• USD ($)
  • English

Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Austrian Lake District

Affectionately known as the Austrian Lake District, Salzkammergut is one of Austria's premiere holiday destinations, featuring crystal clear lakes, picturesque hillsides, and quaint yet fantastic villages.     Those travelers with a penchant for ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 153 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2014

We would like to thank Natasha for an a very informative and entertaining Sound of Music Tour. We really enjoyed the tour and all the places we visited. It was good value for the money spent. Well done and thanks very much.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Great tour the scenery around lake wolfgangsee was beautiful and seeing it by boat was very enjoyable. St Wolfgang is a beautiful spot to stop at. Another great day in Austria

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

A wonderful afternoon among all the beauty of the Austrian Lake District. We had a wonderful guide - Marco - who was very informed and entertaining. Definitely recommend this tour!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Very nice scenery and the tour guide is very helpful. Salt Mines is a place you should go. My son and wife really enjoyed it.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We had to meet the tour guide across from the Mirabell Gardens. We were looking for some sign of "Viator" not knowing the local tour company had a different name. Once we figured that out we were shown to a van and sat in the van for 15 minutes while we were waiting for a late arrival. The first hour of the tour is a van trip that is not worth your time. Although the guide was good if you were sitting in the middle of the van seat you didn't see much. You can have a better time using the "hop on - hop off" bus and a guide book. The second part of the tour was a bus ride up to the lakes area and well worth the trip. A boat ride on Lake Wolfgang and a stop at St. Wolfgang with beautiful scenery. The stop at St. Wolfgang could be lengthened.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2013

Beautiful tour and country. Love to stay here.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2013

it was a good experience at the salt mines .. and a beutiful scenary while cruising on the lakes.. over all had good fun.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Since we had taken the Original Sound of Music tour the local operator suggested we change the tour as this one would be a duplicate. He convinced us to take the Bavarian Mountain Tour. Which was disappointing. We spent an hour in a town while we waited for those who were on the Salt Mine Tour. Most of the day was spent on the bus outside of the 1 hour wait. The City Tour ran late and was in a van which you couldn't see out of the windows and then the Bavarian bus left without us so we had to be driven to catchup to the tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

My wife and I agree that this was our favorite tour, while in Austria. NATASHA is a wonderful tour guide and our "new best friend". To have a private tour for two with all the film locations, breakfast and lunch is beyond description! WORTH THE MONEY! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! We would do it again!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2013

This was an excellent trip including the boat ride and visit to the lakeside village. The lakeside towns and resorts were beautiful. We would recommend it to all in the area.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

We are glad that we took the tour.Its a beautifully planned tour of the austrian countryside.our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.The only thing which we felt was there was no time for st.gilgen as we had catch the boat.But its such a breathtaking village.overall it was a nice trip.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

We were expecting more than what was offered. It was only the boat ride on lake Wolfgang and the town square. Not value for money compared to other tours we took.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Salzburg city tour was useless. Guide was servicing both German and English speaking tourist. She was talking too fat and we could hardly understand anything she said. This was inspite of asking her to slow down. Monuments would pass by after she was done telling us about them so we did not kno which monument she was taking about. As far as lake and Mountain trip is concerned, it was good.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Excellent Value, Beautiful Scenery. Lovely little towns. Well worth it.

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2013

Beautiful! The tour guide was fantastic and well informed. I would highly recommend this tour! I want to go back!

Doing what: Austrian Lakes and Mountains Salzburg Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message