Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 727 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Excellent Tour! Walter our guide was very knowledgeable and interspersed his talking with bits of info delivered in a humorous way! Highly recommended!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended. Used 48 hour Salzburg card to see several sights with city transportation included. Presented card after dinner concert at St. Peter's restaurant and received a Mozart CD.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Went to the Eagles nest ,Salt mines and the Barvarian Alps tour ,was well run and a very special day .
Highly recommend it

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

A brilliant day out the weather was perfect for the eagles nest, the guide was very good he did not rush us at all the salt mines were good going down the slides and on the boat across the lake we also went to a village with outstanding views

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Well worth the money...very usefull...

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We loved this tour. Great for the whole family!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great tour
Best lakes u ever see

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

From beginning to end, this trip was amazing. The landscape is different from the mountains, to the salt mines to the Eagle's Nest. It's the best way to get to see a little of everything. It is very well organized and worth every penny. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The scenery was beautiful, tour guide was very knowledgeable and we had lots of fun on the salt mine tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was really nice trip using Salzburg card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Jan S
United States of America

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This tour for our family was all that we expected it to be and more. Our tour guide, Peter, was amazing! He was friendly, professional, and knowledgable. He helped make our day a memorable one. The included breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron was delicious. The private tour does cost more, but for a once-in-a-lifetime tour with our kids and their wives, this was most definitely the way to go. It's much better to see things up close and personal...not from across the lake, for example. We highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: Viator Exclusive: 'The Sound of Music' Private Tour with Breakfast at Schloss Leopoldskron

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Very interesting .... LOVED the slides ... Will recommend it to friends!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Easy to redeem card! Very good price!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

its highly recommended to have this card in salzburg

Doing what: Salzburg Card

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Eagle's Nest and Bavarian Mountains were excellent. The reduction is only because of the Salt Mines - this part was a waste of time.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The Eagle's Nest tour was interesting and the view was spectacular. The tour does push you through very quickly not leaving much time to enjoy the views or get a cup of coffee. It was quite cold the day we were there and a cup of coffee would have been nice. The Salt Mines was a great educational tour with fun mixed in. I would recommend both.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

The salt mines had some interesting moments but the highlight was speeding down the slides. The lakes tours was at an easy going pace with beautiful views.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Company very disorganized about putting guests on buses. They consistently tried to jam as many people on the same bus, even when they were on separate tours. The Salt Mines tour was worth seeing though.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

Eagle's Nest was amazing. Could have spent more time here though. Salt mines were not very impressive. For those that do the whole day tour it would be nice to visit a different city after the Salt mines than the same city they take you to after the Eagle's Nest.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

This was an easy way to see a lot in one day, but some of the stops were light on historical information or too short to do much.

The Kehlsteinhaus itself has been stripped of original decor and operates as a restaurant. It's very light on background information, though the panoramic views of the Berchtesgaden Alps made up for it in my opinion- it was one of the most stunning places I've ever seen. Our guide gave us a brief introduction and then turned us loose to take pictures. One advantage to the tour group is that your tickets, buses up and down the mountain, and elevator rides are all arranged in advance so you don't have to wait in long lines. Very convenient!

The salt mines were fun but a bit on the cheesy side: the underwater boat ride they hype so much is just a few hundred feet long and comes with a brief music and light show. Super gimmicky. The slides were a hoot, though! I'd recommend it to families with children or anyone who's never been underground in a mine other people might want to give the mines a pass and stick to the half-day tour.

As some other reviewers have said, the local tour company is operating two separate tours off of one bus and some of the short stops are less for your benefit and more to let them go pick up more people. The Koenigssee is lovely, but there isn't enough time allotted there to take a boat ride or walk very far, and I could've done without the snack break in Berchtesgaden afterwards since we'd already been there for lunch.

We enjoyed our tour despite the imperfect scheduling: the views from the Eagle's Nest were unmatched, and we wouldn't have gotten out there on our own. The bus was comfortable and our guide I'm afraid I can't remember his name was funny, informative, and very experienced at his job. It would have been nicer if they could have lumped the short stops together to give us more time for activities, but you can't have everything. In summary: worth the cost, just not quite 5 stars.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

4 star rating: Recommended
August 2015

One word to describe this.......Fantastic!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message