Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt. Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 901 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Andreas was funny and knowledgeable. He told great stories about the area and spoke excellent English. wonderful tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The salt mine tour was the highlight. The whole group had fun and amazed with the formation in the mine. It was wonderful scenery all the way to the salt mine and our guide, Wolfgang gave a interesting narration throughout the journey

The lakes were serene. A calming end to the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great fun and very informative . The views on the journey were spectacular . All in all , well worth doing

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful scenery, even though we did not get to go up to Eagles nest due to bad weather. Salt mine tour was given instead and was cool.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely wonderful tour. The guide was fantastic - very knowledgeable and friendly.
The weather was perfect - the clouds lifted just as we started heading up into the mountains, so we had spectacular views in every direction of the unbelievable scenery. It is hard to believe that some of the most evil men the world has ever known lived in a place this beautiful. Everyone should see this place to try to come to terms with that duality themselves.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

hugely interesting day and the views alone were well worth the trip!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good day out with added extras of Salzburg explained en route to the saltmine by Walter the driver. Great service and very enjoyable trip. Fun and interesting in equal shares. Good vfm.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An amazing tour. Salt Mines tour was not to miss, superb overall experience created. Austrian lakes are worth visiting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Close pick up from hotel, comfortable van, knowledgeable guide. The mountains are beautiful. Short stop to see a view of the Eagle's Nest on the way to Berchtesgaden. Salt mine tour was exceptional. Loved the train ride and miner's slide.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As we were warned, weather in late October can be dicey....and when we got on the bus, they gave us the news that the Eagles nest was not accessible that day...guide was clear and concise, giving options, etc...we chose to go to Salzburg for the day and WOW! Easy to find the Bus, right where they say its going to be! Super friendly and we had a great time!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The views from the Eagles Nest was fantastic on a nice fine day and the meeting room that Hitler used was far smaller than we expected. Our tour Guide was excellant.
The Salt Mine is a must especially the two slides inside the mine.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Abbey G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Even though the Eagle's Nest was closed due to the weather, the Salt Mines was a lot of fun. Berchtesgaden is a picturesque little town, with great shops for souvenirs. The Documentation Centre was very informative and engaging. The guide was very friendly and knowledgable.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Two tours in one day but the day we extremely well organised. Walter was an excellent and entertaining guide with a great sense of humour. Eagle's Nest was breathtaking and sufficient time up the top to enable good look around and short walk to the summit etc. Salt Mine tour was great fun, especially the various modes of transport. Highly recommend both these tours.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was looking forward to this tour and it did not disappoint even though the weather was not perfect. The lady German tour guide was excellent. We asked if we could walk to the Berghof. It was a short walk through the woods. Only one wall seemed to exist and the area was overgrown with trees. A short walk further on and we came across The Zum Turken Hotel, still standing. Strangely we were the only members of the group that went. The journey to the Eagle's Nest was breath taking and the town of Berchtesgaden was beautiful.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message