• USD ($)
  • English

Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 447 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Pass was great and we were able to accomplish so much in a short time. If we have a chance, we would do it again.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Well worth having! We certainly used it to its full advantage, would recommend taking the number 25 bus to Hellbrunn Palace!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Jonathan I
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Superb. Well worth the time.
The tour guide we had called Walter could not have been better, he knew all the small details and his English was flawless. Well worth the money. 10/10

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

it was a nice experience. We enjoyed it throughly.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I had a really good time on this tour. The guide was great, and the Salt Mines were unique and interesting. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

The sound of music part of this tour was the best - the guide, Peter, was so enthusiastic and knowledgeable and we got to see so many things! Salt mines was very cool as well, interesting history. Recommended for anyone with extra time in Salzburg

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Very well organised tour. The tour guide was excellent and gave us lots of information. Unfortunately we didnt have the best weather so views werent amazing. Overall a good tour that takes the stress out of travelling to the various places on your own. Salt Mines definately must be visited, great experience.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2014

Enjoyed the trip very much. Walter and Thomas were great guides .unfortunately the weather

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

We bought the discounted hop on hop off as well. Had the best driver! He pointed everything out to us. The card was so nice to have, we could just jump off and go in wherever. Transportation alone was worth it! We definitely got our $ out of it!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

While the tour took up the entire day it is completely worth it. The Sound of Music tour was fun and a great tour for sightseeing. However, the salt mines tour was spectacular. Our tour guide was fun and took care of us. The salt mines themselves were something that everyone should do if you have the opportunity. I had an amazing time and would highly recommend it!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2014

Great tour of the Salt Mines and Sound of Music tour. Would recommend this trip. Tour guide was very nice and informative.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

we definitely got our moneys worth. It allowed us entrance to all the museums that we could fit into our 24 hour period

Doing what: Salzburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Both tours together take up a full day, but are worth doing! Tour guides are incredible with facts, trivia, and recommendations. The salt mines are intreaguing and educational. Sound of music tour is beautiful even on a cloudy day.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2014

Fun tour. Very informative :) This was my second time doing the tour of the mine and I still enjoyed it. I especially loved the drive through Bavaria, and the tour guide was wonderful :)

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
February 2014

I took this trip with a group of friend in January 2014. This trip starts by a drive towards the Bavarian mountains where you stop in a small gift store to catch a glimpse of the mountains and eagle eye then the driver takes you to the salt-mines and finally, there is a stop in a small german village. In the village, there is nothing interesting to see but we grabbed something to drink. Overall, the trip was good. The best part of the trip was the salt mines tour. The English tour guide was monotonous and a bit boring.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message