Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 195 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Beautiful scenery, i highly recommend this trip. I had a fantastic guide who gave a commentary about the historical background of salzburg which i really appreciated.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Superior. We had so much fun. The weather was perfect and the tour was outstanding. One of th best.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

3 star rating: Worth doing
October 2014

Enjoyed time spent in St Wolfgang. Thought tour started late in the day ( 2 pm) so lost viewing and photo opportunities in the latter stage of the tour.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Its the best tour I have ever done. The Lakes and Mountain is so beautiful - it hurts. The salt mines were also fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Didn't really care for Salt Mines-I'm kinda claustrophobic I found out, bu that is not Viator's fault at all. They were magnifcient-pcked me up at my hotel, kept us all informed as to what was going on when. Very well organized.Lakes tour was great! Loved Berchtesgaden u. St. Wolfgang. Lovely.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Stunning scenery, great boat trip and wonderful Austrian town with beautiful medieval church, loved the tour

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Best guide...made the tour more fun.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This combined tour was very beautiful very good organised and perfect discount better than you took each tour seperately

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This was an amazing tour. Wolfgang and especially the old church was a really amazing place to visit. We had an hour to wander the town which was more than enough time. The driver on the way pulled over for us to snap some pictures for a few minutes so there was never a feeling of being rushed.. The tour guide was so nice and totally knowledgeable. The boat ride is fantastic though it is crowded but that had nothing to do with the tour company the boat is locally owned. Make sure you have cash most stores take no credit cards cash only but really nice and unique Austrian goods. 2-6 in early evening was perfect for us we are lunch before and had dinner on drop off near the church

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
September 2014

This is a repeat of the same area as 'The Sound of Music' tour - so if you were booking this music tour, then go on another tour. The scenery is beautiful, but the boat ride is taken at the same time as many other tour groups - no real room to sit, relax and take photos!! VERY squished and disappointing!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far the best tour of our experience. Our guide was top notch and got us good comfortable seats for the boat ride. The scenery was outstanding and everyone should visit Salzburg once in their lives. Everything and everyone was always on time which is very important to me. Thanks, K

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Europe and this was easily the most wonderful experience we had during the entire trip. We were a bit concerned that what we would receive would match up with the price but the day far exceed our expectations. We originally booked this tour because my grandmother moves very slowly and uses a wheelchair for any distance walking, and we were concerned about keeping up with a big tour group; however, if you can squeeze it into your budget this is the best tour ever.

Starting the day off at Leopoldskron Palace was amazing, made better by all the people telling us that it was closed to the public and none of the tours went there, the closest we would get was the other other side of the lake. Seeing the amazing rococo building that Max saved just really set the mood for the day.

We had a list of must-see places that I had informed the company of before hand and also shared with our tour guide at the beginning of the day and they were 100% accommodating, I was concerned because communication before the tour was a little challenging but I don't know if that was from the viator end or Panoramic a Tours in Salzburg, but it didn't matter because they had all my messages and planned accordingly.

Our tour guide, who's name I can not remember now, was fantastic! He is a a Salzburg native and his knowledge of the area was impressive, so along with the history of the movie and the real history of the family I learned quite a bit about the history of Salzburg and Austria as he was able to answer any question we threw at him. The entire day our guide was generous with information, funny, personable and engaging. Our guide ended the tour with a sing along of sound of music songs on our way back down the alps, the perfect end to a perfect day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message