It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1724 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Really great tour and very interesting. The tour guide was good and the singing on the bus was excellent I must say.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Fun tour, great movie sites, lots of singing, great tour guide who looked and could sing almost as well as Julie Andrews!, great scenery. Highly recommend it...

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Our tour guide, Peter, was hilarious! We learned so much about Salzburg and the Sound of Music. We loved that we went to a few neighboring cities as well!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Amazing! Peter - my tour guide - was wonderful! I would recommend this tour to everyone!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

Very informative trip. Pity that it poured rain for the whole tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
April 2015

My daughter and I are so glad we did this tour, and have raved about it since to all our friends. It was great to be on location so to speak, and walk the very places where the filming was done. The tour guide could have been more enthusiastic, but don't let this stop you from doing the tour. If you love the movie, do the tour.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

Peter was a great tour guide. He was very funny and made the experience enjoyable. We saw a lot of the main attractions from the movie and had plenty of time for photos.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

tour guide was so bubbly and funny, beautiful drive to monsee and you really feel the sound of music spirit! loved this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

4 star rating: Recommended
April 2015

It was really nice to see all those film locations and beautiful Austrian mountain nature. Luckily people did NOT sing in the bus though the guide tried to get us to do so...

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

The guide was great, and although the bus broke down it turned out fine.
the reality is that the tour has no real content due to the fact that you cannot see anything up and close. Most of the places where the movie was filmed are really not accessible.
all in all visiting Salzburg without this tour would have been much better and cost efficient.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

FLOR
United States of America

2 star rating: It was OK, but could have been better
April 2015

Our guide was good and very helpful but the time spent for every stop was too short. But Salzburg is a small town anyway and maybe that's all you might need - a quick spin around town to get your bearings then explore on your own. It might be cheaper to get the regular tour then just go on your own and purchase the tickets for the elevator use to go up to the top of the mountain. You really don't need the coffee and cake if you just want the view. The view was really great from there but the day we went was windy and very cold. It would be great to go up during other seasons.

Doing what: Panoramic Salzburg City Tour with Coffee and Cake

1 star rating: I do not recommend this
April 2015

This tour was a huge disappointment. The guide offered little about The Sound of Music. He made the stops, but had little to say about the film, instead telling stupid jokes, often repeating his rehearsed stories, and pointing out and talking about things that had absolutely nothing to do with the film or the characters. My friend and I rented a car and drove all the way from Neuschwanstein, stayed two nights in Salzburg, and lost another travel day taking the train back to Paris. We agree this was a huge waste of precious time and a black spot on our otherwise wonderful trip.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

Absolutely fantastic, would highly recommend the tour. The Guide was just wonderful, full of information and had a great singing voice.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
March 2015

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message