Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 364 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Alvaro

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excelent tour with Debbie, who was very kind and professional. Congratulatoons

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Terence T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Beautiful tour, lake wolgang was peaceful. Enough time in Salzburg to see everything and get a bite to eat.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

p@t

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Very nice tour, perfect timing, amazing landscapes and the guide Patricia was very nice and helpful.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Ee Him O Singapore

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

A bit rush and too big a group.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Justin A

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2016

Overpriced bus ride. Plan on spending about the same amount of time in Salzburg that you spend on the ride out. Also, our guide was not allowed to give tours of the city and rushed the group from site to site in order to avoid scrutiny. Take the train. It and #39;s faster, cheaper, and you can set the pace.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Aye W

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
May 2016

The description of Sound of Music on the ad was totally misleading. My daughter was looking forward to it and so were an Australian senior couple who were on the bus who also expressed disappointment. The guide obviously knew very little or nothing about the movie. Fortunately, I had visited Salzburg before and could leave the group to take my daughter on a quick tour and even managed to dash up to the Hohensalzburg castle by furnicular. The time in Salzburg was far too short and we had to go there again by train a few days later to explore the place by ourselves.

The most annoying part was that the tour was bilingual and not English only as advertised. The guide, who was Spanish, was not comfortable in English and the Spanish part of the explanations were far longer, keeping the English speaking group waiting for the tour to proceed. The PA system on the bus was also annoying and gave us a headache. I understand that there were similar complaints from other people on the bus.

The trip to the Salzkammergut was far better and made up for the inadequacy of the Salzburg part.

Having said about the annoying part of the visit, I would like to say that I am totally sympathetic to the guide, whose name I believe was Patrizzia. She was obviously trying hard and even though visibly stressed, was helpful. I am sorry she was put in a situation which was beyond her control. When she went round for feedback, I put it to her as kindly as I could. When she asked thee Australian couple, who were within earshot, they agreed with my comments, adding that the Spanish part of the explanations was three times longer. With all due respect to the Spanish fellow tourists, the bilingual arrangement was not fair on either party and on the tour guide herself.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Isa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Salzburg is beautiful, super recommended.
We did not get to go to Lake District, and that is why its a 3 star review, they should specify this doesn't happen during low season.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

LinaKobalt Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I was there 3 weeks before Christmas and it was simply wonderful. The venue is right next to the Cathedral which is just great! The concert was amazing too - a whole chamber orchestra playing Mozart! The musicians were very professional, and the funny speaker made this evening even more gorgeous :

Doing what: Mozart in Residenz Chamber Orchestra Concert in Salzburg

Ruby C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

A bit upset as the group was too big and was divided into English speaking group and Spanish speaking group.
We therefore need to listen the briefing from the tour guide either in English first or Spanish first.
It's wasting time to wait while the guide is speaking in other language and we cannot go. We therefore found we don't have enough time to explore Salzburg at our own or to take a cruise on Lake Wolfgangsee.
I would appreciate if they can reduce the numbers of people in the group or they can send two tour guide with one English speaking and one Spanish speaking. I thought our group is over 50 peoples. Its quite difficult to manage and other tourists wow at us as they found this is a BIG BIG GROUP. This is absolutely not professional when people found the group was from Viator.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were blessed with a sunny day in Salzburg and at Lake Wolfgangsee. The autumn colors were outstanding and it was a terrific excursion. Salzburg is an interesting city and worthwhile to visit. Scenery at Lake Wolfgangsee was spectacular.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Maxwell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Day, comfortable bus friendly guide interesting places to see.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Marc C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see Salzburg

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

wjmeyer

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We were a very large group so our guide had trouble addressing the group in the city. We were disappointed that she did not give us more history prior to arriving in the crowded city Could not hear her if you were not right up front because of the large group. The afternoon was much better. The lake district was beautiful, however, felt they could have been better narrative.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Pat

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Never thought I would say that a few hours in Salzburg is enough, but it was. I found the city a tiny bit gloomy and we did see the two fountains, the cemetery where the Trapp family was hiding and the nunnery without having to take a more extensive tour. anyway, glad we did not do an extension off of an organized tour that we had just finished in Munich where they were going to stay in Salzburg for about 2 days. It was easy to find the bus in front of the department store by the Munich train station. Our guide pretty much read from the script on the trip. Nice person but nothing exceptional.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Susana K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was really nice.. The tour guide, Cristina, was really good and the driver too. I will suggest to start the tour earlier 8:00 instead of 8:30 and end it later 19:00 instead of 17:00 to have more time in the city of Salzburg, 2.5 hours is to short to visit the city I was running all the time to visit the streets and see more from the city.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

MUKESH P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

excellent tour specially Lake Mozart trip.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

LING CHIU C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Salzburg and Lake Wolfgangsee were scenic and it was really enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Khasro W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was agood trip but in Salzburg was not enough. Time

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

afzalraza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

enjoyed it very much - we had a great tour guide able to provide background information and history

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Trevor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very good day. The tour guide, Debbie, was excellent and ensured everyone knew where to be and when to be there. Salzburg was an interesting town, scenery is magnificent and it would be easy to spend more time there.
A highlight was the Lakes District and the cruise. Again magnificent scenery.
It's a long day,but a very good one. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Patricia Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was overcast all day and we were unable to see the lakes, but it was a delightful trip.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Gary

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour of Salzburg could've been better organized. The tour guide was not very informative, and could barely be heard by the group. The group was pretty much left on their own to explore and find their way back to the bus for the second part of the tour. Very little emphasis on anything related to the Sound of Music - - - something for which that the Salzburg area is famous. The tour of the Lake District was an altogether different matter - - - great scenery, and the boat ride was phenomenal - even in somewhat dreary weather.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Suz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Whilst the boat trip was optional, it is a must. This made it into a wonderful day.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Gilda F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very beautiful and very scenic. Lake District tour was aborted due to the influx of refugees coming into Germany at the boarder of Salzburg due to limited time going back to Munich.

Doing what: Sound of Music, Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message