They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Fun tour , lovely walking around Rome in the evening , different atmosphere than during the day . Amusing stories

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is the best way to know Rome and the most important sites!. Tour was well operated and the route definitely lets you move around the city easily. Totally recomended to anyone visiting Rome. On high demand days the tour runs until 10pm, which was an unexpected PLUS.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We were in Rome on an exceptionally busy day a Saturday in the height of vacation season. We were on the 8:00 a.m. tour, which turned out to be a huge advantage, because we beat the lines! I highly recommend the early tour, for this reason. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable about everything she showed us, and she was able to answer all of our questions. This tour supplied headsets and a microphone for the tour guide, which meant we could hear everything easily. We saw everything we wanted, and we were able to stay in St. Peter's and wander around on our own afterwards. We also climbed the steps to the top on our own, and beat the lines because we were there so early in the day. An unforgettable, wonderful experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This is a SERIOUS walking tour -- we put on a lot of miles on a hot Roman summer day. But it was well worth it! The sights we saw are spectacular. Our guide was fabulous -- an archaeologist from Rome who was eager to tell us the inside stories about what we were seeing. An unforgettable experience! Bonus: we had headsets and a microphone for the tour guide, so we were able to hear everything she said.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The Omnia Vatican Card and Rome Card is definitely a MUST-HAVE when travelling to Rome for 3-5 days. Such a bargain and my husband and I were super glad we purchased it. As a young couple we wanted to do almost everything and go everywhere in Rome but also not spend too much, so this product was the perfect purchase for us and it was well worth it. We got to skip the ridiculously long queues and got access to lot of places with our cards as well as tour guides.... Trip was very fun and educational and Rome was amazing.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Worth every penny. I used the tour bus for all 3 days and was easy to get around. The transport for the metro was also useful as I used this every day. The skip the line is also worth it. Would recommend if planning a trip to Rome and the Vatican and do not wish to spend hours in the queues!

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Awesome way to start your day in Rome. Hop on this bus and enjoy the sights. It will help you deside where you really want to go

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This was a great way to end our trip to Rome. We intentionally booked this tour the day our cruise ship disembarked. The guide was fantastic and knowledgeable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was the best way to see Rome in 2 days. Adding the skip the line for the Colosuem and the Vatican Museum was the best thing. Easy to find where to exchange the skip the line vouchers and adding the Vatican Garden mini bus tour for 5.00 euros was the smartest decision.
I would recommend this to anyone who has a limited amount of time in Rome.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We were in Rome for three days, so bought the 72 hour tickets. Definitely worth it. After taking the whole loop the first day we used the bus several times just to drag our sorry selves back to our hotel, which was just two short blocks from you Termini stop. Yes, highly recommended.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

As posted to TripAdvisor today...

We booked the Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour with a tour company through Viator. We were especially lucky to have Sergio as our tour guide, and doubly lucky because my wife and I were the only ones taking the tour on that particular Saturday. Sergio was the best guide we had in Italy, out of five or so tours ranging from Pompeii to Venice to Rome. He was engaging, EXTREMELY knowledgeable, and patient and kind to my wife as she needed to stop occasionally. He brought a bag full of helpful visual aids in the form of maps and picture books, including some with overlays so we could see what the ruins looked like in ancient times. Sergio ended up spending almost an hour extra with us!

The Colosseum Underground tour was a don't miss experience. It was quite an experience to be able to go into the bowels of the stadium, and from there to the upper reaches... all places reserved for small group tours, and not the masses. A representative from the Colosseum had to accompany us, unlocking various gates to let us into these less-traveled places. We got to see and hear from Sergio about some very unique characteristics of the Colosseum, like the many trapdoors and pulleys used to bring up wild animals from the holding cells below the main floor.

We were a bit tired by the time we started the climb to the Palatine Hill on the Ancient Rome part of the tour, and pretty wiped out for the last downhill leg to the Roman Forum. Palatine Hill was nice in part because of the gentle breezes cooling us off. There were several vantage points providing interesting views, including the site of the former Circus Maximus although it's mostly just a large open area now. Sergio's interest and enthusiasm remained unflagging throughout the tour, and we came away with a new appreciation for ancient Rome.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This is a really good way to see the main sights of Rome, and great that you can get off to have a closer look at something and then hop back on. We saw the Trevi Fountain, the Mouth of Truth and the Spanish Steps by hopping on and off. One of my favourite days of our holiday. Excellent!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We used them for my family's 5 days Rome vacation. All our Vatican and Coliseum tour and also our hop on / hop off tickets were arranged through them. Had no issues or drama. It is a booking agency but I had the peace of mind of organizing my requirements 2 to 3 months ahead of time.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Beyond my expectations. Inspite of Rome city metro and bus strike that day managed to get a very early train to the rendezvous to join viator guide. A young well travelled Roman - multi-lingual who was delightful. Only 11 people in the group, and he was thoughtful to each one of us and gave the most amazing amount of information, and cleverly built up the info before we reached the chapel. Highly recommended..... 5 stars!

Doing what: Early Access: Sistine Chapel and Vatican Museums Ticket

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Definitely recommend this if you are heading to Rome for more than a day. Sure, you CAN walk Rome, but after a few days trekking 25,000 steps a day, this service is ideal to hop between attractions. We opted for the 48 hour pass and used it on a number of occasions as it stops at 7 or 8 key sights. You also see stuff you wouldn't see from street level, and there is a lot to see!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

We've done the hop on/hop off tours in many cities. This is definitely the way to go when you need/want to see a lot in a limited amount of time, or you have time but want to explore sights at your leisure. We did this for 4 days in Rome and only on one day were tensions a little high because it was very hot and there were stops where more people wanted to get on the bus than there were seats available.

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

My husband and I were in Italy this past February for our honeymoon. It was great that we went during the off season, because Rome still had a lot of tourists during this time. We spent 2 days in every city we visited, and we made sure to get a walking tour on our first days. This half-day walking tour of Ancient Rome was a great! We covered a lot of ground, and got to see the main attractions in Ancient Rome. This was also great because we got to skip the long line at the Colosseum - and you will want to skip that line...especially if you plan on going during the peak seasons. Also, our tour guide Nicola was very friendly and informative! Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

So many tourists in Rome from Easter that is tour was the only sane and timely way to get into the Sistine Chapel - which is always worth a visit our third time in there. Basilica was unexpectedly closed by the Pope on the day of this tour which didn't bother us as we went to Masses in the Basilica and did a self tours during the next few days after this tour. Guide was outstanding with the knowledge of the architecture, art work, and history of the Vatican buildings. Definitely worth the price of the tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This tour is a must do in Rome. It is definitely one of the highlights of our Europe trip. We have also done a similar tour in Paris. Our three son's absolutely love the Segway trips and our guide (Roberto) was fantastic. We did the full day trip, and covered so many of the highlighs. Sensational!

Doing what: Rome in One Day Segway Tour with Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I had a private tour which, while pricey, was worth every penny to me. The guide was extremely knowledgable about art, history, and the classical and religious subjects of the art. He showed me differences in the artists' styles and techniques, and I learned a great deal about Carrivagio whose astounding works are on display at the Borghese. This was a highlight of my four days in Rome.

Doing what: Private Tour: Borghese Gallery and Baroque Rome Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Our trip to Rome was tremendous , thanks to our AMAZING and knowledgeable tour guide ❤️
The skip the line really made our days longer to see more of Rome . Our memories would not be so colorful about brome had we not done your tour. I recommend you to everybody I know for a wonderful view of Rome.❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great way to see Rome! I was in Rome for business and had a free night. I work in the study abroad industry and have been to Rome on numerous occasions with various school/ tour groups. I wanted something different that would give me some insight about the Rome I already thought I knew.
Elena, our guide, was extremely knowledgable. I absolutely loved it and I now know a few things about Rome during the dark ages that I didn't before - fascinating.
If you want something different and perhaps want to do something before a typical Italian dinner (9p) on a Friday night, I definitely recommend this tour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I planned a trip to Rome for my fiancée's 40th birthday, as a total surprise. All I told her was that she would need to take certain days off from work, and to pack her passport. She didn't find out until we were at the departure gate where we were going. I had tours lined up for most of the days we were there, but, I needed something epic and memorable for her actual birthday. I'm so glad I booked this tour, and we had one of the best evenings of our lives together. Wine tasting, amazing food (I don't know if I've ever had better desserts, and I'm a dessert-junkie!), and great company and conversation with fellow travelers. Our guide, Valeria, made the evening perfect, and we will take more of her tours when we return (There are espresso and gelato tours, too), but we will take this tour again because it was so fun!!!

Doing what: Rome Luxury Wine and Dinner Experience in a Private Cellar by the Pantheon

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour allowed us to see lots of Rome on a limited time schedule. We sat at the top and were able to take great pictures, and afterwards, we were able to make personalized choices on what/where we wanted to hop off. I would recommend this tour to anyone in Rome for a few days like us!

Doing what: Rome Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

I booked the 'Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small Group Tour' with Liv Italy Tours (thru Viator) for our family - 2 adults, 2 teens and we all had such an amazing afternoon with Rachel as the tour guide. The small group ( max 6 people) was brilliant and enabled us and our kids to hear everything Rachel explained as well as being able to ask as many questions as we wanted. Rachel was incredibly intelligent, highly knowledgeable and extremely friendly and made our tour such a learning pleasure. We were all inspired by her enthusiasm and her natural engaging style. The tour itself was amazing and being able to go down to the underground level (not accessible to the public) as well as being able to climb all the way up to the very top level of the Colosseum (also restricted access) provided added dimension to the magnificence of the Colosseum and the tour. Our family were like sponges for the duration of the tour and afterwards, rather than feeling exhausted from a 3+ hour tour, we were all on a high from having such a brilliant informative afternoon. Thanks Rachel - we all highly recommend you as a guide and this small group tour which has been the best day of our trip so far.

Doing what: Colosseum Underground and Ancient Rome Small-Group Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message