They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 187 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I were in Italy this past February for our honeymoon. It was great that we went during the off season, because Rome still had a lot of tourists during this time. We spent 2 days in every city we visited, and we made sure to get a walking tour on our first days. This half-day walking tour of Ancient Rome was a great! We covered a lot of ground, and got to see the main attractions in Ancient Rome. This was also great because we got to skip the long line at the Colosseum - and you will want to skip that line...especially if you plan on going during the peak seasons. Also, our tour guide Nicola was very friendly and informative! Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So many tourists in Rome from Easter that is tour was the only sane and timely way to get into the Sistine Chapel - which is always worth a visit our third time in there. Basilica was unexpectedly closed by the Pope on the day of this tour which didn't bother us as we went to Masses in the Basilica and did a self tours during the next few days after this tour. Guide was outstanding with the knowledge of the architecture, art work, and history of the Vatican buildings. Definitely worth the price of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour is a must do in Rome. It is definitely one of the highlights of our Europe trip. We have also done a similar tour in Paris. Our three son's absolutely love the Segway trips and our guide (Roberto) was fantastic. We did the full day trip, and covered so many of the highlighs. Sensational!

Doing what: Rome in One Day Segway Tour with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had a private tour which, while pricey, was worth every penny to me. The guide was extremely knowledgable about art, history, and the classical and religious subjects of the art. He showed me differences in the artists' styles and techniques, and I learned a great deal about Carrivagio whose astounding works are on display at the Borghese. This was a highlight of my four days in Rome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip to Rome was tremendous , thanks to our AMAZING and knowledgeable tour guide ❤️
The skip the line really made our days longer to see more of Rome . Our memories would not be so colorful about brome had we not done your tour. I recommend you to everybody I know for a wonderful view of Rome.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see Rome! I was in Rome for business and had a free night. I work in the study abroad industry and have been to Rome on numerous occasions with various school/ tour groups. I wanted something different that would give me some insight about the Rome I already thought I knew.
Elena, our guide, was extremely knowledgable. I absolutely loved it and I now know a few things about Rome during the dark ages that I didn't before - fascinating.
If you want something different and perhaps want to do something before a typical Italian dinner (9p) on a Friday night, I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I planned a trip to Rome for my fiancée's 40th birthday, as a total surprise. All I told her was that she would need to take certain days off from work, and to pack her passport. She didn't find out until we were at the departure gate where we were going. I had tours lined up for most of the days we were there, but, I needed something epic and memorable for her actual birthday. I'm so glad I booked this tour, and we had one of the best evenings of our lives together. Wine tasting, amazing food (I don't know if I've ever had better desserts, and I'm a dessert-junkie!), and great company and conversation with fellow travelers. Our guide, Valeria, made the evening perfect, and we will take more of her tours when we return (There are espresso and gelato tours, too), but we will take this tour again because it was so fun!!!

Doing what: Rome Luxury Wine and Dinner Experience in a Private Cellar by the Pantheon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour allowed us to see lots of Rome on a limited time schedule. We sat at the top and were able to take great pictures, and afterwards, we were able to make personalized choices on what/where we wanted to hop off. I would recommend this tour to anyone in Rome for a few days like us!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I booked the 'Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour' with Liv Italy Tours (thru Viator) for our family - 2 adults, 2 teens and we all had such an amazing afternoon with Rachel as the tour guide. The small group ( max 6 people) was brilliant and enabled us and our kids to hear everything Rachel explained as well as being able to ask as many questions as we wanted. Rachel was incredibly intelligent, highly knowledgeable and extremely friendly and made our tour such a learning pleasure. We were all inspired by her enthusiasm and her natural engaging style. The tour itself was amazing and being able to go down to the underground level (not accessible to the public) as well as being able to climb all the way up to the very top level of the Colosseum (also restricted access) provided added dimension to the magnificence of the Colosseum and the tour. Our family were like sponges for the duration of the tour and afterwards, rather than feeling exhausted from a 3+ hour tour, we were all on a high from having such a brilliant informative afternoon. Thanks Rachel - we all highly recommend you as a guide and this small group tour which has been the best day of our trip so far.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fully recommended... jumping all the queues... nothing more to pay.. three days of transport on all types of bus, tram and metro.... plus open top bus option for the full three days.
also free maps and informative booklet

A must for all travellers to Rome

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent, a real must if you go to Rome and worth every cent incl the money paid on the day for entry fee's.
St Peters Basilica had to be my highlight as I just walked around in awe and wonder with my jaw hitting the marble floor as I have never seen anything as beautiful made by man.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Was very very useful. After walking in Rome for the first few days and getting blisters on my feet the Roma Card really came in handy for using the metro. And the Omnia card was very great for skipping the line. Idk why people wait in line anyway.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The best way to experience the center of Rome! I went on this tour as part of a 4 day trip to Rome (it was my first time in the city) and this tour, together with the visit to the Vatican which I also booked with Viator, where the highlights of my trip.

Our guide was a 35 year-old charismatic Roman who spoke fluent English. Our group consisted of about 30 people and each of us had an audio unit with a headphone which transmitted the guide's voice perfectly, which meant each of us heard the guide perfectly in spite of the crowds in places like the Colosseum.

Our guide was thoughtful, attentive and very knowledgeable! During the 4 hour tour he gave us an endless amount of interesting information about the sights we passed which only a local would know (such as pointing out that certain apartment buildings are entirely occupied by the same family).

This tour was a fantastic way to skip the lines at the Colosseum + visit the main sights in the center of Rome, all with a fantastic guide. If time is of the essence for you, this is the best way to see the center of Rome. I suggest you do this tour on your first day so you have time to go back to the sights you have time to return to some of the sights you walk past on this tour if you so choose. I would definitely choose this tour over the hop-on hop-off bus.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

In both cases, the Half-Day Walking Tours well exceeded our expectations, and we would highly recommend them to anyone considering visiting Rome. First-class guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Highlight of my holiday in Rome. Fully recommended for those who love history, adventure, new experience and great lunch. It was 2 courses menu in one of local own family restaurant with wine and coffee. Atmosphere was priceless. Thanks to our tour leader Arthur

Doing what: Segway tour of Appian Way in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Cooking With Nona class was so much fun! After a long day of touring the Vatican we were able to relax with our wonderful hosts, Emma and Anatella. We were very "hands on" in preparing our meal, rolling our dough and making noodles for fettuccine, preparing sauce, meatballs and tiramisu!! Lots of laughter and enjoying meeting new friends. The class size was small (seven of us) which made it all the more intimate. Thank you for the highlight of our time in Rome. I do need to say that the instructions for finding the apartment was not complete on our confirmation. We found the address but we were missing the information on which apartment to go to. Thankfully, a couple helped us find the right place. Other than that we had a wonderful time with really delicious food. Thank you Anatella, you are delightful!!

Doing what: Experience Italy: Cooking Class and Dinner with Nonna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did this tour the first day we arrived in Rome. It was a great way to get yourself oriented to the city and see and hear about so many of the historic sites. Our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Loved this!!! So easy to use and so much fun seeing Rome from the top of the bus! It was a great introduction to the city and also perfect for my getting around on my second day in Rome. I never had to use the buses or subway. Sitting on the right side gets the best views of the Colosseum when you pass it!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The staff at The Vatican office are fantastic. We used the hop on hop off bus constantly for the 3 days. You can hear all about the history of Rome and you are told which stop to get off at to see each site. There is also a wonderful guide and map and a Pass for transport. You get to see St Peter's, The Vatican and Sistene Chapel and bypass the endless queues. We used the Pass card to see The Colosseum and Pantheon. We went straight into The Colosseum as there is a quick queue for the Roma pass customers.
We stayed outside Rome, but all you really need is a hotel in the centre of Rome and the Omnia and Rome card. That way you can hop on and off the bus to each site and wander around Rome in the evening and enjoy the atmosphere and the sites. Would recommend the Omnia and Rome card to everyone. Well worth the money and the staff will help you with any query.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We found that the Rome Card and the Omnia Vatican Card was great value for money and we really enjoyed our holiday in Rome. The Hop-On-Hop-Off bus was a great asset, it got us around and about and were able to visit everywhere we wanted.
We will definitely return to Rome again in the future, as there is still so much more too see.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great way to see Rome in a hurry.. I only had one day to explore and this was the perfect way to do so... I highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Just one day in Rome and I got to see all the important bits.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was awesome! Our guide was fabulous. My 7 year old daughter was captivated throughout the entire tour. I was slightly worried that she would lose interest, but not a chance. Interactive games and fun was injected into this simplfied version of Rome 'back in the day'. Perfect for us adults too. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Family-Friendly Colosseum and Ancient Rome Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Perfect way to start your visit to Rome, a few tips to others. As we read once you have a water bottle keep it, there are fountains/springs everywhere for refilling. You don't need to €1 to the guy at the bus stop unless you want too! Ignore skip the line ticket sellers, the queue at the coliseum wasn't too long. It cost us €12 each and our 15 and 12 were free,remember to carry ID as they did check our 15 year old (he is nearly 6ft), this was for a 2 day ticket which included Roman Hill and Palatine, we explored this the next day. The metro was really easy to use,we bought single trips tickets each time, remember ladies to carry a scarf for covering up in churches or at least cover your shoulders or knees. Oh and some comfy shoes are a must, there is a lot of walking and step climbing to be done! St Peters basilica has 551! but the view was worth it. We really enjoyed Rome the only let down was the city tax when leaving, this is between 2 and 5 euro each person each night. This isn't the hotel that charges this but they do have to collect it. Such a pity they don't get any of it. Don't let this put you off but do factor it into your budget and do what we did ask the hotel how much they will charge so you can keep it aside.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highlight of our time in Rome and worth every cent paid for this VIP tour. Seth (tour guide) was very knowledgable and the opportunity to visit several rooms not normally open to the public was fantastic. The mask room and the Nicoli chapel were particularly great. The time in the Sistern Chapel without crowds was wonderful. We went back without a tour a couple of days later - no where near as good with huge crowds and limited views of the items we were interested in revisiting. This tour is HIGHLY recommended

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message