Want to see unique sights of Rome along with the major attractions in a fun and easy way? Try biking! You can get across the Eternal City faster than walking while avoiding car traffic and going to places vehicles aren’t allowed. Rome has become ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 144 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Michele S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Best tour in Rome. Electric bikes are so easy to ride and exploring the countryside was beautiful! Frederico was our guide and he was very informative. Highly recommend.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Mark J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Being this was our 2nd trip to Italy and Rome, we wanted to do something other than visit churches and ruins. This was a perfect day to spend out of the hustle and bustle of the city. The Appian Way was a nice surprise, right in the heart of Rome. Our guide, Mateo, was friendly and knowledgable, spoke excellent English. We had a smaller group of 7 riders but he made sure everyone was doing well throughout the trip. The stop at the farm to have fresh Pecorino and wine was wonderful! The farm sits right in a public park. The tour of the catacombs was interesting, something I wouldn't have thought to go see and the aquaducts were incredible. It was our first time on eBikes and they were fun! If you like being outdoors and doing something active other than walking then this tour is for you. HIGHLY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Jan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great way to quickly experience Rome! Good guide and great bikes. I would recommend this as one of the first things to do if you are planning to stay a few day. The tour gave us a good overview of Rome and of the things to visit.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Magdalena K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great! Valeria was the perfect guide. She explained us everything and answered our questions at any time. Also the bikes were perfect and easy to ride. Dont miss this special experience. If you book the tour on sunday, there is less traffic.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Ken

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this electric bike tour. Irena was an excellent tour guide. We saw so many things we would never have seen if we hadn't taken this tour, including some great views overlooking Rome! We even got to see the famous keyhole view which you absolutely must see! Highly recommended tour for young and old alike! We felt very safe on this tour.

Doing what: Electric Bike Small-Group Tour - The Great Beauty

Robyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

this would have to be one of the best tours we have done. Absolutely enjoyed ourselves, saw heaps and the bikes were a breeze to ride. Lunch was superb and our guide was fabulous .

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

Kim K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This bike ride was fantastic. The electric bikes made the trip 100 pleasant for everyone. A good workout but riding with ease. Our guide was so nice and knowledgeable and we saw much of Rome that we would never have seen.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Sherin G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We enjoyed this tour tremendously. It is not for any weak bike riders though! There are several hills and riding on the cobblestone through the streets with traffic can be a little intimidating. However, our tour guide paced the tour for us and we enjoyed every minute!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Heidi R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful. We lucked out and were the only people to book the tour in the evening so it ended up being a private tour. We had been in Rome for a couple of days when we did this and I was a little concerned that we'd be spending too much time seeing things we'd already seen. That wasn't the case at all, and we ended up seeing lots of things that we would have never seen. It was also very fun to ride a bike through the city. The company was great to work with too.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Gary K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

If you only have a few days in Rome this is great way to see all the mains sights. Ugo was a great guide, very knowledgable and patient. Good quality bikes, easy pace with only a couple of hills and most of it on back streets away from traffic. Plenty of stops for photos and viewing, free gelati thrown in as well. Well worth it.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

chelley.damato

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I traveled to Italy with my husband and 3 kids and this was the first time the kids had been to Europe. We were trying to find things to do that would appeal to kids and we hit it on the nose with this one! But not only did the kids enjoy it, my husband and I did too! Our guide, Ugo, was great. Very knowledgeable about Rome and told us fantastic facts about the city. The tour was 4 hours long, which seems like a very long time to be on a bike, but it was broken up by stops at all the sites around Rome, an explanation and then, while Ugo watched the bikes, he would send us off to explore for 15-20 minutes. He took us to parts of Rome that we would never have gone to had it not been for the tour. My favorite was the view at the top of Palestine Hill that looked down on the ruins. You can pratically see what it looked like back then! All 5 of us had a great time and enjoyed the 2 scoop gelato that came with the tour! Thanks Ugo!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Alan H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Perfection, the ride was easy by new electric bikes, our guide kept us clear of overly busy areas. He was well informed and happy to share his knowledge. Took us to all the highlights and panoramic views of the city. Lunch was in a more local restaurant on a side street and very good better than the touristy spots, gelato stop was perfect. Don't hesitate if you are thinking about booking this, great value for money and a perfect overview of the city. One of the best things we did in Rome.

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

lmhdj

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour is a brilliant way of seeing Rome without any hassle! You don't need to be super fit, you only need to know how to ride a bike!!
Once we got to the meeting point we were kitted out with the bike, helmet and water quite quickly.The bikes are really good, strong ones with lots of gears that cope well with the terrain.
Our guide, Pia, was great--she spoke brilliant English, was knowledgeable about all aspects of Rome and took us through some quaint parts of Rome, which we otherwise wouldn't have seen. There were plenty of stops and lots of time to take photos, ask questions etc. It was exceptionally hot on that day so it was quite nice to go through some of the older, cooler parts of the city on the way to the 'gelato' waiting for us at the end!
When we returned the bikes, we were given a map of the area/route where we had cycled, and given some suggestions of where the best sights would be for us in the area of our hotels, interests etc.
Finally they took a picture of our group when we left in the morning, and it will be emailed to us so that we have a personal souvenir--which I think is a nice touch!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

David G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Already submiited a long review for this but Viator seem to have lost it!!! Anyway here is the shorter version. Great tour led by charming lady Irene. We loved the electric bikes and this tour took us on a very interesting trip around Rome away from the normal ones you can easily see on any tour. Fantastic tour that I would definitely recommend.

Doing what: Electric Bike Small-Group Tour - The Great Beauty

Mike

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Thanks to Ugo, our guide at Top Bike, the bike tour was fun and informative. Ugo kept us in shaded areas as much as possible on an incredibly hot July day. Was able to cover much ground while visiting most of the top attractions in Central Rome, visiting the Pantheon was a highlight. Panoramic views of the Colloseum and Roma Forum made excellent pictures.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

karnofsky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

A great way to see Rome. Traveled mostly on narrow side streets, away from traffic. Saw many landmarks and got some exercise at the same time. Excellent bikes and helmits. They provide a bottle of water, which was needed as it was almost 90 F at the 5 pm start time. Tour guide was very friendly and knowledgeable. You should be in relatively good shape and know how to ride a bike. Its not strenuous, but there are a few minor hills.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Phillip T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The staff were very friendly. The bikes were well maintained and good to ride. It was a great ride through the sights of Rome with interesting history and stories given. The ride was so much fun that I barely realized I was getting some exercise too.

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

simkanis

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was awesome!!! It was the highlight of our trip for many of us. Our guide, Jesse was amazing, and we did put him through a lot. It was wonderful to be out in the countryside riding and seeing how the locals spend their Sunday afternoon. We saw sites most tourist don't get to see. Jesse was very informative telling us about the history of the Appian Way along with the other sites we saw. All the regular stops, along with the unexpected ones gave us a chance to take a breath and soak in the surroundings around us. This is a great way to see many interesting sites, but be warned , this is a long and sometimes difficult ride. Prepare yourself, not for novice riders!! If you are, use the e-bikes. Thank you Jesse for taking such good care of us. I know we gave you a few first experiences. We had such a great time and we all talk highly of our bike ride in Rome. I hope to do it again some day!!

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Jennifer H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I thought I already submitted this review but here it is again:
Daniele and Clemens were both fabulous guides. Both extremely knowledgeable and entertaining. I think we visited every major site in Rome and got to know interesting facts about each from these 2 young men. They managed to safely lead us through the throngs of people on our really fun electric bikes. Lunch was really good too. Lots of very Italian things to sample before the pasta course. Gelato stop was fun too. I'd definitely recommend this.

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

Christian B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

this was awesome but not for the novice bike rider the computer bike was outstanding!!! we saw beautiful sites and while I was afraid of the traffic, allessandra was amazing at keeping it all very safe. I loved it. she was so attentive-I fell of my own accord off the bike and she was promptly there with a first aid kit/washing the area and putting bandaid on.. so kind. the catacombs were gorgeous and the appertif of cheese bread and drink was much needed and loved by all. I would do this again in a minute-I must say top notch equipment from the bike to helmet to the computer-wow. definitely recommend this for a nice change of pace

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

yandel5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was great! Our guide was Frederico and he was a very knowledgeable. laid-back, nice guy. The bikes were in good shape and it provided us with a really unique view of the beautiful city. We also made an unscheduled pizza stop! Don't be afraid to try seeing Rome by bike-you will love it!

Doing what: Rome City Bike Tour

Beverly T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour, although it was much, much easier than i anticipated. Our tour guide was fantastic, very knowledgeable and very conscientious about ensuring that everyone on the tour was safe and accounted for as we rode through the traffic in Rome. As well, the bikes were in great condition which we both appreciated.

I understand you used to offer a longer, more ambitious ride up to a lake in the hill. Sounds like it would be a great ride! Sorry it's not available, but i will check next time we are in Rome in case you decide to offer it again.

Doing what: Ancient Appian Way, Catacombs and Roman Countryside Electric Bike Tour

Leann Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely fabulous experience. A small group (just two riders plus the guide), we got a great look at the city. The spots we stopped (for coffee and later pizza) were top notch, and ones that I returned to on my own. This tour made my trip!
I ride a road bike at home, so this was not a stretch. If you haven't ridden in 15 years, this is a pretty technical undertaking. It's not the up- and down-hill that challenge -- although there are hills -- it's the crowds. (I chose a touring bike with an electronic battery "assist", so going uphill was easy.)
Unlike a walking tour, where you are listening to a guide (usually through a headset) while you walk, on this biking tour you ride for awhile, then stop and listen to explanation.
This tour made my trip!

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Laurie O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

BEST TOUR EVER!! What a way to see the little nooks and crannies of the city and many of the large sites too, in the City of Roma. We had the best tour guide ever, Emanuele! We could not believe how much fun we had. We felt safe the whole time on the bikes. Lunch was a special treat....so was the gelato stop. We were given a map after our tour to revisit some of the special places we had passed during the tour. Highly recommended...the bikes were also very easy to ride...anybody can do it!! Thank you.

Doing what: Rome in a Day Tour by Electric Bike

Caroline T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Great way to experience Rome. Aside from wonderful panoramic views of Rome, we took small alley ways into the various sections. We saw sights in Trastevere, toured the Pantheon, and went to the Vatican City. Caution: Some were on electric bikes that lurched forward when the rider tried to slow.

Doing what: Panoramic Electric-Assist Bike Tour of Rome

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message