Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 827 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great, fun tour! Beautiful scenery!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Micke

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Salzburg card saved us a lot of waiting time at the museum, castles and many places of attractions. In fact, we have saved a lot of entrance fees by using the card. Highly recommended to buy if you plan to visit Salzburg! Thank you Viator!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

nossresearchconsulti ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wolfgang was a GREAT tour guide, very knowledgeable and hilarious. This tour should have hotel pick-up.

The salt-mine tour was amazing. The bus could have been a little larger as there was no leg room/space.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

nossresearchconsulti ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wolfgang was a GREAT tour guide and hilarious. The salt-mine tour was amazing.

They should provide hotel pick-up. The bus could have been a little larger as there was no leg room.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Ryan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Both tours were great. My wife and I learned a lot on both tours. There was one big question we had when signing up for both of these tours. Will there be time to get food throughout the day or in between tours? The answer is yes/kind of. Within each tour, you will get approximately one hour at the end to tour a town. During that time, you can get food, but it is not included in the tour price. Or, there was about 45 minutes in between tours to grab a snack.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Olwen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent host, not just informative but very entertaining! The salt mines were fascinating, and the scenic bus ride beautiful. I only wish there was maybe 30 minutes more to explore the town of Berchtesgaden. There is really only time to eat lunch or explore, but not both.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

O M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Viator offered everything we wanted out of the Salzburg site visit. Thanks for the wonderful experience. Oh and added bonus for refunded us a ticket, especially considering that the individual had an emergency. Thanks again for the support.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Carissa E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Best value for money in Salzburg!! We used it for the Salzburg Fortress, public transport and Mozart's Residence - more than got our money's worth :-

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Linda C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour was great except I wasn't impressed with the place recommended for lunch by the tour guide. The golden bear - it was more expensive than in the city and the food was not as good quality. I had the schnitzel and it wasn't as good as other restaurants I tried in town so would suggest another restaurant to eat at for lunch. It was a shame the steps at the top of the eagles nest were not cleared of snow. I was not wearing the right shoes to make it to the top view point and I think the snow could have been easily cleared to let visitors to the top more safely.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Jaslyn T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Totally enjoyed the visit to the salt mines! Loved the train ride and slides. Didn and #39;t know it was so difficult to get salt until this trip. The visit to the lakes and mountains was relaxing. As there want boat trip, we were offered cakes and tea which was perfect for the cold weather! Must try!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

ALAN B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Had a good time. Would have been even better if not for the rain, but that is on Mother Nature.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Michael M

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

I had a lot of fun on this tour. The salt mine was very interesting, and the slides were fun. I wish we had a little more time for our stopover in the little town.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Kathy

3 star rating: Worth doing
May 2016

It was okay. Save your money for other things. Nothing to do with Viator, I just thought it was boring. Riding down slides was fun and the boat ride across the lake but that's about it.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing is an understatement for this tour.. Carlos is a matchless guide.. Very well informed and he adds a very nice touch of humour to his commentary.. His comic timing is terrific.. The salt mine is another world.. I won't write much about it here since it takes away the element of surprise for those who're planning to visit it.. But it is a MUST VISIT place.. Due to limited time we didn't visit the Eagle's Nest.. But hopefully some other time we would.. Absolutely recommended..

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos, the Tour Guide, did an exceptional job.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very informative and and a lot of fun.The tour guide was excellent and a gentleman.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Megan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour. We had a great tour guide who provided us with a lot of great information during the drive. Once we got to the salt-mines we were walked right in and put in the front of the group for the tour. If you are doing the English speaking tour you will receive an audio guide that takes you through the mine. It's a great tour with a lot of information.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Monica

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Angeline N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great with good planing. I bought for 3 days but I didn't use very much. A day or 2 is enough because most places are easily accessible by walking.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the mountains and the salt mines. The scenery was fantastic, with lots of snow. the salt mines interesting and fun and our guide Walter was great.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Claire

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great! Amazing Tour GuideSonia and Drive. 200 enjoyed the Sound of music tour!! Love it!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Agnes L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Interesting experience at the salt mine . Worth the trip. However the Bavarian Mountains visit was just a stop over at a half way mountain road for a photo shoot and much time spent at the souvenir shop which I felt could have been replaced with a further trip to the mountain view.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

pmackenzie67

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Sunday was a good day to book this package. Most of the shops are closed, so it gave us something to do. Eight of us travelled in a van to the salt mine. The tour guide was informative, helpful and gracious. He made our tour enjoyable. The salt mine tour itself was above our expectations. We had a lot of fun and educational.
The Sound of Music tour was plenty of fun with some behind the scenes information. There's nothing like a bus full of people singing the Sound of Music songs together.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Amanda D Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Pretty boring! The ground was ineven in the cave and there was very poor lighting. The slides were fun though. The guide was young but spoke clearly but thee large number of people made her hard to hear.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message