Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 286 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2015

The tour was great, the bus was very comfortable and the tour guide Ursula was very amusing and knowledgable. However, it was very disappointing to find out, on the bus, that the tour will not include the lake district, as promised. It should have been noted upon reservation of the trip.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

The city was amazing and im so glad i saw it. This tour was a great value. Our guide Margit was so helpful and went out of her way to help, she even offered to take us through the city herself which is not included in the service (i recommend you take the offer). Big thanks to Margit, very informa

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

This area is very beautiful indeed! Mozart's home is a must to see.And walking around is like stepping back in time.You will realize why the Sound of Music was filmed there.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2015

I originally purchased this trip to see the Lake District more than Salzburg (since I've been there multiple times). Unfortunately the company cancelled the Lake District portion of the trip without notice and shortened the trip by 1 1/2 hours. I think they added time to the Salzburg portion of the trip, but I'm not sure. Two stars for the disappointment and 4 stars for the overall equals 3 stars.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
January 2015

Paid more for the Lake District tour, only to find out that is not available in the winter. Would have been nice for Viator to advise of this before collecting the higher rate. The tour of the city and the tour guide were nice. Nothing with regard to "The Sound of Music" was ever shown or mentioned.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Fabulous, we really enjoyed the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

just great
funny and frienly guide

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I am a 20-year-old student studying in Spain and my friend and I went on this trip. We were by far the youngest on the tour but it was such a great experience! Our tour guide was Lucia who was English and Spanish fluent. She gave really helpful recommendations (which Mozart candies to buy, where to spend most of your free time) and had a great attitude about everything. The Christmas markets are amazing, so if you're in town for late November/December don't miss out. Lastly, the lake boat ride (an extra 10 Euro) is definitely worth the added cost.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Tour was great however, you need two days in Salsburg. We weren't able to see everything we wanted to.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

Very enjoyable day trip. Salzburg is a lovely city- would have enjoyed another hour or two to explore on my own. The lake district is very pretty and the boat ride was fun. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly with everyone.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2014

This tour was just as it was explained in the booking process. To be clear, Viator books the tour, but the tour is run by the tour company so you are on with others not having booked with Viator. Likewise, the guide is from the tour company. This was not obvious to me from booking and /or reviews.
Iñaki was our guide for the entire tour-except of course, free time. He did a great job both on the bus, and on foot, giving us information. I did feel he was a bit fast in his presentations, but on this particular tour, he gave the information first in English, then in Spanish, so a lot to say at each stop.
The only problem was a rather fast pace on the return to the bus from the meeting point in Salzburg. Iñaki was so very apologetic and said he would have slowed down if we had told him. But of course we were at the rear so could not speak to him. In fairness, my sister is 80, and the average age of this group was significantly younger, so I doubt anyone else would have had the same concern.
The boat ride with "appropriate musical accompaniment" was very nice and a lot of smiles were to be seen. My sister opted top stay on the bus instead of taking the boat ride, as getting to the boat entailed further walking. We were accommodated, no problem, and she was very comfortable.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Debbie was great and the sight were absolutely stunning,

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Fantastic tour, the highlight was definitely the Lake District. We had a great time and it was amazingly beautiful.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Scenery was breathtakingly beautiful! Tour was paced well and allowed free time at each stop. Boat ride was outstanding! This was our second tour with Ursula, who was the best tour guide in the world! Her passion for Germany/Austria was infectious, and there was not a single question she could not answer!

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message