Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat, and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1001 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The view you get from being up here is unbelievable. Our guide was the best.

Doing what: Private Tour: Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Alps Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Yes be sure to take this tour especially if the weather is clear.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Very Knowledge tour guide. She went the extra mile. Bus driver was also excellent especially in finding his way around a huge traffic jam.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great Tour. Well organized, informative and above all fun. It was amazing going up into the Eagle's Nest and enjoying the fantastic views. We were lucky to see fog and then clear skies during our visit on July 8, 2015. The Salt Mines were very fun and learned a lot about salt.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Had a great time would recommend.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Walter was the best. He is a true asset to your company

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent guide with a great sense of humour, good knowledge.
Speculation scenery! Would highly recommend

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Took this tour while I was in Salzburg. It was a long day but really worth it! Visited the Eagles nest, salt mines and Lake Königsee. It was extremely warm weather so all those places were perfect for a bit cooler climate. Lots of chances for taking incredible photos. A funny guy who guided us all day. I recommend this tour for everyone who wants to see the best sides of the Bavarian Mountains!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Such a great tour! Plenty of time to take photos, eat a nice lunch and go to the documentation center. Very well organised. Highly recommend this to everyone :

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing certainly worth going again, specially to eagles nest.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

The day we travelled up to the Eagles Nest was perfect with stunning views in all directions. The tour guide, an elderly gent, kept us well informed and as a bonus he also had a great sense of humour. We had a great time on this tour and would recommend it to anyone.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Absolutely smashing. Everything from the guide, tour bus, information along the way, the clear sky and the sunshine made it the highlight of my whole trip.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was better than expected! The Salt Mines tour was exceptional, Don't miss it!
Panoramic Tour Company was the best! We had a misunderstanding and I missed the tour. They were so accommodating to get me on another tour. Great company.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

exellent trip with a very good guide.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very fun and beautiful trip! We had a great time touring both the Salt Mines and taking the boat trip on Lake Wolfgang! The weather was perfect and the views of the mountains from the lake were breathtaking.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was very interesting and informative. Unfortunately when we visited on the first day of summer 2015, it snowed and the visibility was very low, so the sight was not what it could have been. We still enjoyed the tour and the guide, Walter was very knowledgeable and did a great job. I would highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I had no idea this would be such a breathtaking trip. The scenery is out of this world - the history truly unbelievable - and everyone should spend a good hour and a half in the brilliant museum which leads down into the heart of the mountain and the spooky bunker system under the OberSalzburg. Couldn't recommend it more highly.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Andreas was very pleasant providing detailed information during the salt mine tour. The slide at the salt mine was fantastic and the lake cruise relaxing and the scenery fantastic.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I did this tour in May 2015. Complimentary pickup from our hotel to the rendezvous Mirabell Gardens in Salzburg's city center from where we changed into a bus with large windows, comfortable seats and our guide, Walter. Walter has been a guide for 30 yrs he had many snippets and stories to tell us on the way to the Eagle's Nest. He's 70, but young at heart, funny and well informed about his job. It was raining for most of the journey but as we climbed the mountains for the Eagle's Nest, rains gave way to snow. Snow in May pre-summer of Europe wasn't expected but was a delight for us. The ride to the Nest was amazing, through windy mountainous roads. Upon reaching we walked through a tunnel, took the elevator up to the Nest and had an hour or so to wander around. After that we descended into Berchtesgaden town, had lunch at Golden Bear, and then boarded the bus to the Salt Mines.

At the Mines we change into special suits and board an open train that goes inside tiny tunnels into the mountains to the mines. The tour was ok but the highlight was the two wooden slides on the way back and the laser lights show atop a small boat ride at the end. Finally we drive to Konigssee Lake. There are shops and eating joints along the way from the parking lot to the lake. Do try the crepes at one of the stalls, it was an awesome evening snack. There's boating on the Lake but we didn't do that, there wasn't enough time. After an hour or so, boarded the bus back to Salzburg.

I highly recommend doing both the Super Saver tour as it makes the most of your day. Both locations Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines are very different in nature. Konigssee Lake is an added attraction. Total value for your time and money. Our guide Walter was a stickler for time, take that seriously : Everything else was relaxed, very convenient and enjoyable.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

A must to be done. Knowing that Hitler had walked the hallways and been in the lift was a mind blowing experience. Very cloudy the day we went, so the view was non existent, which was a shame, but did not take away from the wonderful experience at all.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Such a beautiful view up at Eagles Nest. The tour was amazing.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message