Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 357 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Isa B

3 star rating: Worth doing
January 2016

Salzburg is beautiful, super recommended.
We did not get to go to Lake District, and that is why its a 3 star review, they should specify this doesn't happen during low season.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

LinaKobalt Austria

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

I was there 3 weeks before Christmas and it was simply wonderful. The venue is right next to the Cathedral which is just great! The concert was amazing too - a whole chamber orchestra playing Mozart! The musicians were very professional, and the funny speaker made this evening even more gorgeous :

Doing what: Mozart in Residenz Chamber Orchestra Concert in Salzburg

Ruby C

3 star rating: Worth doing
December 2015

A bit upset as the group was too big and was divided into English speaking group and Spanish speaking group.
We therefore need to listen the briefing from the tour guide either in English first or Spanish first.
It's wasting time to wait while the guide is speaking in other language and we cannot go. We therefore found we don't have enough time to explore Salzburg at our own or to take a cruise on Lake Wolfgangsee.
I would appreciate if they can reduce the numbers of people in the group or they can send two tour guide with one English speaking and one Spanish speaking. I thought our group is over 50 peoples. Its quite difficult to manage and other tourists wow at us as they found this is a BIG BIG GROUP. This is absolutely not professional when people found the group was from Viator.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Steven L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

We were blessed with a sunny day in Salzburg and at Lake Wolfgangsee. The autumn colors were outstanding and it was a terrific excursion. Salzburg is an interesting city and worthwhile to visit. Scenery at Lake Wolfgangsee was spectacular.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Maxwell H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great Day, comfortable bus friendly guide interesting places to see.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Marc C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Fantastic tour. I would recommend this tour to anyone wanting to see Salzburg

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

wjmeyer

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

We were a very large group so our guide had trouble addressing the group in the city. We were disappointed that she did not give us more history prior to arriving in the crowded city Could not hear her if you were not right up front because of the large group. The afternoon was much better. The lake district was beautiful, however, felt they could have been better narrative.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Pat

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Never thought I would say that a few hours in Salzburg is enough, but it was. I found the city a tiny bit gloomy and we did see the two fountains, the cemetery where the Trapp family was hiding and the nunnery without having to take a more extensive tour. anyway, glad we did not do an extension off of an organized tour that we had just finished in Munich where they were going to stay in Salzburg for about 2 days. It was easy to find the bus in front of the department store by the Munich train station. Our guide pretty much read from the script on the trip. Nice person but nothing exceptional.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Susana K

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

The tour was really nice.. The tour guide, Cristina, was really good and the driver too. I will suggest to start the tour earlier 8:00 instead of 8:30 and end it later 19:00 instead of 17:00 to have more time in the city of Salzburg, 2.5 hours is to short to visit the city I was running all the time to visit the streets and see more from the city.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

MUKESH P

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

excellent tour specially Lake Mozart trip.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

LING CHIU C

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Salzburg and Lake Wolfgangsee were scenic and it was really enjoyable day trip.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Khasro W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was agood trip but in Salzburg was not enough. Time

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

afzalraza

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

enjoyed it very much - we had a great tour guide able to provide background information and history

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Trevor D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

A very good day. The tour guide, Debbie, was excellent and ensured everyone knew where to be and when to be there. Salzburg was an interesting town, scenery is magnificent and it would be easy to spend more time there.
A highlight was the Lakes District and the cruise. Again magnificent scenery.
It's a long day,but a very good one. Well worth doing.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Patricia Mary N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

It was overcast all day and we were unable to see the lakes, but it was a delightful trip.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Gary

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

The tour of Salzburg could've been better organized. The tour guide was not very informative, and could barely be heard by the group. The group was pretty much left on their own to explore and find their way back to the bus for the second part of the tour. Very little emphasis on anything related to the Sound of Music - - - something for which that the Salzburg area is famous. The tour of the Lake District was an altogether different matter - - - great scenery, and the boat ride was phenomenal - even in somewhat dreary weather.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Suz

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Whilst the boat trip was optional, it is a must. This made it into a wonderful day.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Gilda F

4 star rating: Recommended
October 2015

Very beautiful and very scenic. Lake District tour was aborted due to the influx of refugees coming into Germany at the boarder of Salzburg due to limited time going back to Munich.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Becky

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
October 2015

All we got from this tour was a ride down to Salzburg. The tour guide was not informative and all she said she would do is guide us up to the fortress, but she said the tour wasn't good, so we didn't go up. Basically, we were on our own to explore the city. I had been there before so I knew of Mozart's birthplace to take us. I thought I was getting a tour, not just a ride. Also, didn't even get to go to the Lake District which was a draw for me. Just a waste of a whole day on our vacation, so wouldn't recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Chrissy

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

We had a great time on this day trip! Our coach was lovely and comfortable and started from a super convenient location. The trip to Salzburg was smooth and quick and we had around 3 hours to explore the beautiful city. Our guide Francesca was very good at pointing out the best points of interest. The cruise on Lake Wolfgang was incredible, such a beautiful part of the world. Would definitely recommend this tour to anyone who only has a day to see Salzburg and surrounds.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Timothy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Was just beautiful! Great guide.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Christopher S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent tour! Salzburg is a very nice little city, recommend having lunch at the top of the Fortress. Not a lot of time to see everything, but that is expected on short day trips like this. The highlight of the whole trip though is definitely the Lake District! Lake Wolfgangsee is absolutely beautiful! The guide was very knowledgeable providing information on both the Munich area and Austria.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

usama19

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

the lake district is very nice , we didn't spend much time in salzburg , we could have stayed more time at salzburg then we go to Wolfgang see and reach munich at 9 instead of 7 , but anyway i've enjoyed so much and i didn't wanna go back specially from wolfgang see , it's one of the most picturestic places i've ever been to, our tour guide Elizabith was so nice and informative , she's so charming and telling us the stories . i really would love to go with her again if i had the chance to be there once more. and the driver Wolfgang is a good professional driver. worth respect .

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Frederick W

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

was very informative and efficient

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Kaitlyn M

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

This tour was great. It was so convenient taking the bus to Salzburg. The scenery was beautiful.

Doing what: Salzburg and Lake District Day Tour from Munich

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message