• USD ($)
  • English

Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 514 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

It was fantastic. Covered everything including transport. I couldn't be happiier

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The trip was well organized and such fun!
The scenery was beautiful and the mine was very interesting
We all loved the slides down into the mine and the boat ride!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

We really enjoyed are day. The salt mines were very interesting anf the Sound of Music tour was a great deal of fun. Seeing the sets for the movie was very good. We had a great day.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

This was a great tour, the Salt Mines were just great a lot of information and fun. The Austrian lakes are wonderful got great pitchers of the lakes. The boat ride was a great way to see lake Wolfgang, the tour guide was wonderful he kept us laughing. I would recommend this tour to everybody. Everything was timed just right, enough time for lunch and walking around.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

NGS
India

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The overall trip is fantastic... The stop at Berchtesgaden could have been avoided or changed to Eagles nest

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

Great tour and Operator! The day does get a little long but is well worth it. Wouldn't necessarily recommend for small children due to the length of the tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
July 2014

The Salt Mines day trip was terrific, it included a stop in Berchtesgarden where we had a wonderful lunch at the Goldener Ber Restaurant. Later that day, we did the "Sound of Music" tour, which included an amazing drive through the lake country and a stop in Mondsee, which is where the church the wedding scene was filmed in. Our guide, Tasha, was a perfect blend of extensive knowledge of the Sound of Music trivia/songs and sense of humor. We had a great day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Salt mines were fun and Eagle's nest was interesting to see. Great views also.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

I enjoyed this tour far more than I had expected to. The view from Eagles Nest was stunning, the scenery in the Bavarian Alps was gorgeous, and the Salt Mines were a fascinating and near magical experience. The guides were wonderful. The only possible downside was the fact that you visit the town of Berchtesgarten twice in the trip. It was lovely the first time but the return trip seemed superfluous.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

Great tour with enough time at all the sites.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
July 2014

The tour guide was very personable and made the trip very enjoyable.
His commentary during the bus travel was excellent.
He provided clear details as to when to be where and at what time which made the day flow like clockwork.
The sights we saw were great

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

perfect...

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
June 2014

Views on the bus were outstanding. The salt mines were very informative,loved the train ride thru the tunnels and the slides.
Unfortunately the last time I saw the movie was 50years ago, so it would be better to show the movie clips at the beginning of the trip and not the end. Our guide was fun and she got us singing some of the songs. Loved the little town where the wedding took place. We had lunch there.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message