Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 671 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Salzburg Card is a must have! Includes the most popular sites and transportation. Very easy to use and did not have any problems using it.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic! we could visit the city. We recommend Salzburg card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Salzburg card is so useful. Almost entrances and taking public vehicles are free! I'm really satisfied with this pass and it made my travel conviniently.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent
Unbelievable

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Simply put, the price is insane for what is offered. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Good tour especially the experience down the salt mine

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My trip more enjoyable, thanks to salzburg card.
forward, I offer a lot of these events

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Was able to cover most of the museums and used public transportation with the same card. Worked very well for me!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The card got us into everything we wanted to see including the funicular and the fortress plus all the local bus and trains. Parking was a nightmare at the main train station where we picked the card. Also no one we asked knew where the tourist info office was. Took a long time to find it.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

I went to Untersberg. very very nice view.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Even though it was cold, overcast, and raining we really enjoyed the magical view from atop the Bavarian Mtns and seeing the Eagles Nest. The Salt Mines were a bit disappointing - where were the lanterns? Really fun for kids! Whole tour overall was a must do!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Tour was really worth eagles nest and salt mines both are really good nice experience inside the salt mines . We have visited konigsee part of Bavaria ( Germany ) we had only 1 hour here and could not do the boat ride . Tour guide was really good big thanks to viator and the tour company in Salsburg

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was a well organised tour, we were able to cover all 3 sites in good time. This was the main reason I joined the tour. Commentaries from the guide was in both English and German, thus there were times when we were confused as to when one language ended and the other started. Also, sites were not always to the tee when they were described, need to be a bit vigilant to connect and spot them. However, it was packed with much interesting facts. The guide must be exhausted and rushed. Overall it was a wonderful day spent.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

It was an unexpectedly interesting trip! Can't imagine that they can build in so many elements in a salt mine visit. We joined in a group of 4 and all of us enjoyed the experience!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Great value for money! Best tour guide ever and very nice and well organised tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The tour of the Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and the Slat Mines was a highlight of our stay in Salzburg and is a must see if you wish to make your trip to Bavaria complete. Large bus tour with a very good guide and driver. Good day tour who made the trip up to Eagles' Nest very easy. The salt mines were a good mix of education and entertainment the slide rides were a thrill. Do not miss.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

My wife and I did this tour in May 2015. Complimentary pickup from our hotel to the rendezvous Mirabell Gardens in Salzburg's city center from where we changed into a bus with large windows, comfortable seats and our guide, Walter. Walter has been a guide for 30 yrs he had many snippets and stories to tell us on the way to the Eagle's Nest. He's 70, but young at heart, funny and well informed about his job. It was raining for most of the journey but as we climbed the mountains for the Eagle's Nest, rains gave way to snow. Snow in May pre-summer of Europe wasn't expected but was a delight for us. The ride to the Nest was amazing, through windy mountainous roads. Upon reaching we walked through a tunnel, took the elevator up to the Nest and had an hour or so to wander around. After that we descended into Berchtesgaden town, had lunch at Golden Bear, and then boarded the bus to the Salt Mines.

At the Mines we change into special suits and board an open train that goes inside tiny tunnels into the mountains to the mines. The tour was ok but the highlight was the two wooden slides on the way back and the laser lights show atop a small boat ride at the end. Finally we drive to Konigssee Lake. There are shops and eating joints along the way from the parking lot to the lake. Do try the crepes at one of the stalls, it was an awesome evening snack. There's boating on the Lake but we didn't do that, there wasn't enough time. After an hour or so, boarded the bus back to Salzburg.

I highly recommend doing both the Super Saver tour as it makes the most of your day. Both locations Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines are very different in nature. Konigssee Lake is an added attraction. Total value for your time and money. Our guide Walter was a stickler for time, take that seriously : Everything else was relaxed, very convenient and enjoyable.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Diane N
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Wish I had had more time to explore Salzburg and utilize the card to it's fullest. It is a great buy and well worth the money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Our tour guide Andreas was very pleasant providing detailed information during the salt mine tour. The slide at the salt mine was fantastic and the lake cruise relaxing and the scenery fantastic.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Melissa U
United States of America

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2015

Our trip leader / tour guide was an older man....who's cough was so annoying. After every paragraph he stops and hacks a lung.... maybe he should give up those cigarettes. I wanted to listen but all I could think about was that annoying hack. The bus driver was excellent and so friendly!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message