Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 856 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Clare M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Would recommend this super saver for anyone. Not only does it give you free access in so many places and super discounts in others, but you get to skip the queues and ride oublic transport for free....and the buses are well worth using to get around on as they are very punctual and frequent. Whipping my Salzburg Card out, I felt like a VIP!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Breda E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great card We got a lot of use of the card and could have got more if the weather had not been as bad
Well worth having

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Donna

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great value! Unfortunately the Cable-car Untersberg was closed for maintenance. That in itself would have paid for the card cable-car costs 23 euro, but is free with card!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Paulus Maria J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

This tour is very good,tour leader is very friendly.we happy with viator tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Laura B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Outstanding and a great value for the money. Very knowledgeable tour guides and a great value for the money.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Radek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, amazing landscapes on the way to the village.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Radek

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Highly recommended tour. Our tour guide Walter was superb - very funy and he had lots of knowledge about places we were visiting.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Walter N

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Both stops very good.Guide Walter has been doing tours for 47 years so he knew his stuff.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ron United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Awesome!! Our guide Walter was excellent, very knowledgeable!
Unfortunately it was a little cloudy that day.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Colin E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Well worth every penny

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Holly S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We took this tour on our first day in Salzburg. LOVED IT!! It was the perfect introduction to the city and Sound of Music sites. Christianne was wonderful. She allowed us time for photos and time to look around at many of the interesting stops. Lots of fun... and #34;no stress! and #34;

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Liza R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The tour was excellent! The tour guide is knowledgeable about the place and showed us the beautiful lakes on our way to Halstatt. Highly recommended tour!

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

CHINGCHU L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

The weather was bad and the trip was good. We were guided by professional tour guid. :

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Ioanna V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Great tour, pleasant guides, amazing landscapes. Salt mines were good fun and the lake tour pretty mindblowing. I would have prefered more time to spend in the little villages...

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Joy L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

A fantastic tour. The guide was excellent and the countryside travelled through was beautiful. The visit to Eagle's nest was amazing both from the point of its history as well as the wonderful view from the various lookouts. The visit to the salt mines was a load of fun as well as providing us with an insight into the value of salt to Salzburg in its history.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Michele B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

Panarama Tours does and excellent job. Carlos was a great guide and very entertaining. I did not care for the recommended lunch location, but many people did. The drive up to the Eagles Nest was interesting. Once you get to the visitors center you board a different bus that takes you up the hill. The Eagles nest was interesting, but the restaurant up there was really busy. We ended up getting drinks at the snack bar by the bus area. There was confusion as to which bus to get on to go back down the mountain. The town of Berchesgartens is a lovely town, we enjoyed it more once we left the tourist street. The Salt Mine tour was awesome. It is all about making memories and this one was definitely worth making. We really had a great day. It is a very long day with a lot of walking.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Charles O

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2016

We spent two days in Salzburg, and the trip would not have been the same without this card. We were able to skip lines and enter almost every attraction in Salzburg for a discount. Although we initially had some trouble picking it up you need to print out confirmation, e-copy does not work, it was most definitely worth it.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Breda E

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We went to the salt mines first which were great to see and the journey and scenery on the way there was fab. Our afternoon tour took us up the mountains and onto Lake Wolfgang where we stopped of at St Gilgen. The sights and scenery on this trip are brilliant.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Mal V

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Eagles Nest and Salt Mines were fantastic and very interesting. Because of scheduling times for afternoon group, the day tour was too long and a little too repetitive with return visit to Berchtesgarten not required and made the whole day too long and a little boring at the finish.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

OLEKSIY T

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

the agent at the starting point misread my voucher and had me go into the wrong bus and the wrong tour, which was Sounds of Music instead of the Bavarian Mountains and Mines. The wrong tour the musical was great though, the guide an American man in his fifties was incredible funny and good.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Francis S Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

My partner was a bit ambivalent about undertaking the salt mine tour but now would say it has been one of the best we undertook. A really interesting experience. WOULD RATE THIS TOUR A FIVE.
Unfortunately it rained throughout much of the sound of music tour. David did a great job keeping the spirits and interest up. The bus trip is a highlight given the lovely countryside. This tour would appeal to the real sound of music followers. It would help to have watched the movie in the not too distant past.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

shazzyanne_60

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

Was a great tour to a beautiful place. Thomas was a great guide and full of information. Thoroughly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Hallstatt Tour from Salzburg

Jane F

4 star rating: Recommended
June 2016

We enjoyed the day out although the weather could have been clearer up at Eagles Nest. The only negative comment would be that we were surprised to be taken in the afternoon, back to the same place we had earlier had lunch it was a nice place though We never thought we could have so much fun in a salt mine!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message