• USD ($)
  • English
A buzzing metropolis that continues to expand, Moscow is the cultural, political and historic heart of Russia. Sprawling out from the Kremlin and Red Square, the city provides an eclectic mix of old and new. A visit to Moscow is not about ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 115 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Absolutely brilliant!! Each station was so different and our guide, Irena, was fantastic, friendly and extremely knowledgable!!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Fantastic tour, guide was incredibly knowledgeable. Really interesting and engaging. Some beautiful stations!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

Ok for the money, and worth a circuit on the bus. However catching the bus was slightly difficult. We have to go to the info centre near red square to find where to get it from. Other bus stops around the circuit are not well posted either.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I am so glad that we did this! You can't help but notice the artistry in the Moscow Metro, and it is fascinating to see and learn about the history behind the more prominent stops. It also gave me a greater appreciation for the other stops I came across in my travels. Alena is warm and friendly and I had a great time touring with her.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2014

It was absolutely worth doing and the commentary was very good giving you a good historical overview, but the windows of the bus were so dirty, due to snow the day before, that it was difficult to get a good view. Moscow is an incredible city and I wish the tour had a longer route.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

This was really good and informative although at times the commentary was out of synch with where we actually were. It was a great way to see the sights and get our bearings.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A high paced, highly interesting and very informative tour. I've not seen any metro anywhere else with such interesting history portrayed in its architecture, statues, murals and paintings. The history behind each station is very interesting.

The guide was very articulate and knew her history. Her English was excellent.

I would thoroughly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great experience with excellent guide. Fabulous architecture and artwork in the stations with lots of interesting history.Be aware for people with limited mobility it is fast paced and lots of working but not to be missed if you are in Moscow.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

It was a real immersion in Moscow history. Our guide was great and she explained us about the Underground construction and its relation with the communist propaganda. A must do!!

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This tour was great. Moscow underground is full of history and masterpieces. Our guide was very knowledgeable and happy to answer all my questions regarding Moscow and Russian traditions. Recommended.

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2013

Very good tour. We were surprised as nobody else had booked this tour that day, and we had a private tour on a car with a very nice guide Tatiana, and a skilled driver. We asked them to leave us at the Tretyakov gallery at the end of the tour and they kindly accepted. We made stops at certain points so that we were able to take pictures.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2013

You do get to see the city but at a steep cost of time if you only haveBus routes overlap so you are forced to repeat 45 mins of sights you already saw. The info is different but drivers sit and wait quite a long time at certain stops to pick up more people. Take the metro and do sites on your own.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2013

I booked and paid for this tour in advance. Its very good to take a city bus tour in Moscow. I really enjoyed it especially from the top of the bus. It had an audio interesting commentary.The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful and spoke some English which was a plus for me. However..... this ONLY works in my opinion as a City bus tour and the concept of "hop on hop off" didn't really work in Moscow. There is too much very heavy traffic, and in the end practically only about 4 places to pick up the bus on the route.The actual stops ( about 4) were not signed and were difficult to find. I expected to be able to pick up the bus at any of the 20+ stops but it was not possible because the bus may be in the centre lanes of very heavy fast traffic and have to pass by the advertised stops. As a first time visitor to Moscow it was impossible to find the actual 4 stops using the map and tour literature, as they are quite far apart and Moscow centre is not easily accessible to find your way around for pedestrians and non-speaking/reading visitors, I wouldn't advise trying to walk between attractions and stops as they were when I went on this tour- perhaps they will improve it who knows- just take the whole bus tour without getting off. One other passenger told me he had tried to hop on and hop off and got hopelessly lost between the stops and it took hours to pick up the bus again. This needs to be better organised to be a hop on and hop off bus.

Doing what: Moscow Hop-On Hop-Off Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2013

Beautiful tour and amazing guide

Doing what: Moscow Metro Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2013

We got there right on time, but a couple arrived almost 30 minutes late. Not sure if this was the cause of the rest of the tour being rushed, but that was how it felt. We passed a lot of great sites but that was just it -- we passed by them. Only stopped at 3-4 sites to take photos for about 5 minutes.

Doing what: Small-Group Moscow City Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message