Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 231 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It rained a ittle ...but this has to be on the bucket list..

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour
Best lakes u ever see

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Beautiful scenery! Highlight seeing The White Horse Inn and the relaxing boat ride on Wolfgangsee.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Jan S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour for our family was all that we expected it to be and more. Our tour guide, Peter, was amazing! He was friendly, professional, and knowledgable. He helped make our day a memorable one. The included breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron was delicious. The private tour does cost more, but for a once-in-a-lifetime tour with our kids and their wives, this was most definitely the way to go. It's much better to see things up close and personal...not from across the lake, for example. We highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The salt mines had some interesting moments but the highlight was speeding down the slides. The lakes tours was at an easy going pace with beautiful views.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Company very disorganized about putting guests on buses. They consistently tried to jam as many people on the same bus, even when they were on separate tours. The Salt Mines tour was worth seeing though.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

It was a very well organized tour. The sights were out of this world. Made memories to last a lifetime. The best of Austria was covered in tihs tour. The lakes were spectacular as were the mountains. We passed beautiful sights and had a memorable tour. Thank you.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Comfortable coach, good local guide. Even with light rain the outing was fun. I only wish we had more time in the little town.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Travelled with a family group including three adult children. Convenient and we covered a lot of ground - a great treat for fans of the Sound of Music. Breakfast was ok. The tour was wonderful. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Andreas was very pleasant providing detailed information during the salt mine tour. The slide at the salt mine was fantastic and the lake cruise relaxing and the scenery fantastic.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very fun and beautiful trip! We had a great time touring both the Salt Mines and taking the boat trip on Lake Wolfgang! The weather was perfect and the views of the mountains from the lake were breathtaking.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The salt mine tour was very informative and surprisingly fun and a lazy boat trip, along a picturesque lake to a beautiful St Wolfgang for tea and cake, was a great way to end off a Sunday.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Great adventure into the actual salt mines!!! Worth it!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Sound of Music fantastic. Helen was fantastic. The next day we went on the City + mountain and lake tour which was going to overlap the SOM tour sites so our fantastic driver (unfortunately we didn't get his name) took us to other sites which were even better than the Sites from the previous tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We ended up not doing this exact tour because Eagle's Nest had just opened two days before. We were ablw to switch to that tour with some additional cost. It was an amazing day! The sky was clean and the sun was shining. The views fromthe Eagle's Nest are some of the most spectacular we have ever seen. We enjoyed the salt mine tour and the quaint village of Berchtesgaden, Germany and King Lake.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Guide informative. Beautiful scenery and the trip on the lake was enjoyable. Glad we weren't there in peak season. Salt mines were interesting and worth visiting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

spat
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Beautiful way to see the area outside Salzburg and hear more about the wonderful history of this area. Our guide was knowledgeable and had great stories about both the past and present events in the area.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

A lovely trip around some beautiful country. Max, our tour guide was entertaining, knowledgeable and made the trip a fantastic activity to do while visiting. The weather was disappointing - but we made the best out of the situation.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour was boring and expensive, I feel like I wasted a day. Too much time in the bus.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Very good tour.. Interesting and very helpful guide

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message