Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Festung Hohensalzburg

Perched on its craggy mountain lookout, Salzburg’s famous castle, Festung Hohensalzburg, dominates the city and its Old Town. Surrounded by walls and dotted with towers and battlements, Festung Hohensalzburg is one of the largest and best ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 246 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent card to get you into the sights you want to see and ride the bus all over town!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth the purchase. We used the card to ride buses to get around, ride the Cable-Car at Untersberg - Salzburg, to enter Mozart's residence and audio tour, to visit the fortress in Salzburg... it more than paid itself.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We bought our cards prior to leaving and saved even more money than had we purchased them there. It was a great savings both on money and time as we didn't need to stand in line to purchase tickets at various attractions. We also used the bus system and took a boat ride, all included with the card. The listed all the attractions that utilized it and this helped us plan our agenda each day. It was so good be purchased a card for Innsbruck, our next destination and had the same great experience.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good way to get your bearings and find out the history of the area. Guide worked the crowd well and was very knowledgable. Even on a 34 degree day worth doing!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It was a nice walk around, the guide's English was passable.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

In defense of our guide, it was a VERY hot day and we struggled to find shade so he could explain things to us. However, it was a large group. That, combined with the tour guide not having a microphone, made it difficult to hear anything. So we just felt like we were walking along with a large group looking at a few houses and buildings. We didn't really get much from this tour and for our family 11 people, it would have been better if we'd arrange a private guide.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

My wife and I did our homework before we left so we weren't getting a lot of new information before we left the tour. after we got to Mozart's house. The main problem was that it was in German and English. We had to wait while the guide translated everything into German. If we had known this beforehand, we would not have signed up for the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour ended up being half in English and half in German which was very confusing and time consuming. The guide didn't introduce us to the city or its history so we didn't learn anything substantial. She continously pointed out the obvious this is a garden, you can come here to eat and relax, that over there is a castle but didn't explain the importance of the site or history. It was very disapointing, specially after taking a couple of amazing free tours in many other cities.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Salzburg Card is a must have! Includes the most popular sites and transportation. Very easy to use and did not have any problems using it.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic! we could visit the city. We recommend Salzburg card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Salzburg card is so useful. Almost entrances and taking public vehicles are free! I'm really satisfied with this pass and it made my travel conviniently.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent
Unbelievable

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Simply put, the price is insane for what is offered. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My trip more enjoyable, thanks to salzburg card.
forward, I offer a lot of these events

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was able to cover most of the museums and used public transportation with the same card. Worked very well for me!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The card got us into everything we wanted to see including the funicular and the fortress plus all the local bus and trains. Parking was a nightmare at the main train station where we picked the card. Also no one we asked knew where the tourist info office was. Took a long time to find it.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I went to Untersberg. very very nice view.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to get an over view of Salzburg. Tour guide was informative and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Diane N
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wish I had had more time to explore Salzburg and utilize the card to it's fullest. It is a great buy and well worth the money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The tour was amazing except weather

Doing what: Salzburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, knowlegable guide, empatic, timely effective, maybe everything is easy with a such beautiful city as Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

A good value.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message