They say all roads lead to Rome, and hopefully the road you are on will eventually wind its way around to the Eternal City. Calm and chaotic, metropolitan and provincial, from ancient catacombs to Roman ruins and Renaissance masterpieces, indulge ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 304 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Long day trip but do it if you have the time. We drove south away from Rome's rainy day to better weather in Naples. We had booked thinking we wouldn't be climbing Vesuvius. However we were lucky as excellent guide Elena phoned in to check, and it was open for the climb. Wonderful experience climbing the gravel paths up to the slightly smoking crater rim and looking down into a deep hole below. View of Naples muted in lifting mists but volcano experience trumped that. Good tour of Pompeii made interesting by guide Enrico. A well organised tour. For older guests it would be best if you have been doing some hilly walks beforehand as the uphill climb is constant for about 25 minutes but on a wide pathway.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Excellent, a real must if you go to Rome and worth every cent incl the money paid on the day for entry fee's.
St Peters Basilica had to be my highlight as I just walked around in awe and wonder with my jaw hitting the marble floor as I have never seen anything as beautiful made by man.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Was very very useful. After walking in Rome for the first few days and getting blisters on my feet the Roma Card really came in handy for using the metro. And the Omnia card was very great for skipping the line. Idk why people wait in line anyway.

Doing what: Rome Card and Omnia Vatican Card: Valid for 3 Days

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

The best way to experience the center of Rome! I went on this tour as part of a 4 day trip to Rome (it was my first time in the city) and this tour, together with the visit to the Vatican which I also booked with Viator, where the highlights of my trip.

Our guide was a 35 year-old charismatic Roman who spoke fluent English. Our group consisted of about 30 people and each of us had an audio unit with a headphone which transmitted the guide's voice perfectly, which meant each of us heard the guide perfectly in spite of the crowds in places like the Colosseum.

Our guide was thoughtful, attentive and very knowledgeable! During the 4 hour tour he gave us an endless amount of interesting information about the sights we passed which only a local would know (such as pointing out that certain apartment buildings are entirely occupied by the same family).

This tour was a fantastic way to skip the lines at the Colosseum + visit the main sights in the center of Rome, all with a fantastic guide. If time is of the essence for you, this is the best way to see the center of Rome. I suggest you do this tour on your first day so you have time to go back to the sights you have time to return to some of the sights you walk past on this tour if you so choose. I would definitely choose this tour over the hop-on hop-off bus.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Our tour was done through City Wonders and our guide Syrianna was fantastic. She was a local of Rome and knew her stuff! Very knowledgeble and friendly and was very helpful all day. We went to Mt Vesuvius first...tough climb but well worth it!! View was gorgeous. Lunch was pizza/salad and that was yummy! Then we went to pompeii and the guide there was funny and knowledgble as well. This was very fun and we learned a lot about Rome, Pompeii, and Mt Vesuvius. Recommend!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

What a fabulous tour and another tick off the bucket list. Roberto was the best tour guide I came across, he was so professional and engaging. If he was my history teacher at school I may have paid more attention, he explained everything in a way that had you on the edge of your seat wanting to know more, and considering its such a long tour, it never felt like information overload. mt Vesiusius is a decent climb but achievable with a basic fitness level and the view is definitely worth the effort. the pizza for lunch was really good but the service in the restaurant was very slow, would have preferred another 1/2hr at Pompeii. We split into two groups and our guide at Pompeii was also interesting and loved his sense of humour. On the day of our tour we had issues with the bus and hats off to our driver and Roberto who handled it so professionally ensuring it didn't impact on our tour in any way and arranging a replacement bus and we still got back to Rome on time. well done guys you two were incredible with the way you handled that issue!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Highly recommend this tour. I think it was the best thing I did while in Rome. If it's a sunny blue sky day you HAVE to do this. So impressed with everything!!

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The tour was the high point of our trip to Rome. The tour guides on the bus were extremely helpful and informative and the guide at Pompeii was excellent. I would have liked a bit more free time to wander at Pompeii and a shorter lunch but that is a very minor criticism of what was a very long but very enjoyable day.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Worked out really well. The guides and driver helped make the day. It was a 13 hour round trip but well worth it and not too much. We had 2 hours or so round Pompeii which was OK to see the main parts and more than get the feel of the place. You could spend a whole day there but considering the trip was from Rome and included Vesuvius it was a good agenda.

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

In both cases, the Half-Day Walking Tours well exceeded our expectations, and we would highly recommend them to anyone considering visiting Rome. First-class guides.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's Basilica Half-Day Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Highlight of my holiday in Rome. Fully recommended for those who love history, adventure, new experience and great lunch. It was 2 courses menu in one of local own family restaurant with wine and coffee. Atmosphere was priceless. Thanks to our tour leader Arthur

Doing what: Segway tour of Appian Way in Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our Cooking With Nona class was so much fun! After a long day of touring the Vatican we were able to relax with our wonderful hosts, Emma and Anatella. We were very "hands on" in preparing our meal, rolling our dough and making noodles for fettuccine, preparing sauce, meatballs and tiramisu!! Lots of laughter and enjoying meeting new friends. The class size was small (seven of us) which made it all the more intimate. Thank you for the highlight of our time in Rome. I do need to say that the instructions for finding the apartment was not complete on our confirmation. We found the address but we were missing the information on which apartment to go to. Thankfully, a couple helped us find the right place. Other than that we had a wonderful time with really delicious food. Thank you Anatella, you are delightful!!

Doing what: Experience Italy: Cooking Class and Dinner with Nonna

Gilad
Israel

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is a really good day trip from Rome. Our tour guide Christina was very nice and informative. It's a whole day with lunch, great value for price. Orvieto and Assisi are lovely italian surprises.

Doing what: Assisi and Orvieto Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Awesome tour from start to finish! We learned a great deal about the history, food/wine, people and geography of the area from our two professional tour guides Stefanie and Hector - Grazie! On site at Pompeii, Giorgio proudly echoed his Family roots as assistants to the archaeologists throughout the restorations. We really enjoyed the walk-through with him and this historical tour. All three guides have a wonderful sense of humour! Hector had us rolling in the bus aisles with his tips on crossing the streets in Rome, paying taxi fare/the drivers and ownership of our dinner table til we ask for the bill/how to ask for the bill if ignored. All could relate to what he was saying. Hilarious!

The pizza for lunch at Tiberious (included with tour) was frankly the best we ate while in Italy. It served us well for the Vesuvius climb! Grazie Antonnio for the amazing drive along some single lane hairpin curves up and down the mountain to the starting point of the climb. Phew! Spectacular view of the crater and the Gulf of Naples! Could even see the distant island of Capri.

It is a full day (7:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.) and we highly recommend this tour!

Ted and Monique
Ottawa, Canada

Doing what: Pompeii Day Trip from Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We did this tour the first day we arrived in Rome. It was a great way to get yourself oriented to the city and see and hear about so many of the historic sites. Our tour guide was great.

Doing what: Ancient Rome Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message