• USD ($)
  • English

Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Mirabell Palace and Gardens (Mirabellschloss und garten)

Mirabell Palace is a fine example of high Baroque architecture, surrounded by formal gardens, statues, flower beds and grand walkways. The palace was built and remodeled in the 18th and early 19th centuries, and today it houses the city’s ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 26 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Fun experience for only getting a day in Salzburg. Loved getting some of the history of the city along with background on the movie. You don't go into the Mirabell gardens, although you can go there on your own before/after. It's especially nice being driven around so walking is kept to a minimum.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2013

Then tour was great with a competent and friendly guide. The film was one of the first I saw in the cinema as a child so it has been very much a part of my life. I was therefore, expecting to see more and we only went to 4 separate locations. They were all very good, included the location of the lake, the new location of the 16 going on 16 Gazebo, and the church used for the wedding. We had explored Salzburg prior to the tour and had found the fountain, the arches and the nunnery, and after the tour we explored the Mirabell gardens (scenes of the Do Ray Me song). Having said this I would highly recommend this tour and I found it easy to book via Viator.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

Enjoyed the tour but disappointed many of the Salzburg sites were not included. The dvd on the bus did get us in the mood for the doh re mi steps in the Mirabel gardens which we visited after the tour . The overriding memory will be Julie Andrews' amazing voice as we drove through the "Hills ".

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2013

Our excellent guide Natasha MADE this tour - she was funny, very knowledgeable and informative. Easy to book online from the UK for myself, husband and two children (10 and 7). We all enjoyed it, even my reluctant husband was singing along during the 4 hour tour! Easy to find start point across the road from Mirabel Gdns (not partof tour so needs to be done independently) We managed to get front seats on the coach (good for the children) and there was the opportunity to get off coach at 4 locations (3 film related locations but not actually go inside). Quite a long drive to/from Mondsee but enough time for leisurely look around church and to have coffee and strudel. Also good way to see Salzburg and environs if, like us, you are only there for an afternoon.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2013

Our guide made this trip even more fun/special-very informative with tidbits and so expressive,funny and witty. shame the mirabelle gardens were closed for the winter. you could still go in and take pictures but not walk around the fountain or up and down the stairs. however, overall, worth it!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2013

This was not my first time..this time we couldn't get into the mirabell gardens..it was all barricade with chains...only could take photos around it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Great Trip. Visit to Mirabell gardens should have been included. However very nice tour guide, really knew her stuff. Fantastic scenery.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
July 2012

The positives - the tour guide was great, I was certainly great to see the sights we did. The negatives - this was hardly a personal experience. The bus was huge, the sights were crammed with tourists, hardly any time was spent at each place ... It was all a bit rushed. The only real effort to make it 'fun' was the tour guide putting on the soundtrack and ordering us to sing. It was all quite manufactured. With a bus that big, everyone was too self-conscious to really get into it - and note, the tour guide didn't sing herself. It was nice to have an hour in Mondsee. But, again, it did seem like the attitude was: 'we need to get back because we have more tourists to pick up'. Tours like this seem to be run purely on a money-making timetable, with little care for the individual's experience. How else can they explain not actually escorting the group into Mirabell Gartens, but instead suggesting that we take a look ourselves after being dropped off?

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2012

Our tour guide could have been more enthusiastic. The tour should have included a visit to Mirabelle Gardens. We visited it after the tour as suggested. I was surprised we did not get a closer drive-by the convent. Also, our tour guide did not mention the apple strudel restaurant when we visited the church which other tourist on another bus said they were provided informatiion on this and were glad they could experience this outstanding treat.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2012

Guide and driver were both approachable and knowledgeable. A section of the Mirabell Gardens where Do Re Mi song was filmed, was closed when we visited on our own after the tour. Mondsee was nice and romantic, fun reliving childhood nostalgia scenes from movie. Listened to some songs from soundtrack and special 40th anniversary edition of DVD. Overall enjoyable and worth doing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2011

It was the highlight of our trip to Europe. The scenery and bus tour was great. I loved seeing parts of the movie and listening to the soundtrack and singing along. The guide was so so infomative and told many behind the scenes stories. Mondsee is the town where the church that Maria was wed. It was such a beautiful little town. I highly recommend this tour.
Be sure to go early to Mirabellplatz. There are many food vendors there to have a quick bite to eat before the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2011

I enjoyed the trip a lot, especially as we had dressed up for the occasion. However, on reflection, we didn't actually see that much. There were a alot of places that were inaccessible to the public which is just how it is. And a lot of Hollywood stuff which you can;'t see in Salzburg. But the guide didn't show us the gardens at the Mirabell palace, which were opposite the start point. With a guide maybe we could have stood on the steps, walked down the green aisle... Most of the trip was taken up with going to Montsee. We weren't shown Nonnberg or the outdoor theatre at the end of the film. But we were given an SOM guide to the city, JUST AS WELL!
So we folowed up a alot of our own stuff. Not sure why it is called the Authentic SOM tour - how many others are there and are they any better?!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

wonderful tour. our tour guide was great and made the trip even more enjoyable. it is true that you don't stop in mirabell gardens, the mozart bridge or the abbey however you can easily do these yourself at your own pace. no issue whatsoever. the sights are great and the apple strudel in monsee is delicious. i went with my girlfirend and i wasn't looking forward to the tour to begin with but it turned out to be a great day.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

My friends and I had an amazing time on the Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg. Our tour guide Peter was full of facts about the movie and the real Maria Von Trapp, he was also full of some great on-liner jokes, delivered with his unique Austrian sense of humour! It rained nearly the entire 4 hours, but that did not deter anyones enthusiasm. The scenic and movie locations were amazing, especially the church in Mondsee and running through Mirabella gardens. We (being SOM geeks) dressed up in homemade curtain "play clothes" and everyone wanted photos with us. It was the highlight of our trip to Salzburg!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2011

This would have been a five-star review had the company (Panorama) not forgotten to pick us up from our hostel as promised, meaning we missed the meeting at Mirabellplatz, our choice of seats and the trip to Leopoldskron... That said, a rep was sent to collect us and bring us to the coach, and once we'd got over the initial disappointment, the tour was great fun and the guide, Peter, was extremely funny and engaging. Salzburg is beautiful and a tour of well-known sites and scenes is a brilliant way to see it. The lake district stop alone is breathtaking.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message