• USD ($)
  • English
If Rio de Janeiro is Brazil’s golden, glamorous face, and the Amazon its exotic, mysterious heart, then Salvador da Bahia is its irrepressibly joyful soul. Famous for its wild festivals (Salvador’s Carnaval gives Rio’s a run for its money) and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 17 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

The place was too small of all those people and stage was too small.. The guide Andre was very helpful. He knows his history of Salvador. That to me was the best part of the tour.

Doing what: Salvador da Bahia by Night

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Great entertainment. Good food. Did not really see the city at night.

Doing what: Salvador da Bahia by Night

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

The guide was friendly, but he did not give much in the way of history, made it more about social commentary. The guide spent a lot of time taking us to two stores so that we could buy things. I assume that Viator or the guide has some kind of kick-back deal for taking tourists to the stores (one was a semi-precious stone store, and the other sold T-shirts and tourist knick-knacks). Because the pickups were slow and so much time was wasted in the stores, there was less time to visit the historic sites, and then they even didn't show everything that was supposed to be on the tour! Largely a waste of time and money.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2013

Wonderful tour -learned so muchabout the city. Our guide was so nice and very informative.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

My husband and I were the only ones on this excellent tour, the guide was well informed and customized the tour to our specific interest.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Private pick up and drop off. Buffet food gave one an introduction to local dishes. Fabulous folkloric show with beautiful costumes. Our table was right in front of the stage.

Doing what: Salvador da Bahia by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2012

Just three guests on this day tour to small villages. Our guide took us to a market and let us sample different fruits. Lots of history in these small towns. Great Lunch in a convent now converted into a parador.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

tres beau spectacle et jean luis nous a placé a la meilleure table merci

Doing what: Salvador da Bahia by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2012

excellent guide jean luis tres bonne connaissance de son programme

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2011

Great walking tour of the historical portions of Salvador city. Accompanying Guide was friendly and spoke good English, patiently explaining the significance of the important buildings and sights in different languages.
Trip was marred by the more than 1.5 hr late pick-up for the tour. Reason was traffic pick-ups far from the city.
Further, the local tour agent spoke little English on the phone, and could not explain why the pick-up was late when I called to check.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2011

Christina showed us all the nice historical places in Salvador d.B. and gave us always the necessary historical background.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
March 2011

This trip was absolutely not a single Dollar worth. We visited 3 places thats it and absolutely poor background information on it. Furthermore we went to places which were closed (like the market, whats the sense to go there?) We were not satisfaid with this trip. We wish us the money and time back which we lost in this trip...

Doing what: Panoramic Salvador Half Day City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2010

Wonderful trip - very personable tour guide named Cris. She was very attentive and did well considering that she had to deliver the tour information in three different languages.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Tour guide and driver were very friendly, helped us find the best seats and took the time to explain everything to us even if it was not related to our tour. Very nice people!

Doing what: Salvador da Bahia by Night

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2010

Incredible sights, driver and tour guide were very accommodating. They are very knowledgeable of the places we visited, took time to explain the specifics. Definitely the best guide we had.

Doing what: Historical Salvador City Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message