Rotorua has something for everyone, from geothermal activity and luxurious mud baths to Maori cultural experiences and adrenaline rushes. "The Sulphur City" on New Zealand's North Island is the place to head for natural beauty, ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 191 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

As ex kiwis living in Australia i wanted my 20 year old son to experience the maori Culture though this. Unfortunately for him he was chosen as a chief and therefore for the WHOLE night was made to get uop in front of the whole group and be the "volunteer"
Whilst for some egoists this may be a great thing for my son this was hard work and he really was not able top relax. i would recommend not volunteering for this or if you get dragged ion atleast only say you want to do iot for a short part of the evening.
the venue meal and concert are good although very much tailored to the tourist who has not any history of NZ culture. By the end of the night if we heard Jo=ia ora one more time we would have lost it!!
Some research by the venue into people's background and level of knowledge would have been good. We learnt more in a 30 minute cht with the tour guide at whakarewarewa the next day in a much more convivial manner.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

KylieS
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun going over the waterfalls! My only complaint, not long enough!

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great fun, great team, River Rats were brilliant and safe.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

The River rats guides were fantastic. This experience was amazing though scary. You must be willing to get dunked in the water to go on this tour. My kids and I had a blast.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

A truly fun and amazing experience. The best way to enjoy this would be a group of friends. The weather was perfect, the water was warm and the four of us on the raft had the most amazing time rafting. A must do in Rotorua.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

We had a blast, and the staff were wonderful about accomodating a member of our party who has physical challenges. Really a thrilling ride in a gorgeous setting.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Loved the trip!
Thanks Steve for the great trip back and forth!
Abi and I enjoyed the day immensely!
Thanks!
Anita and Abi

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Simon G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Had and awesome time, our guides was funny and told us a lot, not just about rafting but about the area we where in too. Will do again next time we are in NZ

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Great time. Really worthwile

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This was a very interesting and enjoyable tour. The focus is on culture, practices and history. We really enjoyed the clarification on a number of issues we had read and heard about related to Maori culture. The staff were excellent, the dinner very good and the bus driver (Denise) great. Overall a very good evening.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

I cannot recommend this tour highly enough. From the moment we were picked up by the bus, until we were dropped off at the end of the evening we were thoroughly entertained. We were totally blown away at how professionally this tour was run. We were so enchanted by the Maori culture it was such a shame to leave. We were treated to many displays of the traditional way of life and a small concert afterwards. The food was plentiful and tasted amazing. Don't miss this tour.

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

AMAZING!! The best rafting I have ever done. These guys are fantastic and I cannot wait to come back and do it again! Highly recommended.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

This experience was phenomenal. From the time you are picked up from your hotel and dropped off again after dinner and the performance, Tamaki Maori village is the MUST DO experience. I have seen a Maori performance before, but nothing comes close to this. The stories and performances leave you yearning for more. As you walk through the village you are immersed in the Maori culture and lifestyle. So amazing, I cannot wait to come back!

Doing what: Rotorua Maori Hangi Dinner and Performance

Kierra
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Such a great way to see as many attractions possible in Rotorua as well as the famous Hobbiton movie Set. All our guides were fantastic. The farm show at Agrodome was a real laugh, they really get everyone involved no matter you age! I even got to milk a cow! Te Puia, there is nothing like this anywhere! Such an incredible and unique place that not only offers visitors an insight into the history of the Maori Culture but also the history of Rotorua and the Geothermal activity. The Hobbiton movie set is amazing. You are taken into a whole new world and it’s just so amazing. A Fantastic tour and highly recommended for those wanting to see as much of Rotorua on a short timeline.

Doing what: Rotorua City Tour and 'The Lord of the Rings' Hobbiton Movie Set

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

We had fun on the couple of big waterfalls, but surprised at how short the whole ride was. Would have thought there would be time to jump out and flow with the river a bit too.

Doing what: Kaituna River White Water Rafting from Rotorua

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message