It’s no surprise that Salzburg has been such a draw for tourists over the last several hundred years. Sitting on the Salzach River and a stone’s throw away from the Bavarian Alps, the local geography is breathtaking. But it’s not just the ... 

Click here for more details

Viewing All 2402 Reviews Add your review

Certified reviews by travelers like you.

michael.bang

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The highlight of our Salzburg visit. Breakfast is served in a beautiful dining hall and you get private access to an actual Sound of Music location while the tour bus groups have to look at the location from a far distance. Worth it.

Doing what: 2- or 3-Night Schloss Leopoldskron Stay in Salzburg Including 'The Sound of Music' Tour

TETSUO I

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wonderful tour for SoM fans

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Norman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Even for a less than devoted fan of the movie, this is a great tour.

Whilst it caters for those who want to visit key locations, it is also a great opportunity to spend a little time out of Salzburg to take in some lakes and mountain scenery which is breath-taking.

The coach was clean and modern, and our guide had some very interesting stories to tell about the production.

All in all you don't need to be a fan of the movie, but it might be useful to know the lyrics to the soundtrack if you want to join in with the on-board sing-along!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Norman G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This was undoubtedly one of the highlights of our visit to Salzburg.

Held in the Marble Hall of the Schloss Mirabell, it was a most opulent and fitting setting for the concert. The programme included pieces by Mozart naturally and Vivaldi, played with extraordinary skill and flair by Orchestra 1756. From our seats in the centre of the first row it was a joy to watch such talented artists clearly relishing playing together.

All in all I could not recommend this concert more highly.

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

Lisa G

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Great, fun tour! Beautiful scenery!

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Fred C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

This concert was outstanding. We had front row seats and enjoyed the expressions and the close up techniques that the musicians displayed....they were very talented and first rate.

Doing what: Schloss Mirabell Classical Music Concert in Salzburg

Kenika S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

It was an absolutely delightful tour. The Tour Guide and driver were both phenomenal! Seeing where scenes from the movie were shot was great but learning about some of the history in Salzburg and other regions in Austria was an added bonus.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

nossresearchconsulti ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wolfgang was a GREAT tour guide, very knowledgeable and hilarious. This tour should have hotel pick-up.

The salt-mine tour was amazing. The bus could have been a little larger as there was no leg room/space.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

nossresearchconsulti ... 

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Wolfgang was a GREAT tour guide and hilarious. The salt-mine tour was amazing.

They should provide hotel pick-up. The bus could have been a little larger as there was no leg room.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Claudia U

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Highly Recomended!!!!!!!!!!!! Entertainer, marvelous, incredible!!!!!!!!! a must!!!!!!!

Super and colorfull Views of Outside Salzburg.

Thanks Viator

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Emily Catherine E

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Our tour guide was so wonderful. I am a female 20-something, college-student, traveling by myself and I had the best time. The sound of music is one of my favorite movies! I loved all the places they took us, the behind the scenes clips they showed on the way back, the tour guide who sang some of the songs playing on the trip with us, and the jokes along the way, Worth every penny!

The only thing is I wish they stopped so we could the front of the Vonn Trappe Villa from the movie and walk around it. I know this is hard because you can't stop on the busy road. Otherwise, a great time! I would go again!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Sinead L

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

really enjoyed our trip from start to finish. had a super guide great fun and not over the top.very easy to ask him questions. Scenery beautiful well worth doing it.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Chan C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Nice weather, beautiful scene and wonderful tour guide!!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Olwen B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Excellent host, not just informative but very entertaining! The salt mines were fascinating, and the scenic bus ride beautiful. I only wish there was maybe 30 minutes more to explore the town of Berchtesgaden. There is really only time to eat lunch or explore, but not both.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

ljpearce70

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Outstanding. Beautiful scenery and great guide. He was interesting and funny

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Micaela S

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Saw every parti f the Sound of Music that is relevant and every part of Salzburg that is worth seeing!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Audrey F

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

My mom felt ill the morning of our tour so we called to see if we could reschedule for the afternoon they switched our tour no problem and no additional fee. The tour itself was a lot of fun you could tell the guide was is really into it. I and #39;m not that big of a fan of the movie but I had a great time

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Timothy K

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

The tour guide was delightful, and our visit to the locations only increased our love for the movie. I highly recommend this tour!

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Glenda P Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

A must do tour when visiting Salzburg. Our tour guide Peter will make you laugh as he explains the history to the movie The Sound of Music

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Nicholas B

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

To actually visit the area where the movie was made was very exciting.'
Our guide really made the afternoon.
A must if visiting Salzburg.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Daryl C

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

Exceeded my expectations

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Carissa E Australia

5 star rating: Highly Recommended
May 2016

For a SOM fan this tour is a must!! My husband even enjoyed himself with the humour and jokes of our wonderful guide.. As well as seeing all the Sound of Music tour highlights, it is a wonderful way to see Salzburg and the Lakes District :-

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Robert P

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

More time needed. Felt rushed.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

Gwendolyn L

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

It was a very informative tour but the tour guide made it amazing!! He was an English man I believe. He was funny and lively. The only negative thing I would say is I do wish it was a little bit slower paced. I felt rushed at every location so you kinda didn and #39;t get to take it all in.

Doing what: The Original Sound of Music Tour in Salzburg

ALAN B

4 star rating: Recommended
May 2016

Had a good time. Would have been even better if not for the rain, but that is on Mother Nature.

Doing what: Bavarian Mountains and Salt-Mines Tour from Salzburg

Viator uses cookies to improve your experience on our website. Learn more about how we use cookies and how to change your cookie settings | Close message