Perched proudly at the end of the Barra peninsula and housed inside an ancient Portuguese fort, Barra Lighthouse (Farol da Barra) is a prime spot to view the spectacular sunsets and views across All Saints Bay (Todos os Santos). Explore inside ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 10 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Very informative and our guide John Paul was humorous.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

The tour was pretty bad. The tour guide's English was practically incomprehensible. While on the bus, he announced the different sites we were passing, but it was too quick to know what he was talking about and we could barely see out of the bus windows. Basically, the only time we were not on the bus was went we got to the Pelourinho...some of the stops were interesting, but I felt like I was being taken places for the sole purpose of getting me to spend money in places where the guide (or company) knew people. One store was nice because they had locally made T-shirts (TIM Bahia Camisetas), but then we were also taken to a jewelry store, and an overpriced restaurant where we were charged extra for the musician that was performing (though noone asked us if we wanted music).

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The guide was friendly, but he did not give much in the way of history, made it more about social commentary. The guide spent a lot of time taking us to two stores so that we could buy things. I assume that Viator or the guide has some kind of kick-back deal for taking tourists to the stores (one was a semi-precious stone store, and the other sold T-shirts and tourist knick-knacks). Because the pickups were slow and so much time was wasted in the stores, there was less time to visit the historic sites, and then they even didn't show everything that was supposed to be on the tour! Largely a waste of time and money.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful tour -learned so muchabout the city. Our guide was so nice and very informative.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

My husband and I were the only ones on this excellent tour, the guide was well informed and customized the tour to our specific interest.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

excellent guide jean luis tres bonne connaissance de son programme

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Great walking tour of the historical portions of Salvador city. Accompanying Guide was friendly and spoke good English, patiently explaining the significance of the important buildings and sights in different languages.
Trip was marred by the more than 1.5 hr late pick-up for the tour. Reason was traffic pick-ups far from the city.
Further, the local tour agent spoke little English on the phone, and could not explain why the pick-up was late when I called to check.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Christina showed us all the nice historical places in Salvador d.B. and gave us always the necessary historical background.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Wonderful trip - very personable tour guide named Cris. She was very attentive and did well considering that she had to deliver the tour information in three different languages.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Incredible sights, driver and tour guide were very accommodating. They are very knowledgeable of the places we visited, took time to explain the specifics. Definitely the best guide we had.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message