Salzburg is immensely proud of its most famous son, and Mozartplatz is just one of the city’s many tributes. The square, with its elegant statue of a youthful Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, dates back to 1842 and was partly funded by Mad King Ludwig ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 97 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The tour was good but we were left waiting at the start with no information as to what was happening

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

The 1st part was a fast Drive through the city - the driver pointed out a few buildings of interest but did not even pause for a "photo op" - several times mentioned "I will tell you more later..." giving the impression we were not actually missing anything because we would see again later. Suddenly, it was over! What had we seen? The boat was more pleasant and apparently on a less cloudy day we would have seen a memorable view at turnaround point. Since it was cloudy - in reality to was a ride to nowhere! Not worth the fee!

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour Including Salzach River Sightseeing Cruise

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2014

the tour was poorly planned and local sights were shown fleetingly. Waste of money

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
July 2014

1. Read the fine print. Unlike all the other tour operators we have dealt with his operator offers only hotel pickup NOT drop off at hotel at end of tour.

2. This tour is not as described. The boat trip is from St Gilgin to St Wolfgang. This means that t St Wolfgang there is a very steep hill to climb to get from boat landing to town square and later to get to tour bus at top of a very steep 400 metre hill. This tour is not suitable for anyone with walking difficulty.

3. City tour was done well. Excellent guide.

4. Bus/Boat tour was passable but guide was arrogant.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2014

The Austrian Lakes part of this tour was really lovely. However was a little disappointed with the City Tour - we literally sat on a bus for the whole duration, and got whisked around the sights of Salzburg. I would have preferred to walk around a bit. However the guide did a great job, considering the itinerary. Would definitely recommend the Lakes component.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

Simonne C
Australia

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2014

I really did enjoy this tour but the guide was not that great.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
April 2014

The only real traces of Mozart is as the end of the tour when you visit the museum.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2014

This tour isn't even worth one star. They group us with another couple who booked for a regular city tour not the one on the traces of Mozart. And they were German speaking. I'm sure they requested a tour in German language but they end up taking an English tour with us. There is nothing about the traces of Mozart except for the self tour of the Mozart Museum at the end. The tour is supposed to be 3.5 hours. We had about 50 minutes of regular city tour and the driver / guide dropped us at the Mozart Museum with an entrance ticket. Very very disappointed. Don't take this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2014

It was very informative but could be longer. Price was abit steep for a short tour.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour - On the Traces of Mozart

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
October 2013

We had to meet the tour guide across from the Mirabell Gardens. We were looking for some sign of "Viator" not knowing the local tour company had a different name. Once we figured that out we were shown to a van and sat in the van for 15 minutes while we were waiting for a late arrival. The first hour of the tour is a van trip that is not worth your time. Although the guide was good if you were sitting in the middle of the van seat you didn't see much. You can have a better time using the "hop on - hop off" bus and a guide book. The second part of the tour was a bus ride up to the lakes area and well worth the trip. A boat ride on Lake Wolfgang and a stop at St. Wolfgang with beautiful scenery. The stop at St. Wolfgang could be lengthened.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2013

Since we had taken the Original Sound of Music tour the local operator suggested we change the tour as this one would be a duplicate. He convinced us to take the Bavarian Mountain Tour. Which was disappointing. We spent an hour in a town while we waited for those who were on the Salt Mine Tour. Most of the day was spent on the bus outside of the 1 hour wait. The City Tour ran late and was in a van which you couldn't see out of the windows and then the Bavarian bus left without us so we had to be driven to catchup to the tour.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour plus Austrian Lakes and Mountains Sightseeing Tour

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
August 2013

The bus part of the tour was in places we had not had an opportunity to walk and see. The boat trip was alright but we could have passed it up as it did not go very far up and down the river.

Doing what: Salzburg City Tour Including Salzach River Sightseeing Cruise

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message