Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 204 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Absolutely amazing, have a real insight into the Maori lifestyle. Great entertainment and wonderful food, highly recommend!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The tour was very well organised. The bus driver who picked us up from the motel was punctual, very professional and entertaining. There were absolutely no problem with any of the places where we were taken including entry fees (which were included), tour guides who were very good and the actual places of interest. The gondola ride was really good but what was not mentioned in the description of the Morning City tour was the fabulous buffet lunch (with a huge selection of seafood/entrees and mains/delicious sweets etc) on top of the mountains after the gondola ride. The quality of the lunch was superb and of tremendous value (we were only expecting a sandwich and a drink but were pleasantly surprised at the restaurant, quality of food and ambience (great views!). Definitely worthwhile including the gondola ride and lunch with this morning city tour - a very pleasant end to the tour.

Doing what: Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic experience. I learned a lot about the Maori way of life while having a great time. Food was excellent.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Huru, was excellent. We learned so much from him about the geology of the area and also about the history and culture of the Maori people .We had a very good tour of the area, which is amazing. We could not have had a better experience. Thanks.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Even though it was cold and and raining a little we were entertained to the hilt. We thoroughly enjoyed the games,performances and dinner. Even the the ride back to our motel was entertaining! I thoroughly recommend it to everyone. It was Great and the best part of our trip to north New Zealand!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

Great experience and very educational.

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Cultural Tour and Steambox Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Great experience good food great show. Thanks to darrell.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The Maori Hangi Dinner was absolutely amazing. Even the bus driver was so good engaging everyone on the bus. It was all so well organised and run so efficiently. The show was excellent and the food delicious I would recommend it to everyone. Jill

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

The tour was well worth the money, and the visit To the village topped it off on a cold foggy night, recommended

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Lots of history and activity, must see/do!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A fantastic introduction to Maori history,customs and way of life.
The hangi was delicious, a great selection of perfectly cooked chicken, lamb,fish,mussels and a great selection of vegetables.
All the Maori were great ambassadors for their race and passionate about maintaining their story.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

As ex kiwis living in Australia i wanted my 20 year old son to experience the maori Culture though this. Unfortunately for him he was chosen as a chief and therefore for the WHOLE night was made to get uop in front of the whole group and be the "volunteer"
Whilst for some egoists this may be a great thing for my son this was hard work and he really was not able top relax. i would recommend not volunteering for this or if you get dragged ion atleast only say you want to do iot for a short part of the evening.
the venue meal and concert are good although very much tailored to the tourist who has not any history of NZ culture. By the end of the night if we heard Jo=ia ora one more time we would have lost it!!
Some research by the venue into people's background and level of knowledge would have been good. We learnt more in a 30 minute cht with the tour guide at whakarewarewa the next day in a much more convivial manner.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2014

Was disappointed that dinner was not the traditional way the maori have their feast. The rest was fantastic.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

KylieS
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun going over the waterfalls! My only complaint, not long enough!

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message