• USD ($)
  • English
Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 222 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Our guide was a guy called SEV from New York and he was fantastic. His knowledge of the Vatican Museums, Sistine Chapel and St Peter's and ability to share it was amazing. He brought these wonders to life. We would recommend this tour with Sev to anyone visiting Rome. There is no way you could read or access the level of detail and interesting info without a guide as good as Sev. Money well spent, a highlight in this wonderful city. Thanks

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The morning tour with Tiffany in the Vatican museum, st Peters basilica and the Sistine chapel was amazing. Tiffany our guide, was the best guide anyone could have asked for. She was both kind and friendly as well as very knowledgeable about the art, the history and the religious implications of each room we entered. She was even kind enough to provide advice about other tours and to take a photo of me in the Vatican. The tour group was small which allowed out guide to get to know each of us at least a little and she knew all 13 people (15 had signed up but two disappeared early in the tour) by home town

In the afternoon, I was equally impressed with the tour around the other three main basilicas of Rome. This tour involved less walking and instead involved a narrated tour from the bus discussing the features of Rome as we passed them and the history of each church as we a approached it. Lindy, our guide was also very entertaining and knowledgeable and showed us each of the three beautiful churches and descended them in depth.

At the end of this tour, I felt both privileged and humbled to have been part of such a wonderful experience. Thank you to both tour guides and to the tour organisers for a wonderful day.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was our first trip to Rome. A colleague with a passion for the city recommended this specific Viator tour to us so we booked in advance of our city break - amazingly easy to do online with clear booking forms, easy payment and prompt responses. When we arrived at the start rendezvous we were each issued with radio receiver and a tiny earphone so we could hear our guide even though we might be briefly separated by the crowds. And crowds there were! There must have been several hundred people queueing to enter the Vatican but, just as advertised, we skipped the line without any delay. Our guide, Igor, a native Roman in spite of his Russian-sounding name, was friendly, enthusiastic, polite and informative. He swept us along, through four hours of the the most beautiful and fascinating scenery, architecture, painting and sculpture, providing brilliant explanations, charming stories and answering our many questions. For a small city the Vatican is a big place and as we must have walked many kilometres our comfortable footwear was essential! Even if you don't like doing guided tours, this one is a 'must'!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We found this particular tour thoroughly enjoyable and extremely interesting. Our tour guide who was a young American girl, can't remember her name, was amazing and so knowledgeable about all to do with the Vatican city and the history. This is the second time I have done this tour whilst visiting Rome and the second time around certainly didn't disappoint.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

I have been to Rome nine times over the past 7 years. I've been to the Sistine Chapel each time and never in my life have I enjoyed the jaw-dropped experience of standing in the Sistine Chapel when it was COMPLETELY empty. Our tour guide David knew everything about every piece in the Vatican Museum, took amazing care of our small group (there were just 10 of us) and helped make this the best trip ever. I would recommend this company and David as a guide to anyone who wants an incredible, unique experience in Rome!

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our tour guide Agostina is a really great guide. Her experience working for the vatican added to the experience. The rooms not open to the public are must see if you are in Rome. There were 10 people in our group and we had the sistine chapel to ourselves for 30 minutes. One of the best tours we did on our European vacation.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Our best tour while in Rome. The group was just the right size and our tour guide was great! We felt terrible for the people in large groups that were scrambling from room to room trying to keep up with their guide. If you want to truly experience the Vatican Museum, Sistine Chapel, and St Peter's, this is the way to go! By the way, take the early tour, that starts before the museum opens to the public, and beat the crowds.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The Vatican trip that we arranged through your organization was very well done. At first, the mayhem of Rome and the dysfunction that abounds sets a mood that doesn't start the day well. But we really have to admit that though it took a while, Rachel, our guide brought everyone's personalities out with her interaction, attentiveness, extraordinary wealth of knowledge, and obvious passion for what she does. It goes without saying that the museum brings out emotions of wonder and awe but with Rachel's influence, we were brought to tears with some of the profound pieces and environment. Bravo.
I would love to think that you and your peers could have some influence on being able to post directional signs to assist as to where your tour meets. For a city who's ultimate source of income is tourism, it is baffling that there is not a better, more attentive attempt at making life easier for tourists. If you had any influence, that would be of great appreciation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our family of four adults had a superb time in Rome. The apartment we rented was just two minutes from the Piazza Navona to our east and the piazzas Campo de Fiori and Farnese to our west and a convenient taxi rank was just below our apartment. The Vatican City was only a 15 minute walk away. We saw all the normal tourist sites, but were glad we booked entry to them on-line ahead of the holiday; it saved us an enormous amount of time. Dining Al Fresco all day was also a real treat, with the waiters at all the different eating places, welcoming, warm and willing to help. I've never experienced this type of service anywhere else in the world. It was a pleasure to dine out. Holidaying in Rome was a delight and pleasure and we'll be going back, even though we didn't throw coins in the Trevi Fountain. If you want an experience greater than a ride on an amusement park big dipper, go for a taxi ride, you'll come out of it whiter than snow. The apartment we rented was very comfortable and I'd choose it again, but I hope that by then the owners will have update the out of date toilet facilities. To top it all off we had an unexpected visit to a grand opera concert of well known arias given by superb professionals. ROME - I wish I was back there.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This Vatican tour was absolutely superb and our guide, David, was the best! His knowledge was astounding and he was polite, funny and interesting. Our group of 20 people loved him and we applauded him at the end of the tour. Despite the high volume of people, David managed to keep us all together and he took the time to explain every attraction in great detail and made a long tour fly by. We intend to go back to Rome and the Vatican and would definitely book a Viator tour again, needless to say that jumping the queue was cool!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Our fantastic tour was bought through Viator, but conducted by Marta of DARKROME.com. Definitely worth the money! We had 11 people in our group and Marta was extremely knowledgeable and humorous as well. Everyone said it was the best tour experience they had ever had. Highly recommend, especially if you can request Marta. Last tour of the Vatican several years ago, was with a large group and was greatly disappointed.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

dear viatour
when we first made our reservations for the sistine chapel private viewing and small -group tour of the vaticans secret rooms ,i must admit we were apprehensive about what was promised.
but as the tour began all our fears wre laid to rest
our tour director a young lady from indiana named tiffany presented the facts about each exhibit sprinkled with very interesting aside commentaries
i know she said that she had been doing this for awhile,but it was amazing how she could glean so many facts and anecdotes and present them to us in a way that made three and one half tour literally fly by
being able to have access to the secret rooms and of course access to the sistine chapel with just nine people being able to ask questions and interact with tiffany was beyond any a nd all our expectations
is it value for money? absolutely
will i recommend this tour uneqivocably?
would we take the tour again? in a heart beat!
just a side note to viatour you would be wise to incorporate tiffany in promo videos to give potential customers a sample of what you have to offer !
i am sure this will bring you many more customers
again thank you for making our trip to rome as the most memorable part of our three week stay in italy
tom and pat
hamilton canada

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

My travel partner and I are not usually "museum and art gallery" visitors but the idea of visiting the Vatican was with the belief that it is an important place in the world. While the Vatican is huge in size and significance, our tour guide David was invaluable in helping us learn about what we were seeing. His knowledge and enthusiasm were exemplary and made for a very memorable experience. For anyone considering going to visit Rome, I would suggest that a guided tour of the Vatican is a must!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

The Vatican is a must see for anyone visiting the Rome area. The site is steaped in history, amazing buildings and artwork. Our tour guide as Igor and we were simply amazed by his level of knowledge on the subject of the tour, from painting and sculptures to the history of the area.

As a side if your on a short trip to Rome, skipping the line is a must if you witness the enormous line to enter the vatican sites.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

When I saw the line waiting to get into the Vatican, I knew we made the right decision in booking this tour. We got in quickly and saw so much in a short time. The guide was extremely knowledgeable, and her English was impeccable. Since several of us had been to the Vatican in the past, the guide tried to show us things we wouldn't have seen before. She was also very diligent in making sure the group stayed together and no one got left behind. Of course, you could go see the Vatican, St. Peter's Basilica and the Sistine Chapel on your own, but you will have to wait in a much longer line and not learn nearly as much as we did on our tour. I highly recommend this tour as a "must do" for any trip to Rome.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message