Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 486 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We toured the Vatican Museums and St.Peter Basillica in September. This was our third time and by far the very best way to enjoy, learn and appreciate what we came to see. We were in a small group of ten. We moved easily through the Museums early I the morning without many other people around. Our tour guide was knowledgeable, friendly, and experienced at moving and pacing people. Very pleasant and satisfying tour. So was guidance through St. Peter's. Cannot impress enough to take this tour or the one that includes breakfast in the courtyard which looked lovely (we already had a booked breakfast this day.)

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The best introductory tour I could ask for! Our guide, Paula, was personable and knowledgeable, and she did a great job balancing keeping us moving while allowing us to linger on occasion. With such a huge challenge to tour Vatican City, this tour helped me see all the "must sees" and concluded in an area and at a time that allowed me to explore my personal interest points during the afternoon. Perfetto!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was so great, she is so passionate about everything she said and her knowledge was amazing. The tour itself was an amazing experience, more than I could’ve asked for. It was so amazing being the only people viewing the Sistine Chapel and having enough time to sit there and take it all in. Being able to see many amazing paintings and statues in the secret rooms was also a treat, made the group feel good that we were the only ones with a private Vatican guard that had the master key for all the rooms. All in all the best way to see the Vatican hands down and the best tour guide too.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful indepth experience of this tour. Guide was superb. This is the best way that we have seen Vatican ever. Sorry for forgetting the name of our guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best tour I have ever taken of the Vatican. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable, in addition to her Art History degree she was also a working archeologist could not of been better!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Shannon, was phenomenal! She made every detail of every story interesting and fun. She is smart, witty, and an asset to your team. Thanks for a great experience touring the Vatican Museum. It was the best tour of our entire two week vacation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was and excellent tour and a definate must do. Our tour guide was fantastic from start to finish. She was extremely knowledgeable and explained in detail many of the paintings, sculptures, etc. about their history. She answered any and all questions and constantly stopped to make sure the entire group was with us. There were 17 of us which was also a good number. I believe this tour has a 20 person maximum. Skip the line got us right inside the Vatican museums and with a short line through security we were good to go. Aside from the heat and the crowds around us which was to be expected it was one of the best tours I took while visiting Italy. Remember to bring your water bottle with you. There is a fountain spot to refill at the beginning of the tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Vatican was beyond beautiful and it's rich history is mind blowing. You will miss out on so much if you enter the Vatican without an experienced guide. This was the best investment we made on our 14 day European Vacation.

I learned so much!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide David was an excellent person. His narration of the past and present of the vatican city was simply the best. Time was sufficient and the best part was skipping the long line. Even after the 4 hour tour, you can stay in the St. Peter's basilica for more time or go to the top of the dome. In a nutshell, it was excellent, could not be better.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Maria Rosaria was fantastic! Her knowledge and enthusiasm was refreshing and we were able to understand her very well. She knew so much about the art in the Vatican Museum, Raphael's Rooms, St. Peters and the Sistine Chapel. It was also better with a small group of 12....well worth the extra money. Maria also showed us where we could go to climb to the top of the Cupola which was incredible (but a lot of stairs!) !! She was one of the best guides I've had!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took this one day tour with a visit to the Vatican in the morning and the three major Basilicas in the afternoon. Our guide in the morning, Julianna was excellent. She was by far the best guide we had. Her remarks and historical detail was excellent. The afternoon tour was very enjoyable and a must see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Paying a little for this tour and skipping the line is a no-brainer. The tour guide was very informative and gave history we would not have gotten otherwise. The Vatican is a very busy place so there is no way to avoid being herded through like cattle, but our guide warned us of the choke points and did her best to get us through with as little jostling as possible. Overall, this is well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth the additional cost to avoid the very lengthy queue. We understand there is a new 7.30am tour of the Sistine Chapel where there is actual 'silence!' Early is best for the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Vatican Tour was amazing. Our tour guide "David" was the best. He was so knowledgeable, funny and kind. We couldn't have been happier!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you travel to the Vatican city by either Green or Red bus tour which is by far the best way as you get a tour of Rome first and the hop on/off could be ideal if you have time, but beware and factor in Rome traffic but from Termini station about 3/4hr covers it, and there is a long walk around the Vatican wall to the entry point from the drop off point so take that into consideration when going for the start time, especially if you are a slow walker. Book on line either for a self guide, or a guided tour (which I would not recommend as there is so much to see, understand, and take in) it is also it is easy to get lost within. If you just turn up the queues can be a long and arduous wait so take a sun umbrella if hot and sunny. We found the pm tours better as there were less casual visitors around, so less queuing, do your homework before you go to make the most of your time, and be aware of the beggars, they are in your face and persistent, I strongly recommend you DON'T give as they will swarm you and follow you everywhere until you enter a place where thy cannot follow, and that doesn't include a toilet if they can get in they will. Have a great time and enjoy the experience as we did. Thank you Viator. H. Powell

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message