Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 316 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Well planned and a fantastic trip to a beautiful little city. Would have been great to have some more time in Salzburg itself but I loved seeing the lakes as well! Shame about the weather but the guide was fantastic.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great trip! Don't miss the castle as the view from the top is amazing. Also the lake trip is very nice. I don't recommend Mozart's museum unless you are one of his fans.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The trip was wonderful. Especially the boat cruise on the lake giving you a marvelous sightseeing.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic fairytale city!!!! Gorgeous .,.,the tour was fantastic ..

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Loved it! We had a really good day both in Salzburg and Lake District. Our guide was amazing. She explained everything nicely. We definitely had a good time. Would recommend the trip without a blink.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

jhart02
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Very good tour, was short but sweet.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

It was a nice well organized tour and we managed to cover most of the major sights and attractions. Highly recommend this tour for those looking for a short day long getaway from Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

I went on this tour with my family who was visiting me and it was their first time in Europe. We had a very successful tour the day before with Viator and decided to give the Salzburg tour a try as well. Besides the rainy weather at start, the trip was good overall. One issue we did have was that this was an English tour, however, there were some who did not know English and the tour had to be given in both German and English, which we found a little annoying since some of the landmarks/monuments that were mentioned we had already passed and we were not aware of it since it was introduced to us in German. The city overall was very beautiful and the bus ride was very comfortable. We were provided with maps of the city and our tour guide walked us through the sites on the Map while on the bus since we would only be with her for the beginning of the trip. Along the way we were introduced to some of the Sound of Music sights while in the Bus but did not stop at them. The tour is very long, however, the last stop at the Lake District was really worth it. We opted out of the boat ride and decided to explore the cute little town next to the Wolfgangsee instead which allowed us to soak in the beautiful surroundings more. Overall, the tour was a great experience and for the price, you cant beat it.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

guide was bilingual, and spoke so fast in both languages, we were really confused about sights, meeting places, etc. the boat ride on wolfgangsee was the highlight of the trip.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

very nice, spectacular views

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

Salzburg is a lovely city, but it should be visited for several days rather than a couple hours. The majority of the time alloted to the tour was spent on the bus, including a traffic jam, in which we sat for almost an hour. The worst part of the tour was Arnaud, our guide! He gave almost no information. The walks we took were more like forced marches. He took off at a fast pace and assumed everyone would hurry behind him. He would point at a sight e.g. Mozart's birthplace and say Take a quick picture if you want to. Then he hurried on. On the boat trip we took a waste of an additional 10, he said nothing, gave no information, and pointed out nothing of interest. Also irritating was the fact that every time we got off the bus or boat, he whipped out his electronic cigarette and puffed on it as we walked. I have been on many trips and tours, and Arnaud is by far the absolute worst guide I have ever had!

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

We took this tour on our first day in Munich . I am rating only the actual tour not an amazing Salzburg ! The drive and city is incredible ! But the tour giuide was simply unprofessional !!! Horrible !!! We all were handed the map and left alone by bus ! No guide through the city ! Katherine bad bad

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
June 2015

The sights were beautiful but I feel that I did not learn a thing. I would have liked to learn more about the history of the town and district instead of what stars stayed in the hotels

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This trip was definitely worth the time and money. Magrit was a wonderful guide, and Erol, a great driver. Very professional, helpful, and courteous. If you do the Salzburg trip, definitely do the one that included the Lake District. That was my favorite part. It's so beautiful. Thank you!

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Awesome tour. We were pleasantly surprised with this tour because the description didn't do it justice. The scenery was spectacular and visiting Salzburg was so cool. This tour was the highlight of our trip.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

It was an amazing experience being part of this concert. Great musicians, beautiful hall in the middle of Salzburg...and a full chamber orchestra playing! I also loved to learn some facts about Mozart's life. I would highly recommend this tour for your Salzburg trip.

Doing what: Mozart in Residenz Chamber Orchestra Concert in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour! It was so lovely to see Salzburg! Beautiful fortress and gardens in the city of Salzburg, I only wish we had more time there! The boat ride on Lake Wolfgang was cool even with bad weather, but More time in Salzburg would have been nice. Still great trip for the $$$$

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The tour was great. I enjoyed Salzburg! However, the tour listed we would drive past the Sound of Music House. We didn't see anything at all! About a mile in the distance was the church they got married in but I only saw it because I asked the tour guide. Please don't advertise if it isn't included.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Salzburg is beautiful. We wanted to see the Sound of Music sites but enjoyed the other aspects of the tour also. The beauty of the Alps and the drive to the lake district is spectacular. A very nice tour.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

very knowledgeable guide, excellent value for money for such a full and varied tour

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A good day trip to Salzburg ,the coach was clean and well driven.
Enjoyed listening to our Tour guide Maria,she was very informative.
Salzburg was a beautiful city to visit,great views of the Bavarien countryside on the way.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

A good day out. Limited time in Salzburg. Guide was excellent. No complaints.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Not enough time spent in the city. The day we went it was raining, and instead of extending the amount of time in Salzburg where you could shop in little boutiques, they kept it the same, and made us go onto the next activity. Which was of course a boat ride....in the rain.

Overall, a good tour. The guide just wanted tips, but who can blame her.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
May 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message