• USD ($)
  • English

Rotorua ATTRACTIONS See all

Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland

Like much of New Zealand's attractions, the Wai-O-Tapu Thermal Wonderland centers on walking outdoors - but what a walk! The park is New Zealand's most colorful and diverse geothermal attraction; visitors follow demarcated tracks through a stunning ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 47 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you are interested in the thermal areas around Rotorua, this tour is very informative and fascinating. Our guide Karl, was very knowledgeable about the geology of the area and of the Maori culture. Suggest that the visit to Lady Knox Geyser be removed as it is contrived and not in the Eco tour theme.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was a fabulous tour. Our guide was Huru, he was fantastic, such knowledge about Rotorua. We went through the crater, quite a hike! --- also visited the mud pools and finally the Lady Knox geyser. Really recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Amazing! Which I'd taken the time to do it years ago when I was in better physical shape to cope with the walking. Though very sore that night tho, I managed all the walking and enjoyed every minute. The guide was, to put it simply, just the best and we, and our friends from the UK are very grateful for his knowledge and friendliness.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

From the moment the bus picked us up at our hotel, we had a great time. Haru our driver , who is of Maori descent himself, shared his knowledge of the geology, the culture, and the area. We learned so much and particularly as a small group were able to ask questions freely along our exploring walk. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour with a terrific tour guide - very knowledgeable.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

A fantastic tour around all the eco thermal areas. We went on the Morning tour and enjoyed all the information our fantastic guide Huru shared with us! Worth every penny!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2013

Huru is the guide, and he is very friendly person! The tour is not so cheap, but there was just 3 people in his van! You can do this trip by yourself, but isnt the same with guide!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Fantastic tour with excellent guide Horu Spectacularly beautiful and the highlight of our all but too brif week in NZ

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2013

Really excellent. Our guide had a broad knowledge, not only of the geology of the area and the history of volcanic activity, but also of how Maori people would have used the natural resources (and of 'Lord of the Rings' filming location!) Richly illuminating experience.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Loved every minute guides very knowledgable and friendly

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2012

Our first time in N.Z. This was an excellent tour, only half a day , hubby and I could easily have spent the whole day as it was so fantastic The tour guide was exceptional and certainly had a lot of knowledge of the area.
Lyn - Australia.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2012

Huru was an amazing guide for this morning tour. I would have gladly spent a full day. The displays of thermal activity were amazing, and his ability to describe and explain made the experience better than I anticipated.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2012

Our halfday trip was excellent and we would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a company to beek with. Our guide was Huru and he was extremely informative and obviously very knowlegeable about the areas we were taken too. Any question asked he was able to answer. A very nice person to have as your guide. The trip itself was amazing, as was NZ as a country.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Fantastic experience. Visited Wai-o-Tapu Thermal wonderland with Lady Knox geyser erupting and Waimangu Valley. Both are geothermal hot spots around Rotorua. The local guide Huru was fantastic and shared his invaluable knowledge with us all. Thoroughly recommend it!!!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Morning Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

A great day with a great driver. Certainly worth while doing. Door to door service. Driver very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message