• USD ($)
  • English
Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This is a must do. We came away with a deep understanding of the Maori culture and traditions. Do this with Te Pia geothermal area and go with the guide at 10am.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

roger S
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Not cheap, but this trip was fully worth the cost. It was jaw-droppingly brilliant. The weather was not that good on the planned day; but the company rang us and asked whether we would prefer to delay the trip for a day, so that the weather was better and to help us enjoy the experience. We agreed to that delay, and it was worth that replanning. The pilot was great, and he gave us a knowledgeable tour on the two sites we landed at as well as a commentary in-flight. The memory of this trip will last forever with us. We would easily recommend this trip.

Doing what: Active Volcano Helicopter Landings from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

When I went up to the booth at the entrance to Te Puia Maori arts and Crafts Institute, I was thinking that I was going to have to do some explaining... I said, "I have a small group..." and immediately Carla spoke up and said "And I will be showing your around today". And she proceeded to come out introduce heresulf, ask the names of each of the eight of us, and describe the time we would be spending together. She was charming, knowledgeable, proud of her culture, and eager to share it with us. The steambox lunch was excellent...and the hands on lessons, up close look at carving, and her ability to weave in her family history were excellent. We had dubbed ourselves the "Kiwi Wannabes"...and the welcome of Carla to Te Puia is one of the reasons we enjoyed the Kiwi and Maori experience so much. have to say also that we ventured into questions of discrimination, earning a living in New Zealand and more...and carla had the thoughtful and incisive answers we sought. Make this a "must" as you visit Rotorua...
Tom R.

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Cultural Tour and Steambox Lunch

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

One of the highlights of our trip to New Zealand so far.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

An excellent tour - Tamaki Village was great, the hospitality of the Maori people was superb, the entertainment was captivating (didn't want it to end) and the meal was extremely good. All in all, an activity we are very glad we did and considered it value for money

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Our guide was excellent.... personal stories about her Maori family added to the experience.

Doing what: Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Very well organized, educational and enjoyable.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Everything was excellent! Maori village, performance and the dinner- a must do if travelling to nz! !

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

It was a great trip. Experienced guides, awsome scenery, thrilling rapids and waterfall. I highly recommend this trip.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the whole entire tour. Everything was great from the bus driver to the performers. Once it came to supper time, everything was delicious and there was more food than your stomach can handle. I don't know about the other Maori village, but the Tamaki Maori Village that we went to was just a lot of FUN!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

The bus driver darren was so funny the maori performance and dance was teary for me for a kiwi who now lives overseas the hangi was devine well worth it will recommend it

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

This was just the very best. The knowledge of the people involved, the entertainment - beautiful voices, and the food, was just wonderful. Thankyou for all your hard work, your friendliness - especially our bus driver and thankyou for sharing all the knowledge of your people with us. We appreciated all three tours very much.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

Absolutely amazing and great fun! We were four persons from Sweden, three 50+ and one 22 year old, that enjoyed every second of the rafting. Hold on! Whooohoooo!

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you are interested in the thermal areas around Rotorua, this tour is very informative and fascinating. Our guide Karl, was very knowledgeable about the geology of the area and of the Maori culture. Suggest that the visit to Lady Knox Geyser be removed as it is contrived and not in the Eco tour theme.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message