Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 558 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It as a worthwhile trip. Awesome! It was a bit emotional for me, the horror of what took place there up on Eagle's Nest but nonetheless a fantastic view of the Bavarian mountains.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Its the best tour I have ever done. The Lakes and Mountain is so beautiful - it hurts. The salt mines were also fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very knowledgeable guides and very interesting. Pretty scenery. Salt mines were very well set up for tourists. Stopped in Oberammergau which was very pretty although a bit touristy.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome tour with a great tour guide. It was an all day tour, from 9AM to about 5 or 6 PM with a pickup from my hotel in the morning, which was awesome. Tour guide was very knowledgable and made sure where we needed to be at certain times to meet back with the tour group. It was raining after the salt mines but it was still a great experience being able to see Hitler's Eagle's Nest, the Salt Mines, and even the lake, which I did not know was on the tour. Everything was incredible. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Highly reccomend this tour. Panorama tours who proved the yours were very helpful and let us change around the times and type of tour we did without any problems. Salt mine tour was very good- suits all ages. Sound of music tour was amazing - great guide, great fun

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Didn't really care for Salt Mines-I'm kinda claustrophobic I found out, bu that is not Viator's fault at all. They were magnifcient-pcked me up at my hotel, kept us all informed as to what was going on when. Very well organized.Lakes tour was great! Loved Berchtesgaden u. St. Wolfgang. Lovely.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A must must must visit is Eagle's nest. The panoramic view from the mountain is breath taking.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Fantastic! Great value!! Would recommend to ANYONE visiting Salzburg!! A++++++++

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

The whole day was great. We did the salt mine tour in the morning. Very interesting riding the train into the mine, but the most fun was sliding down the wooden slides! We had a great lunch in Berchtesgaden( not included in tour price).That afternoon we enjoyed the Sound of Music sights and of course, the music as we drove along the beautiful Austrian countryside. Our guide was so funny!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This combined tour was very beautiful very good organised and perfect discount better than you took each tour seperately

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

This was a great tour. The only problem is that they were rushing us and they did not even give us enough time to go to the gift shop. Then after that we went to eat, but again they were rushing us. So they should give more time, but had an awesome time.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2014

The salt mines tour was excellent. The Sound of Music tour was fine but nothing special. Both tour guides were, however, top notch.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
September 2014

After our morning tour involving an hour lunch break at Bierchgarten we were dropped off for the salt mine tour. During the time we were doing that tour, another group of people doing the afternoon tour were added to our group and we were all dropped off at a lake 10 minutes down the road from the salt mine tour and told we had an hour of free time. After which we were taken back to Bierchgarten where we had already had an hour of free time at midday, for another hour of free time - obviously for the benefit of the new afternoon passengers.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money. If you use it 2-3 times you will break even and anything on top of that is money saved. Use the buses, they are included and can get you to some great sites without the hassles. Untersberg and Hellbrun for example.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message