Lose yourself in medieval-era Salzburg on a stroll through Getreidegasse. The atmospheric laneway is lined with upmarket boutiques and shops. Getreidegasse is as historic as it is pretty. Harking back to Roman days, the thoroughfare has always ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 70 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Uma visita pelos principais pontos interessantes e no final a Casa de Mozart, sensacional o audiovisual nesse museu, em quase todas as línguas. Imperdível!

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent small minibus tour. Personal touch given and the tour guide went above and beyond the call of duty to provide accurate information.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Given a complete new perspective to your stay in Salzburg. Exploring the old town was never so enjoyable

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Good way to get your bearings and find out the history of the area. Guide worked the crowd well and was very knowledgable. Even on a 34 degree day worth doing!

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

It was a nice walk around, the guide's English was passable.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

In defense of our guide, it was a VERY hot day and we struggled to find shade so he could explain things to us. However, it was a large group. That, combined with the tour guide not having a microphone, made it difficult to hear anything. So we just felt like we were walking along with a large group looking at a few houses and buildings. We didn't really get much from this tour and for our family 11 people, it would have been better if we'd arrange a private guide.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2015

My wife and I did our homework before we left so we weren't getting a lot of new information before we left the tour. after we got to Mozart's house. The main problem was that it was in German and English. We had to wait while the guide translated everything into German. If we had known this beforehand, we would not have signed up for the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2015

The tour ended up being half in English and half in German which was very confusing and time consuming. The guide didn't introduce us to the city or its history so we didn't learn anything substantial. She continously pointed out the obvious this is a garden, you can come here to eat and relax, that over there is a castle but didn't explain the importance of the site or history. It was very disapointing, specially after taking a couple of amazing free tours in many other cities.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent way to get an over view of Salzburg. Tour guide was informative and enthusiastic.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Excellent, knowlegable guide, empatic, timely effective, maybe everything is easy with a such beautiful city as Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Sonja was an excellent tour guide, very informative, witty and really took care of the group and made sure we were in the shade as it was extremely hot. However this tour was advertised as 2 hours, it is in fact 1.5 hours. false info hence the 4 stars

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

The guide gave us an all round overview of the city. Best to do it on the first day.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

a bilingual guided tour left with most of us not understanding the guide in any language. Also should have been provided headphones. Content of the tour needs lot of improvement. This historical tour did not cover any history.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The guide was great and funny, his name is Eric.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

John Jackie
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely the best tour! We learned so much and would recommend it to anyone. - John and Jackie

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Interesting tour. Our guide was good and very knowledgeable. Short and sweet tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Very informative tour with a friendly guide. Meeting point was very easy to find with a large parking garage nearby, if you're driving.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

A very interesting tour with a knowledgeable guide. An easy paced walk with time to take photos, so that by the end of the walk we knew which places we wanted to revisit.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

It was raining on the day and the numbers small. The only issue was that the tour was made up of English Speaking and German speaking people so we had to wait whilst the Guide repeated everything in the second language. The Guide was excellent! Worth doing.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2014

Nice introduction to the city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2014

I was quite disappointed since the tour was supposed to be in English but there were some people from Germany as well so the tour guide made the explanations in both languages which was a little bit time consuming and unfortunately she was more keen about the explanations in German than in English...

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Erich led us on an interesting, informative, and entertaining tour of Salzburg. We saw both Mozart's birth house and the place where he lived later, the Mirabelle gardens, the cemetary, an 800 year old bakery, a 1200 year old restaurant (!), various old buildings, famous streets, alleyways, plazas, etc. Although it rained pretty much the whole tour, it was a very enjoyable experience. Once the tour was over, I retraced our steps to get a more in-depth look at each of the places he'd taken us. Since Salzburg is such a small city, this was easy to do.

This tour is a great overview of a charming city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Excellent tour, great historical reference...however not much discussion about Sound of Music for the ones that are still in love with this movie. Guide was very knowledgeable and fun.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Our extraordinary tour-guide turned a rainy day into an utterly enchanting and informative tour of beautiful Salzburg. He was gracious, charming, entertaining, and extremely knowledgable. We could have continued on for hours despite being drenched. Outstanding.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message