Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Mozart Residence (Mozart Wohnhaus)

Mozart lived in the Tanzmeisterhaus with his family from 1773 to 1780. The eight-room apartment was a big step up for the family from the crowded lodgings on medieval Getreidegasse. The house was built in 1617, and has been totally rebuilt and ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 15 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

So much to see in Salzburg and the Salzburg Card lets you skip the line and into the funicular, museums etc and discounts for unique attractions like The Magic Flute at the marionette theater (perfect end to Mozart birthplace visit). Buy online at Viator -- easier than buying at hotel.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The only real traces of Mozart is as the end of the tour when you visit the museum.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This tour isn't even worth one star. They group us with another couple who booked for a regular city tour not the one on the traces of Mozart. And they were German speaking. I'm sure they requested a tour in German language but they end up taking an English tour with us. There is nothing about the traces of Mozart except for the self tour of the Mozart Museum at the end. The tour is supposed to be 3.5 hours. We had about 50 minutes of regular city tour and the driver / guide dropped us at the Mozart Museum with an entrance ticket. Very very disappointed. Don't take this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

Using this card is so convenient and my only grumble is finding the information centre at the railway station where we could exchange our online booking form for the card.
We visited the fortress and used the funicular railway which was excellent. The guided walking tour around the fortress was interesting and the views are spectacular even on a freezing cold day with snow on the alps. We visited Mozart's residence and freely used the local trams.
Well worth buying this card to make your sightseeing trouble free.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Rosane
Brazil

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2013

This has probably been one of the most worth buying cards I've ever got simply because it saves you so much money! Just for the included entrances fees it's already worth it, it worked out a lot cheaper than if I had paid for the entrances to the main places separately such as the Mozart's House, birthplace and the fortress and really, you must see them all from inside as they are such a treasure! The views from the fortress were breathtaking, stunning! It had so many things included that I was lost for choices! Plus the fact that public transport was also included was very handy, it's worth every penny really!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Guides English was very poor, and he kept switching back and forth to German. Very little of Mozart to trace in Salzburg. The house he lived in as an older boy has little beyond paintings that may or may not have been Mozart

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

This tour showed us a good overview of the city. While others have said the same thing, it is time for your company to act: referring to Mozart in the title is misleading and unnecessary. The tour of the Mozart Museum at the end is pretty lame as well. We really learned very little from the museum other than there are lots of paintings said to be of him that are not Mozart. In addition, the tour is short and easily could be 30 minutes longer with a few short stops added. Since it is in a small van it is difficult to see out and see taller buildings. Taking photos is impossible.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2013

I paid for a tour of salzburg on the traces of Mozart and the guide gave us only a tour of the gazebo and lake for the sound of music. When he took us back to the panorama tour office he handed us tickets to the mozart museum and told us to take a taxi to the musem the next day. We never got to go, still have the tickets. This tour was horrible. I think the guide just made stuff up as he drove around crazy. Not trustworthy, Shaddy and bad tour.
Don't spend your $$$ on this..

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Note from Viator: We have contacted our local supplier based on your feedback and he asked us to leave the following comment: Dear Viator, we are very sorry to hear about this negative review and are due for a full refund of the billing amount. The 31st of December was a very busy day, nevertheless this is no excuse for an unqualified guiding service and the facts the client is reviewing below. We would be pleased if you could contact the client and forward our excuse. Thank you very much in advance for your cooperation! With kind regards from Salzburg.

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2013

The only negative thing is that on the viator page it says you can collect te card at the Mozart place and at the train station.
for those who have thought in picking up the cards at the Mozart Place please note they don't provide you with them. They don't even know that they work as providers, so if you want to be sure you receive it go directly to the tourist info at the train station!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2012

Very disappointing. Expected more about Mozart because of the mention of 'on the traces of Mozart'. Felt that the guide wanted to be done with the tour ASAP.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

cmf
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2012

Hotel pick-up was greatly appreciated. Combined German-English tour was a nice glimpse of the highlights of Salzburg. Mozart residence tour was done on our own at our own pace after the bus tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2011

The Salzburg Card is one of the best values in travel today. We got the 48 hr card. Other than eats, we did not pay anything for what we visited. This covers bus fares as well. Just go through the front door of the bus and show it to the driver.

If you are taking an Alpine vacation, do not leave Salzburg off of your vacation. The train station is a bit of a mess at present, but that will improve.

The adjacent bus station is convenient for going to places of interest. Bus route 25 will take you to the highlights. If it is a whirlwind tour, then the cable car at Untersberg (end of bus route), Hellbrunn castle, Hohnenfortresse, and downtown Mozart attractions are musts.

You can redeem your voucher at the information office that is behind the OBB information office at the train station for city cards.

I really recommend the 48 hr card; so, you can take attractions such as the zoo as well. Don't miss this gym of a city. And... don't let the shape of the area around the train station be your first impression of this beautiful city. I am sure it will be beautiful when they finish.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2011

We did not have enough time to get good use out of this card. We only got a 24 hour card and there is so much more to see and find than we had time to do . It also started to rain so we lost time there as well. I would recommend a minimum of 2 to 3 day for this card. Also we had some trouble locating the places we could go. We did see the Mozart's Birthplace, Hohensalzburg Fortress, Residenz State Rooms( recommend highly), did the Salzach Cruise. Salzberg is a very beautiful city and area sorry we did not see more. and would recomend a visit for everyone.

fortress and

Doing what: Salzburg Card

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
February 2010

It would be better if it was a walking tour. The name is a bit misleading, since there is not much mention of Mozart in the city until the last stop at the museum house.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Peter B
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2010

I enjoyed the Traces of Mozart tour! Would recommend this to all who visit Salzburg!

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message