Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Mirabell Palace and Gardens (Mirabellschloss und garten)

Mirabell Palace is a fine example of high Baroque architecture, surrounded by formal gardens, statues, flower beds and grand walkways. The palace was built and remodeled in the 18th and early 19th centuries, and today it houses the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 29 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Erich led us on an interesting, informative, and entertaining tour of Salzburg. We saw both Mozart's birth house and the place where he lived later, the Mirabelle gardens, the cemetary, an 800 year old bakery, a 1200 year old restaurant (!), various old buildings, famous streets, alleyways, plazas, etc. Although it rained pretty much the whole tour, it was a very enjoyable experience. Once the tour was over, I retraced our steps to get a more in-depth look at each of the places he'd taken us. Since Salzburg is such a small city, this was easy to do.

This tour is a great overview of a charming city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2014

Overall it was excellent value for money and my Wife enjoyed it greatly. We would have rated it as 5 stars if it was not for the fact that it was all a bit rushed in our view.
The Abbey was pointed out to us at a considerable distance from inside the bus and the stop at the Mirabell Gardens was right at the end and again rushed through. So we made our notes and went back under our own steam to take pictures and found the Abbey and so on, over the following couple of days. We also visited Villa Trapp, the actual family home and that was not mentioned on the Tour.
However I do not want to be down beat and put anyone off booking, as I said it was excellent value for money and well worth the time. All we have in the back of minds is a little thought that perhaps it could have been better.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The tour was a lot of fun and our guide, Jenny, was fantastic! She made it fun and interesting and was very engaging. Be forewarned that some of the main "sights" do not allow visitors, so you only see it as you drive past it from a distance. That was a little disappointing. Also, I thought we were to be in small vans, but we ended up on a huge tour bus. As for the stops, again, the description is sort of misleading: At Leopoldskron Castle, you only see it from across the lake as you are driving by, not close up, and no stop. At Hellbrunn Castle, you only see the Gazebo, not the fountains, gardens, or anything else there, and the gazebo is stuck in the corner beside the gate - kind of disappointing. At St. Gilgen and Lake Wolfgang, you only stop at a lookout point on the highway to overlook the lake. At Mondsee, you do get to go into the church and spend some free time in the quaint town. Mirabell Gardens are just a "drive-by" as is Nonnberg Abbey. That all being said, we did enjoy our time on the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Fun experience for only getting a day in Salzburg. Loved getting some of the history of the city along with background on the movie. You don't go into the Mirabell gardens, although you can go there on your own before/after. It's especially nice being driven around so walking is kept to a minimum.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Then tour was great with a competent and friendly guide. The film was one of the first I saw in the cinema as a child so it has been very much a part of my life. I was therefore, expecting to see more and we only went to 4 separate locations. They were all very good, included the location of the lake, the new location of the 16 going on 16 Gazebo, and the church used for the wedding. We had explored Salzburg prior to the tour and had found the fountain, the arches and the nunnery, and after the tour we explored the Mirabell gardens (scenes of the Do Ray Me song). Having said this I would highly recommend this tour and I found it easy to book via Viator.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Enjoyed the tour but disappointed many of the Salzburg sites were not included. The dvd on the bus did get us in the mood for the doh re mi steps in the Mirabel gardens which we visited after the tour . The overriding memory will be Julie Andrews' amazing voice as we drove through the "Hills ".

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Our excellent guide Natasha MADE this tour - she was funny, very knowledgeable and informative. Easy to book online from the UK for myself, husband and two children (10 and 7). We all enjoyed it, even my reluctant husband was singing along during the 4 hour tour! Easy to find start point across the road from Mirabel Gdns (not partof tour so needs to be done independently) We managed to get front seats on the coach (good for the children) and there was the opportunity to get off coach at 4 locations (3 film related locations but not actually go inside). Quite a long drive to/from Mondsee but enough time for leisurely look around church and to have coffee and strudel. Also good way to see Salzburg and environs if, like us, you are only there for an afternoon.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our guide made this trip even more fun/special-very informative with tidbits and so expressive,funny and witty. shame the mirabelle gardens were closed for the winter. you could still go in and take pictures but not walk around the fountain or up and down the stairs. however, overall, worth it!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was not my first time..this time we couldn't get into the mirabell gardens..it was all barricade with chains...only could take photos around it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great Trip. Visit to Mirabell gardens should have been included. However very nice tour guide, really knew her stuff. Fantastic scenery.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The positives - the tour guide was great, I was certainly great to see the sights we did. The negatives - this was hardly a personal experience. The bus was huge, the sights were crammed with tourists, hardly any time was spent at each place ... It was all a bit rushed. The only real effort to make it 'fun' was the tour guide putting on the soundtrack and ordering us to sing. It was all quite manufactured. With a bus that big, everyone was too self-conscious to really get into it - and note, the tour guide didn't sing herself. It was nice to have an hour in Mondsee. But, again, it did seem like the attitude was: 'we need to get back because we have more tourists to pick up'. Tours like this seem to be run purely on a money-making timetable, with little care for the individual's experience. How else can they explain not actually escorting the group into Mirabell Gartens, but instead suggesting that we take a look ourselves after being dropped off?

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Our tour guide could have been more enthusiastic. The tour should have included a visit to Mirabelle Gardens. We visited it after the tour as suggested. I was surprised we did not get a closer drive-by the convent. Also, our tour guide did not mention the apple strudel restaurant when we visited the church which other tourist on another bus said they were provided informatiion on this and were glad they could experience this outstanding treat.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Guide and driver were both approachable and knowledgeable. A section of the Mirabell Gardens where Do Re Mi song was filmed, was closed when we visited on our own after the tour. Mondsee was nice and romantic, fun reliving childhood nostalgia scenes from movie. Listened to some songs from soundtrack and special 40th anniversary edition of DVD. Overall enjoyable and worth doing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

It was the highlight of our trip to Europe. The scenery and bus tour was great. I loved seeing parts of the movie and listening to the soundtrack and singing along. The guide was so so infomative and told many behind the scenes stories. Mondsee is the town where the church that Maria was wed. It was such a beautiful little town. I highly recommend this tour.
Be sure to go early to Mirabellplatz. There are many food vendors there to have a quick bite to eat before the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

I enjoyed the trip a lot, especially as we had dressed up for the occasion. However, on reflection, we didn't actually see that much. There were a alot of places that were inaccessible to the public which is just how it is. And a lot of Hollywood stuff which you can;'t see in Salzburg. But the guide didn't show us the gardens at the Mirabell palace, which were opposite the start point. With a guide maybe we could have stood on the steps, walked down the green aisle... Most of the trip was taken up with going to Montsee. We weren't shown Nonnberg or the outdoor theatre at the end of the film. But we were given an SOM guide to the city, JUST AS WELL!
So we folowed up a alot of our own stuff. Not sure why it is called the Authentic SOM tour - how many others are there and are they any better?!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message