Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 691 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Definitely worth the price.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This tour was better than expected! The Salt Mines tour was exceptional, Don't miss it!
Panoramic Tour Company was the best! We had a misunderstanding and I missed the tour. They were so accommodating to get me on another tour. Great company.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Loved both tours of the Salt Mines and the Sound of Music. Would highly recommend both!! Thanks to Viator for offering both these tours.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Walter was the best. He is a true asset to your company

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Excellent card to get you into the sights you want to see and ride the bus all over town!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Took this tour while I was in Salzburg. It was a long day but really worth it! Visited the Eagles nest, salt mines and Lake Königsee. It was extremely warm weather so all those places were perfect for a bit cooler climate. Lots of chances for taking incredible photos. A funny guy who guided us all day. I recommend this tour for everyone who wants to see the best sides of the Bavarian Mountains!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Amazing certainly worth going again, specially to eagles nest.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Great Tour. Well organized, informative and above all fun. It was amazing going up into the Eagle's Nest and enjoying the fantastic views. We were lucky to see fog and then clear skies during our visit on July 8, 2015. The Salt Mines were very fun and learned a lot about salt.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

Well worth the purchase. We used the card to ride buses to get around, ride the Cable-Car at Untersberg - Salzburg, to enter Mozart's residence and audio tour, to visit the fortress in Salzburg... it more than paid itself.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

We bought our cards prior to leaving and saved even more money than had we purchased them there. It was a great savings both on money and time as we didn't need to stand in line to purchase tickets at various attractions. We also used the bus system and took a boat ride, all included with the card. The listed all the attractions that utilized it and this helped us plan our agenda each day. It was so good be purchased a card for Innsbruck, our next destination and had the same great experience.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2015

This combo tour was the perfect combination for me and my teen daughter. We did the salt mines first. The scenery on the drive was beautiful and the tour of the mines was fun! We took fun photos in the goofy mining clothes. Our afternoon on the Sound of Music tour was a super highlight of our trip! I was happy to find that most of the tour spots were reached by bus, visiting spots we couldn't get to by just walking around Salzburg. Incredible scenery past lakes and mountains! Our guide was super knowledgeable and entertaining too.. A few movie myths got busted as we walked through iconic movie scenes and got all the photos we wanted. We had fun singing along to the sound track on the bus too. And yes, we enjoyed learning about the real Von Trapp family too. If your not already a super-fan of the movie, you should be sure to watch it shortly before your tour... the scenes really come alive... with the sound of music! LOVED IT!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

Saltmines were a lot of fun. You get to dress in a miners overall, ride a little tram, slide down two giant wooden slides just like the miners and cross an underwater lake by boat illuminated by a light show. Tour guides speak German, but they have all kinds of other languages available electronically. Afterwards, you have some time in Berchtesgaden, to have some lunch or just walk around. Bus ride is approx. 45 min but we also had to drop off and pick up other participants on our bus for the Eagle's Nest tour. It is sort of on the way but you still have to sit some extra minutes on the bus.
After the lunch break the bus brought us back to the original meeting point in Salzburg where people boarded where either done for the day, or they boarded another bus if the had booked one of the combination tickets.
We had the Sound of Music tour in the afternoon which was a lot of fun. You see a lot of the sights they used for the film, including the gazebo, the house actually two different locations, the abbey, and the church where the wedding was filmed. here you actually get to go inside. Along the way, you see a lot of picturesque mountains and lakes, and get to sing along to songs from the soundtrack. Our tour guide also gave us a lot of information about the production of the film, and a lot of things that happened behind the scenes. For Sound of Music fans a must in my opinion!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2015

What a beautiful fun filled day it was!!!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Great experience, although there is a disconnect between the internal tour operators and the external tour operators. Our small group of 6 people was split into two due to a mis-communication between the two. But overall, the tour is certainly worth the few hours.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

3 star rating: Worth doing
July 2015

Great trip. The visit to the Salt Mines was a really pleasant surprise. Lot's of kitschy fun, plus we learned some things. Two gripes: not enough history for the Eagle's Nest, and we really did not need two stops in Berchtesgaden.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Salzburg Card is a must have! Includes the most popular sites and transportation. Very easy to use and did not have any problems using it.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Fantastic! we could visit the city. We recommend Salzburg card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

The Salzburg card is so useful. Almost entrances and taking public vehicles are free! I'm really satisfied with this pass and it made my travel conviniently.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Excellent
Unbelievable

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2015

Simply put, the price is insane for what is offered. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message