Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 92 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

1. Read the fine print. Unlike all the other tour operators we have dealt with his operator offers only hotel pickup NOT drop off at hotel at end of tour.

2. This tour is not as described. The boat trip is from St Gilgin to St Wolfgang. This means that t St Wolfgang there is a very steep hill to climb to get from boat landing to town square and later to get to tour bus at top of a very steep 400 metre hill. This tour is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulty.

3. City tour was done well. Excellent guide.

4. Bus/Boat tour was passable but guide was arrogant.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The Austrian Lakes part of this tour was really lovely. However was a little disappointed with the City Tour - we literally sat on a bus for the whole duration, and got whisked around the sights of Salzburg. I would have preferred to walk around a bit. However the guide did a great job, considering the itinerary. Would definitely recommend the Lakes component.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

Simonne C
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I really did enjoy this tour but the guide was not that great.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The only real traces of Mozart is as the end of the tour when you visit the museum.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This tour isn't even worth one star. They group us with another couple who booked for a regular city tour not the one on the traces of Mozart. And they were German speaking. I'm sure they requested a tour in German language but they end up taking an English tour with us. There is nothing about the traces of Mozart except for the self tour of the Mozart Museum at the end. The tour is supposed to be 3.5 hours. We had about 50 minutes of regular city tour and the driver / guide dropped us at the Mozart Museum with an entrance ticket. Very very disappointed. Don't take this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was very informative but could be longer. Price was abit steep for a short tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We had to meet the tour guide across from the Mirabell Gardens. We were looking for some sign of "Viator" not knowing the local tour company had a different name. Once we figured that out we were shown to a van and sat in the van for 15 minutes while we were waiting for a late arrival. The first hour of the tour is a van trip that is not worth your time. Although the guide was good if you were sitting in the middle of the van seat you didn't see much. You can have a better time using the "hop on - hop off" bus and a guide book. The second part of the tour was a bus ride up to the lakes area and well worth the trip. A boat ride on Lake Wolfgang and a stop at St. Wolfgang with beautiful scenery. The stop at St. Wolfgang could be lengthened.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Since we had taken the Original Sound of Music tour the local operator suggested we change the tour as this one would be a duplicate. He convinced us to take the Bavarian Mountain Tour. Which was disappointing. We spent an hour in a town while we waited for those who were on the Salt Mine Tour. Most of the day was spent on the bus outside of the 1 hour wait. The City Tour ran late and was in a van which you couldn't see out of the windows and then the Bavarian bus left without us so we had to be driven to catchup to the tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The bus part of the tour was in places we had not had an opportunity to walk and see. The boat trip was alright but we could have passed it up as it did not go very far up and down the river.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour Including Salzach River Sightseeing Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Cheap and nasty!!! Would not recommend to anyone!! The only thing that was good was the punctuality which was definitely defined by the driver guide who was in such a hurry to finish the tour before it had started!! We were rushed from sight to sight. People sitting in the middle couldnt see a thing

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Guides English was very poor, and he kept switching back and forth to German. Very little of Mozart to trace in Salzburg. The house he lived in as an older boy has little beyond paintings that may or may not have been Mozart

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Salzburg city tour was useless. Guide was servicing both German and English speaking tourist. She was talking too fat and we could hardly understand anything she said. This was inspite of asking her to slow down. Monuments would pass by after she was done telling us about them so we did not kno which monument she was taking about. As far as lake and Mountain trip is concerned, it was good.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was very good value. The Salzburg City tour was done in a minivan so there were only 4 of us. Charlotte our guide was excellent. Parts of the tour were the same as the Sound of Music tour but that was not a problem.
The Lakes and Mountains was also very good. Not too rushed and outstanding natural beauty.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We were six persons and we were put in a eight seater van with two french speaking persons who seated in the front. the guide had to converse in french as well which distracted us since we had requested for a tour in English language. Also, we expected a bus with large windows so that the persons sitting in the middle can have a full panaromic view which we could not get due to size of the van. we think we did not get value for the money we paid.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message