Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt. Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 828 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

brilliant. very good guide

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was a great tour! The tour guide, Andy, was both knowledgable and witty! We enjoyed it!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Very nice tour by Ursula! Comfortable bus ride (bathroom and drinks sold by bus driver) with Ursula providing background on the history of Bavaria and current events. She was right...all the cows in Bavaria do look happy! She also got us up to the Eagle's Nest very efficiently so that we had plenty of time to explore and then back with enough time for lunch and shopping. Good walking tour of Berchtesgaden, I think it would have been great to see the salt mines, as well.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

I thought the tour was very educational and enlightening. A lot if that probably has to do with our tour guide. She had everything scheduled perfectly and even showed us a few extra things. She also seemed to love her job!! Excellent job!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Best tour of the trip. Our guide was spectacular!! Panorama did an excellent job. Make sure you get all of the details of this historic gem. We were glued to the side of our guide the emtire time. He was a very kind and thoughtful gentleman who was about to turn 60, and he seemed to truly enjoy .

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour and good guide

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Interesting tour, explained relevant detail about the construction of he Eagle's Nest. Possibly needed more time at the Documentation Centre/Bunker. Not this tour's fault but desperately need English translations at the Documentation Centre!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Wonderful tour! Our guide (his name escapes me) was very knowledgeable, making the tour that much more interesting. Everything was timed to the minute, it seemed like (in a good way). Plenty of time to take in that view! When we come back to Salzburg, we will definitely book this tour again, probably adding on the salt mines portion. What a great time!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour, great guide - made for one of the best days of the entire holiday.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Beautiful scenery. Excellent tour guide. Well worth the money.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Super tour - unfortunately weather was poor on the day but still a very enjoyable experience. Our guide, Andreas, was excellent! Very highly recommended!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Tour was fantastic. The tour guide was very knowledgable and brought out lots on interesting facts. Would recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

My favorite tour of them all! Gunther, our tour guide was great! It starts with a bus ride viewing the beautiful countryside of Germany, while traveling on the Autobon . The sight of the Alps takes your breath away. Upon our arrival we entered into Hitler's bunker. (Had no idea Hitler had this built). We had time for lunch, which was delicious, and some time to spend money for souvenirs! Then we continued up the mountains to Eagles Nest. What a ride!! Amazing all the twists and turns as your bus climbs higher and higher and higher to the Eagles Nest. Once you arrive, words cannot express the beauty that is around you. The vista is something to see. We were fortunate to have blue sky and sunny weather, we could see for miles. I will have that image burned in my memory forever! The Eagles Nest is very interesting. Our tour guide walked us through and explained everything. We concluded our visit with a walk down a path, led by Gunther, to the bus plateform. It's all downhill and actually very easy to do, if you have the opportunity do it. Only takes 15 minutes tops, instead of taking the elevator down to the basement of Hitler's hideout. We wanted to take in the view for as long as possible and that was our way of enjoying it. After we headed to Berchesgardens for some brief shopping and site seeing. It is so worth the tour, I recommend it to anyone. The best is if the weather is sunny and clear, you will not believe the views.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message