• USD ($)
  • English
1.  Ancient Rome Explore the Colosseum and Forum in style on a private walking tour with an art expert, and skip the queues for the Colosseum and Palatine Hill. Accompanied by your own private guide who specializes in art history, a ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 84 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Masimo is an awesome story teller - expect him to completely "ruin" your vacation with horrific stories from Rome's not-so-peaceful past, which includes executions, murders and plots that went all the way up to the top. It's a great way to learn history, walk around in Rom after dark, and get to know the places and people that make Rome so intriguing.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

This was an enjoyable walk around Rome but was dampened by a cold pouring rain.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

What a wonderful day we had! Just my wife and I with Annalisa, The Closseum and ancient Rome! My wife has some back and knee issues and Lisa was able to adapt the walk to make it easier for her without sacrificing any of the quality of the tour. She has brilliant recall of large amounts of information about everything there is to see on this tour, and there is a lot! It is obvious that she loves Rome and its ancient sites and has spent a great deal of time learning the history of the city. I couldn't possibly tell you all the history she shared about The Colosseum,The Forum and Palatine Hill but I can tell you that she was animated, interesting, engaging and able to answer any question we had about the area. There is a lot to see on this tour and the experience could not have been the same with a large group of people, or wasting the day standing in line. Most importantly, I don't know that it would have been as great an experience with another guide. I'm sure all the guides are good, but I don't think any other guide could be more kind or more in love with her subject and eager to share its history. Thank you Lisa for an unforgettable experience!

Doing what: Skip the Line Private Tour: Ancient Rome and Colosseum Art History Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour really talks about the facts and tragedies that happened in old Rome and not so much on horror stories. Really love this tour as it is different from the others because it gives a glimpse on the lives of the common folk and society back then. The content of the tour is very good and plentiful and our guide Massimo is really entertaining and a good story teller. Be prepared to walk quite a bit at night if you are someone who gets tired really early.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

We had a great time and really enjoyed the walk thru the old tow of Rome. Our guide was a lovely young man who was very knowledgeable regarding the rich history of Rome. He also had a great sense of humour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

It was a really nice tour, you are able to see the most important touristic attractions of Rome and the tour guides were very knowledgable about the city and its history. You walk a lot, but it is the best way to get to see the city.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

Wear comfortable shoes as your will need to traverse over a great distance with the beautiful Rome cobblestones. The tour moves very quickly....maybe a little too quick.... Our guide in the morning was very good. The guide in the afternoon tour had very broken english and was difficult to understand. The group could barely keep up with the walking part of the tour as he moved WAY too fast!

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2013

It was a lovely evening walk. A great way to appreciate the sites and sounds of this community in Rome.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

An excellent guide and an interesting walk through the back streets of Rome listening to the kind of stories we wouldnt have normally heard. The children on the walk seemed to enjoy it immensely.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

this is a fabulous tour , a casual walk throughout the streets with a local point of view . we got a real feel of the history of rome . prob the best tour of the trip

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

It's an area of Rome that you wouldn't know to go to and where everyone will tell you to eat at; definitely worth the experience because you'd walk by buildings without thinking twice. Watch where you step to find the silver plates memorializing where Holocaust victims used to live. Return for fried artichoke and the chili pepper store.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed this night time walking tour. We were shown parts of Rome that we would never have come across and the history was really intersting.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This is a must do! Our guide spent over 2 hours walking us through the mid-evil part of Rome telling us fascinating true stories dating back to the 1400's. He really knew his history and was a great storyteller bringing these people to life. I really enjoyed this tour.

Doing what: Ghost and Mystery Walking Tour of Rome

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

This tour was fabulous because our guide, Massimo, was so very informative about Rome's past. Walking through most of this tour worked out great because it gave us a chance to actually interact with the "life blood" of Rome.

Doing what: Classical Rome City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2012

We really enjoyed our walk we had a guide who was from USA and had lived in Rome for 10 years she was very knowledgeable.The Ghetto has a very interesting past and is still a facinating place and the walk across the island to Trastevere to the oldest chuch in Rome was also great.It was a lovely walk and well worth the money would recommend to anyone.

Doing what: Trastevere and Rome's Jewish Ghetto Half-Day Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message