Explore 30 million year old limestone formations and a cave full of glowworms in Waitamo Caves . Those who fancy something a little more thrilling don’t have to go too far. Like black water rafting into the Black Abyss or Labyrinth.  ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 27 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Trent was the best tourgide i have ever had

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Great guide, interesting but underwhelming experience. Worth seeing, but not the best thing you'll see in NZ

Doing what: Waitomo Glowworm Tour at Footwhistle Cave

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Trent was a great guide, very knowledgeable, generous spirited and very good value. Glad we took the full day tour rather than the half day because we got to see so much more of the local area and another geyser.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

We had a wonderful time and Trent was spectacular on our trip. This has been one of the highlights on our vacation and we highly recommend it!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Davjo
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

One of our best day trips of our NZ holiday!!! A must for anyones list.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

beautiful scenery and informative commentary.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Aris
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Great tour of Wai-o-Tapu and Waimangu Volcanic valley. Our guide Huru provided informative history of the Maori.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide, Huru, was excellent. We learned so much from him about the geology of the area and also about the history and culture of the Maori people .We had a very good tour of the area, which is amazing. We could not have had a better experience. Thanks.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

I found the day absolutely wonderful. I was met on time by Huru who was my guide for the day. I understood it was close to the end of the season, but I was very impressed that the tour was run as I was the only client. He was very knowledgible about the geology of the area which interested me greatly as I am a petroleum geologist. He also told me a lot about the local Maouri culture which I followed up further at the town Museum the following day. He was great company and it was a fascinating day. It made my trip down from KeriKeri well worth the long journey on two buses and I fully recommend the tour. It was excellent.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

If you are interested in the thermal areas around Rotorua, this tour is very informative and fascinating. Our guide Karl, was very knowledgeable about the geology of the area and of the Maori culture. Suggest that the visit to Lady Knox Geyser be removed as it is contrived and not in the Eco tour theme.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

We don't want to drive on the "wrong side of the road," so figured this would be the most practical way to see a lot of sights near Rotorua. In eight hours, we hit most of the highlights, and learned some about Maori culture and crafts ... the 75:25 balance was just right.

Our all-day guide, Huru, was very personable. He was enthusiastic, shared generously of his upbringing, his father's and mother's background, and stories about many of his ancestors (including, humorously, cultural wisdom about which types of Pakeha were most delicious to eat. And he seemed to know everybody in town, calling them "cousins" and greeting many people by name as he drove or walked. He was graceful about a late start (something delayed the van before he picked us up) and the subsequent rush ... he still took time to give us full attention when we joined the group.

It would have been better if he'd used his mic more while we drove ... he was sometimes hard to hear in the back seats of the mini-bus. He was a little curt telling other tourists they could not listen to him talk to our tour group. But overall, Huru was a delightful guide and host.

On one tour, we met Trent Neilsen (overall leader of Elite Travel in Rotorua), who was leading a different group. We were pleased he remembered us from e-mail correspondence a few months earlier. He seems to run a good operation.

We were mostly interested in the thermal area, volcanoes, etc., and were not particularly looking forward to the Maori culture portion of the day, but Huru made this worthwhile for us also. We had studied some Maori words in advance and appreciated his help with pronunciation, refining the dictionary meaning, etc.

Overall, a good use of a day. Perhaps even better than had we hired a car, tried to decide what best to see, and driven ourselves around.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2012

Loved every minute guides very knowledgable and friendly

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

A great day with a great driver. Certainly worth while doing. Door to door service. Driver very informative and friendly.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2012

Excellent, tracks for all levels of driver experience, very glad we did this one.
Well guided

Doing what: Rotorua 4WD Bush Safari Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2012

Enjoyed being in a smaller group rather than a coach. Friendly and informative driver. Great trip. We had fun.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2011

The morning is great - as you get to visit the mud and thermal pools as well as see the geyser. The afternoon is somewhat average - you visit the green and blue lakes (not as impressive as you might think), and the buried village (which is again nothing special). I would recommend the half day tour, and do something a bit more useful with your afternoon!

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2011

We had a great trip. The guide was fun, and the whole experience was well organised and presented. Certainly recommended.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

John V
Netherlands

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2010

Because we were alone with the guide it was absolutely great

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2010

Excellent and well organized tour. Thank you for the wonderful day.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Derek W
United Kingdom

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2010

If you've seen one thermal park that is enough and the geyser was good. Afternoon in buried village too long and only one 15-minute break the whole day for lunch - too short.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

David R
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2010

This tour was excellent. The tour guide was friendly and amazingly helpful. We were picked up in a spacious vehicle and taken to some great places. The guide was able to show and tell us some spectacular things and then was sensitive enough to give us some time to explore things by ourselves. To any one going to Rotorua for a visit, we would suggest you take this tour and see some great stuff.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

David C
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2009

A day full of stunning scenery. The highlight was Waimangu Volcanic Valley - the Frying Pan Lake there was simply breathtaking. Wai-O-Tapu was also very beautiful, as were the various lakes. The guide was excellent - he was extremely knowledgeable and did a great job of explaining the history of the area.

Doing what: Rotorua Eco Thermal Small Group Full-Day Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

An adrenalin rush to get you started in the morning. Specially recommended on a rainy day. Our driver kept us on the edge our seats and was very entertaining.

Doing what: Rotorua Monster 4X4 Thrill Ride

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2008

I've never been quite the adventurous type so I was a little concerned about taking this trip however there was absolutely no need to worry as it looked much more difficult than what it was! I absolutely loved the challenge and felt so proud of myself when I completed it. I would LOVE to take this trip again. Absolute highlight of my trip to Rotorua.

Doing what: Rotorua 4WD Bush Safari Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message