Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 550 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

It as a worthwhile trip. Awesome! It was a bit emotional for me, the horror of what took place there up on Eagle's Nest but nonetheless a fantastic view of the Bavarian mountains.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Its the best tour I have ever done. The Lakes and Mountain is so beautiful - it hurts. The salt mines were also fun. I highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Very knowledgeable guides and very interesting. Pretty scenery. Salt mines were very well set up for tourists. Stopped in Oberammergau which was very pretty although a bit touristy.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Awesome tour with a great tour guide. It was an all day tour, from 9AM to about 5 or 6 PM with a pickup from my hotel in the morning, which was awesome. Tour guide was very knowledgable and made sure where we needed to be at certain times to meet back with the tour group. It was raining after the salt mines but it was still a great experience being able to see Hitler's Eagle's Nest, the Salt Mines, and even the lake, which I did not know was on the tour. Everything was incredible. Would definitely recommend it.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Well worth the money. If you use it 2-3 times you will break even and anything on top of that is money saved. Use the buses, they are included and can get you to some great sites without the hassles. Untersberg and Hellbrun for example.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour loved the whole thing. Salt mines were fun. Sound of music tour we got to see more than we expected the lakes were amazing. Had a great trip would recommend to everyone.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was by far the best tour of our experience. Our guide was top notch and got us good comfortable seats for the boat ride. The scenery was outstanding and everyone should visit Salzburg once in their lives. Everything and everyone was always on time which is very important to me. Thanks, K

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Excellent tour, we particularly enjoyed the slide in the salt mine

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Used the 48 card, saved money on the cable at Untersburg and on public transportation. Would recommend if you're using public transit.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Enjoyed it a lot - interesting tour and nice little stopover in Berechtesgarden. Would recommend!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

We spent 3 weeks in Europe and this was easily the most wonderful experience we had during the entire trip. We were a bit concerned that what we would receive would match up with the price but the day far exceed our expectations. We originally booked this tour because my grandmother moves very slowly and uses a wheelchair for any distance walking, and we were concerned about keeping up with a big tour group; however, if you can squeeze it into your budget this is the best tour ever.

Starting the day off at Leopoldskron Palace was amazing, made better by all the people telling us that it was closed to the public and none of the tours went there, the closest we would get was the other other side of the lake. Seeing the amazing rococo building that Max saved just really set the mood for the day.

We had a list of must-see places that I had informed the company of before hand and also shared with our tour guide at the beginning of the day and they were 100% accommodating, I was concerned because communication before the tour was a little challenging but I don't know if that was from the viator end or Panoramic a Tours in Salzburg, but it didn't matter because they had all my messages and planned accordingly.

Our tour guide, who's name I can not remember now, was fantastic! He is a a Salzburg native and his knowledge of the area was impressive, so along with the history of the movie and the real history of the family I learned quite a bit about the history of Salzburg and Austria as he was able to answer any question we threw at him. The entire day our guide was generous with information, funny, personable and engaging. Our guide ended the tour with a sing along of sound of music songs on our way back down the alps, the perfect end to a perfect day.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

Fantastic tour, great guide - made for one of the best days of the entire holiday.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2014

This was the most amazing tour. Our driver was very professional and so informative. This was a tour of a lifetime.

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: ‘The Sound of Music’ Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message