It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 1567 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Great fun! Mostly out of the centre of Salzburg, so it's good to have some time on your own in the very centre. Watch the film before you go and the sites are easy to recognize.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Oh that was my Favorite Thing.....tour. I can't stop thinking about it. I could hardly wait it see the movie again and to relive my experience. A must see for all Sound of Music fans.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Amazing, accommodation was beautiful. Tour was great, guide was so knowledgable

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Erich led us on an interesting, informative, and entertaining tour of Salzburg. We saw both Mozart's birth house and the place where he lived later, the Mirabelle gardens, the cemetary, an 800 year old bakery, a 1200 year old restaurant (!), various old buildings, famous streets, alleyways, plazas, etc. Although it rained pretty much the whole tour, it was a very enjoyable experience. Once the tour was over, I retraced our steps to get a more in-depth look at each of the places he'd taken us. Since Salzburg is such a small city, this was easy to do.

This tour is a great overview of a charming city.

Doing what: Salzburg Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

A fabulous tour (despite the inclement weather) delivered by our expert guide Natasha. We booked on line before our trip, and called the office as requested, on our arrival in Salzburg, to finalise the booking. On the morning of the tour we were collected promptly from our hotel in a beautiful Mercedes car and transferred to the bus depot from where the tour starts. We couldn't have been looked after any better! Then on to the tour itself which was informative, fun, and packed with music and laughter. It includes lots of other stuff, not necessarily to do with the Sound of Music,and lots of opportunities to walk in the footsteps of the movie, and for those all important photos. Highly recommended! Stevie T and Jean, Liverpool, UK

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Exceeded my expectations. So much fun to finally see all of the places I've dreamt about visiting since I was a child. Our tour guide was brilliant, and I learned so much more about the film. Highly recommend.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

VERY Informative. Guide's knowledge was impressive. Would recommend this to anyone interested in WWII history as well as Beautiful Austrian scenery!!!

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour combined just the right amount of campiness with fun facts from the movie. We weren't sure about taking this tour initially, but are glad that we did. The travel into the countryside is worth the price alone. We only had one day in Salzburg and this tour rounded out our visit perfectly.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was amazing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

Sound of Music: Delightful tour. Our guide was superb, entertaining, informative, interactive, helpful and had a really good yodelling voice. She had a terrific sense of humour, stage presence and crowd control - would make a great stand-up comic. Polished performance, both by the company and the guide.
Historical Walking tour: Hans was very informative, interesting and interactive.

Doing what: Salzburg Super Saver: Original Sound of Music and Historical Walking Tour

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

This tour was everything we hoped for. Our guide Walter was very informative on matters not only relating to the Eagle's Nest itself, but also on many historical aspects along our journey. The visit to the Eagle's Nest itself was organised well, with a good mixture of information from Walter and free time to explore the place. Time allocated to wandering around Berchtesgaden was also appreciated. Overall a great experience.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

excellent tour. Included everything that was indicated.

Doing what: Eagles Nest in Berchtesgaden Tour from Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

incredible gilded chandeliered palace location, perfect for this wonderful classic famous music, don't miss this experience

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
September 2014

If you love music and the splendor of being in a place that Mozart performed, this is heaven. The quartet was amazing, and would highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message