Rotorua ATTRACTIONS See all

Tamaki Maori Village

Built by two brothers in 1989, the Tamaki Maori Village is the destination for an authentic Maori experience. If you are looking for a Maori encounter beyond the typical performance found at hotels, this is the place to go. The village is itself ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certiļ¬ed reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This was a highlight of our New Zealand holiday! My 8 and 12 year olds sons totally loved this event! From the minute we were picked up by the bus driver Dennis the Menace we thoroughly enjoyed every minute of this 3 hour tour. The information about the Maori was in depth and demonstrated practically for my kids to totally understand. The performers all appeared to enjoy what they were doing and were all very friendly. We wished more time were spent in the village learning about each aspect of culture. It was so informative! The hangi dinner pit and then the meal were excellent. The performances in the marae and singing after at dinner added so much to the whole evening in terms of atmosphere and understanding of Maori culture. We wanted to go back the next night! So worth the money too.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This was Fantastic so good the Village is awesome, the Meal amazing and the entertainment 1st Class you really must go on this tour. I had done it before with my daughter 10 years ago and was just as amazed this time - right from the second you get picked up to the second your bus drops you off. You will soooo enjoy it.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This experience was phenomenal. From the time you are picked up from your hotel and dropped off again after dinner and the performance, Tamaki Maori village is the MUST DO experience. I have seen a Maori performance before, but nothing comes close to this. The stories and performances leave you yearning for more. As you walk through the village you are immersed in the Maori culture and lifestyle. So amazing, I cannot wait to come back!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent tour - Tamaki Village was great, the hospitality of the Maori people was superb, the entertainment was captivating (didn't want it to end) and the meal was extremely good. All in all, an activity we are very glad we did and considered it value for money

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole entire tour. Everything was great from the bus driver to the performers. Once it came to supper time, everything was delicious and there was more food than your stomach can handle. I don't know about the other Maori village, but the Tamaki Maori Village that we went to was just a lot of FUN!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything was excellent! Maori village, performance and the dinner- a must do if travelling to nz! !

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A fantastic maori experience. The village is beautifully set up and you can even take part in some of the Maori traditions! Plenty of food and desserts at the end after you have enjoyed some real maori entertainment

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Peter C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Listening to the Maori history from arrival in New Zealand and Rotorua together with the respect for the land, the predecessors and the future was interesting. The welcome by the Chief and village members was warm on a cold and chilly night. The entertainment provided gave an insight into the traditions, dance and song was great. Well recommended

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

We had a wonderful night right from the very start when we were picked up from our hotel by a very entertaining coach driver Mark. It was rather wet, but this did not hamper the traditional greetings and the visit round the village. We then moved inside a large hall where more traditions were explained through dances and displays. Some visitors were given lessons in how to perform the haka. Next we moved to the fire pit where the hangi dinner was being cooked, the food was delicious and cooked to perfection. We had a choice of Lamb and Chicken, with potatoes and sweet potatoes. There were further choices available once we were in the dining area. The dessert was just as good as the main meal. It was a very memorable night and I would like to thank everyone who made our evening so enjoyable.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Sauly
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2013

What an evening with Tamaki Tours , our guide/driver "DAZZA " who says his nickname was given to him by Aussies as I am a Aussie must give comment was a blast of entertainment before we even arrived at the Maori Village for our culture tour , show and fabulous Hangi Dinner , fully worth every dollar spent on this tour booking. Great hospitality , great food and great learning experience to get a little piece of the Maori culture.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2013

My wife and I visited the Tamaki Maori village in February 2013. We both had a fantastic evening and were very impressed with the tour. We were picked up from our hotel in the tour bus by a Maori lady, who was a real character. She didn't stop talking and telling us all about the Maori and the local area and teaching us their language for the whole journey. She also put a big emphasis on everyone being friends, so we all had to introduce ourselves to each other. We also had to nominate a 'chief' from our bus to 'confront' the Maori tribe. At the village we were treated to a traditional welcome ceremony and haka, with our chiefs and the rest of us welcomed into the village. In the village we went around each hut and took part in various traditional games and activities, which were great fun. After watching our dinner being pulled from the ground, we trooped into the chief's ceremonial lodge for an hour or so of traditional entertainment, consisting of singing and dancing. Then we made our way to the dining hall, where we enjoyed our hangi dinner, which was very tasty and there was plenty to eat. The journey home was very entertaining - each country was asked to sing a song from their country, karaoke style! The whole evening was very entertaining and informative and we had a great time. However, it is very interactive, so don't expect to just sit and watch - you will be asked to join in, so if you're not happy being the centre of attention or singing in a bus load of people, then you'll probably feel a little uncomfortable!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2011

An excellent trip -enjoyed every minute of it. The coach driver was brilliant - she encouraged everyone to join in right from the outset. the Maori village, feast and show were outstanding.
I would highly recommend this trip - a not to be missed occasion.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2011

Fantastic experience. Our driver was highly entertaining, the mock village was surreal, and the food was ample. The Maori culture is really brought alive, and you feel very much like you're in Polynesia. Would recommend this to anyone!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Michele W
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

This was a fantastic night. It started with a great bus driver called Darren who got us all in the mood for a fantastic night. The Maori greeting was excellent, the village was fun and interactive and the food was excellent. This was worth every cent!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

HUGO G
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

Wow, an absolutely amazing tour. The bus journey was absolutely superb - the driver had the best sense of humour I have come across for a while - I will never forget the roundabout - not going to tell you what that is in case they do it again! The best part of the tour was the welcome to the village done in traditional Maori style. The show was good but quite short and the food was fairly standard. There were a couple of good but not 'in your face' shops.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Drynene M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2009

We had a great time. Kids enjoyed the village and show. Well worth it.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kylie M
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2009

We had the best time here at the Tamaki Maori Concert and Hangi. It was one of the highlights of our whole NZ experience. Out bus driver who was part of the whole experience was amazing! Entertaining, informative, funny and a whole lot of fun. The ceremony was very interesting and the whole experience certainly opened my eyes to a culture I knew very little about. I have come away more open. The food was delicious and so much of it. You won't come away hungry from this one! The village is set up so you can see more of the tradition and how things were done. There are a couple of little shops so you can bring some of the experience home. I had 2 teenage sons with me and they loved it just as much as I did. The bus ride back to the hotel again with Mark was a whole lot of fun and you really feel like part of the experience and that you are really valued. I couldn't recommend this more highly. Excellent!!! Well worth the money and also not having to worry about driving there and back as you get picked up from wherever you are staying in Rotorua. Again, excellent!!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Wayne O
New Zealand

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2007

I thought this was wonderful and a great tourist attraction for NZ. I am from Wellington and would never have gone to this normally but as I had some tourists who were keen to go visit the village. I am so glad I went as well. Thanks for the opportunity.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Unfortunately can't give this a 5 as the weather was so wet we were unable to view all the village. The experience was fantastic, food was delicious and entertainment educational. We were lucky enough to have Mark as a driver who entertained us all the way back. His outgoing personality was fabulous

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was well worth the money, and the visit To the village topped it off on a cold foggy night, recommended

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

We had a wonderfull experience participating with and touring the village with the Maori people. Excellent performance and dinner. Thank you!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2013

We were thoroughly entertained by our tour leader who also drove the bus we were in, the Maori village visit and the dinner was pretty good, overall happy !

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2012

Very well done and a great meal. This a recreated village display by every friendly people with a good insight into native life of the past.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

The evening was fun and informative but over all too quickly. I would have liked more time at the start of the village to learn more about Maori culture. The dinner was tasty and there was enough of it. I enjoyed meeting people from other countries. Very worthwhile - thank you.
Regards - Alison

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Rossa R
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2010

Unique cultural experience. The evening started off when we were picked up from our hotel by Aruha our jolly driver who taught us some Maori words, chose our chief & made us sing along during the bus ride. On arrival at Tamaki village, we watched a welcoming ceremony & then got an opportunity to chat to the Maori abt various aspects of their culture this part should be longer as we felt very rushed. Thereafter watched a Maori cultural performance I wished they'd explained more abt each piece first & then feasted on a hangi prepared dinner. Again more opportunity should be given to explain how the Hangi works.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message