Want to see unique sights of Rome along with the major attractions in a fun and easy way? Try biking! You can get across the Eternal City faster than walking while avoiding car traffic and going to places vehicles aren’t allowed. Rome has become ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 130 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfection, the ride was easy by new electric bikes, our guide kept us clear of overly busy areas. He was well informed and happy to share his knowledge. Took us to all the highlights and panoramic views of the city. Lunch was in a more local restaurant on a side street and very good better than the touristy spots, gelato stop was perfect. Don't hesitate if you are thinking about booking this, great value for money and a perfect overview of the city. One of the best things we did in Rome.

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is a brilliant way of seeing Rome without any hassle! You don't need to be super fit, you only need to know how to ride a bike!!
Once we got to the meeting point we were kitted out with the bike, helmet and water quite quickly.The bikes are really good, strong ones with lots of gears that cope well with the terrain.
Our guide, Pia, was great--she spoke brilliant English, was knowledgeable about all aspects of Rome and took us through some quaint parts of Rome, which we otherwise wouldn't have seen. There were plenty of stops and lots of time to take photos, ask questions etc. It was exceptionally hot on that day so it was quite nice to go through some of the older, cooler parts of the city on the way to the 'gelato' waiting for us at the end!
When we returned the bikes, we were given a map of the area/route where we had cycled, and given some suggestions of where the best sights would be for us in the area of our hotels, interests etc.
Finally they took a picture of our group when we left in the morning, and it will be emailed to us so that we have a personal souvenir--which I think is a nice touch!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Already submiited a long review for this but Viator seem to have lost it!!! Anyway here is the shorter version. Great tour led by charming lady Irene. We loved the electric bikes and this tour took us on a very interesting trip around Rome away from the normal ones you can easily see on any tour. Fantastic tour that I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Electric bike tour - The Great Beauty

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thanks to Ugo, our guide at Top Bike, the bike tour was fun and informative. Ugo kept us in shaded areas as much as possible on an incredibly hot July day. Was able to cover much ground while visiting most of the top attractions in Central Rome, visiting the Pantheon was a highlight. Panoramic views of the Colloseum and Roma Forum made excellent pictures.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great way to see Rome. Traveled mostly on narrow side streets, away from traffic. Saw many landmarks and got some exercise at the same time. Excellent bikes and helmits. They provide a bottle of water, which was needed as it was almost 90 F at the 5 pm start time. Tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. You should be in relatively good shape and know how to ride a bike. Its not strenuous, but there are a few minor hills.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The staff were very friendly. The bikes were well maintained and good to ride. It was a great ride through the sights of Rome with interesting history and stories given. The ride was so much fun that I barely realized I was getting some exercise too.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome!!! It was the highlight of our trip for many of us. Our guide, Jesse was amazing, and we did put him through a lot. It was wonderful to be out in the countryside riding and seeing how the locals spend their Sunday afternoon. We saw sites most tourist don't get to see. Jesse was very informative telling us about the history of the Appian Way along with the other sites we saw. All the regular stops, along with the unexpected ones gave us a chance to take a breath and soak in the surroundings around us. This is a great way to see many interesting sites, but be warned , this is a long and sometimes difficult ride. Prepare yourself, not for novice riders!! If you are, use the e-bikes. Thank you Jesse for taking such good care of us. I know we gave you a few first experiences. We had such a great time and we all talk highly of our bike ride in Rome. I hope to do it again some day!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thought I already submitted this review but here it is again:
Daniele and Clemens were both fabulous guides. Both extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. I think we visited every major site in Rome and got to know interesting facts about each from these 2 young men. They managed to safely lead us through the throngs of people on our really fun electric bikes. Lunch was really good too. Lots of very Italian things to sample before the pasta course. Gelato stop was fun too. I'd definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

this was awesome but not for the novice bike rider the computer bike was outstanding!!! we saw beautiful sites and while I was afraid of the traffic, allessandra was amazing at keeping it all very safe. I loved it. she was so attentive-I fell of my own accord off the bike and she was promptly there with a first aid kit/washing the area and putting bandaid on.. so kind. the catacombs were gorgeous and the appertif of cheese bread and drink was much needed and loved by all. I would do this again in a minute-I must say top notch equipment from the bike to helmet to the computer-wow. definitely recommend this for a nice change of pace

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great! Our guide was Frederico and he was a very knowledgeable. laid-back, nice guy. The bikes were in good shape and it provided us with a really unique view of the beautiful city. We also made an unscheduled pizza stop! Don't be afraid to try seeing Rome by bike-you will love it!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, although it was much, much easier than i anticipated. Our tour guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable and very conscientious about ensuring that everyone on the tour was safe and accounted for as we rode through the traffic in Rome. As well, the bikes were in great condition which we both appreciated.

I understand you used to offer a longer, more ambitious ride up to a lake in the hill. Sounds like it would be a great ride! Sorry it's not available, but i will check next time we are in Rome in case you decide to offer it again.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fabulous experience. A small group (just two riders plus the guide), we got a great look at the city. The spots we stopped (for coffee and later pizza) were top notch, and ones that I returned to on my own. This tour made my trip!
I ride a road bike at home, so this was not a stretch. If you haven't ridden in 15 years, this is a pretty technical undertaking. It's not the up- and down-hill that challenge -- although there are hills -- it's the crowds. (I chose a touring bike with an electronic battery "assist", so going uphill was easy.)
Unlike a walking tour, where you are listening to a guide (usually through a headset) while you walk, on this biking tour you ride for awhile, then stop and listen to explanation.
This tour made my trip!

Doing what: Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

BEST TOUR EVER!! What a way to see the little nooks and crannies of the city and many of the large sites too, in the City of Roma. We had the best tour guide ever, Emanuele! We could not believe how much fun we had. We felt safe the whole time on the bikes. Lunch was a special treat....so was the gelato stop. We were given a map after our tour to revisit some of the special places we had passed during the tour. Highly recommended...the bikes were also very easy to ride...anybody can do it!! Thank you.

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great way to experience Rome. Aside from wonderful panoramic views of Rome, we took small alley ways into the various sections. We saw sights in Trastevere, toured the Pantheon, and went to the Vatican City. Caution: Some were on electric bikes that lurched forward when the rider tried to slow.

Doing what: Panoramic Bike Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic! We absolutely loved this as a way to see Rome. We are now recommending to friends that you start with a bike tour and then hire bikes to see Rome. Top Bike can supply maps of where it is safe to ride and it is a fantastic way to get around. Our guide was really knowledgeable and clearly knew the city, he tailored the ride to suit our ability which gave us a great positive experience.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very easy to ride. Great, experienced, informative guide. With only a one day stopover in Rome it gave us a feel for the city..we went down little alleyways into small squares- places we'd never have found on our own. The ebikes were magic- we ride regularly but it made the day even more enjoyable- some idea of biking is necessary but it was so easy to do! We had a fabulous day!

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I'm sorry I don't remember our guide's name but he was very nice and informative. It was so enjoyable to be out in the country and away from the noise and crowds of the city. It's amazing how quickly we were out of the city. (We did this excursion early on a Sunday morning so there was very little traffic leaving the city in the morning. Nice!) I enjoyed the catacomb tour and thought the Appian Way was beautiful. It was cool to stop under the intact portion of the aqueduct. The cheese and wine break was quite welcome. We'd worked up an appetite by then. One comment would be to warn folks that the ride was not for beginners. I don't ride mountain trails normally and there was some short single track spots where it was tricky for a non-mountain biker like myself. All in all, it was a great tour.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a fantastic way to explore Rome!! My husband and I enjoyed biking through the back alleys and streets of Rome. Don't have to be a avid biker to enjoy this tour. We saw all the highlights of Rome and more. Would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a street level view of all Rome has to offer.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was a great way to get around, see and learn about all of the major sites in Rome. Our tour guide Pia was excellent, friendly and very informative. The bikes are very good, multi speed and easy to ride.
Regards, Colin and Judy.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour will linger as the sweetest memory of my stay in Rome! Francesco was COOL and quite knowledgable, he dissected lots of archaeological sites along the way that would have been missed if I had rented the bike on my own. A teammate had a flat tire. Francesco had it fixed in no time. The 6 hour ride was a bliss, never felt rushed and throughly enjoyed the ride. Bikes are fabulous. The Appian way extends beyond 2300 years of history, echoes and glory. Don't miss it!


Don't think twice. Just go for it :)

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Rome is a city that has a night vibe like no other. With so much history and culture, there are so many different way and viewpoints you can see the Eternal City. Rome Night Bike Tour just happens to add that extra dimension to your trip that you never expected.

First, it's a whole loads of fun. For us, it started pouring cats and dogs at the the start of the tour. This made it so much for fun for us.

Second, the tour guide (Matteo) was an expert cyclist but also an expert on history of Rome. He knew his city like the back of his hand. In spite of taking the City tours the previous two days (Colosseum, Forum and Vatican), we got to learn many different stories on the bike tour that we would have definitely missed during our trip to Rome (in fact our friends who had previously visited didn't know about some of the things we learnt on the tour. So always gives you some bragging rights :p)

Third, the route taken by the tour is really interesting. You get to see city of Rome from various vantage points and also go to various landmarks that you would not find on any other tour/itinerary (Jewish Ghettos/Key Hole etc.)

Fourth and last (but not the least), bike tour has excellent equipment that make you feel very safe and a bit of an expert! :)

All in all, I totally recommend this tour!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent Tour. Doesn't matter if you are not an avid fit bike rider, as the pace is easy / relaxed, the bikes fantastic, with good suspension and gears. Our guide gave just right amount of info at various stop offs, took us to the main iconic sites, and also down many quant out of the way streets. Highly suggest you do this tour. Great way to get to know Rome

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Thank you Pia for a brilliant introduction to Rome. It was our first morning in Rome and we got an all round overview of the sights of the capital and where they were situated and we could then visit them easily later in our visit.Great bike and accessories plus a bottle of water!We also recieved an excellant commentry on the history of the places of interest.Will definately do it again.The Lacey's from North Wales.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A wonderful way to see a lot of Rome in a few hours. It gives you a great overview of what there is to see and do. Our guide was excellent. We had a few stops for coffee gelato and pizza en route! Easy riding with good bikes. Highly recommend it.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent way to see Rome! The tour was well organised, Aleksandra, the tour guide, taking us around knew lots of interesting things about the history and culture. We had great time and we went back two days later to rent bikes and ride around Rome using the bike map that the Bike Shop provided. Excellent 4 hours spent :)

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message