Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 734 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

what a brilliant day long but to see Eagles Nest, Salt mine and the beautiful Koningsee in one day was a long day but it was a brilliant trip.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The trip was real value for money. The guide was helpful and informative. The salt mines were lots of fun!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Driver was great and customized the tour to our interests . The only criticism is that the breakfast was a very basic buffet and half the dishes were empty by the time we got there

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent Tour! Walter our guide was very knowledgeable and interspersed his talking with bits of info delivered in a humorous way! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended. Used 48 hour Salzburg card to see several sights with city transportation included. Presented card after dinner concert at St. Peter's restaurant and received a Mozart CD.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Went to the Eagles nest ,Salt mines and the Barvarian Alps tour ,was well run and a very special day .
Highly recommend it

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A brilliant day out the weather was perfect for the eagles nest, the guide was very good he did not rush us at all the salt mines were good going down the slides and on the boat across the lake we also went to a village with outstanding views

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the money...very usefull...

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved this tour. Great for the whole family!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour
Best lakes u ever see

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From beginning to end, this trip was amazing. The landscape is different from the mountains, to the salt mines to the Eagle's Nest. It's the best way to get to see a little of everything. It is very well organized and worth every penny. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The scenery was beautiful, tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had lots of fun on the salt mine tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was really nice trip using Salzburg card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Jan S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour for our family was all that we expected it to be and more. Our tour guide, Peter, was amazing! He was friendly, professional, and knowledgable. He helped make our day a memorable one. The included breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron was delicious. The private tour does cost more, but for a once-in-a-lifetime tour with our kids and their wives, this was most definitely the way to go. It's much better to see things up close and personal...not from across the lake, for example. We highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting .... LOVED the slides ... Will recommend it to friends!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Easy to redeem card! Very good price!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

its highly recommended to have this card in salzburg

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Good deal for enjoying different activities in Salzburg, however we had to walk a long way to redeem our online voucher. Maybe next time we will buy when we arrive.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

I am very very happy that I bought the Salzburg Card enabling me to unlimited one day's travel around Salzburg. I even recommended to my friends to make the most of this card if they happened to visit Salzburg.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Mountains were excellent. The reduction is only because of the Salt Mines - this part was a waste of time.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message