Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 465 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

As we only had limited time in Rome, we had to make the best use of it. This tour is the way to go for a first time at the Vatican. We had a private tour guide for just my wife and I. She was very good and well educated in the area. We wanted to see the Vatican museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Perer's. She had to be selective given the short time but did a great job covering all three. There were of course a lot of other tourists in all the areas but she got us in and out with a lot to see in the time allowed. I highly recommend this tour and felt it was well worth the added price

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Booking with Viator was the best thing we did and would advise anyone wanting to visit the Vatican to do the same because the queues were so long and it was a very hot day so was pleased we didn't have to join thoses queues. The tour its self was amazing as was our guide Francesca who was very passionate,knowledable and friendly which made the tour even more enjoyable, what we saw and learnt was mind blowing so much to see and take in,thank you for a great tour. Anyone who is thinking of visiting the Vatican i would truely recommend Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This had to have been one of the greatest highlights of our trip to Italy. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and a delight to listen to. We would highly recommend this tour (and guide!) to anyone thinking about the best way to see the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The guide, Valentina, was extremely knowledgable and she made the tour very interesting and easy to follow. She was really tested by members of the group but was able to fully answer all questions they had. Tour was very well organised and allows you to see the best of what the Vatican has to offer!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This is probably the best tour I have taken -- and I've taken quite a few. Our guide was calm, clear, incredibly knowledgable, and made it seem effortless as we glided through the Vatican. She used every moment of time, we never felt rushed, and yet, I noticed we finished precisely on schedule. She had an amazing ability to bring people and art to life, while giving clear directions as we wove in and out of crowded areas. I highly recommend this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

What an amazing tour, both the morning and afternoon. Excellent guides and wonderful things to see! Definitely the best way to see the Vatican and skip the crazy long lines.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We booked this tour as a family of 4 (2 teenagers 16 and 13). I was hesitant given the cost of this tour. But it is as all the other reviews before me have said, this is well worth the money. We were in Rome August 2014 and the lines and people at all of the various sites are massive and at times suffocating. This tour allowed us to see the Vatican Museum as a very small group (12) and we were for I would say 80 % of the tour in places just to ourselves. Our group had to be escorted the entire time by a Vatican staff because only he had the keys to unlock the various doors to the rooms no one else was allowed in. We saw rooms which were not open to the rest of the public and had the time to admire the incredible art completely to ourselves without having the jostle 200 people in front of us. But the best part is having the Sistine Chapel completely to ourselves. I kid you not. Our entire tour group of 12 plus our guide and the Vatican escort. That was it in the Sistine Chapel for about 40 minutes. We were able to hear our guide tell us the stories of the various panels and then just sit or walk around the entire chapel on our own. This is well worth every cent you pay. Our guide (a gentleman who I think his name is Tiber) was engaging, knowledgable and clearly loved the history of the Vatican and the Sistine Chapel). Thank you Tiber and Viator for organizing this tour. It truly was a highlight for us and we will never forget it.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

A really informative tour that covers so much in just one day! It makes you appreciate just how much there is to see in the Vatican City and this tour aims to give you the best range of experiences along the way. Angela was a fantastic guide for the AM and the two Becky's were a great team in the PM

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

iainmac
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is the best way to see Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's as rather than just wander around you are told the history that is contained here. Meeting place for tour was easy to find being just across the road from the Museum's entrance. Our guide Francesca was brilliant and well worth paying the extra money for this tour

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Can not see the Vatican any other way. St. Peter's was amazing. The amount of people in this area was scary, but the best money spent to skip the lines and get the information from the tour guide was super interesting.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was fantastic! Paula was the best tour guide I could have imagined. She was personable and friendly and made the tour that much better with her own personal anecdotes that she included. She also had a vast knowledge of the history of Rome and the Vatican and imparted that to all of us. I recommend the tour and Paula especially.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This is the best museum in the world with untold treasures in terms of paintings, frescoes and sculptures. The guide was great, City Wonders was well organized and we had a very detailed tour of the Vatican and a short but good tour of St. Peter's Basilica which is amazing. We were a family of four with two teenage boys, keenly interested in history and art and they were thrilled by this opportunity. Very highly recommended. The only issue is that it is quite warm in summer and there is no airconditioning mostly, apart from that this tour is well worth the spend.

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great tour - It was worth it just to be able to skip the line! Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and shared great detail which made it much more enjoyable. Best way to see the Vatican!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Sharron H
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

The Vatican is a must when visiting Rome, and I really can't recommend this 'skip the line' tour enough. We did a few of this company's tours, and they were by far the best organised tour company we dealt with, this tour being no exception. Our guide, Elizabetha, was excellent, friendly, funny and extremely knowledgeable and informative. The tour itself was kind of an 'edited highlights' tour, as you could literally spend days in the museums and barely scratch the surface! Elizabetha was very thoughtful for our comfort - she isn't allowed to speak in the Sistine Chapel, so usually explains the paintings in the courtyard, but gave us the option to stay inside as it was so hot. We braved the sun, however, and she used some illustrative boards to explain to us what we would be seeing once we got inside the Chapel.
While the Sistine Chapel was, unsurprisingly, amazing, as was the rest of the tour, the highlight for me was St. Peter's Basilica, which is where the tour ends. We were allowed to spend as much time there as we wanted (something you can't do in the Sistine Chapel due to the sheer numbers of people wishing to visit), and it literally took my breath away. I don't think I've ever been so moved by a place in my life!
We were speaking to some tourists earlier in the day who said they hadn't bothered with the Sistine Chapel as the line was so long. We didn't have to wait at all to get in, which is the beauty of the skip the line tour. I would have been gutted if I hadn't been able to see it, so I really recommend this tour if only for that reason!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Tour guide was awesome! We learned a lot from her. The line was very long when we entered the Vatican Museum and we just walked right in. We didn't have to waste any time waiting in the lines. :) We loved that she took time to explain (using pictures) the Sistine Chapel before we went in so we knew what we were looking at. Booking this tour was the best decision we made!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message