Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Berchtesgaden & Eagle's Nest

From Salzburg, the fairytale scenery of Germany’s Bavarian Alps leads to Berchtesgaden, Hitler’s mountain retreat, and Eagle's Nest (or Kehlsteinhaus), the southern headquarters of the Nazi party. Brilliantly positioned on top of Mt Kehlstein, the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1211 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Megan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour. We had a great tour guide who provided us with a lot of great information during the drive. Once we got to the salt-mines we were walked right in and put in the front of the group for the tour. If you are doing the English speaking tour you will receive an audio guide that takes you through the mine. It's a great tour with a lot of information.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very informative and and a lot of fun.The tour guide was excellent and a gentleman.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos, the Tour Guide, did an exceptional job.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing is an understatement for this tour.. Carlos is a matchless guide.. Very well informed and he adds a very nice touch of humour to his commentary.. His comic timing is terrific.. The salt mine is another world.. I won't write much about it here since it takes away the element of surprise for those who're planning to visit it.. But it is a MUST VISIT place.. Due to limited time we didn't visit the Eagle's Nest.. But hopefully some other time we would.. Absolutely recommended..

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the mountains and the salt mines. The scenery was fantastic, with lots of snow. the salt mines interesting and fun and our guide Walter was great.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

isabel w

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

It was a really great experience we really had a great time and found the guide a real asset. Thank you

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Obersalzberg Tour from Salzburg

Beverley M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Really enjoyed this trip. Driver/guide was excellent. No complaints at all.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Obersalzberg Tour from Salzburg

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thought this was a very interesting and fun tour for all ages! The tour has a lot of diversity to it and our salt mine guide was playful, adding to the fun!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a good trip to see Hitler's Eagles nest, and the beautiful countryside. We stopped in a little town, Betchsgaden and had an authentic german meal, that was reasonable, and tasty. It snowed on us due to the high elevation, but that did not ruin the trip.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Mitchell P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful way to spend a day in Austria. The tours a small groups, very personal and the tour guides were both friendly and very well informed of their tours with loads of experience. Great values for money and a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very interesting to see how the salt is taken from the underground.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Prue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took this tour in early October. It was well organized and definitely worth it. The weather was beautiful so the scenery in the Alps and the park was breathtaking. The salt mines are a curious mix of history, science and amusement park. Lots of fun. Tour guide Peter, knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Lawrence N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. Value for money and a historic place to visit. The tour guide was brilliant, witty and very humorous as well as very informative. Great tour coach with beautiful scenery. Highly Recommended.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Megan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Honestly, I never would have chosen to go on this trip if it weren't for so many of my friends recommending it, and now I'm going to do the same! It may not seem hip, but the trip was amazing. The guide was knowledgeable and funny, the drive was beautiful and the salt mines are fascinating. You get to go down a slide that is steep but fun akin to Disneyland's Splash Mountain minus the cart and on a boat across water that is so undisturbed it looks like mercury. The stop in the cute town of Berchtesgaden is the icing on the cake - or the cream on the apple strudel. 5/5 would do again.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

sgfeer

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

A fascinating learning experience with great views in the Alps.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Russell W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was an all round great tour, a highlight of our Europe vacation

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Kirstin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great guide, informative tour of the outlying area os Salzburg, and a fun tour of Salt Mine. Learned a little history of the area.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

dmccullo USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Wonder tour with such interesting scenery and history.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Paul M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Brilliant, great day out.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Wanda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Comfortable ride through the Salzburg countryside...very professional driver and tour guide....we had a very informative guide who was open for questions....we would highly recommend!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Linda E A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

The tour was great. Too much fog Togo to the tea house so our tour was the Nazi bunker and the salt mines. Both were very interesting and worthwhile. A good guide and the entire trip was very lovely and educational.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Tom H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We enjoyed this tour and enjoyed how little time we had to spend in the bus. Our guide, Walter, was good and knowledgeable. This is a very worthwhile tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

yankster99ra

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

This was one of the highlights of our Salzburg visit. This tour is excellent. Our tour guide was fantastic...she explained everything about the Eagle's Nest on the way up and gave us some tips which made the tour even more special. The bus was also extremely clean and comfortable. The Eagle's Nest should not be missed. What was really a bonus was the stop in a very cool small town on the way back so we could have lunch.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Sherri G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent tour on a sunny day.
Day we went was foggy and overcast, which required a second visit to see the views.
Visited Berchtesgaden as a supplement because of weather.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Janet L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Excellent guide and very worth while visit. The weather was uncooperative with a lot of fog so the view was not seen at all. Beautiful countryside along the way.

Doing what: Berchtesgaden and Eagle's Nest Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message