• USD ($)
  • English
Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 86 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was very informative but could be longer. Price was abit steep for a short tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We had to meet the tour guide across from the Mirabell Gardens. We were looking for some sign of "Viator" not knowing the local tour company had a different name. Once we figured that out we were shown to a van and sat in the van for 15 minutes while we were waiting for a late arrival. The first hour of the tour is a van trip that is not worth your time. Although the guide was good if you were sitting in the middle of the van seat you didn't see much. You can have a better time using the "hop on - hop off" bus and a guide book. The second part of the tour was a bus ride up to the lakes area and well worth the trip. A boat ride on Lake Wolfgang and a stop at St. Wolfgang with beautiful scenery. The stop at St. Wolfgang could be lengthened.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Since we had taken the Original Sound of Music tour the local operator suggested we change the tour as this one would be a duplicate. He convinced us to take the Bavarian Mountain Tour. Which was disappointing. We spent an hour in a town while we waited for those who were on the Salt Mine Tour. Most of the day was spent on the bus outside of the 1 hour wait. The City Tour ran late and was in a van which you couldn't see out of the windows and then the Bavarian bus left without us so we had to be driven to catchup to the tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The bus part of the tour was in places we had not had an opportunity to walk and see. The boat trip was alright but we could have passed it up as it did not go very far up and down the river.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour Including Salzach River Sightseeing Cruise

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Cheap and nasty!!! Would not recommend to anyone!! The only thing that was good was the punctuality which was definitely defined by the driver guide who was in such a hurry to finish the tour before it had started!! We were rushed from sight to sight. People sitting in the middle couldnt see a thing

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Guides English was very poor, and he kept switching back and forth to German. Very little of Mozart to trace in Salzburg. The house he lived in as an older boy has little beyond paintings that may or may not have been Mozart

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
August 2013

Salzburg city tour was useless. Guide was servicing both German and English speaking tourist. She was talking too fat and we could hardly understand anything she said. This was inspite of asking her to slow down. Monuments would pass by after she was done telling us about them so we did not kno which monument she was taking about. As far as lake and Mountain trip is concerned, it was good.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2013

This was very good value. The Salzburg City tour was done in a minivan so there were only 4 of us. Charlotte our guide was excellent. Parts of the tour were the same as the Sound of Music tour but that was not a problem.
The Lakes and Mountains was also very good. Not too rushed and outstanding natural beauty.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2013

We were six persons and we were put in a eight seater van with two french speaking persons who seated in the front. the guide had to converse in french as well which distracted us since we had requested for a tour in English language. Also, we expected a bus with large windows so that the persons sitting in the middle can have a full panaromic view which we could not get due to size of the van. we think we did not get value for the money we paid.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2013

Salzburg is small, not need have city tour.

Tour has been changed to King's lake one. We have short time at lake, but waste time at a small German town.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2013

A very enjoyable day with a pleasant guide. The Salzburg tour is nothing special but the Lake tour is great. The boat ride to St. Wolfgang was particularly memorable. We were very fortunate to have good weather since it rains a lot in Salzburg.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
June 2013

Tour in the river and mountains was nice and relaxing, we had a good guide as well

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
June 2013

The city tour was short and not that interesting. That may have been partly the local tour company, the rain, and the fact this city is not that interesting if you are not a rabid fan of "The Sound of Music". The Austrian lakes tour part was a bit better and the local guide, Natasha, was quite colorful and nice. Unfortunately, that did not save this package from 2 stars.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2013

This tour showed us a good overview of the city. While others have said the same thing, it is time for your company to act: referring to Mozart in the title is misleading and unnecessary. The tour of the Mozart Museum at the end is pretty lame as well. We really learned very little from the museum other than there are lots of paintings said to be of him that are not Mozart. In addition, the tour is short and easily could be 30 minutes longer with a few short stops added. Since it is in a small van it is difficult to see out and see taller buildings. Taking photos is impossible.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message