Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 335 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Tamara T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

We really enjoyed this evening. The food was delicious! The cultural presentation was delightful. Not only were we taught about the Maori culture, but we were invited to participate in the activites. It was a memorable evening and we would do it again.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

kerriescott02

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This tour was really great value.We are a mature age couple and the rest of the bus were backpackers so we had a great time.The cultural side of the evening was excellent but our bus driver 'Wallace' topped off the evening.He had the most friendly personality and was great entertainment from puck up to delivery to our front door.Don't miss a fabulous evening!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Margaret R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent,totally enjoyed every part of the tour. My husband loved the meal stating its not often he goes back for seconds. Best part of our trip so far!!:

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Bena O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Excellent experience, highly reccomended!! Food was amazing..

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Cathy F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is an awesome experience! It is nice to learn about the different cultures.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Lisa Z

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Fantastic set up with amazing staff who make it real.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

chriss

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

First class

Cannot rate highly enough

Everyone should do this. Lovely people and seeing the Haka and everything else. Cannot rate highly enough.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Sandra K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We enjoyed to learn Moari culture, traditions and performance. How tasty Traditional feast was!! two wonderful guides helped with written notes for us

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Michelle W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

The Maori presentation was so interesting. We loved the songs performed and we were excited to see the Haka and the poi ball dance.

Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly - we were able to see the geyser, the hot mud pools, the weaving school, the carving school and the kiwi birds. Such a fascinating area!

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I loved this trip. It was very well conducted and the food was great. The village and all the activities were very well done. This was very slickly run.
I would recommend this trip to anyone visiting Rotorua.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Jane S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This was excellent! Very much worth doing if you are going to Rotorua. Thoroughly enjoyed and the food was great!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

KC5

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

My Husband and I were on our honeymoon and wanted to see some of the Maori cutlure and this was spot on! Great dinner! Great entertainment. Very happy we did this. Definitely would recommend.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

vivianne w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed experiencing the culture of the Maori people. The meal was fantastic too

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Ron P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This a must if you want to understand the Maori people. The evening is full of interaction with the natives, understanding their culture, and presented with a series of dances prior to a dinner. The dinner was a feast which they made sure everyone was more of a pig than the one we ate. AWESOME!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

James D. S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We are not 'tour people' but wanted to understand more Maori history after reading several books on indigenous people. The Hangi dinner and performance reviews were complimentary so we booked. The bus picked us up at our hotel right on time and was filled with friendly people. Our driver, Bill, was funny and informative. I was a bit dismayed when we arrived and assembled in the gathering area to see a large class of school children. They turned out to be an immersion class from a nearby town and they were delightful. It was so good to see the Maori culture being spread in the classroom and children of all backgrounds benefiting from the lessons. Once the dramatic welcome ceremony was complete and we entered the village we were treated to various stations that explained facets of Maori life and tradition. This was followed by a wonderful entertainment session and then dinner. I learned quite a bit that had not been explained in our initial research. Keeping the Maori culture alive for Maori descendants, and for the country is important and this group has found an excellent way to do that. It was a very entertaining and worthwhile evening. Our bus trip back to the various hotels was filled with group singing and a version of The wheels on the bus we won't soon forget! As we reviewed our New Zealand trip, the Hangi Dinner was one of the top highlights. If you are mobility challenged this is a do-able event but could be difficult...but do try. So worth it!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Graeme R

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

A must for all to experience.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Clare M

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

This was a very well run activity and we both thoroughly enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend this tour group to anyone wanting to do white water rafting in Rotorua.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

David F

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Meets expectations

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Umur C

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

It isn't zoo but it was worth to see kiwis and to support their efforts

Doing what: Rainbow Springs Entrance Ticket

griffjames2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great experience, even though I don't like water. They were organised and professional giving good instructions at the start. On the river was fabulous, building confidence on two smaller rapids first and then the big 7m drop which was awesome.- we did not tip over ! Having done the big one the pressure was off and good simply enjoy the remaining rapids. Totally recomended.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Deborah M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

An amazing experience. Wonderful insight into the Maori customs. They were very friendly and after showing us around their village, and doing the haka dance, they provided us with the most amazing dinner that they cooked underground. Definitely an experience not to be missed.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Mark W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

This was a great tour. The people were knowledgable and very helpfull. As expected we saw a lot and were on and off the bus. the ability to return for a second look on the same pass was good. Definatly a great way to see everything.

Doing what: Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour

Lynn H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

A wonderful and informative evening . We had the best night everything was perfect highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message