• USD ($)
  • English
It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1328 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

This was a great tour presented by Peter with style, humour and wonderful empathy for Sound of Music tragics. Great way to learn about Salzburg and the film but most of all just a very fun outing in company with a great raconteur and teller of bad jokes

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

The tour was the highlight of our trip to Austria. Try to get Peter as your guide. He was information, friendly and funny.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2014

Although weather was I inclement this did not put a dampener on our enjoyment of the trip. Peter, our guide, was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and good fun.
I was expecting a coach trip but we had a mini bus which actually was better.
Sarah, Jersey, Channel Islands

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

My hopes might have been a little too high for this one. First, our tour guide, she was great! Understood her perfectly, she spoke loud and clear and was knowledgeable and had the same love for Sound of Music as I did. My disappointment was because I thought we would get to tour inside of places and the only place we got to go inside was the church that Captain Von Trapp and Marie were married in, in the movie. Not even the true location of the real wedding. We didn't get to go into the gardens and on the bridge (just drive by both) that there was famous filming scenes. To top it off, we had rain and snow (which 3/4 of the tour is outside). The only think that affected the tour was we couldn't see the mountain the you see the family Von Trapp walking over at the end of the movie. Oh well. But still, it was magical to me none the less!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

dippa
Australia

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2014

Even if you don't love the Film and the music. You will love the scenery in this tour. The mountains and lakes are brilliant

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Jonathan I
United Kingdom

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Superb. Well worth the time.
The tour guide we had called Walter could not have been better, he knew all the small details and his English was flawless. Well worth the money. 10/10

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful experience!! Gary was a tour guide, who was amazing! Very intelligent, friendly, and funny guy! We enjoyed all the venues we visited on this tour and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Salzburg!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful experience!! Gary was a tour guide, who was amazing! Very intelligent, friendly, and funny guy! We enjoyed all the venues we visited on this tour and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Salzburg!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

What a wonderful experience!! Gary was a tour guide, who was amazing! Very intelligent, friendly, and funny guy! We enjoyed all the venues we visited on this tour and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Salzburg!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

it was a nice experience. We enjoyed it throughly.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour! Our tour guide was informative and funny during the tour and gave some great suggestions of other things to do while we were in town. Only downside was the tour was in an 8 seater van so one couple had to split up by having one person sit in the front and the other sitting in the last row which had an extra seat. Part of the tour is taking an hour+ drive through the countryside (which is beautiful!) but was a bit uncomfortable. Other than that, everything was fantastic!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

This was an amazing place and fantastic venue for concerts. The fact that we had already booked this concert through viator afforded us the best seats.

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

Great tour. We saw Salzburg sites with Erik our amazing tour guide. Definitely worth the time.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

The Sound of Music tour was wonderful and our tour guide Peter definitely made it a very memorable experience. Growing up Sound of Music was one of my favourite movies and still is to this day. After visiting the majority of places the scenes were filmed, my husband and I took a walk up to the Abbey and met a lovely lady named Anna who was present at the Abbey when Sound of Music was filmed which completed my own photo shoot.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2014

I had a really good time on this tour. The guide was great, and the Salt Mines were unique and interesting. Definitely recommend it!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message