Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 815 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Jaslyn T

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Totally enjoyed the visit to the salt mines! Loved the train ride and slides. Didn and #39;t know it was so difficult to get salt until this trip. The visit to the lakes and mountains was relaxing. As there want boat trip, we were offered cakes and tea which was perfect for the cold weather! Must try!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Ajsa India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Amazing is an understatement for this tour.. Carlos is a matchless guide.. Very well informed and he adds a very nice touch of humour to his commentary.. His comic timing is terrific.. The salt mine is another world.. I won't write much about it here since it takes away the element of surprise for those who're planning to visit it.. But it is a MUST VISIT place.. Due to limited time we didn't visit the Eagle's Nest.. But hopefully some other time we would.. Absolutely recommended..

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Terri S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

Carlos, the Tour Guide, did an exceptional job.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Robert D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

very informative and and a lot of fun.The tour guide was excellent and a gentleman.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Megan W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2016

This is a great tour. We had a great tour guide who provided us with a lot of great information during the drive. Once we got to the salt-mines we were walked right in and put in the front of the group for the tour. If you are doing the English speaking tour you will receive an audio guide that takes you through the mine. It's a great tour with a lot of information.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Monica

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Angeline N

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2016

Great with good planing. I bought for 3 days but I didn't use very much. A day or 2 is enough because most places are easily accessible by walking.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Margaret H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the mountains and the salt mines. The scenery was fantastic, with lots of snow. the salt mines interesting and fun and our guide Walter was great.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Claire

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2016

Great! Amazing Tour GuideSonia and Drive. 200 enjoyed the Sound of music tour!! Love it!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Agnes L

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Interesting experience at the salt mine . Worth the trip. However the Bavarian Mountains visit was just a stop over at a half way mountain road for a photo shoot and much time spent at the souvenir shop which I felt could have been replaced with a further trip to the mountain view.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

pmackenzie67

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2016

Sunday was a good day to book this package. Most of the shops are closed, so it gave us something to do. Eight of us travelled in a van to the salt mine. The tour guide was informative, helpful and gracious. He made our tour enjoyable. The salt mine tour itself was above our expectations. We had a lot of fun and educational.
The Sound of Music tour was plenty of fun with some behind the scenes information. There's nothing like a bus full of people singing the Sound of Music songs together.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Amanda D Australia

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
March 2016

Pretty boring! The ground was ineven in the cave and there was very poor lighting. The slides were fun though. The guide was young but spoke clearly but thee large number of people made her hard to hear.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

cheryl k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We toured Salzburg for 5 days. We made good use of the buses and enjoyed a morning up the local mountain on a cable car. The Salzburg card gave us free entry to every activity that we wanted to take part in. The Salzburg Card is definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Kathryn M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip was really wonderful, it was basically a private your through the most beautiful parts of Austria!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thought this was a very interesting and fun tour for all ages! The tour has a lot of diversity to it and our salt mine guide was playful, adding to the fun!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Aleksandrs J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great Tour, but it was a bit to long, would have been better if we skipped the break in town and sites and just went for the cave

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Megan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Honestly, I never would have chosen to go on this trip if it weren't for so many of my friends recommending it, and now I'm going to do the same! It may not seem hip, but the trip was amazing. The guide was knowledgeable and funny, the drive was beautiful and the salt mines are fascinating. You get to go down a slide that is steep but fun akin to Disneyland's Splash Mountain minus the cart and on a boat across water that is so undisturbed it looks like mercury. The stop in the cute town of Berchtesgaden is the icing on the cake - or the cream on the apple strudel. 5/5 would do again.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

jedichris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice Card to have for getting into many locations. Very good value

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Prue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took this tour in early October. It was well organized and definitely worth it. The weather was beautiful so the scenery in the Alps and the park was breathtaking. The salt mines are a curious mix of history, science and amusement park. Lots of fun. Tour guide Peter, knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very interesting to see how the salt is taken from the underground.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Mitchell P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful way to spend a day in Austria. The tours a small groups, very personal and the tour guides were both friendly and very well informed of their tours with loads of experience. Great values for money and a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Ralph T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The salt mine was fairly arduous and the lake was mazing. The drive was long.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Leanne V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

a great tour - a little more time in the mine would have been good though. enjoyed the drive, commentary and stops to view the fantastic scenery.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Faraz Uddin S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Salt mines tour is not worth it. However the second half of the day austrian lakes and mountains was quite beautiful

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message