It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1765 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was amazing! Our guide was wonderful. He was entertaining and knowledgeable. We learned so much about the history of Salzburg. Salzburg is so beautiful. I would definitely recommend this tour to anyone.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This tour was simply fantastic!!!! The guide was so nice and really knew his stuff!!! They had drinks on board which are great and reasonably priced they collected us from the hotel and we thoroughly had an amazing fantastic day!! Would definitely do it all over again well worth the price!!! :)))

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Tour guide made this tour a unique experience.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We really enjoyed this tour. Our guide Peter and driver Ferdinand were hilarious. It was nice because we got information on Salzburg and its history, not just all Sound of Music information. The journey out of the town and up to the Mountains was great despite the very gloomy weather. Our one complaint is that we had very little time to explore the area around Saint Michael's church. It is also important to know that the bus cannot stop in front of the movie Von Trapp house, so if you want pictures, be sure to set so time aside outside the tour. Other than that enjoy singing along to the soundtrack and checking out the fantastic scenery.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very good trip especially visiting the countryside outside Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This is a wonderful trip. Our tour guide, Andreus was funny. spoke wonderful English and knew a lot about the country. My favorite part was just seeing the countryside, absolutely beautiful. The salt mine tour was interesting. Highly recommend the tour.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a fun tour. We had a lovely tour guide who had a nice sense of humor, very knowledgeable of the subject and made the whole experience enjoyable. She compared the movie story to the real life story and also provided some fun tidbits about the filming. Highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Stellar! Make sure you get Peter as your tour guide. He is absolutely hilarious! Unfortunately it was raining the entire day, but I still had a FANTASTIC time! :

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

What a fun tour. We visited many of the sites where the Sound of Music was filmed. Our guide was very informative and fun. We sang our way through Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our guide was very knowledgeable and interesting. We saw or visited many of the sights where the Sound of Music film with Julie Andrews was filmed 51 years ago. We enjoyed a sing along on the bus as we traveled from one sight to another. We enjoyed some of the beauriful Austrian countryside traveling to the small village where the wedding scenes inside the cathedral were filmed.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Our group 4 adults really enjoyed this tour. Despite the rainy day, our guide was high energy and very informative. Great way to see the filming sites that are outside of the city center of Salzburg, especially the wedding church in Mondsee. I recommend talking the morning tour, so the afternoon remains to see other film locations in the city center like the Mirabell Gardens, various fountains, the abbey and more.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was incredible. The Sound of Music tour was nice and we had a good guide, but it's not the best tour I've ever been on. The best part of this was being able to stay on the Schloss Leopoldskron grounds. Since it's private property, the tours can't go there, and we were able to enjoy the grounds tourist-free. The hotel staff is also very friendly and helpful. However, they did neglect to make our reservation for the Sound of Music tour after saying they would. So I would just double check on any reservations you ask to be made for you.
The main downside is the hotel is a bit of a walk about 20 minutes from the main downtown, but it's doable. You can also get a taxi for 10 Euros.
The staff is helpful answering any questions. This is definitely something I'd recommend, and something I would love to do again!

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Could not fault it one bit. The pick up was on time and by a very pleasant guy and the tour itself ... Well ... Fantastic Sharon pronounced Shar-Ron and Nico my apologies if I've misspelt your names was entertaining, informative and just downright hilarious. We still talk about and I can tell we will for some time.

Thank you so much for such a wonderful morning. I didn't want it to end. Although we were running out of songs :

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Great tour. Tour guide was fantastic. Even my husband had a great time

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed this tour. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to genuinely enjoy his job! The driver was also very engaging and helpful.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Very entertaining and informative!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

This was amazing. Our guide in the walking tour was so knowledgeable and not only explained what we were seeing, but the best way to see things in and around Salzburg. And the sound of music tour was also amazing. Great guides, well planned and so entertaining and informative. It's a must do!

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

A fun and enjoyable experience!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2015

Salt mines are great. The tour provides detailed information on how to they extracted salt in the past and how it is done today. Our guide was good at keeping everyone together. He spoke only German however tour comes with an audio guide device for other languages. My husband's audio guide stopped working at one point however our guide promptly replaced it.
Our guide from the tour company was good too. He gave us a lot of historical information about areas we drove through, especially what happened during WWs. We later also spoke a lot about life in Salzburg and he was pretty comfortable talking about it at length. The town we stopped at to experience Bavarian Mountains was okayish. We had just 25-30mins there so couldn't explore much on foot.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

It was a wonderful hotel. Great location. Excellent facilities. The sound of music tour was good. Throughly enjoyed the trip.

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Would have love to go inside all the places and not just drive by

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

Excellent tour. We had a really good tour guide and a fantastic driver. Tour was very informative and succeeded all expectations.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2015

This was a lot of fun and we were fortunate to have amazing sunny weather. You should be aware that there are really not that many locations that were used in Salzburg because most of the movie was shot in a Hollywood sound studio. Additionally, many of the sights are inaccessible to the tour bus or are privately owned so you just see them from afar. I thought it was totally worth it though and during the drive to Mondsee you get to stop and see some amazing views.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message