Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 255 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jaslyn T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Totally enjoyed the visit to the salt mines! Loved the train ride and slides. Didn and #39;t know it was so difficult to get salt until this trip. The visit to the lakes and mountains was relaxing. As there want boat trip, we were offered cakes and tea which was perfect for the cold weather! Must try!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos, the Tour Guide, did an exceptional job.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Penelope W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Enjoyed this trip out to the lakes. It was a gentle pace, suitable for my 84 year old mother. It was a wonderfully sunny and warm day which meant we could appreciate the scenery more. It had been cloudy when we arrived and so we wouldn't have seen much if we had gone on that day. The guide was knowledgeable and the commentary informative. The only downside was that it followed the same route taken by the Sound of Music tour for half the journey.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Kyla W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

This tour is beautiful. It snowed the entire tour. It was beautiful. No mountain peaks today and the lakes could not be seen from a distance. I didn and #39;t take this tour this way. The Sound of Music and this tour over lap. Panarama Tour was kind enough to transfer my tour to Bavarian Alps and Salt Mine.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Barry L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

After taking the Sound of Music tour first, I realized that there still was more lakes and cities to see around Salzburg. If you love the beauty of lakes and mountains, you can't get enough of them and this tour fit the bill.

Doing what: Private Tour: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Tour from Salzburg

Kathryn M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip was really wonderful, it was basically a private your through the most beautiful parts of Austria!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Mitchell P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful way to spend a day in Austria. The tours a small groups, very personal and the tour guides were both friendly and very well informed of their tours with loads of experience. Great values for money and a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Ralph T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The salt mine was fairly arduous and the lake was mazing. The drive was long.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Faraz Uddin S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Salt mines tour is not worth it. However the second half of the day austrian lakes and mountains was quite beautiful

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Wildspirit United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Although it was misty Peter made sure we seen all the sights that were good for photography. Peter advised us to go on the boat ride as we would get good photos and true to his word we did. Peter was very informative and answered any questions that we asked. We really enjoyed the limousine.

Doing what: Private Tour: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Tour from Salzburg

Robert E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

excellent tour highly recommennd

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

gerald d

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Salt Mine tour was fun. Did not care for the shared ride with the Eagle's Nest tour as this left no time to look in the gift shop or look for our souvenir photos. Too much bus time spent going back and forth between the Salt Mine and the Eagle's Nest also cut into time at Berchtesgaden.
Austrian Lakes and Mountains Tour was good way to be introduced to little gems of St. Gilgen and St. Wolfgang on Lake Wolfgang, Short boat ride on lake was a nice break for a drink. Many picturesque chalet houses and hotels to see. There was ample time to shop or eat in St. Wolfgang.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Vicky

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The city tour was honestly a partial waste of time, as we spent all the time inside a minivan with the driver/tour guide. However, one hour would not have been enough to see everything he showed.

The BEST part of the tour, and what was totally worth doing, was the boat ride to the lakes and mountains and visit to St. Wolfgang. Absolutely breathtaking, seeing the alps, beautiful waters of the lakes, and seeing the little towns with colorful houses. We have a wonderful time.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

Reesa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Driver was great and customized the tour to our interests . The only criticism is that the breakfast was a very basic buffet and half the dishes were empty by the time we got there

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

David J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

beautiful scenery and boat ride. The tour guide put on Viennese waltzes while we were driving, which added to the atmosphere. Also, loved seeing the church at Mondsee, where the Sound of Music wedding took place. Great way to see the mountains and lakes near Salzburg!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

James A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Great tour, really enjoyed both the Salt mines and the Lakes. Salt mine slide was great fun!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Karthik K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Wonderful trip, Stunning mountain and Lake views and a new experience in Salt mines. Our Guide Walter was very very good and provided us a lot of information. A relaxing boat ride in Lake Wolfgang see. Thanks to Viator.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Reynold K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

David was great. He took us to and explained all the sites. It was a memorable and great day! Thanks David for making it so complete. You enhanced our knowledge of the Sound of Music immensely!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Tara B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent commentary by a nice guide in both German and English--entertaining without being cheesy, and gave us a lot of interesting info about what we were seeing. Glad they pulled over for a photo op once, then organized a great ferry ride across Wolfgangsee and adequate time for some brief sightseeing in St. Wofgang before the bus ride back to Salzburg. Great experience all around!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Edwin K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Beautiful scenery on Austrian lakes and mountain tour. Tour guide was very professional and knowledgeable. Enjoyed the entire tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Galina O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

This tour is fantastic and we really enjoyed it. The two parts were completely different: the visit to the salt mine is very informative and relaxing at the same time while the tour of the lakes is a pure enjoyment for one's eye.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Kwok Cheung John C Hong Kong

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2015

Disappointing tour. The City Tour is a pure bus tour, and there is practically no chance to get out of the bus to see the various sites. The second part -- the ferry tour is too long.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

bobby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It rained a ittle ...but this has to be on the bucket list..

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message