Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat, and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1203 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Beverley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really enjoyed this trip. Driver/guide was excellent. No complaints at all.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Obersalzberg Tour from Salzburg

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thought this was a very interesting and fun tour for all ages! The tour has a lot of diversity to it and our salt mine guide was playful, adding to the fun!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a good trip to see Hitler's Eagles nest, and the beautiful countryside. We stopped in a little town, Betchsgaden and had an authentic german meal, that was reasonable, and tasty. It snowed on us due to the high elevation, but that did not ruin the trip.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Mitchell P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful way to spend a day in Austria. The tours a small groups, very personal and the tour guides were both friendly and very well informed of their tours with loads of experience. Great values for money and a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very interesting to see how the salt is taken from the underground.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Prue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took this tour in early October. It was well organized and definitely worth it. The weather was beautiful so the scenery in the Alps and the park was breathtaking. The salt mines are a curious mix of history, science and amusement park. Lots of fun. Tour guide Peter, knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Lawrence N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Value for money and a historic place to visit. The tour guide was brilliant, witty and very humorous as well as very informative. Great tour coach with beautiful scenery. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Megan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Honestly, I never would have chosen to go on this trip if it weren't for so many of my friends recommending it, and now I'm going to do the same! It may not seem hip, but the trip was amazing. The guide was knowledgeable and funny, the drive was beautiful and the salt mines are fascinating. You get to go down a slide that is steep but fun akin to Disneyland's Splash Mountain minus the cart and on a boat across water that is so undisturbed it looks like mercury. The stop in the cute town of Berchtesgaden is the icing on the cake - or the cream on the apple strudel. 5/5 would do again.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

sgfeer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fascinating learning experience with great views in the Alps.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Russell W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an all round great tour, a highlight of our Europe vacation

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Kirstin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great guide, informative tour of the outlying area os Salzburg, and a fun tour of Salt Mine. Learned a little history of the area.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

dmccullo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonder tour with such interesting scenery and history.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant, great day out.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Wanda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Comfortable ride through the Salzburg countryside...very professional driver and tour guide....we had a very informative guide who was open for questions....we would highly recommend!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Linda E A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great. Too much fog Togo to the tea house so our tour was the Nazi bunker and the salt mines. Both were very interesting and worthwhile. A good guide and the entire trip was very lovely and educational.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Tom H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed this tour and enjoyed how little time we had to spend in the bus. Our guide, Walter, was good and knowledgeable. This is a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

yankster99ra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was one of the highlights of our Salzburg visit. This tour is excellent. Our tour guide was fantastic...she explained everything about the Eagle's Nest on the way up and gave us some tips which made the tour even more special. The bus was also extremely clean and comfortable. The Eagle's Nest should not be missed. What was really a bonus was the stop in a very cool small town on the way back so we could have lunch.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Sherri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour on a sunny day.
Day we went was foggy and overcast, which required a second visit to see the views.
Visited Berchtesgaden as a supplement because of weather.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide and very worth while visit. The weather was uncooperative with a lot of fog so the view was not seen at all. Beautiful countryside along the way.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

toddandstaceyschwart ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Incredible. It was my highlight of our trip to Germany and Austria. The views from the Eagle's Nest were breathtaking. The tour was definitely the way to go. We got on the buses up to the elevator and the elevator immediately without waiting in line.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Analah F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Spectacular place to visit!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

BHAIRAVADASAN

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide , courteous , informative who made the trip highly successful

Doing what: Private Tour: Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Alps Tour from Salzburg

gerald d

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Walter was an exceptional tour guide with many interesting anecdotes about the area and the Eagle's Nest. Even though the tour had been snowed out the day before, it reopened the day of our tour and we were above the cloud line at the Eagle's Nest. Still got to see the major peaks and had an early taste of winter. They were very accommodating and even let a couple of people get off at the Untersberg cable car station on the way back into Salzberg.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

hollythayer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Breathtaking views, wonderful tour guides. Well worth every moment! My husband had wanted to see this area all of his life, and this tour did not disappoint.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

SHALINI K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Totally worth it! The tour bus departed promptly at the appointed time and we were there on schedule, in spite of problems caused by passport controls being implemented at the border. This tour takes away the hassle of having to deal with traffic, tickets etc. and simply delivers you to Eagle's Nest with minimal effort. Unfortunately, the top of the mountain was extremely foggy and i could not see anything from Eagle's Next, but that still did not detract from the place itself.
The time at Berchtesgaden is fairly small but this town is not something you would be able to cover in 1 hour anyway. I came back the next day and stayed overnight at Berchtesgaden, to take in the many vistas and sights.
Out tour guide Ana was extremely knowledgeable and gave us many interesting nuggets of information about Munich, Germany, Eagle's Nest and it's history, along the way. We had the added bonus of driving back through quaint, CHARMING little hamlets on the way back to Munich in order to avoid a major traffic jam on the highway. It was like a tour within a tour, there's no way i would have been able to traverse through those little towns on my own.
All in all, would DEFINITELY recommend this tour!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message