Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt. Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 912 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was awesome and easily one of the best tours we did in Salzburg. Unfortunately, when we were up at the Eagles Nest there was pretty poor weather so there were not complete panoramic views but we still got some gorgeous shots of the mountains. The salt mine was very cool but sadly no pictures allowed.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We ended up not doing this exact tour because Eagle's Nest had just opened two days before. We were ablw to switch to that tour with some additional cost. It was an amazing day! The sky was clean and the sun was shining. The views fromthe Eagle's Nest are some of the most spectacular we have ever seen. We enjoyed the salt mine tour and the quaint village of Berchtesgaden, Germany and King Lake.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

I absolutely loved it and it was much better than I thought. I was absolutely amazed by mountains and the views. I would recommend it to anyone and would love to go there again.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Obersalzberg Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a wonderful trip. Our tour guide, Andreus was funny. spoke wonderful English and knew a lot about the country. My favorite part was just seeing the countryside, absolutely beautiful. The salt mine tour was interesting. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

This wasn't our first pick of tours, but the others were unavailable because of the time of year we went but we are so glad. It was beautiful and I learnt more about the area and the history than I thought i would. We were lucky because although there was snow on the ground it was sunny and warm. Loved it and would highly recommend it.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Obersalzberg Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Andreas was funny and knowledgeable. He told great stories about the area and spoke excellent English. wonderful tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The salt mine tour was the highlight. The whole group had fun and amazed with the formation in the mine. It was wonderful scenery all the way to the salt mine and our guide, Wolfgang gave a interesting narration throughout the journey

The lakes were serene. A calming end to the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great fun and very informative . The views on the journey were spectacular . All in all , well worth doing

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Beautiful scenery, even though we did not get to go up to Eagles nest due to bad weather. Salt mine tour was given instead and was cool.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Absolutely wonderful tour. The guide was fantastic - very knowledgeable and friendly.
The weather was perfect - the clouds lifted just as we started heading up into the mountains, so we had spectacular views in every direction of the unbelievable scenery. It is hard to believe that some of the most evil men the world has ever known lived in a place this beautiful. Everyone should see this place to try to come to terms with that duality themselves.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

hugely interesting day and the views alone were well worth the trip!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Very good day out with added extras of Salzburg explained en route to the saltmine by Walter the driver. Great service and very enjoyable trip. Fun and interesting in equal shares. Good vfm.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

An amazing tour. Salt Mines tour was not to miss, superb overall experience created. Austrian lakes are worth visiting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Close pick up from hotel, comfortable van, knowledgeable guide. The mountains are beautiful. Short stop to see a view of the Eagle's Nest on the way to Berchtesgaden. Salt mine tour was exceptional. Loved the train ride and miner's slide.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

As we were warned, weather in late October can be dicey....and when we got on the bus, they gave us the news that the Eagles nest was not accessible that day...guide was clear and concise, giving options, etc...we chose to go to Salzburg for the day and WOW! Easy to find the Bus, right where they say its going to be! Super friendly and we had a great time!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The views from the Eagles Nest was fantastic on a nice fine day and the meeting room that Hitler used was far smaller than we expected. Our tour Guide was excellant.
The Salt Mine is a must especially the two slides inside the mine.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Abbey G
Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Excellent tour. Even though the Eagle's Nest was closed due to the weather, the Salt Mines was a lot of fun. Berchtesgaden is a picturesque little town, with great shops for souvenirs. The Documentation Centre was very informative and engaging. The guide was very friendly and knowledgable.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Two tours in one day but the day we extremely well organised. Walter was an excellent and entertaining guide with a great sense of humour. Eagle's Nest was breathtaking and sufficient time up the top to enable good look around and short walk to the summit etc. Salt Mine tour was great fun, especially the various modes of transport. Highly recommend both these tours.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I was looking forward to this tour and it did not disappoint even though the weather was not perfect. The lady German tour guide was excellent. We asked if we could walk to the Berghof. It was a short walk through the woods. Only one wall seemed to exist and the area was overgrown with trees. A short walk further on and we came across The Zum Turken Hotel, still standing. Strangely we were the only members of the group that went. The journey to the Eagle's Nest was breath taking and the town of Berchtesgaden was beautiful.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our tour guide was awesome. Very informative. We had the most amazing weather and could see all the way to Salzburg from Eagle's Nest. We stopped in a cute little town for a great lunch and a few beers. Such a great experience!

Doing what: Private Tour: Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Alps Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This tour was so much more than I expected! My husband loves history and especially anything WWII related, so this was his choice, along with the Normandy tour, out of our 2 1/2 week Europe trip. I have to say that I am so glad he insisted on this one. It was extremely informative and the most stunning views of our entire trip. The views alone are worth it, add on the history with the museum, the bunker, and then the Eagle's Nest and I highly recomend this tour to everyone, whether you're a WWII buff or not. Our tour guide (I forget his name, an older German man) made the tour even more enjoyable. He was extremely funny and kept us all laughing. What a great experience!

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Really enjoyed this tour and the drive there, through the beautiful countryside was a high point!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Our guide was wonderful, really knowledgeable and had a great sense of humour. The whole trip was great and the views at Eagles Nest (and along the way) were incredible! We were really glad we did this tour and would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to see great views of the Bavarian Alps

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

What a great day. It's a bit of a crazy, curvy ride up to the Eagle's Nest, but the views are out of this world! The tour guide was very funny and knowledgeable and we got some amazing photos.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message