It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2078 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

I went on the tour approx 10 years ago and we were taken on a toboggan ride in the hills which we really enjoyed. Shame it's not still included. But apart from that the tour was excellent and Da I'd give us a great time. He was a star turn

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

The trip was informative. views were fantastic. felt we could have had another 1/2 hour at top as we had no time for coffee after walking to the end. Well worth it though.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Excellent despite the rain! Sharron our tour guide was fantastic and made the trip. This was a dream come true.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

EXCELLENT ! A must do tour! Our tour guide DAVID and bus driver Matteo made for a most enjoyable afternoon with our sing-a-long of the Sound of Music tunes. Visited a number of interesting sites with generous time allocation for each stop. David walked with our group everywhere and was very informative and had great knowledge of each location. A really fun tour !

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Worth every penny! Great tour and amazing scenery. Tour guide could have been more helpful and enthusiastic. Didn't appreciate waiting in a full, non air conditioned bus while he finished his cigarette.
Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2015

Fantastic. I was a little disappointed in Salzburg until we took this Walking Tour. Our guide showed us the real Salzburg and gave us some really interesting facts and stories of the city and it's highlights.
We followed this with the Sound of Music Tour and had so much fun. Our guide for this was fantastic and he kept everyone entertained for the entire 4 plus hours. Great stories, great information, great scenery.
After these tours I fell in love with Salzburg and it was one of the highlights of our European vacation.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
September 2015

SOM tour was great fun. Walking tour was informative although my teen wasn't gripped!

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

3 star rating: Worth doing
September 2015

Not quite what we expected. The venue was a small, modern looking function room above a restaurant bar. We expected a more traditional Austrian atmosphere. The meal was average, didn't get an actual schnitzel but rather a chicken fillet. Service was extremely poor with one waitress serving drinks, taking/serving food orders and cleaning up. The performance however, was very entertaining. Four young singers with excellent vocals accompanied by one talented pianist. This was the highlight of the evening.

Doing what: The Sound of Salzburg Show with Optional Dinner

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Tour was amazing! Thoroughly enjoyed it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was the best day out in Salzburg. A must for everyone... Even if you are not a fan, you get to see some lovely areas out of the city

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This was a very well organized, fun tour! I enjoyed getting out of the heat onto a new, clean, air conditioned bus that took us to many of the sites that The Sound of Music was filmed. David, the tour guide, was very knowledgeable and fun. He has us singing songs from the movie along the way. The scenery was fantastic. I would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Highly recommended! One can go back in time and relieve the Sound of Music of one's youth! The tour guide facilitated everything very well while ably sharing info about the movie's sights! My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the tour!

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Loved It! The tour guide was great, the sights were brilliant, singing along to the movie soundtrack on the bus was a great, fun bonus. We loved everything about the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Guide for the walking tour seemed impatient with us. He raced us through the tour and cut 30 minutes off the time. We didn't have audiovox support so unless you were right next to the guide you didn't hear a word he said. So, no stars for the Historical Walking Tour. Now, the Sound of Music portion of the tour was great and lots of fun. Peter is a great guide, funny, informative, accommodating. wonderful. We had a good time and would highly recommend getting on the bus with Peter.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our Sound of Music tour seeing all the locations from the film. Our guide Barbara was very knowledgeable and witty and she got us all joining in with the singing.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lovely and enjoyable tour! Our guide dressed up with Dirndl, we laughed all the way during the trip. She threw many funny remarks. This tour is highly recommended!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing tour, fantastic guide who has a very witty sense of humor. The places we visited where all fantastic. Highly recommended.

Doing what: Best Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Lots of fun. Our guide was very entertaining

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

The tour is awesome for Sound of Music fans. Our guide Sharron was very entertaining and overall it was a great experience. I highly recommend this tour!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

We highly recommend the original sound of music tour. It was our highlight in Salzburg!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

This exceeded all expectations! The staff at the hotel were extremely friendly and helpful, our room was great, and the surrounding area was gorgeous. After exploring the city, the hotel and lake provided a nice peaceful place to come back to. In addition, not only were the breakfasts at Schloss Leopoldskron delicious, but the dining room was so lavish that I felt like royalty eating in there. Can't forget about the Sound of Music tour either! Our guide told us interesting facts about the movie that I wouldn't have known otherwise. This is a must during your stay in Salzburg!

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Wonderful guide the whole way through! We weren't sure if we were physically fit for the climb but he gave us the confidence we needed and told us some interesting facts about the cave and surrounding area. The views along the way and ice figures inside the cave were breathtaking! Put this on your list of attractions when visiting Salzburg and you won't be disappointed.

Doing what: Private Tour: Werfen Ice Caves Adventure from Salzburg

Anonymous

Anonymous

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Great experience visiting the ice cave. One I will never forget!

Doing what: Private Tour: Werfen Ice Caves Adventure from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

It was a very interesting tour, great guide, fantastic view from The Eagles Nest.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
August 2015

Amazing Tour. This was one of the clear highlights of our trip to Europe. You should definitely do this if you're interested in history and seeing unbelievable views.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message