• USD ($)
  • English

Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 174 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

A great day out - not to be missed. A very informative, helpful guide and good to see the scenic beauty of the lakes when based in the city.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, the Salt Mines were just great a lot of information and fun. The Austrian lakes are wonderful got great pitchers of the lakes. The boat ride was a great way to see lake Wolfgang, the tour guide was wonderful he kept us laughing. I would recommend this tour to everybody. Everything was timed just right, enough time for lunch and walking around.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Top rated! Had a lovely time at the Scloss Leopoldskron and had a surprise visit and music from Elizabeth Von Trapp the granddaughter of the Baron at their former home! Tom, our guide, was first rate! Very well worth the time and fare!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Almost the duplicate and the sound of music tour but with a smaller group.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2014

The tour was a nice day out and the weather was great for the trip on Lake St Wolfgang. The village and church of St Wolfgang were also beautiful. The only issues we experienced was that the tour guide did not accompany the group to the boat leaving 15 of us without tickets to get onto the boat. We all had an anxious period of wondering whether the boat will leave without us. We also did not visit Castle Fuschl as advertised on Viator website.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

1. Read the fine print. Unlike all the other tour operators we have dealt with his operator offers only hotel pickup NOT drop off at hotel at end of tour.

2. This tour is not as described. The boat trip is from St Gilgin to St Wolfgang. This means that t St Wolfgang there is a very steep hill to climb to get from boat landing to town square and later to get to tour bus at top of a very steep 400 metre hill. This tour is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulty.

3. City tour was done well. Excellent guide.

4. Bus/Boat tour was passable but guide was arrogant.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

What a wonderful private tour!! Our family of five just loved this day!!! Was so nice to see the extra sights not available on the regular SOM tour. Lisa, our tour guide was just wonderful and we just loved her. Very easy going and VERY RELAXED tour. . .this is the way to go and worth the extra expense. So many BEAUTIFUL places to see. We loved seeing the actual home of the Von Trapps. An onsite tour is done at this home and it was just fascinating to hear the actual story that inspired the film. Would highly recommend this tour and we will definitely look for other private tours through Viator to book in our future travels.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Our guide on the bus, Walter was very funny and informative the company is organized and efficient the salt mines are great for family's or those that are interested in the mining process our guide within the actual mine was very considerate and making sure that everyone was calm and comfortable

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

The Salt Mines tour was rather short. Interesting but The Eagle Nest was better in terms of experience and scenery. The lake cruise in the afternoon is good when weather permitting . It was raining when our tour arrived at the boat. So that was not so nice . Bring an umbrella !

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2014

Beautiful scenery. However, would rather they not combine so many different tours together as we waste time dropping off people who will not be joining the later part of the tour and so forth.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This private tour was well worth the money. Our guide was excellent and the experience of breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron was a once in a lifetime opportunity.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

The private tour is well worth it. We especially enjoyed our visit to and breakfast at at the movie's Von Trapp family mansion and also our visit to the real-life Vont Trapp family mansion.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

This was a really great way to spend the day. Half the day at the Salt Mines and half the day in the mountains and lake districts with an hour break for lunch in Salzburg. The Salt Mine tour is very informative and fun as you have to take a speedy open train down some dark tunnels then a long wooden slide even deeper into the mines. Headsets are provided for translating the tour guide's information. The entire process is reviewed as to how salt is mined and prepared for use. The exhibits are very well done using great graphics and high technology. There is even a short boat ride across an underground lake that is all lit up to demonstrate salt crystals. Very cool. This is such a great outing and appealing to adults and kids. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2014

We visited a 450 year old salt mine below Obersalzburg, which was quite an experience. Next we went to Berchtesgaden, a rather picturesque Bavarian village where we spent a short amount of time. Gelato ( for 1 euro) was delicious! Then we went on a cruise on Lake Wolfgang and spent time in the village of Wolfgangsee.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The Austrian Lakes part of this tour was really lovely. However was a little disappointed with the City Tour - we literally sat on a bus for the whole duration, and got whisked around the sights of Salzburg. I would have preferred to walk around a bit. However the guide did a great job, considering the itinerary. Would definitely recommend the Lakes component.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message