Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 183 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Its the best tour I have ever done. The Lakes and Mountain is so beautiful - it hurts. The salt mines were also fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far the best tour of our experience. Our guide was top notch and got us good comfortable seats for the boat ride. The scenery was outstanding and everyone should visit Salzburg once in their lives. Everything and everyone was always on time which is very important to me. Thanks, K

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Europe and this was easily the most wonderful experience we had during the entire trip. We were a bit concerned that what we would receive would match up with the price but the day far exceed our expectations. We originally booked this tour because my grandmother moves very slowly and uses a wheelchair for any distance walking, and we were concerned about keeping up with a big tour group; however, if you can squeeze it into your budget this is the best tour ever.

Starting the day off at Leopoldskron Palace was amazing, made better by all the people telling us that it was closed to the public and none of the tours went there, the closest we would get was the other other side of the lake. Seeing the amazing rococo building that Max saved just really set the mood for the day.

We had a list of must-see places that I had informed the company of before hand and also shared with our tour guide at the beginning of the day and they were 100% accommodating, I was concerned because communication before the tour was a little challenging but I don't know if that was from the viator end or Panoramic a Tours in Salzburg, but it didn't matter because they had all my messages and planned accordingly.

Our tour guide, who's name I can not remember now, was fantastic! He is a a Salzburg native and his knowledge of the area was impressive, so along with the history of the movie and the real history of the family I learned quite a bit about the history of Salzburg and Austria as he was able to answer any question we threw at him. The entire day our guide was generous with information, funny, personable and engaging. Our guide ended the tour with a sing along of sound of music songs on our way back down the alps, the perfect end to a perfect day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the most amazing tour. Our driver was very professional and so informative. This was a tour of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

tannml
Malaysia

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

First half of the tour on Salt Mines was great fun. Can't say much about the Lakes and Mountains tour in the afternoon. The boat ride was disappointing. It was overcrowded. If it was just Salt Mines alone I would have rated this tour 4 stars.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2014

long way to travel for short time at village

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour was good but we were left waiting at the start with no information as to what was happening

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

the tour was poorly planned and local sights were shown fleetingly. Waste of money

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day out - not to be missed. A very informative, helpful guide and good to see the scenic beauty of the lakes when based in the city.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, the Salt Mines were just great a lot of information and fun. The Austrian lakes are wonderful got great pitchers of the lakes. The boat ride was a great way to see lake Wolfgang, the tour guide was wonderful he kept us laughing. I would recommend this tour to everybody. Everything was timed just right, enough time for lunch and walking around.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Top rated! Had a lovely time at the Scloss Leopoldskron and had a surprise visit and music from Elizabeth Von Trapp the granddaughter of the Baron at their former home! Tom, our guide, was first rate! Very well worth the time and fare!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Almost the duplicate and the sound of music tour but with a smaller group.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour was a nice day out and the weather was great for the trip on Lake St Wolfgang. The village and church of St Wolfgang were also beautiful. The only issues we experienced was that the tour guide did not accompany the group to the boat leaving 15 of us without tickets to get onto the boat. We all had an anxious period of wondering whether the boat will leave without us. We also did not visit Castle Fuschl as advertised on Viator website.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

1. Read the fine print. Unlike all the other tour operators we have dealt with his operator offers only hotel pickup NOT drop off at hotel at end of tour.

2. This tour is not as described. The boat trip is from St Gilgin to St Wolfgang. This means that t St Wolfgang there is a very steep hill to climb to get from boat landing to town square and later to get to tour bus at top of a very steep 400 metre hill. This tour is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulty.

3. City tour was done well. Excellent guide.

4. Bus/Boat tour was passable but guide was arrogant.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message