Salzburg ATTRACTIONS See all

Salzburg Salt Mines (Salzkammergut)

Salzkammergut is in Austria’s Lake District, focusing on the lakeside town of Hallstatt. Beneath the region’s picture-perfect lakes ringed by snow-capped mountains lie miles and miles of salt mines. After exploring Hallstatt’s fine market ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 594 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

The views from the Eagles Nest was fantastic on a nice fine day and the meeting room that Hitler used was far smaller than we expected. Our tour Guide was excellant.
The Salt Mine is a must especially the two slides inside the mine.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
November 2014

Best tour of our entire trip, guide Peter was simply fantastic - kept us thoroughly entertained throughout the tour along with valuable information as well.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

4 star rating: Recommended
November 2014

Great tour, would recommend this, good value for money.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Do not go to Salzburg without this!!!! Unlimited use of public transport and entrance is covered in 90% of the sites, the rest have discounts to get in.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I am a very experienced traveler, and this tour, by far, was THE BEST, I've ever experienced. I honestly would like to attribute this amazing tour to our travel guide, Peter, and the driver, Ferdinand! Not only were they extremely knowledgeable, they were hysterically funny. Truly, by the end of the tour, I did not want it to end, because I felt as if I had been on a trip with dear friends or family. Very well done, guys!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I love Salzburg. The card saves money and makes it easier to just show the card then carry a certain amount of money with you. Recommend all travelers to purchase the Salzburg card for savings and convenience.

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Must buy . We took the 72 hr card - transport is free and all attractions are free - worth twice the price easily

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

I have been fortunate enough to travel many places and have taken all sorts of tours related to those particular ares. This tour however, was probably one of the BEST by far!! I LOVED IT! I've told others about it and they are putting it on their bucket lists. Thank you for the for a FABULOUS tour!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Exactly as described in the itinerary and spot on with all previous positive comments. Pick up at the hotel by van and transfer to the main bus was painless and on time. Everyone is in contact by radio so even if your transfer van was late, they wouldn't leave without you. The bus was new, comfortable, and designed so that every seat has a great view. The tour guide was obviously happy with his job and was very knowledgable and entertaining leading me to believe that he was well compensated....take care of your employees and they will take care of the customers...what a concept. At the end of the tour, most everybody tipped 10 Euro.

The sights were amazing...the ride alone was breathtaking. First was Eagles Nest and our day was spectacular...not a cloud in the sky so the views were unbelievable (it would be much less so if it were cloudy). The tour bus pulls right up to the staging area where hundreds of people are waiting in line to board the Eagles Nest bus which takes you to the elevator for the ride to the top. Our group bypassed these lines and got right on the EN bus, drove right to the top, and went straight to the elevator. My kind of service! It was the same going down....we then re boarded the tour bus, drove past the former Nazi housing compound (destroyed after the war so as to not leave a shrine) and stopped in the village of Bertchesgarden for lunch. After lunch, it was on to the salt mines which are spectacular as well (400 year old mine which is still in operation today) where you ride a mine train (exactly the same as the workers) deep into the mountain. Very interesting and enlightening. After the mines, it's off to the Konning See which is a big alpine lake with beautiful scenery and views. Highly recommend the 20 minute walk to "Painters Point", you will not be disappointed. Back on the bus where you then go back to Bertchesgarden for a final 30 minutes and from there back to Salzburg. Worth every penny!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great value! My family had so many options and they loved all of them. We were able to see the the Salzburg Fortress, the Mozart Museum, Schloss Helbrunn and ride to the top of Mt. Untersberg. Then we got great discounts on the Salt Mines and the luge. We had to make hard decisions about what NOT to see during our 48 hour time with the card. It was great to not have to worry about paying for entry fees for a family of 5 every time we wanted to see or do something. Would definitely recommend!

Doing what: Salzburg Card

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Great tour. Fun bus with very informative guide. English speaking/singing. Stopped enough along the way for nice photos. Would recommend this tour for Sound of Music behind the scenes details as well as beautiful countryside, lakes and restaurants.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Salt Mines Day Trip

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

Superior. We had so much fun. The weather was perfect and the tour was outstanding. One of th best.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Austrian Lakes, Mountains and Salt Mines

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

This was very well done and much fun. It was also interesting. I was not expecting that salt was so beautiful! I only wish that we had time to spend in the gift shop, It would be advisable to buy things at the beginning and store it in one of the lockers.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
October 2014

WOW what a tour, going up the mountain to Eagles Nest was scary but spectacular at the same time and when you got to the top the views took your breath away, you could see so far down the valley. Then we went down the Salt mines and this was so interesting and exciting to go under ground, we all had a great time.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains including Eagle's Nest and Salt Mines

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message