It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2333 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

Kevin P

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Tour was excellent ,made perfect by the guide Dave his knowledge of the tour was perfect .

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Susan V

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Fabulous tour ... Informative and David was great.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Elizabeth A

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
February 2016

Exceeded expectations. Beautiful scenery and entertaining tour guide- Peter.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Anna F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My Mum and I went on this tour last month and had a wonderful time. The tour guide was very friendly, with anecdotes about Salzburg as well as the tour, which was great. My only complaint was not being able to access more of the Mirabelle Gardens for the Do-Re-Mi sites, but I appreciate this was no-one faults and just the time of year. I would recommend the tour and would no doubt do it again.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Our tour guide was informative and funny. We went to most of the major sites in the movie. We got to stop and have some strudel and ice cream in a small Austrian town. I would recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Robert B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a good trip to see Hitler's Eagles nest, and the beautiful countryside. We stopped in a little town, Betchsgaden and had an authentic german meal, that was reasonable, and tasty. It snowed on us due to the high elevation, but that did not ruin the trip.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Morgan M

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

So much fun. Beautiful views and sites of Salzburg. We also got a great history overview of Salzburg along with the Sound of Music.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Alexandra P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Fantastic! Great guide who was very entertaining and clearly enjoyed his job!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Mrs Sandra R Y

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent - well worth doing

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Aleksandrs J

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

AMAZING! The tour guide was amazing, her information was clear and funny and we enjoyed listening to her, and the sites where amazing, we got to see so many different sound of music locations, defiantly recommend this tour

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Howard W

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I wanted to take this tour for many years and finally got to Salzburg between Christmas and New Years. The tour exceeded all of my expectations. It was one of the best tours I have ever taken anywhere. The guide was knowledgeable and she made the whole experience a lot of fun. I highly recommend the tour to anyone who has seen the movie. When I returned home I watched the movie again with a whole new feeling of excitement having seen the sites where it was made.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Emma H

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We had a fabulous time. Our tour guide and driver were so much fun and made the trip that much more enjoyable! Definitely recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Chong L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

My family really enjoyed this tour. It was well organized, the guide was really friendly and professional.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Patricia C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

I thought this was a very interesting and fun tour for all ages! The tour has a lot of diversity to it and our salt mine guide was playful, adding to the fun!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Marie M USA

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

This was a great tour, fun , exciting, with the right amount of cheese. The only down side to this tour is that now that I know all the secrets to the film I will never look at it the same way again. Thanks for blowing the illusion!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Hywel T

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

Excellent and highly entertaining. Peter,our tour guide was outstanding . He was knowledgeable and very funny with his fascinating anecdotes. To top the vast array of film locations, there is the breathtaking scenery and even a stop for strudel. If you like to sing ,you can even join in the sing a long ......Doh a deer .... We think that in Salzburg ,the tour was one of our favourite things !

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

BabyBluesMomof4 United States of ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

We met our tour guide, David, in the Salzburg square. He took our large group, on a bus, around to all the places in Salzburg, plus the Lake and Mountain district of Salzburg, and the town of Mondsee, where the wedding was filmed, at the Mondsee Cathedral. The tour was extremely informative, delightful, funny at times, and you could tell David really enjoyed explaining all about this wonderful movie and period in history. I would highly recommend Viator for this tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Cedric D

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
January 2016

would recommend this tour to all Sound of Music fans when visiting beautiful Salzburg. David and Matteus, our tour guide and driver, were very funny and informative. Despite the fog we experienced throughout the tour, it still was worthwhile.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Tressa H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

The tour was a lot of fun, seeing many of the sights where the movie was filmed. Our tour guide was great!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Nerissa N

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Everything is great! I wish your Salzburg City Tour and SOM Tour should be extended until the end of October or first week of November. I was trying to book this tour but it is no longer available. Overall, this tour is highly recommended and will tell my family members and friends.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Aleksandrs J

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Great Tour, but it was a bit to long, would have been better if we skipped the break in town and sites and just went for the cave

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Kathleen K

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

This tour is a must for Salzburg. Our guide Was excellent. We went in a mini van with only seven in the group it was one of the best tours we have done. The only disappointing aspect was only seeing quite a few highlights from the outside or from a distance. We recommend this tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Vivienne F

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Really enjoyed this trip, Peter was an excellent guide and so knowledgeable, it was a shame that because it was winter we couldn't go into the Mirabell gardens so a summer tour may have been better. The scenery was amazing and the apple strudel at Mondsee was just the best. Would highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Bryce H

4 star rating: Recommended
January 2016

Good tour with excellent guide Robert, who was like an extension of the movie - a lot of fun!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message