Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Festung Hohensalzburg

Perched on its craggy mountain lookout, Salzburg’s famous castle, Festung Hohensalzburg, dominates the city and its Old Town. Surrounded by walls and dotted with towers and battlements, Festung Hohensalzburg is one of the largest and best ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 254 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cheryl k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We toured Salzburg for 5 days. We made good use of the buses and enjoyed a morning up the local mountain on a cable car. The Salzburg card gave us free entry to every activity that we wanted to take part in. The Salzburg Card is definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

jedichris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice Card to have for getting into many locations. Very good value

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Victoria J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

We paid for a reservation online but when we went to take the tour there was nobody from Viatours there. When we realized that they weren't coming it was too late to take another tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Teressa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Best buy ever .. Great value loads of places to see using it.. Would recommend to anyone 48hrs,36 euros would have cost over 150euros without the card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Wildspirit United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great value for money but instructions should be clearer. I went to use the print out only to find out I needed to go and get the print out exchanged for the card so I paid to get in. I then went and got the card sorted out with no problems and everything was fine from them on. I still was not out of pocket even though I paid to get in one of the attractions. Would recommend .

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely good value. We were glad we had the 48 hour card to make the most of all the amazing attractions.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

MARCINI R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had an amazing trip... and definitely would go back.. Friendly people.

Thank you Austria.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Joseph D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

WE ENJOYED OUR TOUR AND TOUR GUIDE'S KNOWLEDGE AND HUMOR. WE SAW THE HIGHLIGHTS AND HEARD ABOUT THE HISTORICAL FAME OF SALZBURG AND THE MORE RECENT HISTORY OF THE MAKING OF THE SOUND OF MUSIC. IT WAS DEFINITELY WORTH DOING EVEN IN THE RAIN.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Sharon N

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

This sounded like it would be an amazing experience based on the description. It was average. The restaurant and food was average. The service terrible. The view and the concert were nice but you never get to see much of anything while at this fortress which should be the highlight of this experience,. There are better things to do in Salzburg than this. Pass

Doing what: Dinner Experience at Salzburg Fortress and Mozart Concert in Salzburg

Maria D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

There were about 20-25 on the tour. The group leader did not have a walking mike and it was very difficult to hear her. We broke off from the group once we got to the old section.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Trevor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really simple to work and understand. Great value for money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Heleyna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money - easily made our money back and then some. Would definitely recommend the Trick Fountains and Untersberg.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Florence L Canada

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

great value

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Charles O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This walking tour is a great orientation to the city. Easy to revisit spots of interest on later days. Guide was easy to listen to and had a vast knowledge of the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

E A H Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This really was a disappointment, the tour in itself was ok but I thought I'd bought an English-speaking tour, but apparently in the small print it's a guide who speaks English, so that the tour was conducted in two languages.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Paul F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This tour was bland and boring. Afew tourists left before the tour even finished. The tour had English and German speaking tourists, so the guide had to accomodate both groups. The German group received far more attention.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

kmisener

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

You have to go all the way to the train station to turn in your voucher to to get this Salzburg card. The line was extremely long and this process including bus transportation over and back from the city center took over 2 hours. Time is precious when you're on vacation! You're better off just paying for admission for the attractions you really want to see. They should send this card in advance like the Berlin, Paris and London cards.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Deborah A C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The Salzburg card is a great value. You get free public transportation, plus one time free entry into the fortress, the funicular ride up to it, the Salzach boat cruise, and just about every museum worth seeing in Salzburg! I wish more cities had a similar plan at affordable prices!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Catherine U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I love this city, and there is so much to see! The card made it easy to go from attrition to attraction without fumbling around for Euro just show your card and enter!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Lynne.dargie

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The card was great value for money - would highly recommend it

Doing what: Salzburg Card

JUDITH B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

An interesting and informative tour. Loved it!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Denece M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Rhonda V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Nice overview of the sites in the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Randy S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended. Used 48 hour Salzburg card to see several sights with city transportation included. Presented card after dinner concert at St. Peter's restaurant and received a Mozart CD.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

bobby

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the money...very usefull...

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message