, for kids of all ages. It was definitely worth the money for this tour!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We did this tour several years ago, and it was just awesome. When we booked this time, we thought it would be hard to beat that first experience, but it definitely did. Just an awesome experience for my son and our family. Best activity of our vacation!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My hubby and I were the only people booked into a class that morning so we had a teacher to ourselves. First stop was the museum. Were very interested in Ancient Rome so for us it was terrific to see the weapons and helmets used by the gladiators and to learn about the features of each type but young kids may be bored by that bit.
The practical class in the sand arena was great fun. Having been trained in both attack and defense moves by our trainer we had a bout which I of course let my husband win. We were then awarded our freedom with Roman citizenship complete with certificate.
After the class we were taken to the soldiers camp where some rookies were being sworn in as legionaries for life so a crowd had gathered to see the ceremony and there was much Aveing and people were dressed in costumes befitting their role senators, centurions, legionaries, noblewomen, prostitutes and criminals with signs around their necks displaying their crime including a dog. Such a fun experience with enthusiastic people dedicated to preserving their history.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I took my 12 yr old son on this. We both had a wonderful time and learned so much! I would recommend this to everyone kids and adults!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great family fun. We had a blast. Kids had fun but I think the adults had even more fun! Take a taxi as its a bit in the middle of nowhere. Also, be ready for a bit of a work out.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My 9 year old kids loved it! Both my son and daughter loved the gymnastics/obstacle course/sword play aspects of it, and my husband and I enjoyed learning about the Roman soldiers' gear and weapons and how they were used. Terrific experience.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Amazing! Kids loved it, ages 11 and 8. Even the adults had a great time. Our tour guide even got us involved....great time, highly recommended.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This activity was fabulous! Our 3 kids ages 17, 14, and 12 2 boys and a girl, had an outstanding time. The small museum is quiet educational, filled with relics from ancient Rome. It was just our family that evening, so the kids received lots of one-on-one attention. They loved the battles they had with each other. As it was us, we were able to participate in the battles as well. You can well imagine how much fun the kids had battling their parents then watching their parents battle each other. It was a wonderful evening and a highlight of our trip. I do apologize for not remembering the name of the instructor. I would highly recommend all participants to wear shoes and clothes you dont mind getting sandy/dusty.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent. good for kids, parents and grandparents. Our guide, Chiara was very considerate of the younger kids in the tour and of those who were too small to use the head sets - she took these kids with her to the front of the group, ensuring that they could hear and keep up.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent for kids, highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Brilliant tour...kids thoroughly enjoyed it. Our guide was engaging and informative..maybe a little slow to start but then improved. The breaks in between for games were a very good idea...
I would recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our kids thoroughly enjoyed it! Our your guide was fantastic and kept the children engaged.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Great time! This came recommended by a private tour guide we have used a couple of times in Rome. Booked kids ages 14, 12 and 8, the Saturday of Easter Weekend. Turned out it was just the three of them signed up. Paolo was fluent in English and really engaged the kids and us parents on the museum tour. We all learned something. Then came the training! Fun watching the kids. Again, Paolo was great with them. A nice break for the family from the museums and the walking. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fantastic experience! This is not a cheesy gimmick as many would suspect. The museum had many replicas and artifacts that were thoroughly explained by our guide. Our gladiator was very knowledgeable, skillful, and took the experience seriously giving my kids a wonderful experience. This was truly one of the highlights of our time in Italy.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Gladiator School was one of the great highlights of our trip to Rome. Our 9 year old son and 13 year old daughter did the school, and both loved it. We all enjoyed the discussion of Roman history and weapons with our leader, a centurion who is a carabinieri for his day job. He was very good with the kids,and with the adults. He had us all laughing with his drill sergeant approach to my son, and did a great job of explaining everything and keeping it very interesting. The kids loved learning the tactics of actual sword fighting, and had a wonderful time fighting each other with the padded swords. It made the rest of the trip even more enjoyable for the kids.

We cabbed to the school. There's a coffee bar about 250 yards down the road past the school where you can get cappuccino and food if you get to the school early. The school also called us a cab when we were done at it was there within a few minutes.

All in all, a great experience which i strongly recommend.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Best event in Rome for wannabe gladiators. Family with three boys under 10 years.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

My kids say this was the best tour ever. They we 60 feet under ground and got to see so many artifacts. They learned about how and why the crypts and catacombs existed. They never thought they would get to see somethings like they were able to see. Rebecca was GREAT.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Crypts and Roman Catacombs Small Group Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Very unique experience full of interesting stories that you won't hear anywhere else. Loved our guide, John! He was knowledgeable about his subject, encouraged questions and was just all around helpful with directions and recommendations. Even my kids agreed that this was a highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

Highly recommended for families. Great introduction to Rome for kids, animated and interesting. I did it straight away on the first day and it gave children taste for what they would like to see and do.

Doing what: Time Elevator Rome 3-D Movie and Simulated Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Sooo cool! Sure the small museum is a bit simple and could need some signs in English, but it was made with passion and love for the history. It kept the kids well engaged. It was not only about the Gladiator games, but also about the Roman war tactics, which was very interesting to hear. After the museum tour it was time to do the training. Don´t bring your prettiest clothes for this, it´s hard work, and a lot of fun!

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My kids ages 10, 8, 5 loved this. They thought it was the BEST part of our trip. They still talk about it today.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

My 9 and 11 year olds loved this, and so did I (44) and my husband (45). Paolo was a great guide and instructor, and gave a good history which kept the kids interested. But of course the gladiator training was the best part. Definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Roman Gladiator School: Learn How to Become a Gladiator

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message