Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 605 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

The Sound of Music tour was wonderful! Even my children, who have never seen the movie, enjoyed it. Being able to see the movie sites, as well as sites around the city and the countryside, was really good. The tour guide made this tour. He was funny and informative. We also appreciated that the tour was in English. The Salt Mines Tour was nice also. We enjoyed seeing the mountains and the mine. The tour guide going back and forth between English and German made it a little more difficult though. Overall, I would recommend this trip to anyone going to Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Great fun and very informative . The views on the journey were spectacular . All in all , well worth doing

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

High recommend, you'll save so much money and its really convenient.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

The tour was great- Salt mines enjoyed by young and old alike, and Sound of Music tour was perfect. If doing the tour at Christmas, make reservations for dinner on 24th before you go on the tour- hard to find restaurants open after tour on the 24th.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Natasha is the best! Our tour guide for the Sound of Music tour, she was a ton of fun and extremely knowledgeable.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2015

Best offering if you really want to see the sites

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2015

THE GUIDE (I AM SORRY BUT YOU WILL BE ABLE TO FIND HIM) WAS VERY GOOD IN HIS GENERAL ADVICE AND SUPPORT. HIS ADVICE ABOUT WHAT WOULD HAPPEN AT THE SALT MINES AND AFTERWARDS WAS MUCH APPRECIATED. WE ENJOYED HIS COMPANY. THANKS VERY MUCH.

IN THE AFTERNOON, NATASHA WAS ALSO VERY GOOD IN THE CIRCUMSTANCES - SNOW FALLING, ROADS BLOCKED, THE ONE-WAY SYSTEM BLOCKED AND EVENTUALLY WE MADE IT TO THE WEDDING CHURCH. IN THE VERY DIFFICULT CIRCUMSTANCES SHE DID A GREAT JOB.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2015

Very picturesque in winter. Salt mine tour was very fun.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

This was an amazing day and our guide Natasha made it even more special she made the day for us with memories never to be forgotten

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

I booked the super saver tour, and thought that both trips were well organised, and wonderful.

The guides were on time, efficient friendly and made it a great day

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

Great tour! Close pick up from hotel, comfortable van, knowledgeable guide. The mountains are beautiful. Short stop to see a view of the Eagle's Nest on the way to Berchtesgaden. Salt mine tour was exceptional. Loved the train ride and miner's slide.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2014

A must-buy for casual visitors to Salzburg. It is really value-for-money and I did not encounter any problems using it.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message