Of the global cultural wonders which have been awarded UNESCO World Heritage status, only one represents an entire country: Vatican City. The world’s smallest sovereign state is – as well as being the spiritual home of the world’s billion or so ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 482 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was so great, she is so passionate about everything she said and her knowledge was amazing. The tour itself was an amazing experience, more than I could’ve asked for. It was so amazing being the only people viewing the Sistine Chapel and having enough time to sit there and take it all in. Being able to see many amazing paintings and statues in the secret rooms was also a treat, made the group feel good that we were the only ones with a private Vatican guard that had the master key for all the rooms. All in all the best way to see the Vatican hands down and the best tour guide too.

Doing what: Viator VIP: Sistine Chapel Private Viewing and Small-Group Tour of the Vatican's Secret Rooms

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We had a wonderful indepth experience of this tour. Guide was superb. This is the best way that we have seen Vatican ever. Sorry for forgetting the name of our guide.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Best tour I have ever taken of the Vatican. Our guide was wonderful and very knowledgeable, in addition to her Art History degree she was also a working archeologist could not of been better!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Shannon, was phenomenal! She made every detail of every story interesting and fun. She is smart, witty, and an asset to your team. Thanks for a great experience touring the Vatican Museum. It was the best tour of our entire two week vacation.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was and excellent tour and a definate must do. Our tour guide was fantastic from start to finish. She was extremely knowledgeable and explained in detail many of the paintings, sculptures, etc. about their history. She answered any and all questions and constantly stopped to make sure the entire group was with us. There were 17 of us which was also a good number. I believe this tour has a 20 person maximum. Skip the line got us right inside the Vatican museums and with a short line through security we were good to go. Aside from the heat and the crowds around us which was to be expected it was one of the best tours I took while visiting Italy. Remember to bring your water bottle with you. There is a fountain spot to refill at the beginning of the tour. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The Vatican was beyond beautiful and it's rich history is mind blowing. You will miss out on so much if you enter the Vatican without an experienced guide. This was the best investment we made on our 14 day European Vacation.

I learned so much!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Maria Rosaria was fantastic! Her knowledge and enthusiasm was refreshing and we were able to understand her very well. She knew so much about the art in the Vatican Museum, Raphael's Rooms, St. Peters and the Sistine Chapel. It was also better with a small group of 12....well worth the extra money. Maria also showed us where we could go to climb to the top of the Cupola which was incredible (but a lot of stairs!) !! She was one of the best guides I've had!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

We took this one day tour with a visit to the Vatican in the morning and the three major Basilicas in the afternoon. Our guide in the morning, Julianna was excellent. She was by far the best guide we had. Her remarks and historical detail was excellent. The afternoon tour was very enjoyable and a must see.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican in One Day

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Paying a little for this tour and skipping the line is a no-brainer. The tour guide was very informative and gave history we would not have gotten otherwise. The Vatican is a very busy place so there is no way to avoid being herded through like cattle, but our guide warned us of the choke points and did her best to get us through with as little jostling as possible. Overall, this is well worth the money.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Well worth the additional cost to avoid the very lengthy queue. We understand there is a new 7.30am tour of the Sistine Chapel where there is actual 'silence!' Early is best for the Vatican.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Tickets

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Our Vatican Tour was amazing. Our tour guide "David" was the best. He was so knowledgeable, funny and kind. We couldn't have been happier!

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you travel to the Vatican city by either Green or Red bus tour which is by far the best way as you get a tour of Rome first and the hop on/off could be ideal if you have time, but beware and factor in Rome traffic but from Termini station about 3/4hr covers it, and there is a long walk around the Vatican wall to the entry point from the drop off point so take that into consideration when going for the start time, especially if you are a slow walker. Book on line either for a self guide, or a guided tour (which I would not recommend as there is so much to see, understand, and take in) it is also it is easy to get lost within. If you just turn up the queues can be a long and arduous wait so take a sun umbrella if hot and sunny. We found the pm tours better as there were less casual visitors around, so less queuing, do your homework before you go to make the most of your time, and be aware of the beggars, they are in your face and persistent, I strongly recommend you DON'T give as they will swarm you and follow you everywhere until you enter a place where thy cannot follow, and that doesn't include a toilet if they can get in they will. Have a great time and enjoy the experience as we did. Thank you Viator. H. Powell

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

We arrived in Rome on the Friday and were booked on our tour on Saturday so having never been to Rome before we decided to have a walk to see where we had to meet our group in the morning so we weren't in a panic (we were booked on the 9am tour), we were glad we did because the meeting point is round the back at the entrance to the museums and not the entrance to the Vatican City at the front, this was well explained on the confirmation but we didn't realise how far away the 'back' actually was! We arrived at about 8:15 to have a coffee before we went in at the Cafe Vaticana, it was very expensive 14e for a tea and a coffee!

We headed down the steps in plenty of time to book in and were assigned to Manwella (sorry if that's spelt incorrectly), we went in through the museums, through to the Sistine Chapel and ending up at St. Peter's.

Manwella was an excellent guide, ensuring the group stayed together, checking our ear pieces were working correctly and finding the best spots for us to stand where we could see and hear her perfectly. You could tell that Manwella wasn't just reading from a script and it felt like she was very passionate about the sculptures and fesco's within the Vatican, having a guide made our visit to the Vatican City 100% better, as before we would have enjoyed seeing the Sistine chapel, actually understanding the paintings and looking at the small details Manwella pointed out to us gave it a whole new dimension.

If you're going to go the the Vatican City, go on a tour and we highly recommend Viator, skip the queue and get a great insight into what you are going to see, couldn't imagine doing it any other way.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

As we only had limited time in Rome, we had to make the best use of it. This tour is the way to go for a first time at the Vatican. We had a private tour guide for just my wife and I. She was very good and well educated in the area. We wanted to see the Vatican museum, the Sistine Chapel, and St. Perer's. She had to be selective given the short time but did a great job covering all three. There were of course a lot of other tourists in all the areas but she got us in and out with a lot to see in the time allowed. I highly recommend this tour and felt it was well worth the added price

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Vatican Museums Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Booking with Viator was the best thing we did and would advise anyone wanting to visit the Vatican to do the same because the queues were so long and it was a very hot day so was pleased we didn't have to join thoses queues. The tour its self was amazing as was our guide Francesca who was very passionate,knowledable and friendly which made the tour even more enjoyable, what we saw and learnt was mind blowing so much to see and take in,thank you for a great tour. Anyone who is thinking of visiting the Vatican i would truely recommend Viator.

Doing what: Skip the Line: Vatican Museums Walking Tour including Sistine Chapel, Raphael's Rooms and St Peter's

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message