Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt. Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 889 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was wonderful, really knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. The whole trip was great and the views at Eagles Nest (and along the way) were incredible! We were really glad we did this tour and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to see great views of the Bavarian Alps

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a great day. It's a bit of a crazy, curvy ride up to the Eagle's Nest, but the views are out of this world! The tour guide was very funny and knowledgeable and we got some amazing photos.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Well worth doing. Very good and informative guide. We were very lucky because the weather was so good enabling us to see the wonderful views.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

The trip was a brilliant, whole day experience with the meeting point being very easy to find. Our Guide Andreas was highly knowledgable and also good fun. We had plenaty of time at each point of the tour and I'd highly recommend taking the tour guides advice for each part of the tour to get the maximum out of the day.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Knowledgable guide, lovely views of the mountains.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW what a tour, going up the mountain to Eagles Nest was scary but spectacular at the same time and when you got to the top the views took your breath away, you could see so far down the valley. Then we went down the Salt mines and this was so interesting and exciting to go under ground, we all had a great time.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Superior. We had so much fun. The weather was perfect and the tour was outstanding. One of th best.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This is an awesome tour. The weather was perfect, nice and sunny. Our guide was a 5 star guide. He gave us a ton of historic information that was really interesting. Plus he was just a great person.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Uta was very knowledgable on the subject and area. Gave a lot of information about Bavaria, it's people and lives. One of our best tour guides

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was very well done and much fun. It was also interesting. I was not expecting that salt was so beautiful! I only wish that we had time to spend in the gift shop, It would be advisable to buy things at the beginning and store it in one of the lockers.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

A beautiful ride to such a historic site

Doing what: Private Tour: Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Alps Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I have been fortunate enough to travel many places and have taken all sorts of tours related to those particular ares. This tour however, was probably one of the BEST by far!! I LOVED IT! I've told others about it and they are putting it on their bucket lists. Thank you for the for a FABULOUS tour!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Just very lucky, as we had brilliant wheather and we could see for miles around. A great day out evern for the scenery. Our guied a grand oldish lady was a sweet hart, and looked after us well.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Exactly as described in the itinerary and spot on with all previous positive comments. Pick up at the hotel by van and transfer to the main bus was painless and on time. Everyone is in contact by radio so even if your transfer van was late, they wouldn't leave without you. The bus was new, comfortable, and designed so that every seat has a great view. The tour guide was obviously happy with his job and was very knowledgable and entertaining leading me to believe that he was well compensated....take care of your employees and they will take care of the customers...what a concept. At the end of the tour, most everybody tipped 10 Euro.

The sights were amazing...the ride alone was breathtaking. First was Eagles Nest and our day was spectacular...not a cloud in the sky so the views were unbelievable (it would be much less so if it were cloudy). The tour bus pulls right up to the staging area where hundreds of people are waiting in line to board the Eagles Nest bus which takes you to the elevator for the ride to the top. Our group bypassed these lines and got right on the EN bus, drove right to the top, and went straight to the elevator. My kind of service! It was the same going down....we then re boarded the tour bus, drove past the former Nazi housing compound (destroyed after the war so as to not leave a shrine) and stopped in the village of Bertchesgarden for lunch. After lunch, it was on to the salt mines which are spectacular as well (400 year old mine which is still in operation today) where you ride a mine train (exactly the same as the workers) deep into the mountain. Very interesting and enlightening. After the mines, it's off to the Konning See which is a big alpine lake with beautiful scenery and views. Highly recommend the 20 minute walk to "Painters Point", you will not be disappointed. Back on the bus where you then go back to Bertchesgarden for a final 30 minutes and from there back to Salzburg. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message