Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 803 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

cheryl k

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

We toured Salzburg for 5 days. We made good use of the buses and enjoyed a morning up the local mountain on a cable car. The Salzburg card gave us free entry to every activity that we wanted to take part in. The Salzburg Card is definitely worth the money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Kathryn M

4 star rating: Recommended
February 2016

This trip was really wonderful, it was basically a private your through the most beautiful parts of Austria!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thought this was a very interesting and fun tour for all ages! The tour has a lot of diversity to it and our salt mine guide was playful, adding to the fun!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Aleksandrs J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great Tour, but it was a bit to long, would have been better if we skipped the break in town and sites and just went for the cave

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Megan B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Honestly, I never would have chosen to go on this trip if it weren't for so many of my friends recommending it, and now I'm going to do the same! It may not seem hip, but the trip was amazing. The guide was knowledgeable and funny, the drive was beautiful and the salt mines are fascinating. You get to go down a slide that is steep but fun akin to Disneyland's Splash Mountain minus the cart and on a boat across water that is so undisturbed it looks like mercury. The stop in the cute town of Berchtesgaden is the icing on the cake - or the cream on the apple strudel. 5/5 would do again.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

jedichris

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

Nice Card to have for getting into many locations. Very good value

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Prue S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

We took this tour in early October. It was well organized and definitely worth it. The weather was beautiful so the scenery in the Alps and the park was breathtaking. The salt mines are a curious mix of history, science and amusement park. Lots of fun. Tour guide Peter, knowledgable and friendly.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Susan S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

very interesting to see how the salt is taken from the underground.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Mitchell P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
December 2015

A wonderful way to spend a day in Austria. The tours a small groups, very personal and the tour guides were both friendly and very well informed of their tours with loads of experience. Great values for money and a very enjoyable day!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Ralph T

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

The salt mine was fairly arduous and the lake was mazing. The drive was long.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Leanne V

4 star rating: Recommended
December 2015

a great tour - a little more time in the mine would have been good though. enjoyed the drive, commentary and stops to view the fantastic scenery.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Faraz Uddin S

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
December 2015

Salt mines tour is not worth it. However the second half of the day austrian lakes and mountains was quite beautiful

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

Wanda G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Comfortable ride through the Salzburg countryside...very professional driver and tour guide....we had a very informative guide who was open for questions....we would highly recommend!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Teressa J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Best buy ever .. Great value loads of places to see using it.. Would recommend to anyone 48hrs,36 euros would have cost over 150euros without the card

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Wildspirit United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great value for money but instructions should be clearer. I went to use the print out only to find out I needed to go and get the print out exchanged for the card so I paid to get in. I then went and got the card sorted out with no problems and everything was fine from them on. I still was not out of pocket even though I paid to get in one of the attractions. Would recommend .

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Kirstin C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Great guide, informative tour of the outlying area os Salzburg, and a fun tour of Salt Mine. Learned a little history of the area.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Bruce L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Definitely good value. We were glad we had the 48 hour card to make the most of all the amazing attractions.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

MARCINI R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2015

Had an amazing trip... and definitely would go back.. Friendly people.

Thank you Austria.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Rodney H USA

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

It was a beautiful day. They views were amazing. Walter, our guide, was excellent. The Eagle's Nest was so impressive, so historic and gorgeous views. Lunch at Berchtesgaden was relaxing and fun. Loved the Salt Mines--a treat for young and old. The only suggestion---Return trip to Berchtesgaden for coffee was totally unnecessary. There was plenty of time for a snack at The Salt Mine. Please cut that out and give us a 2 hour time slot at King's Lake in order to take the boat trip across the lake. The one hour stop at the Lake was pleasant but I without the boat trip that part was disappointing.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Mark S

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2015

Very interesting and well run tour. Commentary in languages other than German were via an electronic audio guide.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Suzanne G

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
November 2015

Unfortunately we were disappointed with the guide, he was rude. The return time was not clear and we didn't know we were on a multi-tour bus and had to wait for other people to fininsh their tours. We arrived 3 hours later than planned... : Would not recommend this tour...

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Richard C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Two separate tours. Exceptional guide for the Sound of Music Tour. She was a doll with a great sense of humor. All of the sights in the movie are on the tour.
Different story with the Salt Mines tour leader. The guide consistently said 'Ya' and was not as friendly as one would expect. The Salt Mine Tour was a learning experience but if you only have a few days in Salzburg I would skip the Salt Mines Trip

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

Trevor B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Really simple to work and understand. Great value for money.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

CE R

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Very enjoyable day. Highly recommend this tour.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Heleyna P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2015

Great value for money - easily made our money back and then some. Would definitely recommend the Trick Fountains and Untersberg.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message