Lose yourself in medieval-era Salzburg on a stroll through Getreidegasse. The atmospheric laneway is lined with upmarket boutiques and shops. Getreidegasse is as historic as it is pretty. Harking back to Roman days, the thoroughfare has always ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 81 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Victoria J

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
December 2015

We paid for a reservation online but when we went to take the tour there was nobody from Viatours there. When we realized that they weren't coming it was too late to take another tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Joseph D

3 star rating: Worth doing
November 2015

WE ENJOYED OUR TOUR AND TOUR GUIDE'S KNOWLEDGE AND HUMOR. WE SAW THE HIGHLIGHTS AND HEARD ABOUT THE HISTORICAL FAME OF SALZBURG AND THE MORE RECENT HISTORY OF THE MAKING OF THE SOUND OF MUSIC. IT WAS DEFINITELY WORTH DOING EVEN IN THE RAIN.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Maria D

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
November 2015

There were about 20-25 on the tour. The group leader did not have a walking mike and it was very difficult to hear her. We broke off from the group once we got to the old section.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Charles O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

This walking tour is a great orientation to the city. Easy to revisit spots of interest on later days. Guide was easy to listen to and had a vast knowledge of the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

E A H Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2015

This really was a disappointment, the tour in itself was ok but I thought I'd bought an English-speaking tour, but apparently in the small print it's a guide who speaks English, so that the tour was conducted in two languages.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Paul F

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

This tour was bland and boring. Afew tourists left before the tour even finished. The tour had English and German speaking tourists, so the guide had to accomodate both groups. The German group received far more attention.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

JUDITH B

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

An interesting and informative tour. Loved it!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Denece M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Our guide was very informative and entertaining.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Rhonda V

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

Nice overview of the sites in the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Denis K

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Overall a very good tour as we saw all the major sights in a few hours. Our tour guide was very knoweledgeable and friendly. Definitely worth while.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

May L

3 star rating: Worth doing
August 2015

Thought we booked the English tour, but ended up having German tourists, so half the time was spent by the guide translating everything and the other guests were standing around on a very hot day! Not impressed.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

HENRIQUE O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Uma visita pelos principais pontos interessantes e no final a Casa de Mozart, sensacional o audiovisual nesse museu, em quase todas as línguas. Imperdível!

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Martha L P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent small minibus tour. Personal touch given and the tour guide went above and beyond the call of duty to provide accurate information.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Soumit Naha Germany

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Given a complete new perspective to your stay in Salzburg. Exploring the old town was never so enjoyable

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Stephen C

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good way to get your bearings and find out the history of the area. Guide worked the crowd well and was very knowledgable. Even on a 34 degree day worth doing!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Michael A

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It was a nice walk around, the guide's English was passable.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Linda G

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

In defense of our guide, it was a VERY hot day and we struggled to find shade so he could explain things to us. However, it was a large group. That, combined with the tour guide not having a microphone, made it difficult to hear anything. So we just felt like we were walking along with a large group looking at a few houses and buildings. We didn't really get much from this tour and for our family 11 people, it would have been better if we'd arrange a private guide.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

David C

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

My wife and I did our homework before we left so we weren't getting a lot of new information before we left the tour. after we got to Mozart's house. The main problem was that it was in German and English. We had to wait while the guide translated everything into German. If we had known this beforehand, we would not have signed up for the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Ines d

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour ended up being half in English and half in German which was very confusing and time consuming. The guide didn't introduce us to the city or its history so we didn't learn anything substantial. She continously pointed out the obvious this is a garden, you can come here to eat and relax, that over there is a castle but didn't explain the importance of the site or history. It was very disapointing, specially after taking a couple of amazing free tours in many other cities.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Paul W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to get an over view of Salzburg. Tour guide was informative and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Ricardo d

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, knowlegable guide, empatic, timely effective, maybe everything is easy with a such beautiful city as Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Dina M

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Sonja was an excellent tour guide, very informative, witty and really took care of the group and made sure we were in the shade as it was extremely hot. However this tour was advertised as 2 hours, it is in fact 1.5 hours. false info hence the 4 stars

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Chariclia A

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide gave us an all round overview of the city. Best to do it on the first day.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Prithvi Raj Singh India

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

a bilingual guided tour left with most of us not understanding the guide in any language. Also should have been provided headphones. Content of the tour needs lot of improvement. This historical tour did not cover any history.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

William G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was great and funny, his name is Eric.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message