Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 623 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a wonderful trip. Our tour guide, Andreus was funny. spoke wonderful English and knew a lot about the country. My favorite part was just seeing the countryside, absolutely beautiful. The salt mine tour was interesting. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very BEST deal - purchased the 24-hour Card and got to use for Hellbrunn and so much more. GREAT value! I have already recommended to other travelers I've met. THANK YOU, Viator.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We ended up not doing this exact tour because Eagle's Nest had just opened two days before. We were ablw to switch to that tour with some additional cost. It was an amazing day! The sky was clean and the sun was shining. The views fromthe Eagle's Nest are some of the most spectacular we have ever seen. We enjoyed the salt mine tour and the quaint village of Berchtesgaden, Germany and King Lake.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Excellent food and atmosphere in the hotel Bristol ! Super performance from the musicians! Must do!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Works wonderful

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

The card saves you money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was awesome and easily one of the best tours we did in Salzburg. Unfortunately, when we were up at the Eagles Nest there was pretty poor weather so there were not complete panoramic views but we still got some gorgeous shots of the mountains. The salt mine was very cool but sadly no pictures allowed.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This card was great but unfortunately we ran out of time. We will stay longer in future to enjoy all the benefits it has to offer.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

spat
Canada

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

The extremely knowledgeable guide provided a ton of information about sites on the way to the Salt Mines so which was greatly appreciated. The mines themselves were fun and even the slides - although a little intimating - were great.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Excellent tour. Our guide Andreas was funny and knowledgeable. He told great stories about the area and spoke excellent English. wonderful tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

The salt mine tour was fantastic,
The Sound of Music is just average.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Tour was boring and expensive, I feel like I wasted a day. Too much time in the bus.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Sound of Music tour was wonderful! Even my children, who have never seen the movie, enjoyed it. Being able to see the movie sites, as well as sites around the city and the countryside, was really good. The tour guide made this tour. He was funny and informative. We also appreciated that the tour was in English. The Salt Mines Tour was nice also. We enjoyed seeing the mountains and the mine. The tour guide going back and forth between English and German made it a little more difficult though. Overall, I would recommend this trip to anyone going to Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great trip to the salt mines, ended up being my family of 4 plus another couple which was just like a private tour. Salt mines were great. Sound of Music tour was also fantastic made even more interesting by our wonderful host - beware though - lots of singing on the bus followed by jocular hilarity!!! A great day.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great fun and very informative . The views on the journey were spectacular . All in all , well worth doing

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The salt mine tour was the highlight. The whole group had fun and amazed with the formation in the mine. It was wonderful scenery all the way to the salt mine and our guide, Wolfgang gave a interesting narration throughout the journey

The lakes were serene. A calming end to the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Definitely a must, the tour bus was full, the tour guide was great witty and so knowledgable. Fantastic afternoon

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
March 2015

The salt mines tour exceeded expectations. It was a great experience. The slide, tram ride into the mine and underground boat ride were most enjoyable. The sound of music tour guide was entertaining. Stopover at each site was short and the tour rather rushed. But the scenery sure made up for it.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
March 2015

Hotel pickup did not mean hotel drop off too, for some stupid reason, and this left us needing to pay extra to get back to our car! We weren't even staying at the hotel! We just picked it as a convenient location as the website states to do! Not impressed.
The actual salt mine tour was great, just not with this tour.
Also note that the Eagles nest part of the tour is rubbish - you just see it from many hundreds of feet below!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

High recommend, you'll save so much money and its really convenient.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was great- Salt mines enjoyed by young and old alike, and Sound of Music tour was perfect. If doing the tour at Christmas, make reservations for dinner on 24th before you go on the tour- hard to find restaurants open after tour on the 24th.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Natasha is the best! Our tour guide for the Sound of Music tour, she was a ton of fun and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message