Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 303 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

griffjames2

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a great experience, even though I don't like water. They were organised and professional giving good instructions at the start. On the river was fabulous, building confidence on two smaller rapids first and then the big 7m drop which was awesome.- we did not tip over ! Having done the big one the pressure was off and good simply enjoy the remaining rapids. Totally recomended.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Joanne W Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

brilliant. Loved every minute of this. Tour leaders were fantastic.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Zigrida D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This tour was excellent. We learnt about the Maori culture using a fascinating format. We saw Maori dance, songs, weaving, games, weapon making and general cultural experiences. We saw the hangi dinner being made and had our dinner at the village . Our driver had great experience and was very knowledgeable and passionate about his culture. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Scott Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great food, great entertainment and very informative.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Bronwyn B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

As newcomers to 4WD, we had a great time on this tour. Our guide was really good at talking us through everything, and making sure we felt confident and secure in what we were doing. We were raving about to all our friends for the next few days.

Doing what: Rotorua 4WD Bush Safari Tour

Joni

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Two different guides during the day. Both good. Friendly and knowledgeable. Good day despite the horrific wearher

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Colin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Great fun. Cheeky without being tacky. Excellent introduction to Maori culture and people, and to be accepted as a friend of the Tamaki family.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Rayomand Pavri P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved the whole experience - great people the Mauris, excellent sense of humor, a living treasure

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Rayomand Pavri P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Loved the whole experience. It was a 10 out of 10. Great food, great walk through of Mauri history. It was like walking through a living museum

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

robert b

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Wonderful evening - the driver who took us there was such fun and set the scene for what was a great evening - I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

BRYAN M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was one ofthemost upifting tour's i haveever been on, I want to give a huge thank you to Wallace and the guides on our waka Huia, they were great,, a a big thank you also for taking care of my husband who was in a mobile scooter, very kind and made him safe through all expects of the tour. I have told every one i see his is a must and i am so happy that i got to seesuch a well polished performance andbrought a smile tomy face,, Thank you All The food was to die for, amazing,xx
Anne and Bryan Miller

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Maureen L T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This hangi dinner and performance was excellent. Transportation showed up when promised, and events occurred as scheduled. The careful explanation of the Maori welcome/greeting was excellent. The information about Maori life and culture was also terrific, and very authentic. The performances and the tattoos were outstanding.
We attended another performance in Rotorura and while it was good, the experience was far superior.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

sheldon t

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Thank you Mark for a totally memorable experience.
From bus pickup to bus dropoff.
Loved the show. Loved the food. Loved it all.
Ki Ora

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Rowena Z

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great evening despite the terrible weather. After a traditional greeting, we were taken by group through the Maori village and given displays of crafts, dance and games by the local Maori's. The evening ended with a short dance show and hangi dinner which was plentiful and well prepared. Really enjoyable insight into the Maori culture.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Barbara W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Fabulous bus driver named Mark! His Maori name has 56 letters...so, Mark! He is very entertaining and a fabulous linguist!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Tracey O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

such a professional slick performance, those involved are passionate and caring and it really shows. Food was good and plenty of it. We were not too keen on the alcoholic punch, didnt think it had any alcohol in it and was quite pricy. Apart from that this was certainly a highlight of our trip, the bus driver was an added extra - top marks to all :-

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Alison C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Highlight of Rotorua, exceptional staff, quality of food and cultural activities.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

kathysapp

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We spent a month touring Australia and New Zealand, and this was one of our very favorite excursions!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Jade I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Highly recommend!!!!!! My partner and I want to go back to NZ but stay with the tribe for a night. They were so incredibly welcoming, the food was amazing, and we learnt a fair bit. One of the best things we did while in NZ.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kathy B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Wonderful tour and guide went out of the way to accomodate us

Doing what: Discover Rotorua Morning City Tour

Anna B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

The Maori dinner/performance was amazing. Great entertainment by the bus driver, I would highly recommend this whole experience. My boys just loved the interaction at the village itself. Gave you a good insight into the culture of the Maori people.
I would not hesitate to return and recommend this to others.
10/10

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Jenny

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I don't think you can go to New Zealand without seeing Rotorua. And Rotorua did not disappoint, particularly the cultural performance which was outstanding. A definite tour for all visitors

Doing what: Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with Optional Cultural Performance

Joyce H

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Very good introduction to Maori culture.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

RIJU J

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

very good experience but was too crowded and was rushed through,

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Jill W

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

Great evening, very informative as well as fun. The food was lovely. The only thing that spoiled it for me was the coach driver on the way back. He insisted on a sing song...enforced fun is not my idea of a good time. At the end of the evening a nice quiet journey back would have been really appreciated.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message