Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 452 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Vatican is a must when visiting Rome, and I really can't recommend this 'skip the line' tour enough. We did a few of this company's tours, and they were by far the best organised tour company we dealt with, this tour being no exception. Our guide, Elizabetha, was excellent, friendly, funny and extremely knowledgeable and informative. The tour itself was kind of an 'edited highlights' tour, as you could literally spend days in the museums and barely scratch the surface! Elizabetha was very thoughtful for our comfort - she isn't allowed to speak in the Sistine Chapel, so usually explains the paintings in the courtyard, but gave us the option to stay inside as it was so hot. We braved the sun, however, and she used some illustrative boards to explain to us what we would be seeing once we got inside the Chapel.
While the Sistine Chapel was, unsurprisingly, amazing, as was the rest of the tour, the highlight for me was St. Peter's Basilica, which is where the tour ends. We were allowed to spend as much time there as we wanted (something you can't do in the Sistine Chapel due to the sheer numbers of people wishing to visit), and it literally took my breath away. I don't think I've ever been so moved by a place in my life!
We were speaking to some tourists earlier in the day who said they hadn't bothered with the Sistine Chapel as the line was so long. We didn't have to wait at all to get in, which is the beauty of the skip the line tour. I would have been gutted if I hadn't been able to see it, so I really recommend this tour if only for that reason!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was awesome! We learned a lot from her. The line was very long when we entered the Vatican Museum and we just walked right in. We didn't have to waste any time waiting in the lines. :) We loved that she took time to explain (using pictures) the Sistine Chapel before we went in so we knew what we were looking at. Booking this tour was the best decision we made!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Vatican Museums are so crowded!! The tour was nice and the group was a good size, but it was definitely not the easiest to make sure everyone stayed together because of all the other people there (obviously not the fault of the tour company!). The meeting location was a little challenging to find since we had to go down the stairs and then back up them to find the area where they told us who our guide was. We did this tour with my elderly grandmother who had some trouble getting around as quickly as the tour probably would have wanted to go (all the stairs were a beast - probably not the best idea for people that need accommodations), but the tour guide was very nice in adjusting the pace very slightly so we got the most of the tour. Thank you!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We had wonderful tour in the Vatican. Our guide David was superb and a fountain of knowledge. Even though we are not a religious people we enjoyed the tour very much. Best regsrds from Iceland.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Meeting the tour guide and group was easy and the tour guide was so pleasant and knowledgeable. She was full of information before we went into the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel. Having the information up front let us anticipate and appreciate the history that much more. She was the best guide we had while in Rome and she even helped us get to our hotel after the tour. She refused to leave us until we made arrangements to get to the hotel. It was our first day in Rome after a plane trip without sleep and we were very tired. She deserves a raise, but she wouldn't take any money from us!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Excellent tour. Probably the best way to see Vatican without wasting time in queues for tickets etc. Angela, the guide was like an angel. She was very informative and went well beyond her duty hours to show us everything, and explain in detail. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was definitely the best way to see all of these places. Skipping the line works perfectly and the way you enter into St. Peter's provides you a view of certain Vatican rooms that are not available to the general public. We suggest going to the top of cupola as soon as the tour is over so you don't miss the opportunity. Then come back and spend more time viewing the church from ground level. It is awesome to behold.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our tour guide was sensational! We were thrilled to skip into the Vatican in front of the crowds and we got an amazing background of information which made it extremely beneficial for us travelling with children. It was easy to find our guide and we absolutely enjoyed this, one of the best of our trip.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Excellent, excellent. We think Tiffiany is the best tour guide in the world!!!! She is professional, knowledgable, friendly and fun. Traveling 2 adults and 2 pre-teens. We just got back from Europe and the 12 year old was telling a friend about the cleaning of the Sistine chapel, its beautiful colors and the beauty of the Vatican and St. Peters. She ranked the tour as one of her favorite things in a tour of 4 cities...Rome, Florence, Paris and London. That is not bad! Review from "Chicago" and ND

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I have been to the Vatican Museum three times. First time, I stood in a huge line - Don't. The second time I bought tickets on line in advance and made a reservation - Better. The third time I took the early morning small group tour through Viator - Best! I highly recommend this tour. The length of time is right, the start time is as good as it gets, and the guide was knowledgeable and personable.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was worth every penny! Not only did we have a half-hour alone in the Sistine Chapel (just the 12 of us, our guide and the Vatican Museums guard), which was beyond magical, but we were also alone in the Raphael Rooms and had access to many other rooms not open to the general public, the best of which was the Niccoline Chapel. I spoke with someone the following day, who took the Skip the Line Vatican Museums tour, who shared the Sistine Chapel with almost 800 people. It was loud, even though people were whispering. If you can possibly afford it, take this Private Viewing Tour. You will not regret it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This tour was enjoyable and the tour guide provided museum information via a transistor radio with an ear piece to its guest. They were thousands of people but this radio transmission made it more pleasant. The Vatican Museum is one of the best in the world! The tour was on time and skip the line was streamlined.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was our first - but not our only - Viator tour in Italy. It was the best of all we took through the entire vacation - and not simply because of the locations.

Our guide, Nina (according to her, AKA Momma Bear), not only was fabulously informative about everything on the tour, she delivered with an enthusiasm that was contagious. She was very careful to move the group along to stay on schedule WHILE ensuring all our questions were answered and we were able to take time for photos, et cetera.

Additionally, Nina pointed out the things we could take advantage of after the completion of the tour (gift shop, climb the dome).

The Vatican Museum is awe-inspiring. Even with reconstruction/revitalizing efforts going on, it was incredible.

Tapestries, paintings hanging on the wall, paintings on the wall, paintings on the ceilings, and decorative motifs on the floors were beautiful.

The Sistine Chapel guards do try to move you along a bit quickly. Do your homework before visiting and read up on the areas of the ceiling you want to pay most attention to.

The Basillica...incredible. After the tour was over, we went back inside to get another gander. Then it was off to climb the 567 steps to the top of the dome!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was the best of the three tours we booked with you, and one of the best events in our whole 2 week vacation! The guide was very passionate about her country, city, religion, and the history of how they all came together in the Vatican. She clearly knew her stuff, and related it well in English. Well worth the money. With so much to see in only 3 hr, I really appreciated her pointing out only the number of items she did, which gave time to discuss them in some depth. This is much better than glossing over a whole bunch of stuff. It was especially good to get the up-front description of all the paintings inside the Sistine chapel before we went in so we knew exactly what we were looking at. After 3 Viator tours, I am convinced that you definitely know how to hire quality guides! Thanks!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Simply the only way to see the Vatican, and this was my 3rd and best visit!!!!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message